We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$21
CUISINES
Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
62
17
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
62
17
3
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 March 2020

My wife and I ordered the omelette for lunch. It took 25 minutes to arrive and was badly overcooked. Chef's day off?More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2020

We can only say how sorry we are that you had such a bad lunch. Unfortunately there had been a lengthy wait for your meal and the omelettes were over cooked. I'm sure we offered to make them again but I know you had waited...More

Reviewed 19 March 2020

We felt like this place was located in the middle of no where. It was the middle of the afternoon and we needed a snack so we stopped here. They had the biggest scones I have ever seen. We both decided to get the raisin...ones. The lady behind the counter heated them up and brought them to us with butter. They were really good. I think they were about $5 - and we enjoyed every bite.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2020

Thank you so much for your review it is really appreciated. I think they would have been our fabulous date scones you had. So glad you enjoyed them

Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

I needed a drink so stopped in, hoping they weren't closed by 4pm as other places seemed to. Success! And a great Latte. What a pity I had had a late lunch as the date scones looked delectable. Mmmm, and so did the ice creams,...as other customers testified by their eager smiles. Pity it's so far from Christchurch, but at least I know where to stop next time. Friendly service too. Thanks!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2020

Hi Thanks so much for your review. It is really appreciated. Hope you make it down again one day soon.

Reviewed 27 November 2019 via mobile

We were very disappointed after reading all the wonderful reviews. Had to be one of the worst fish and chips meals we ever had! Soggy cod that tasted off, and the chips were only average.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 7 September 2019

On our drive from Te Anau to Queenstown we stopped here because it looked interesting. Quite a few other travellers called in as well. A lovely warm fire, comfy lounges and plenty of seating as well as clean toilet facilities. Best of all was the...good Roar coffee and food which definitely fits the definition of comfort food. Our cheese and ham toastie was delicious and well big enough to share between two. Service was friendly and prompt. As a number of other reviews have said this place is interesting because of the local fishing groups involvement and it’s obviously somewhat of a community hub. It’s great they sell products made by locals also. I purchased a cosy hand knitted beanie which will ensure I always remember the brown trout cafe. I note the property is for sale and I hope the new owners keep up the welcoming vibe and the quality coffee and comfort food.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review on your visit to The Brown Trout Cafe . We are so glad you enjoyed your coffee, food and the atmosphere. The fishing season starts on the 1st Oct so I'm sure we will soon be getting...More

Reviewed 24 June 2019

What a treat this was! Stopped by for a bite to eat and a beer as we were staying in the nearby campground. Staff very friendly. Funky but very homey atmosphere. Met members of the Fishing and Hunting Club who hang out in the bar....All very welcoming. Thanks for the great memoryMore

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
BeauBuck, Manager at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2019

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Brown Trout Cafe. We enjoy meeting all the different people from all over the world coming into our Cafe. We want them to have a great experience. The Cafe is full of character and with...More

Reviewed 30 May 2019

Nice café on the main road of highway 6 south of Queenstown. Plenty of parking, free wifi, pleasant staff, good food and the best latte in New Zealand!

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Thank you so much for your review! So glad you enjoyed your visit to our Cafe. We are really happy you thought our Latte is the best in NZ!! We think our ROAR Coffee is pretty good too.

Reviewed 29 May 2019

Nice midway stop between Queenstown and Te Anua. Enjoyed a long black on a comfy couch just relaxing. This is also a great bathroom stop.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Thank you for your review. Our couches are a very popular area ; especially now during Winter as our fireplace is nearby : )

Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

Reasonable food here at a decent price. Always have dirty tables though and none clean to sit at. Staff never seem to clear them. Owner stands around looking but doesnt do much either. We come here often as no where else in this area but...always the same!More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

So sorry that our tables have been dirty when you have visited our Cafe. I have shown your review to our staff and also my husband (you are probably refering to.) Making them aware that clearing and cleaning our tables must be attended to, as...More

Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

We were travelling through Atholvin our motorhome and stopped for morning coffee. Wow the savoury scones had just come out of the oven and were so light, fluffy and delicious the best ever! Good coffee and friendly staff in a cool rustic cafe.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
BeauBuck, Owner at The Brown Trout Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Thank you so much for your review! So glad you enjoyed our yummy scones and enjoyed your visit.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Matakauri Lodge
328 reviews
50.14 km away
Azur
422 reviews
51.98 km away
Kamana Lakehouse
571 reviews
52.59 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
1,854 reviews
52.64 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Coffee Bomb
61 reviews
9.76 km away
Kingston Corner Cafe Bar
196 reviews
22.36 km away
Route 6 Cafe And Bar
132 reviews
27.57 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Welcome Rock Trails
61 reviews
11.07 km away
Real Country
141 reviews
19.85 km away
Piano Flat
7 reviews
37.22 km away
Athol Art Gallery
12 reviews
.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Brown Trout Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Brown Trout Cafe

Yes, The Brown Trout Cafe offers takeaway services.

The Brown Trout Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5