We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1919 Restaurant

Malvern Wells Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
+44 1684 588860
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good16%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“soups” (3 reviews)
“penne” (3 reviews)
“bread” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Malvern Wells Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whether mid-week or weekend I can recommend 1919 Restaurant and Bar. The menu has a plethora of dishes, catering for all tastes and diets, as does the wine list. The staff are pleasant and engaging without loss to professionalism or customer service.More

Thank Joe O
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Joe, Thank you for your great review of your visit to 1919 Restaurant & Bar. I have passed on your compliments to the chefs team and the staff who served you. Our menu changes seasonally and there is always plenty to choose from and...More

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

I had the pleasure of recently visiting, needing some where to work and have a coffee. The staff were warm and welcoming and when I ordered the coffee the bar manager said, 'Go and make yourself comfortable I will bring your coffee to you.' I...More

Thank marvellous11
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello, thank you for visiting 1919 Restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your kind words about the service which I have passed on to the team who served you. It is our aim to provide...More

Reviewed 11 July 2018

This was my third or fourth visit, always in a family party of ten or more and the service was the worst to date. The reservation was for the terrace, (my chair was scruffy, rickety and needed attention), seated at two separate round tables, as...More

Thank MascotBerkshire
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for visiting 1919 Restaurant and for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry for the delay in replying. We have been busy addressing some of the issues you raised. I would like to inform you that the member staff you...More

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Have just left this place. 7 diners in total outside and 4 staff members seemingly working front of house, but not working!! Never once did We have our drinks orders taken, we eventually had to ask. Not once did we have our food orders taken...More

Thank pearle2016
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hello, I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience with us last Friday. Our aim is to provide high quality food and service is a relaxed environment. We have been, and are currently reviewing the service we provide. We have a...More

Reviewed 3 July 2018

Disappointed with both the level of service and the food at this restaurant. So much potential let down by slow service and untrained ( but pleasant) staff. The starters were okay, but the main courses were poor, the steak full of inedible fat. The vegetarian...More

Thank Karenmj1958
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Karen, Thank you for your feedback. I am genuinely disappointed that your experience here at 1919 Restaurant didn't live up to your expectations. I am sorry for the delay in replying, this is because I have been trying to find your booking with your...More

Reviewed 2 July 2018

Our party of 4 were very much looking forward to our first meal at Cottage in the Wood. Having lived locally and dined out often over the past 10 years we had yet to dine here. On such a beautiful summers evening we couldn't wait...More

Thank Bennyw76
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Ben, It was a pleasure speaking with you just now. I am pleased to hear that there were aspects of your meal that you enjoyed but I am deeply sorry that your overall experience with us failed to live up to your expectation. I...More

Reviewed 30 June 2018

Service: no-one manning reception/entrance/bar on our arrival (7pm), three couples waiting, no apology. Waiting staff at table were fine. Item on final bill was incorrect, which was quickly correct by removal, so original item was gratis (a nice touch). View from dining room: stunning view...More

1  Thank richardwb
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Richard, Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to post the review of your experience. I am sorry the meal failed to live up to your expectations. It is our aim to provide high quality in a relaxed environment. I am sorry...More

Reviewed 19 June 2018

I’ve stayed & eaten here on various occasions, the rooms are very good, but the redecorating in the loung /bar,, looks nice, but is not comfortable, it’s too contemporary to be usable. Food is expensive, but limiting, too much garlic for me, probably not for...More

Thank Cazann1234
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hello, thank you for visiting - it was a pleasure to welcome you back again. I am sorry to hear your meal failed to live up to your expectations. We have noted your feedback. The new summer menu has now launched and I hope this...More

Reviewed 8 June 2018

First time visit. Very pleasant experience. Really lovely food, good service, friendly and helpful staff. Oh, and fantastic views. I really recommend for a special evening, it can,t fail to impress.More

Thank susiewongno1
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Susie, Thank you for visiting 1919 Restaurant and for posting this glowing review of your experience with us. I am delighted to hear your experience, which I have passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm wishes...More

Reviewed 6 June 2018

Extensive menu and all cooked in modern English style but not stinting on portions. Good wine menu. Would go again

Thank Tim B
TheCottageTeam, General Manager at 1919 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Tim, Thank you for your glowing review on your experience at 1919 Restaurant. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes from all the team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Cottage in the Wood
1,133 reviews
.01 km away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
726 reviews
1.55 km away
Malvern Hills Hotel
524 reviews
2.39 km away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
102 reviews
2.65 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Chase Inn
244 reviews
.59 km away
Cafe H2O
53 reviews
.95 km away
Railway Inn Restaurant
44 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Malvern Hills GeoCentre
54 reviews
.96 km away
Little Malvern Priory
23 reviews
2.48 km away
Malvern Hills
771 reviews
3.45 km away
Lovells Vineyard
21 reviews
3.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from 1919 Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$50
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Malvern Wells Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Malvern Hills  >  Malvern Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1684 588860
  • This restaurant is at The Cottage in the Wood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing