We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very peaceful, quiet and relaxing place, directly on the beach. Great swimming in the sea! The appartments are very well equiped, modern and with new kitchen, clean, and comfortable. The balcony facing the sea is fabulous! All the house and the garden is well maintained and really nice. Mary and Alan are very welcoming, friendly and always helpful. Made us...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank doro_nz15
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. It was a pleasure to have you back and touring our great beach's and checking out the scenery in the Far North. See you again, regards Alan, Mary & the team

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second visit to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments. It is geographically a most beautiful location with a wonderful sandy beach and velvety warm water. Perfect for the "getaway" that we wanted at the end of our NZ trip. The apartments are extremely clean and well appointed. They quite simply have thought of everything travelers, especially those coming...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor M
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and glad you got to meet the locals again on this trip. Weather bad at present so you got the best. See you again, regards Alan, Mary & the Team

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property is situated perfectly in the middle of Coopers Bay, just around the corner from the lovely little port of Manganui. Wonderfully appointed and very well run. Everything you need for a very relaxing stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank smill_146358
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review. We really spoilt up here with the beautiful beachs and places to explore. See you again, regards Alan, Mary & the Team

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very spacious apartment, with on site manager's available to make your stay very comfortable indeed. Enjoy your own easy beach access through the property and the commanding Doubtless Bay and beach views. Unfortunately the unit did not have Sky TV for avid sports fans and if you are staying more than a night or two, the living room furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anderkiwis
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Sorry about the Sky , we used to have Cable TV in Coopers Beach but that has now closed. Will follow up the furniture. See you next time, kind regards the team

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely landlords. Very clean. But nothing much is provided. Insect screens on only a couple of windows, so not much air, and no air conditioning. Old dirty kayaks, salt and pepper empty. Old shampoo bottle virtually empty. No soap. And the book says that if you ask for more tea then you will be charged extra. And all this for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We are very disappointed that we didn't satisfy your every need. The kayaks that you have noted are not ours .By the Bay kayaks are locked in our boat shed along with our life jackets and are for our guests use only.The other house keeping issues have been addressed. We hope to see you on your...

Gebertingen, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

book early, its one of the best places up North and you will love it. Margery is very helpful and friendly. A stunning view from morning to evening, always interesting the many diffrent colours of the sea.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukasz185
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have your touring group stay with us, and you surely packed alot of the Far North in your itinerary. Will see you all next time, kind regards, Mary & Alan

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We enjoyed our stay very much. The apartment was perfect and so well equipped. We were welcomed warmly and nothing was too much trouble. The view was great to wake up to, the sound of the waves were wonderful to nod off to at night. Great stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 21Lynda
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writimg a review on our place.WE are pleased you had a pleasant stay and welcome back at any time, kind regards ,By the Bay team

Feilding
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Our family of four absolutely adored our stay here - and if it wasn't so far away we would make it a regular holiday destination! The setting was perfect. The apartment had everything that you needed. The hosts went above and beyond to accommodate us in every way - nothing was a problem. The apartment was spotless - which is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 873sherreed
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our place. It is always a pleasure for our guests to have an enjoyable holiday whilst up here in the Far North with all the lovely places to explore. We will see you again.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The location is unimprovable. The feel of the place is traditional kiwi bach. The partment was spacious, and the best part is that they go out of their way to make the trip feel relaxed. There is none of the nickel and diming and penny pinching that is a feature of so much accommodation. Just a great, relaxed, well done...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnpL880ZI
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and feeling totally relaxed while you enjoyed your stay in the fabulous Far North. Hope to see you again.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Thanks Mary and Alan. All 7 of us enjoyed the accomodation, the location and the area very much! Apartment 2 we stayed in was spacious to fit all of us in. Was not easy to find something so nice for so many people :) We did not want to go out for dinner and preferred to stay in to absorb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akukin666
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response and it was a pleasure to have you stay. The views are amazing from the deck whilst you dine. It is such a lovely place to visit in the Far North with so many amazing beachs and things to do. See you next time

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.5 km away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
129 reviews
18.9 km away
Peppers Carrington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
84 reviews
4.8 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.5 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Address: 16 Braemar Avenue, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Price Range: $159 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from By the Bay Beachfront Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All units are facing the sea, great view, with outside sitting area.”
 of 5 bubbles doro_nz15, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have great sea views”
 of 5 bubbles Anderkiwis, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All have decent views.”
 of 5 bubbles RobynS381, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The beautiful roomy master bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs. My friends, a couple, one of whom is elderly, chose to sleep in the smaller double downstairs to be near the bathroom and avoid climbing the stairs. As a single traveller I slept in the perfectly adequate and very comfortable twin bedded room. Sadly, the lovely master did not get used! ”
 of 5 bubbles 21Lynda, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Huge, comfortable rooms = lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles 873sherreed, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5