We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Titikaveka Beach, Akapuao Marine Park | Akapuao Marine Park, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
+682 28 055
Website
Today
11:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 437: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Best fish sandwiches - can easily feed 2 people and super fresh fish!! Must go here and try the sandwiches and burgers - shakes are also amazing and fresh. Very good value for money!

Helpful?
Thank Altomatum
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Delicious and enormous fish sandwiches, and lovely friendly host. A great place to shop for lunch, great value for money

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Mary H, Owner at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're delighted you took the time to visit us. May your journey through continue to be blessed as you bless otherd with your kindness, Kia Manuia Mary More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

So good. Don't miss it, the massive fish sandwich was fresh & perfect in its simplicity. Fresh fruit smoothie was beautiful too 🙌🏻

Helpful?
Thank Sunniva H
Mary H, Owner at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Thnak you Sunniva, we're happy you took the time to visit us and enjoy our little beachside cafe- we do hope you visit us again in the near future- keep safe, kia manuia Mary More 

Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The service and the fish sandwich are too die for.. A must if you're ever there. However, the big fish sandwich is huge and can be easily shared. Location is right on the beach and the milkshakes are wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank travnerd
Mary H, Owner at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Thnak you Travnerd for your AMAZING reveiw. Thank you for your visit- we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Do come again- Kia Manui Mary More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great spot! Ended up spending a long morning there due to poor weather and after enough tea to warm me up got a fish sandwich. Wow! Serving is enough for two to be comfortably full. Delicious fresh fish and the sauce brings it all together.

Helpful?
Thank Miss_Marie_Wanders
Mary H, Owner at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Thnak you Miss Marie Wanders for your kind words- we were very encouraged by your kind heart. We hope we visit us again- Kia Manuia Mary More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was looking for a toasted Sammie and found this place!!!! Mean as steak Sammie for around $20 I think was the size of a dinner plate bloody delicious. Had a lovely Charlie's smoothie that was beautiful!!! All up totally recommend this place as a must. Literally a stone throw from the sea. Soo gutted took the courage to try this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaota17
Mary H, Owner at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Thank you Kaota for your review and your encouragement to others to try a sammie or a smoothis or 3 with us. We do hope you visit us again- soon :) Kia Manuia Mary More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a fun lunch with ENORMOUS portions! The price to portions is fantastic. One of their Sandwiches truly will feed 2 without either party feeling slighted.

Helpful?
Thank Elise R
Mary H, Owner at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Hahaha thank you Elise. Yes our wonderful bakery makes a lovely turkish bread- we just have to try and fill it up for you! Thnak you for your visit - we do hope you visit us again one day- Kia Manui Mary More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for lunch as was recommended. Quick service considering they were very busy, food was average. Setting was a lovely spot.

Helpful?
Thank haleyandjohn
Mary H, Owner at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Thank you Haley for your visit- yes we do pride ourselves on getting your lunch out to ou so it is still piping hot! I don't agree that our food is average our salads have over 7 ingedients- fresh lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, sprouts, pawpaw, starfruit, uto, coconut, rice, onions, coleslaw, herbs and our wonderful sauce and of course our fresh... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a few days of island cheap fare - which all tends to be deep fried - Charlies was a real treat. Next to the water, fresh salad, cold nu (coconut) and friendly service - for a low cost lunch you can't beat it.

Helpful?
Thank Ngaio M
Mary H, Manager at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Thnak you Ngaio for your wonderful review. Thank you for your kindness about our salads- included in our salad is lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, coleslaw, avacado, pawpaw, uto, akari, starfruit or whatever seasonal fruit is available- fresh and delicious. Thank you!! Kia Manuia Mary More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The fish sandwiches here are just divine! Cheap, big, fast service, great venue. I loved it until I saw the lady who had served us (and probably made the sandwiches) wipe her nose on her T Shirt. I'm still cringing as I write this…

Helpful?
2 Thank Marg B
Mary H, Manager at Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire, responded to this review

Oh dear poor you..:(. No our lovely helper- only a young gril who is helping her family- serves and washes our dishes, wipes down the tables, sweeps and keeps us entertained with her jokes- does not cook. So no worries there Marg. Your meal purchase helps her help her family and I think she did not think when she wiped.... More 

Travellers who viewed Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$11
Cuisine
Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Cash Only
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 16:00
Thursday
11:00 - 16:00
Friday
11:00 - 16:00
Saturday
11:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Titikaveka Beach, Akapuao Marine Park | Akapuao Marine Park, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Titikaveka
  • Phone Number: +682 28 055
Description
Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire is on the edge of the Akapuao Marine Reserve. Enjoy light meals of chicken teriyaki cheese melt paninis tuna cheese melt paninis, fresh fish sandwiches, island infused fruit smoothies, beef, chicken and fish burgers, fresh salads, espresso coffee, teas, milkshakes and muffins, cakes and scones whilst enjoying our scenic view of the lagoon. Rent a standup paddleboard or a kayak and explore the lagoon. Welcome to Charlies!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Invercargill, New Zealand
3 days ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Charlies Cafe and Beach Hire staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?