We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Mount Lofty House was built in 1852 for Arthur Hardy. It was his summer residence, but it also became a venue for the most lavish parties, where Arthur would take great delight in hosting Adelaide's high society. Today, the space has been transformed into Hardy's Verandah Restaurant - true to the refinement, elegance and opulence the guests of Arthur Hardy enjoyed 170 years ago. Overlooking the patchwork Piccadilly Valley, HVR diners are treated to magnificent views as an accompaniment to their culinary experience.
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $513
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Australian
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (488)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
402
45
20
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
402
45
20
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews degustation menu kingfish wagyu four course menu sorbet brisket bread duck scallops mount lofty house matching wines fine dining special occasion wedding anniversary dining experience wine list piccadilly valley
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 April 2024

My husband and I dined at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant on our wedding anniversary, and I had advised the restaurant of this on booking. We were greeted warmly and professionally. The house exudes old world charm, and the food and flora themed artwork was fascinating. We...enjoyed our meal, and admired the expertise of our sommelier, who recommended a wine perfectly matched to the dinner. I appreciated his explanation as to why he felt that wine was a good choice and he seemed to identify our price point via a couple of very brief comments my husband and I made to each other. We were offered Coffin Bay oysters in addition to the set menu, and were very pleased we accepted the offer. They were plump and juicy, and the accompanying lemon and vinaigrette were excellent additions. The sourdough bread was delicious. Whilst each course isn't large, it is a satisfying meal and we don't see why anyone would leave hungry. The amuse bouche comprised two canapes each. One had many textures and flavours but I found the beef tartare one less satisfying. The waiter arrived with the amuse bouche at the same time as the sommelier was discussing our wine choice, which reduced the quality of the service flow. The beetroot entree was enhanced by dill puree and the fruits de mer was tasty but not exceptional. The waiter asked, before our meal began, if we would like dudes to accompany the main. As we weren't sure, he advised we could decide after the first couple of courses. We did order broccolini, which added a lighter touch to our main. Our main was duck. I don't order duck as I have never found a duck dish that I liked. However, I enjoyed HVR's offering, particularly the slow cooked element. It was pink, moist and tasty. The accompanying rice provided a lovely textural balance. I loved the palate cleanser - it was like drinking a refreshing tropical island!! The chocolate dessert was rich but, as it was a small portion, it wasn't too rich. No need for a larger serve. the restaurant remembered our anniversary and presented us with a 'Happy Anniversary ' platter comprising two extra petit fours - special. The tiramisu petit four was delicious, presented in a very crisp and thin shortcrust pastry shell. The remaining petit four was similar to a mini friand. It was tasty, but not something we would order. We needed to ask for a dessert wine and would have liked it to have been offered. We enjoyed our evening and would recommend HVR.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Degustation menu…. Fantastic. Two meat eaters and one pesky… perfect meal paired with a perfect wine recommended by our lovely sommelier. Also by the by… we stayed in the hotel to top off a lovely treat! Thank you!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajat Kalia, Other at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Dear Liz, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our degustation menu. It's always a pleasure to cater to different dietary preferences, and we're thrilled to hear that our meal, paired with the perfect wine recommended...More

Reviewed 13 March 2024

This is regarding Hardy's verandah rest. High tea for 2. Spectacular views beautiful place good staff..absolute rip off for high tea. So little food sooo expensive at $89per head for 8 tiny pieces each plus $20 extra for a glass of champagne pp. Sure unlimited...tea and coffee but the really disappointing issue is when staff asked if we would like a glass of tap water. How about serving mt. Lofty spring water or better yet sparkling water. For the price charged that should be a must. So disappointed yes it has great views but you can sit for free InThe gardens . My suggestion..drive further to the summit and have coffee and cake in the cafe there..much better value for sure.More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

At $200 per person this meal was not good value. 2 canapés each to start, the bread was fantastic, followed by a mouth full of diced beetroot and some cream and a few blobs of puree which was passed off as an entree. The next...course, another cold one, was the kingfish, which was very nice but too small. Main course was a dried roma tomato with about 30 grams of beef cheek and about 80 grams of wagyu tenderloin, a spoonful of capsicum puree, 15 grams of eggplant puree and a decent bone marrow jus, nice flavour but too small. The fish main course was also disappointingly small with blobs of puree which seemed to be more of an artistic statement than a coherent part of the dish. We were offered sides, we ordered the brocollini and at an extra $16 for 5 pieces which arrived cold this was a disappointing addition to the $200 per head meal. A palette cleanser arrived after mains in the form of a creme fraiche sorbet with fig caramel which coated the palette rather than cleansed it but was tasty enough. Dessert, described as a 64% chocolate torte which was more like a canapé size overcooked chocolate fondant with a teaspoon quenelle of mango sorbet and some passionfruit gel was tasty enough but again just too small and too safe. Petit Fours were unremarkable but nice enough. My one regret was not accepting the offer of more bread, I didn't want to ruin my appetite for the meal ahead but as it turned out we all left hungry. The venue itself is beautiful, and as it was a birthday dinner for a visiting relative it was an enjoyable occasion. The food was ok, but very safe for the kitchen and at that price, perhaps 6 courses of that size would be acceptable. I would not return or recommend anyone I know to do so.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

The menu was outstanding, the service excellent and the wine waiter was a master of his subject. The highlights were the Kingfish Sashimi and the 2018 David Franz Cabernet/Shiraz Blend.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

We had been planning to eat at this establishment for some time- We had the Degustation menu- My wife and I were led to a beautiful table overlooking the Piccadilly Valley, met by some lovely staff and a very knowledgeable Sommelier. Each course from the...Amuse Bouche, Beetroot Tartare, Kingfish, Wagyu beef. Chocolate Forte and Petit fours, were all flawless. They were individually amazing- each element of each dish was exquisite. We have eaten at some very nice restaurants around the world and had some very fine meals- this will go down as one of/if not the finest we have eaten. Highly recommend- Perfect way to finish our 30th anniversary holiday.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

We had an marvellous Christmas degustation lunch here, with matched wines (and matched mocktails for our 17yo). Catered beautifully for my wife’s shellfish allergy with a couple of minor but very good substitutions. This was a great lunch option, far from a traditional Christmas lunch...- rather it was what I expect is their typical high-quality degustation with just a nod to the seasonal in a pudding-themed dessert. Excellent across the amuse bouche, seafood, and into a really good beef wellington. The wine pairings were excellent and creative, with champagnes bookending proceedings, among a surprising chenin blanc and an Australia versus France Shiraz matchup. However the adults were VERY jealous of our son’s superb paired mocktails, created on the fly by a really talented barman!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

25th Dec 2023 Christmas Lunch was not up to the standard that we expected from all the previous reviews. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clement DEMARAIS, General Manager at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Dear Expedition564359, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry to hear that we fell short of meeting your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused...More

Reviewed 22 November 2023

Wanted to do dinner in the wine region of Adelaide, and this was one of the few spots that offered it. Wasn't available to do the luncheons at the vineyards in the area. Very glad I was somewhat forced into this option. It's pricey, but...so worth it, if not for the views than the incredible cuisine. Service was impeccable as well. Only downside is it's up a mountain, and if you're not staying here than options for leaving at night are a bit few and a touch dangerous (night driving down a mountain.) Managed to get a taxi there and a Uber back (booked in advance), so everything went without a hitch and was an incredible experience.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clement DEMARAIS, General Manager at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2023

Dear Vanessak837, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Hardy's Verandah Restaurant. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay, and we're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that it was...More

Reviewed 8 August 2023

Exquisite meal prepared by 3 hat chef and delivered by a super professional staff. Not to be missed experienceMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clement DEMARAIS, General Manager at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Dear Gedg815, I wanted to personally thank you for the wonderful review you wrote about us on Tripadvisor. It truly means a lot to us that you took the time to share your positive experience. I am thrilled to hear that you had the most...More

Reviewed 24 May 2023

Impeccable food and wine and service! Certainly a destination not to be missed for those who enjoy fine dining. We went for dinner but I can imagine at lunch the panorama over the Picadilly Valley would be breathtaking.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount House, General Manager at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Dear anielloi318, Thank you so much for the wonderful review you left on TripAdvisor. It was truly a pleasure to look after you on that night, and we are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience. Your kind words mean a lot to...More

Reviewed 17 May 2023

Dined here with friends who were also staying inhouse, which makes it so much better than having to try to find your way home after a delightful evening. As there were four of us we were seated at a table in one of the inside...rooms and whilst we did not enjoy the view from the verandah the ambience was still good. There was a choice from two degustation menus. The first was four courses (not including bread and an amuse bouche) for $179 per person. Sides were a choice from three at $14 each and there was also a cheese selection for $25 supplement in lieu of dessert or an additional $45 if had as an extra course. There were two matching wine options, the Sommelier for $110 per person or the premium for $220 per person. The second degustation option was seven courses at $259 per head with the two matching wine options being $169 or $349 per person. We chose the four course degustation and were very pleased we did. We didn't leave hungry. Our first two real courses were the kingfish sashimi with ponzu, radish and yuzi ice followed by hay smoked duck with plum and turnip. As mains we had a choice between King George Whiting with butter kombu sauce and shiso or Wagyu brisket and Black Angus tenderloin with scallop and pearl onion. I was the only one in the party to choose the meat dish and I was not disappointed even though the others thought the Whiting was very good and the accompanying sauce delicious. We shared sides of roasted potatoes and witlof salad. We finished with a desert of fresh figs, fig ice cream and honey. All of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were quite delicious and beautifully presented. The wine list was extensive with numerous overseas and local wines listed in what was really an almost unmanageable tome. Most of the wines were $100 plus. Given how many wines are on their menu it must be exceptionally difficult to keep the list up to date, nevertheless, it was disappointing to select two wines on two different nights which were not available. The affable Sommelier Josh though came to the rescue with recommendations for substitutes which worked well. Service was overall friendly and efficient.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount House, General Manager at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2023

Dear Westy54, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very detailed and positive review of your recent experience at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that our team was able to...More

Reviewed 6 May 2023 via mobile

Pros: - Drinks service/Welcome on arrival: brilliant. We were made to feel right at home and like VIPs as chairs were moved so we could enjoy a drink and the view. Thank you (fyi I am talking about the outside bar/garden drinks area) - quality...of food: just brilliant, of course at this level, nothing you could find elsewhere in the state, and nothing replicable at home. Just what you want when fine dining - location: what more can be said. Just stunning venue. Made the special occasion all the more special Cons: - wait service in restaurant: not a massive complaint, just felt less special. No comments or questions as to why our group was there/what we are celebrating. Presentation of each course felt like a corporate announcement. Bit of a shame. Personal service makes the world of difference in these places. - wine experience: while the wine we had was brilliant, the mark up is eye watering. Also the discussion with the sommelier just made us feel a little uneducated. (Which we would be compared to him, but not how you want to feel after the discussion) I’m not trying to paint a negative picture, as we would GLADLY attend again. Raspberry dessert was phenomenal. Refresher courses were brilliant. Thank you for the opportunity, perhaps a bit of EQ/improvements on relatability could just prop things up to a 5 star review.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount House, General Manager at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2023

Dear tjtrops, We wanted to take a moment to thank you for the 4-star review you left us on Tripadvisor. We are grateful for the feedback you provided and we are committed to delivering the best quality at all times. While reviewing the photos you...More

Reviewed 13 March 2023

Discovered the true meaning of fine dining. Have never tasted such tasty food in my entire life. If you want to experience how the elite and super wealthy dine, this is the restaurant. Very special.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount House, General Manager at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2023

Dear 146lur, Thank you for taking the time to share how your experience with us went. It was beautiful to look after you. It is even better now knowing how we made you feel. I will share your kind words with the rest of the...More

Reviewed 28 December 2022 via mobile

Dined here on Christmas Day for the degustation lunch. A stunning setting with a pretty hearty price tag. The lunch itself was a work of art, however, I believe the property has changed hands and my experience was not as good as last Christmas. No...sorbet between courses, and no introduction or historical details of the property. The seemlier was outstanding, the wine matches were an experience in itself. A wonderful experience the food was a work of art, but don’t drop the ball new owners, as it was noticed.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount House, Other at Hardy's Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2023

Dear KPW B, Thank you for taking the time to share how your experience went with the community and us. We are glad you enjoyed Chef Jin's special Christmas Day menu and our service. I will share your kind words with the rest of the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mount Lofty House & Estate Adelaide Hills
1,155 reviews
.02 km away
Sequoia
169 reviews
.09 km away
Tollgate Motel
55 reviews
6.24 km away
Jacksons Motor Inn
189 reviews
6.82 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Crafers Hotel
592 reviews
1.30 km away
The Summit Cafe and Function Centre
230 reviews
1.40 km away
Jimmies on the Summit
145 reviews
1.30 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cleland Wildlife Park
1,332 reviews
.17 km away
Mount Lofty Summit
473 reviews
1.42 km away
Mount Lofty Botanic Garden
161 reviews
.50 km away
Gatekeeper's Day Spa
61 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SharonJ2045
5 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from petrel1 | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely fine to dress in smart jeans. Highly hospitable restaurant.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HARDY'S VERANDAH RESTAURANT, Crafers - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Hardy's Verandah Restaurant

Yes, Hardy's Verandah Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hardy's Verandah Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 5