We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mussel Pot

$$ - $$$Seafood, Soups,
73 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
+64 3-574 2824
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good26%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussel pot” (81 reviews)
“grilled mussels” (27 reviews)
“chowder” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Soups, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
73 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had to do takeaway as we needed to check in for our ferry to Wellington. The mussels tasted just as great and juicy after a 40mins’ drive. The servings were generous given a decent price tag..worth the value. Eat in if u have the...More

Thank geoklingn
Reviewed 1 week ago

Quirkily decorate restaurant with a really nice courtyard eating area - definitely worth stopping for lunch on a nice day. Loved the chowder, portions were great and nice staff.

Thank lsok2015
Reviewed 1 week ago

Managed to arrive in time to bag a table not too long before closing (after disembarking the ferry). Having heard great things about this place, we were keen and it did not disappoint. The green lipped mussels were huge and delicious and so wastheir fish...More

Thank WIvebeenthere
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived in Havelock NZ for a night over and our accommodation suggested The Mussel Pot. This had previously been recommended by a friend living in Australia. The selection of flavours (sauces) for Mussel dishes is lovely but as my daughter mentioned the mussels would seem...More

Thank lgriffiths2017
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our mussels are steamed in the sauce selected and then placed into the 1/2 kilo bowl that you ordered. Sauce from the bottom of the pan is poured over the top as it is a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to stop here to indulge in he mussels after seeing so many reviews and advertisements. Even though it wasn’t quite lunch time 11.30 we were there and it had to happen. We even met Shelley the fish.

Thank Chezsmall
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

1kg pots of mussels are absolutely superb. Many different choices, I had mussels cooked in white wine and cream, delicious!

Thank cwillz56
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here twice during our short stay in Havelock and had great food and service on both occasions - don't miss the mussels, they are awesome.

Thank R3425KODavid
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the name may suggest a predilection towards mussels, this is not the case. There is a small but nicely balanced menu. Very good level of service.

Thank NewZealandCarver
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great restaurant with unique greenshell mussels. Staff (Natalie from germany) was very friendly. Pasta with salmon was also sooo amazing! Delicious local wines.

Thank 3Marcy3
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped on our way through and has the best mussels. Such a choice I had grilled beautiful. Lovely surprise lunch we weren't expecting.

Thank 39purple40
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Apples For Charlotte
74 reviews
.04 km away
Captain's Daughter
174 reviews
.12 km away
Slip Inn Cafe
496 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pelorus Mail Boat
281 reviews
.22 km away
Pelorus Eco Adventures
136 reviews
.19 km away
Greenshell Mussel Daily Cruise
129 reviews
.36 km away
Pelorus Sound Water Taxi & Cruises
24 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Griffjoburg
2 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tracy C | Property representative |
Yes we have a wine menu features Marlborough and nelson wines both by the glass and bottle.
0
Votes
janethomas
9 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tracy C | Property representative |
Hi there It always pays to book as we are usually full during prime times. Regards Mussel Pot Team
0
Votes
janethomas
9 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jan B | Reviewed this property |
It is definitely worth booking as you wouldn't want to miss out on the best mussels in the South..
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
5:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
5:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
5:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
5:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
5:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
5:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
5:15 PM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 73 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Havelock
  • Phone Number: +64 3-574 2824
  • E-mail
Description
Havelock's iconic green lip (green shell) mussel restaurant.Casual and informal.The restaurant specialises in green lip mussels but also has a variety of New Zealand seafood, burgers, pastas, gluten free and vegetarian options all perfectly matched with famous Marlborough wines and New Zealand beer.Great outdoor seating through summer. Closed for winter June to end of August.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing