Almond Court Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Almond Court Motel

53 Killarney Street, Alexandra 9320 New Zealand
Traveller (22)
Studio unit
Room & Suite (41)
Kitchen
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$168
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 motels in Alexandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Almond Court Motel has an 'Outstanding Customer Service Award' & 4 'Certificate of Excellence' Awards 2019,2018,2017,2016. Offering 8 quiet, comfortable and spacious motel apartments, all with air conditioning and all double glazed. Off the main road and all ground level. Outdoor areas, FREE BBQ, pool (summer), central heating (winter), fresh decor, king and super-king beds, lounges or seating areas in all apartments. FREE Wi-Fi, Sky, DVD/Blue-ray, small under 5's children's play area, bike storage, Breakfast options, on site laundry. Off street free parking. Full kitchens in all apartments, handy to supermarket, shops, cafes, sports grounds and rail trail. All Apartments are fresh and clean with no/low chemicals used and all products are either organic or Eco/trade friendly including our Tea & Coffees ranges.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Golf course
Books, DVDs, music for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

53 Killarney Street, Alexandra 9320 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Frankton Airport
56.9 km
See all flights
Christchurch Intl Airport
317.8 km
See all flights
143Reviews0Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 38
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Peter M wrote a review Jan 2020
Gold Coast, Australia24 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights in Unit 3 and really enjoyed it. The unit was spacious and centrally located with 3 minutes walk to the Supermarket and 10 minutes walk to the centre of the town, yet very quiet.

The unit was comfortable and we were impressed with the extra effort put into decoration and provision of kitchen utensils. Loved the king size (might even have been super king) bed.

Only slight negatives were the small and rather dated bathroom (but it functioned adequately) and limited sky TV channels and picture quality. However a plus was a good library of DVDs and the ability to use Chromecast or stream movies with the good wifi provided.

We utilised the undercover bike storage area.

Hosts Lisa and Greg were very obliging.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DJW20 wrote a review Sept 2020
156 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights. Handy location within walking distance to supermarket and town centre. Nice and quiet location off main road amongst residential area. We had the end motel which I wouldn't recommend as it gets no sun because of other buildings all around it. Also it was dark inside due to windows in kitchen and bathroom being glazed for privacy Value for money and good location
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Clearwater, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Thank you for your feedback, Yes that room is a little dark, however its cosy and warm in winter and nice and cool in summer. We are looking at plans, possibly a skylight option. Will see how Covid 19 impacts the year. With staying with us for 3 days, you were more than welcome to call over to the office and ask to change rooms. We are here to help, but we need to know if there is an issue. Regards Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosemary M wrote a review Jun 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Almond Court Motel nestled amongst private dwellings away from the noise and traffic of the main road. Welcomed by lovely hosts was only the beginning of a very comfortable stay. Our unit was spacious,extremely clean and beautifully warm. We were offered discounts to several restaurants in the township which is only a short drive away. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Clearwater, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Thanks, Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Horizon_The_Island wrote a review Mar 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand123 contributions78 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a comfortable motel situated on a side street off the main road leaving or arriving in Alexandra. It is not right in the middle of town, it took me about 20 minutes to walk when staying there, but it is close to excellent restaurants and a large well stocked NewWorld supermarket.

The rooms are partially refurbished (relatively new paint, carpet and curtains), and the one we had had a dated but functional and clean bathroom and kitchen. The bathroom was small, and the kitchen large and spacious, excellent for cooking without any restrictions on the kind of food people could cook (much appreciated).

I did have one of those beds, which I don't really like, whereby it is two single beds pushed together to make a large king sized looking bed. When first encountering them they look huge, but in fact they are two mattresses combined together. I invariably fall through the middle while sleeping. The best way to deal with this is to focus on one side of the bed and treat it as if it is in fact a single mattress. But this will vary for people, and you could ask about options before or when booking.

One of the attractions of staying here was the swimming pool, but it didn't seem operational when staying, or at least it didn't look as if it were.

The owners/managers were hospitable, kind and welcoming. They even supplied fresh full cream milk in a glass bottle. Even though I tend to drink soy and avoid diary if I can for health reasons, it was in fact delicious and I really appreciated the commitment to sustainability by use of glass bottles and locally sourced milk.

This is a convenient, comfortable and reliable motel for a night or two in Alexandra.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Clearwater, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 21 Mar 2021
Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed your time here. I would like to bring to your attention some incorrect details about our beds, in the this review. Yes our beds are huge, they are super-king, real super-king, NOT TWO SINGLES PUSHED TOGETHER... They are very comfy spilt mattress super-king beds with split base. This is so you can get them through a standard door. As the beds are huge. The Base is clipped with special catch and don't come apart unless taken apart. The mattress this zipped together on the underside and topside of the mattress as per manufacture instructions. Then we have added, super-king 1000gm fitted topper, a super-king fitted waterproof mattress protector and a super-king padded mattress protector, that goes through the wash. Which has elastic bands on each corner, Then the bed is made up with Super-king sheeting and bedding. There is NO WAY anyone could ever fall through the middle. IT IS PHYISCALLY IMPOSSIBLE. Apart from being able to see the split base as you walk in the door, many wouldn't know its a split Super-king that are very common and found in most Motel accommodation. Our pool is solar heated and fact we had snow on the hills/Mountains in Nov / Dec and Jan was late to be opened in 2020 It is always locked up and you are welcome to collect the key from the office.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan P wrote a review Jul 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand14 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were greeted with a friendly welcome and shown to unit 6 at the rear of the complex away from the road. It was a lovely warm and cosy motel on a very cold winter’s evening. The unit was well equipped and exceptionally clean and tidy.
A huge comfy bed gave us a great night’s sleep. The motel was also very quiet, being situated on a side road, away from the main road- no sounds from neighbouring unit either!
A very good find! Can certainly recommend
Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A good small , quiet, clean motel at reasonable rate and away from Main Street. Play area for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Clearwater, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your night. We work hard to have the apartments ready and toasty warm on these cold crisp Central Otago days. Thanks for staying with us and safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey M wrote a review Nov 2020
Wanaka, New Zealand48 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What prompted me to write this review was how amazingly clean the unit was. I have stayed in places that cost hundreds more in what you would think would be sparkling clean fancy hotel rooms and never seen such a high standard. I've literally just checked the top of the doors out of curiosity but nope, not a speck of dust there either lol!

Unit tastefully decorated and has everything you could want, and the price was very reasonable too.

Make this your first choice if staying in Alexandra. You won't be disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Clearwater, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Thank you for such high praise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant T wrote a review Apr 2022
35 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here 3 nights as part of our mountain trip. The motel was set back from the road, quiet, clean and comfortable and with pleasant open areas for BBQ, cleaning bikes and even an area for securing bikes if required. Helpful and friendly managers and a good location near a supermarket. Price was probably a bit higher than similar places we had stayed in in other towns and no servicing the room during Covid was their policy. Would we stay there again. Most probably especially if biking..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Clearwater, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed your stay, Late summer and early autumn can be very busy, due to the perfect biking conditions, weddings, sport, filming and the building that is happening in the area. We do normally service the room daily, however under Red level settings and with Covid in our community, we are not. However the changing of towels and updating anything you need is still happening, we just don't enter the room. We hope to return to normal serving soon. Enjoy the rest of your trip and travel safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at Almond Court Motel with our two young children. Our motel unit was very well laid-out, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Lisa and Greg were very friendly hosts, and the girls were well-catered for with children’s DVDs available to use. We really enjoyed the outdoor play area, trampoline, and swimming in the outdoor pool. I would highly recommend this motel to those with young families.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the brand new children's area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KittyK950 wrote a review Aug 2023
Brisbane, Australia208 contributions123 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great small motel to stay at. Our room was more like a 1 bedroom apartment as bedroom was separated to to small lounge area and kitchen area.
Kitchen had good size fridge, stove, microwave tea and coffee making facilities thus cutley and plates. Bathroom was good with hair dryer and heater for cold mornings. It was very clean, had guest laundry and small table and chairs outside our room. Would have like to stay longer
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen and Mark Roulston wrote a review Dec 2020
Wellington, New Zealand15 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly service. We stayed in two different units each side of doing the rail trail. Both were clean, quiet and spacious. Had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Only 5 mins walk to the New World, and a 5 min ride from the rail trail. Secure undercover place to store our bikes. Even on the night the motel was full, we couldn't hear the other guests. Plenty of car parking. Nice location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Clearwater, Owner at Almond Court Motel
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Emerald G wrote a tip Mar 2023
East Anglia, United Kingdom97 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy exploring the area."
Read full review
Jan P wrote a tip Jul 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand14 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A good small , quiet, clean motel at reasonable rate and away from Main Street. Play area for children"
Read full review
refuge wrote a tip Nov 2019
Westmead31 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in room 6 at the rear of the property but sure other rooms also queit"
Read full review
Mark wrote a tip Jul 2018
Hastings, New Zealand236 contributions105 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always at the back"
Read full review
mervyna7 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Millers Flat, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not able to give any tips as everything we needed was there."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alexandra area.
PRICE RANGE
$158 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionCentral OtagoAlexandra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALMOND COURT MOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Alexandra) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Almond Court Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Almond Court Motel?
Nearby attractions include Shaky Bridge (0.9 km), Pioneer Park (1.0 km), and Central Stories Museum & Art Gallery (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Almond Court Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Almond Court Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Almond Court Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Almond Court Motel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Almond Court Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Courthouse Cafe & Bar, Industry Lane Eatery, and The Tin Goose.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Almond Court Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Almond Court Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Alexandra.
All Alexandra HotelsAlexandra Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlexandraHotels near Almond Court Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire