We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$58
CUISINES
European, Fusion, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
169
39
20
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
169
39
20
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch gnocchi flounder sculpture park every corner beautiful setting taste sensation open fire fine dining head chef special occasion day trip dining experience wine list recommend this restaurant fantastic food the wait staff
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Part of Sculptureum, which is also excellent. Probably the freshest fish we have had in a restaurant for long time - we both had the fish and chips. Their own Syrah was excellent as well. Rather pricey, but worth it.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Sculptureum, Site Host at Rothko, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the fish and chips!

Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

Great staff, great food, great location. If you’re intending to visit sculptureum book the restaurant first as you could be disappointed not to get a booking when you arrive. It’s busy for a reason. The food is delicious. Fresh flounder was the best for my...husband and I enjoyed the ancient grains salad. The menu will satisfy every body from food to fussy! And their Rose is lovely.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Sculptureum, Site Host at Rothko, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for your review and the recommendation to book!

Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

Beautiful food. 6 of us arrived for lunch after doing the sculpturem. Great spot and the food was amazing. We all loved it.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
SculptureumMatakana, Site Host at Rothko, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you so much for your comment! We are so glad you all enjoyed your experience in the restaurant.

Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

Grandsons 21st. 8 family members booked in advance for 2.15pm lunch on labour day. Told to get to back of queue when trying to advise of arrival. Three choices on a very small menu no available. Toilets not working (plumber trying to fix). Beer ordered...not available. Glasses of wsterMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 October 2020

We ate lunch here in the middle of our tour of the Matakana Sculpturiam - it is high end - good service, amazing food (really lovely) great wine - our girls weekend really enjoyed the venue.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

So very disappointing as we’d all heard good things about Rothko from their previous chef and were eager to try it when in the neighbourhood. We had no reservation but it was early so thought we’d try our luck. The front of house staff was...SO unwelcoming upon our arrival that we had serious second thoughts about staying but we decided we persevere...what a mistake. They sat us outside and made us feel like we were really putting them through so much trouble. We started with the flavourless and confused kingfish entree. For mains, we had the pork and clams dish and three of us ordered the duck breast. The clams on the pork dish were very chewy and really shouldn’t have been served. Also, couldn’t taste any peppercorn in the sauce. The roasted duck breast was strangely grey around the edges and the texture was very unpleasant. It was served in a watery satay sauce with grilled leeks and some red onions?? None of us could detect any hint of miso. Service was lacking in every regard. All in all, an utterly poor experience and we definitely won’t be back.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
SculptureumMatakana, Marketing at Rothko, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thanks for your review and we are sorry to hear your recent experience at Rothko didn’t live up to your expectations. We have just hit our busy season and are in the process of hiring extra staff to help us deliver excellent service all times...More

Reviewed 3 October 2020 via mobile

Incredible!! The staff, the food, the setting, what more could you want. We were welcomed with smiles and served by a lovely waitress, everyone at our table loved their meals, we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 October 2020

At the price of the meals you would expect a fine dining experience, instead we had poor service. The staff served me up the completely wrong dish and left my husband dish behind at our table. After a 30min wait I told my husband to...eat his meal or its spoil it.... he finishes his meal and yet mine had not been served. After feeling very awkward watching my husband eat, and not wanting him to go through the same thing, we decided to leave. The manager didnt acknowledge me when I suggested the saving grace would have been if they took both our meals away.... I think staff at these type of fancy restaurants should be better educated on what to do in this situ. I give TWO stats only because the taste I had of my husband's salmon was delicious! And oooh my DO NOT GET ME STARTED ON THE TACKY ORNOMENTS... They completely take the glam out of the room. DO not take your partner here for a special occasion... lol.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Called in with a group for lunch, first time since lockdown. Same ambience as expected with new very pleasant staff. Unfortunately the majority of the meals were not what we expected after having been here several times before. Meat and poultry dishes were definitely underdone,...chewy and nearly cold, others were quite nice but certainly not in relation to the price. Entree size for mains price. Beer selection also somehow disappointing. Not sure when we'll return, sorry!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Lunched here with my sisters and loved it. The menu was well balanced and we enjoyed our meals; particularly the scotch fillet main and the kingfish entree. The maître d was a delight, as was our waitress - excellent service. The open fire and beautiful...garden views were an unbeatable combination. We will return.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Matakana Motel
189 reviews
2.17 km away
Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation
48 reviews
8.13 km away
Snells Beach Motel
188 reviews
8.63 km away
Warkworth Lodge
145 reviews
9.15 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Stables Restaurant Matakana
166 reviews
.28 km away
Smiths Matakana Country Park
58 reviews
.26 km away
Omaha Bay Vineyard
47 reviews
1.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sculptureum
1,202 reviews
.04 km away
Matakana Village
418 reviews
2.02 km away
Matakana Country Park
34 reviews
.20 km away
Matakana Village Farmers' Market
33 reviews
1.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rothko staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing