We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plume Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Outdoor Seating Available
Read more
Updated 18/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Situated just an hour's drive from Auckland or Whangarei, Plume, the vineyard restaurant, Matakana is a must visit destination on any Matakana wine or food journey - we believe we are all about fabulous local New Zealand wine and produce which together can celebrate "culinary diversity." Plume is a small town, rural, rustic restaurant with friendly service from locally employed staff. It is a great change from the starchy fine dining service of a big city like Auckland yet is in a class of its own. Our Vineyard is called Runner Duck Estate and we make superb wines like PInot Gris, Rose, Syrah, Red Blend (Bordeaux style) Sangiovese - now from the 14th of February 2019 ie Valentine's Day introducing
PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$23
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, International
FEATURES
Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
661
228
91
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
661
228
91
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews degustation menu duck pancakes bread prawns fish of the day food and wine eye fillet lovely lunch great setting runners voucher grab chef farid countryside vineyard
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

We were staying at Plumes Villas which is also excellent, dined at Plumes Restaurant 2 nights. The staff are an asset, friendly, attentative, knowledgeable, almost outdo the Chef. Food was well presented, delicious. A delightful experience both nights.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Lois, thank you! What a wonderful review - I have shared this with Team Plume and everyone is very chuffed to read the same. Do look forward to seeing you at Plume again, soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago

We were looking forward to having dinner at this restaurant after a lengthy period of not returning due to excessive richness of sauces previously. Sadly the experience food wise, was the antithesis of before. To sum it up quickly, the culinary experience was little more...than an above average 'pub' meal. The Sangiovese was the only redeeming feature but as a close to $200 event for 2 without entrees or dessert, it will be a long time before we visit again.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are so very sad to read about your disappointment with Plume - it is always our endeavour to leave our guests happy at the end of the Plume experience and we do apologise that was not the case with you. However, do fail to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We held a staff lunch there and it went very well. The venue is quiet and spacious, the staff friendly and helpful and the outdoor flow to the grounds is easy. We would happily go there again and if for a staff function probably check...what games are available to enjoy on the lawns otherwise take our own.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Tony, thank you so much for this lovely review - it was absolutely our pleasure to look after your group ! It was very good that we had made all the arrangements perfectly in advance and everything went off well as scheduled. The games will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you for a lovely meal. All 3 of us loved our meals and the one that could manage to fit in dessert really loved it. We did all try the lemon sorbet and will be back to Sharp Rd tomorrow to try some more...😘 I Love the flight of wines that I chose to have with my meal as well. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Highly recommend Plume.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kim - thank you, thank you, thank you! So very glad you enjoyed our lovely wines and the food, service and do thank you for your recommendation! Look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely restaurant with yummy food and friendly staff. You can also buy wine from their vineyard and stay in the villas next door

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, Beverly! We are so glad you enjoyed the restaurant and the service - and of course it was such a pleasure doing a Wine Tasting for you at the Cellar Door. Look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a fantastic lunch with hubby. Highly recommend the shared platter...enjoyed with a 'flight' of wines. Great food, lovely setting.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So lovely to read this and to know you enjoyed your Plume Vineyard Platter along with our Runner Duck Wines. Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Reviewed 9 April 2022

Food presentation was excellent and tasted delicious.Service was excellent apart from the annoying flies outside everything was top notch. Would dine here again.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Thank you dear guest for this lovely review. Unfortunately, we are situated in a rural area and surrounded by dairy farms and cattle grazing everywhere and no amount of pest control will take care of the pesty flies especially in this season with the heat....More

Reviewed 8 April 2022

Couldn't want anything more! Beautiful platters to share with good friends, lovely cheese board. View stunning. Service prompt and efficient. Couldn't recommend more highlyMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Gay it is so nice to read such a lovely review - thank you so much. We are glad you enjoyed the Plume Vineyard Platter and our gorgeous views - not a day goes by that I do not realise how very fortunate we are...More

Reviewed 4 April 2022

Pleasant experience, restaurant in a country setting. Proportions smallish but quality very good. Restaurant walking distance from Plume Villa's.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2022

Thank you Benbhragie ! We are so glad you found the quality of our food very good! And yes, it is ever so convenient to walk to the villas from the restaurant - no need to drive and you can enjoy the evening as much...More

Reviewed 29 March 2022

The four of us who dined at Plume had a great time food service and atmosphere are the best. My favourite go to place

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Farida C, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2022

Congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you so much for this review - love it! Makes me feel very happy to know we are your Favorite go to Place!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Matakana Motel
194 reviews
2.83 km away
Warkworth Lodge
169 reviews
4.56 km away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
110 reviews
4.97 km away
Snells Beach Motel
190 reviews
5.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Charlie's Gelato Garden
212 reviews
.25 km away
Ravish
28 reviews
.41 km away
Heron's Flight
53 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Brick Bay Sculpture Trail
406 reviews
3.80 km away
Matakana Village
423 reviews
2.97 km away
Matakana Village Farmers' Market
37 reviews
3.01 km away
Ascension Wine Estate Matakana Auckland
65 reviews
2.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Culture15998726440
1 January 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DianeTshh | Reviewed this property |
Yes you do have to show a vaccination pass. Suggest you email them re gift vouchers.
0
Votes
stephen2dd
7 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FCCOOPER | Property representative |
Regret - no, we dont
0
Votes
thenastybits
7 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from swampykevin | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, just mention it to the staff and they arrange it with the kitchen. They are extremely helpful.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Plume Restaurant

Yes, Plume Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Plume Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5