We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
New Zealand
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (85)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
30
21
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
30
21
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waitakere ranges new wing piha beach auckland city older part premier room
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Really great location and a couple of rain forest walks can be started from the hotel grounds. We went for afternoon tea really inovative selection each one delicious staff fantastic from entry to exit. Excellent communication to set up the day and deal will requests...and changes. Highly commended must try.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2024

This has to have been one of my most memorable Xmas lunches ever. We’ve been coming to Waitakere Resort and Spa for many years because of its superb location, beautiful garden setting and its old world charm. Their high teas are always wonderful but the...Xmas lunch was extraordinary . Several delicious courses were served promptly and (included a glass of bubbles and coffee). Each course was delicious and the service perfect!!! We sat at a window table with a stunning view over the Waitakere rainforest to the city. This is a “ must do “ when in AucklandMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2023 via mobile

We had two delicious meals here. Fresh snapper and pork belly with tasty ice cream to follow. The staff are friendly and helpful! Excellent wine list and choices of beer and other drinks. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

Beautiful location. Very steep winding entrance. Cars over 1.9 metres cannot access main carpark. Stayed in room 22 which was very spacious with balcony and very clean and new facilities. Beautiful view of city when not foggy. Bar / restaurant were not open on arrival...but drinks served from reception. Didn't eat in resort. Dined at Elevate up the road. Use caution on two way drive in and out.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2023 via mobile

Waitakere Resort and Spa is located in the rainforest, and it did rain. Very authentic ! We had a Celebration package which included, dinner, bed and breakfast. We were in a Premier room located in the new wing, which had magnificent views across to Auckland...City. The room was very spacious and elegant. Dinner was in the older part of the Hotel, and the dining room had recently been refurbished. We had a choice of meals from the A la cate menu, and had a very pleasant dinner. The service was attentive, however overstretched by lack of staff due to Covid. Kudos to the Restaurant/Duty Manager, as it was just him and one wait staff serving a busy restaurant, which they handled with efficiency and friendliness. Breakfast was very nice, once again very short staffed with the above Manager handling the whole restaurant. This man needs a pay rise !More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2022 via mobile

Located in the Waitakere Ranges, this resort is in the rainforest. Our balcony provided a magnificent view of the forest and further out, the city of Auckland. A dawn chorus of NZ birds greeted us. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed....The hotel is older but extremely well-kept. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you plan to hike Arataki, Karekare Falls, Kitekite Falls, Mercer Bay Loop, or Piha Beach or plan to visit the gannet colony at Muriwai, this is the perfect place to stay. We absolutely loved it!More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2022

My sister and I enjoyed a delux getaway package. We had a divine three course meal and a lovely breakfast and then indulged in a facial and massage each after breakfast. The staff were all fantastic. The food was beautiful. The spa treatment was indulgent...The room was excellent with lovely views The environment and grounds were lush and we felt as though we were miles from anywhere. thank you to all concernedMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2020

I had no idea this place existed. A brilliant way to escape and enjoy the magical experience of this excellent resort.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, General Manager at Waitakere Resort & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Dear Nicky W Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 25 July 2020 via mobile

You MUST GET a premium room in the new wing. Great decor, big room and amazing views . Grab a degustation package if you can as well !! Be hungry! Highly recommend to all. Staff are very friendly.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, General Manager at Waitakere Resort & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Dear NewZealandGypsy Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 14 July 2020

The worst High Tea we've ever had. One savoury sandwhich, the rest sweet. I was taken to the same place 6 years ago and it was amazing. Completely different to what we got 2 weeks ago.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, General Manager at Waitakere Resort & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Dear Rewa R Thanks for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your second High Tea experience with us. This is definitely not the standard of service that we strive to achieve and we...More

Reviewed 29 June 2020

Great atmosphere and excellent staff. we were made to feel welcome the whole time there. The rooms are spacious warm and comfortable. The meal was well presented very tasty and I would recommend this as great value.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, General Manager at Waitakere Resort & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Dear Trevor Moyle Thanks for taking the time to post a review. WE appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 22 June 2020

Lovely small restaurant with a top menu. We had the Degustation Dinner and Wines to match. Just delicious!

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, General Manager at Waitakere Resort & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Dear Quick Stopover Thanks for sharing your dining experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled that you really enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 14 March 2020

Really disappointed with the high tea. Booked a deluxe high tea for 12 guests. Male staff directed us to help ourself to the tea and and readymade coffee which was kept on the bar counter, Never came on the table to check if we wanted...anything else. It was disappointing to see our guest get up every time to help themselves for tea and coffee which was not mentioned on the website, Also was disturbing to see two tables which arrived after us got served their choice of coffee and a tea pot on the table, Don’t think me or our guest want to visit again. View was great and service from the only female staff working was great.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2020

Had a Grab One voucher for bed and breakfast. Had been here before and it was disappointing to see that checking in at reception had not improved. However, we had a very pleasant room with great views. The pool was excellent and the gardens are...very well maintained. Had the A La Carte menu for dinner and were quite disappointed. The portions were tiny and the wait staff gave us wrong information about the dishes. Also very overpriced. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Very good selection of cereals and fruits and the cooked to order hot breakfasts were excellent. Check out was better than check in. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our break and would happily return.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2020 via mobile

We arrived very excited about a quality degustation meal, our first impression at reception was disappointing. A couple in front of us had a gift coupon with QR code, first night without baby, they were left so disappointed they couldn't use voucher unless it was...printed?? In the end after many phone calls to management they were let in, but they had to pay and get reimbursed later. I was lucky I could go outside, where there was reception, got hold of my son who gifted me a voucher to send it through! No this wasnt enough, reception then asked me to email it through!! She wasnt letting us go until her second attempt at printing !!! The restaurant has amazing views, and the meal was lovely. Again service let them down, we were served first course, and we had to ask for the wine list. As the courses came out we asked exactly what we were eating, the waitress was guessing, she had no idea. Location great Food lovely Service....not Heritage quality I would suggest if you offer Grabone vouchers, you tell your customers clearly when they book they MUST bring a printed copy of coupon. Also, I would question that they should be under the Heritage Collection of hotels.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Waitakere Resort & Spa
357 reviews
.00 km away
A K WEST Motel
34 reviews
7.35 km away
Lincoln Court Motel
43 reviews
7.96 km away
Dalma Court Motor Inn
19 reviews
8.04 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Swanson Station Cafe
65 reviews
5.75 km away
The Grounds Eatery
209 reviews
7.20 km away
The Olive Kitchen and Bar
25 reviews
6.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Upper Nihotupu Dam
8 reviews
3.35 km away
Arataki Visitor Centre - Waitakere Ranges
979 reviews
5.38 km away
Bamboo Spa
16 reviews
7.51 km away
Kitekite Falls
224 reviews
8.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lindafarland
3 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Julie G | Reviewed this property |
They certainly won't be disappointed, apart from what I have already written, what I forgot to say was , that customer service is excellent as is the food.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WAITAKERE RESORT & SPA RESTAURANT, Waiatarua - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Waitakere Resort & Spa Restaurant

Waitakere Resort & Spa Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4