We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Matakana Village Pub

11 Matakana Valley Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 9-422 7518
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good31%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cornbread” (5 reviews)
“lamb shoulder” (5 reviews)
“burger” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
11 Matakana Valley Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went there last night for our daughters birthday. We had high expectations as we had been there for a lunch in April and the meal was so good my husband posted a rave review. Not so this time. I had the bbcue smoked pork...More

Thank SusanH5035
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us . We use all reviews to improve our service and food offerings so it is taken seriously and we appreciate it. Just on the pickle and coleslaw comments I can confirm both are made on site.If you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

had heard great reviews and so decided to try it for partners birthday. very disappointing and I thank the manager for apologising and giving a discount on drinks. of the 4 meals ordered only the beef cheeks was commendable. The risotto looked like baby food...More

Thank Den T
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us and apologies in this case we did not live up to expectations. We consistently use the reviews to try and improve so thanks again for the feedback. If you are in the area again please call in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We walked in and they were not busy. The girl told us to take a seat anywhere and we did. We were soon given water and drinks menu and special menu and main menu. We then waited and waited and waited for someone to come...More

Thank Genelle S
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Firstly. Thanks for taking the time to review us even though in this case the review for us was not great at all. W really pride our selves on our service so we certainly will look at what went wrong with our proceedures and try...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meet friends for a late lunch. Service was friendly and helpful and we eventually ordered a selection of food to share. We were all very happy with what we got and felt that the price was perfectly acceptable. Those of us that had a wine...More

Thank MargaretA1109
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review the pub. Look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Service was ok but food was very delicious ordered chips and few burgers was perfectly cooked and well priced. Keep it up

Thank sharryholmes2
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi there. Thanks for reviewing us. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere and very well kept old English pub. Friendly welcoming staff. Lovely selection of craft beers as well as the usuals. Food was above average but wouldn't say spectacular and it was on the expensive side. I was a bit disappointed that there was...More

Thank LisaH8420
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review the pub. We take your comments seriously when we look at updating the menu .and appreciate the feedback.

Reviewed 16 August 2018

Went early on a Saturday night. Had hamburger and chips and hubby the slow braised beef cheeks. Good serving size and the chunky chips were excellent. Service was good. Our table was in a small private room so it was great to be able to...More

Thank Daryl V
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review the pub. Happy Anniversary and sounds like you had a good night. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 15 August 2018

We had lunch here today for my Dad's 80th birthday and it was great. Really good varied menu and we were all happy with our choices. We had a vegetarian in the group and there was plenty for her to choose from. The Manager came...More

Thank Brooks10
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the pub. I am pleased your dad had a great lunch with us and we helped to celebrate that milestone. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 7 August 2018

My partner and I got married in New Zealand and shared the day with family and friends. It was a small affair so we had pre-booked the pub for our lunch. Nora, the manageress and her staff were excellent by ensuring that all was to...More

Thank Diner129
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Paddy and Carol.. Thanks for taking the time to review the pub. I am so pleased you had a great day and I will pass on all your lovely comments to Norah and the staff. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This is by far our favourite pub in New Zealand! The food is superb ( try the ribs, the burger, the seafood chowder 😋) and the staff are outstanding! It’s the best!

Thank toddandkaye
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Todd and Kaye. Thanks for taking the time to review the pub. Lovely to get those comments and we look forward to your great company again shortly.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Matakana Motel
169 reviews
.11 km away
Rosemount Homestead
1 review
3.48 km away
Warkworth Lodge
94 reviews
7.15 km away
Snells Beach Motel
169 reviews
7.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Matakana Market Kitchen
623 reviews
.09 km away
Rusty Pelican Restaurant & Pizzeria
307 reviews
.06 km away
Plume Cafe
163 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Matakana Village
379 reviews
.05 km away
Saltwater Eco
61 reviews
.37 km away
Blue Adventures
65 reviews
.23 km away
Morris & James
86 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mikeH4231OV
10 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
Thanks for that. See you in for a drink soon. Be great if you could review us again.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$30
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Monday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Friday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Matakana Valley Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Matakana
  • Phone Number: +64 9-422 7518
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing