We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Matakana Village Pub

Reserve a Table
RestaurantHub

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
211
126
33
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
211
126
33
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cornbread burger salt and pepper squid fish and chips ribs salad risotto matakana village outdoor fireplace great atmosphere on tap visited for lunch great meal new zealand nice food wine list omaha beach
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We went to the Matakana Pub for a late lunch/early dinner with the kids. The outdoor dining area was lovely on a hot day and there is a great craft beer/wine list. When we got there I had to ask to be seated and for...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jess G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is such a great pub - amazing food, great atmosphere and yum cocktails! It’s the best spot for a drink or bite to eat in Matakana. Obviously great in summer but has a huge outdoor fireplace which makes it nice for winter as well!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank D5080BLlisab
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated. See you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited for lunch with friends and had excellent meals and a relaxing time sitting outside chatting over some of the great selection of beers. The location is excellent, the smells from the smoker just divine and helped develop a healthy appetite, we weren't disappointed...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank U895OTbrians
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and the positive comments. See you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dined here many times. I always have Beef Burger, my partner tries different dishes. The quality is so inconsistent that sometimes I would give them zero and other times six stars. Same goes for service. Last time there (two days ago) wasn’t my lucky day....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sepp1213
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We always try to be consistent with the food so it is disappointing to get a review like that. We use the feedback to improve all aspects of your experience so again thanks for taking the time...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not well organised and definitely not customer friendly. Don’t do reservations and advise when you walk in ‘find your own table plus there is a one hour wait before food orders are taken’. Surprised as the place was only 65% full. Good beer selection but...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank revpro
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We always value the reviews to help us provide a better experience so it would be great if you could contact me at the pub so we can run through your review. Thanks again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had perfect end of our day at Goat island here. We Love both the setting and the different dishes. Really nice waitresses and delicious food.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank charlottaSchon
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Found the food, the beers, and the staff here excellent. We went on a night that was not that busy and got a walk in table for 4 at about 8 without any problem. Food servings were substantial, varied and of good quality. They had...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Aussietravels1005
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2018

Thanks for reviewing the pub. Much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 December 2018

This restaurant has a lovely garden and we sat out to have lunch. I think it's recently been refurbished and is very pleasant. Good standard of food at a reasonable price. Plenty of choice.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CherylTom60
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the pub. Sounds like you had a great time which is what it is all about. See you again soon

Reviewed 29 November 2018

Once again we had terrible food and bad service. The food consisted of pre fab Gilmours ( food wholesaler) sauces and condiments. Definitely not value for money. Very sad, because it is a lovely location.More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 77ciffer77
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to review us, although in this case the review certainly is not great. It would be great if you could contact me directly at the pub so I can understand in a little more depth what meals you...More

Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

We went to a family lunch at The Village pub. The setting is great with a really friendly atmosphere. On this occasion the service was slow. When it did come the food was OK although expensive for what it was. It would not stop me...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Marg22
Greg L, General Manager at The Matakana Village Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the pub. We are continually trying to provide great service and food and hope to see you again soon

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mikeH4231OV
10 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
Thanks for that. See you in for a drink soon. Be great if you could review us again.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing