We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Park Hotel

Save
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good45%
  • Average23%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank”(9 reviews)
“loft room”(8 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
74
141
71
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
74
141
71
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstongariro crossinglamb shankloft roombar and restaurantpacked lunchroaring firecommunal kitchenschool holidaysmini fridgegreat atmospherestayed here for one nightcommon areasdrying roompleasant stayhot tubtea and coffeeboth nights
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a really nice hotel the rooms are clean and comfortable the only thing is they have paper thin walls so if your a light sleeper or you don’t like listening to lots of people walking about and banging about upstairs then this isn’t...More

Thank lee a j
Response from Mark S, Owner at The Park HotelResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for the great review. Staff certainly appreciate the special mention and we're pleased you enjoyed our food. We do acknowledge that at really busy times some rooms can be noisy when there are less than considerate neighbors. We installed an additional sound proofing wall...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms are clean and modern yet feels like a traditional ski lodge. In the winter it’s very cosy but feels more like a youth hostel than a hotel. Nevertheless the staff were friendly and helpful and all in all great value for money. They even...More

Thank James E
Response from Mark S, Owner at The Park HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the positive review and good comments especially your summary " all in all great value for money" which is what we are trying to achieve for our guests.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we walked in every member of staff was from reception to restaurant and bar were an absolute pleasure to deal with and couldn’t have been more helpful. The rooms are compact but very warm and cozy. Heater was on when we arrived...More

Thank Rach S
Response from Mark S, Owner at The Park HotelResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for that great review - the lamb shanks are always a great dish. We pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you next weekend!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the staff were helpful, attentive and accommodating the room was less so. We stayed for 3 nights in a mezzanine room. The upstairs bed was so awful, it bent in the middle and you had to sleep like a banana. Only one person could...More

Thank Sillyena65
Response from Mark S, Owner at The Park HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and positive comments of the staff. Hopefully you alerted reception about the bed so it can be replaced. Given you were booked for 3 nights they could have moved you to another room or had the bed swapped out. Not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel experience ever. Very bad hospitality and rude manager for early arrival. Whereas we phoned and confirmed early check in, as we were with kids and lady on phone agreed and confirmed. Apart from that very cold and small room very tiny toilet can’t...More

Thank KaranJassy
Response from Mark S, Owner at The Park HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Our attempt to provide an additional level of service by making an early check-in available to these guests has worked out badly for us. We failed to have rooms ready early as promised and accept that we should not have made an undertaking we were...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Meeting Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$71 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$71 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (13)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ddln001
20 October 2015|
Answer
Response from TheParkHotelRuapehu | Property representative |
Hello, We have a communal television area that is open to our guests, that will be playing the rugby:)
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Most of the rooms are quiet"
Read review
"Stay on the upper floor away from the restaurant for noise abatement."
Read review
"The views from all rooms are nice - either of the surrounding mountains or the courtyard."
Read review
"There aren't any good rooms, don't stay here!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing