We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Coconuts Beach Club

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (648)
Room & Suite (209)
Pool & Beach (95)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 resorts in Maninoa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Coconuts Beach Club Resort & Spa truly embodies all that is unique and wonderful about culturally-rich Samoa. Coconuts offers Samoan-inspired accommodations, including Samoa's only Over-the-Water Fales, and is ideally situated on Upolu's southern coast, boasting amazing sunrise and sunset views. There are no high rises, no phones, and no TV's. Perfectly located to explore all of the island's sites and experiences, Coconuts offers many of the facilities and services you would expect from a much larger resort, with the heart and soul of a small, intimate retreat. With a warm and friendly staff, and surrounded by a traditional village, Coconuts provides a true taste of Samoa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Parking
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Hiking
Snorkelling
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
561Reviews22Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 285
  • 157
  • 55
  • 37
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
kaufo wrote a review Dec 2023
Terranora, Australia24 contributions29 helpful votes
Staying next door at Sinalei we missed their fire show and they recommended next door at Coconuts . The day before the show we walked over and had a few drinks and met I think his name was Tony who seemed to be the manager and welcomed us and booked for the following night . While there enjoying some drinks relaxing overlooking the water one of the guests showed us through his overwater bungalow , very nice . The next night we we were met by Tony , had a few drinks + dinner , a huge menu with plenty of choice and then the fire show . Yes sometimes things can be a bit slow but who cares we are in Pacific and the staff were so friendly and welcoming . It amazes me some peoples comments about service at some of these resorts , remember most are not owned by multimillion dollar companies , and they have been affected by covid and the elements . We are on island time so chill out and enjoy this wonderful island . Many thanks for your hospitality Steve .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows looked nice .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Talofa Steve, Thank you for checking out Coconuts, and sampling some of our food, drinks and entertainment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed everything. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we also appreciate your understanding of the dynamics of a small family run business in a place like Samoa. We hope to see you again in the future. Fa'afetai lava, and manuia le tausaga fou!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny Walker-McPeak wrote a review Nov 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand89 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Talofa! After leaving Aga Reef Resort and arriving at Coconuts - it was a culture shock. I felt in the first 24 hours that I had arrived in the USA with lost Samoans walking around enforcing "rules". I want to say right off the bat - the resort "way", does not match the Samoan "way". You can physically see in their eyes that they don't want to do things the way they've been told to do them. I will go in to more detail down below (see 6 'Staff'). After speaking about the following fully with the resort GM, and staff, I am writing this review so that YOU, the guest deciding if this is the right place for you, can make an informed decision before going. We booked 3 nights in an overwater fale (specifically Fale Lina right at the end - THE BEST ONE hands down - OK (front desk staff) did not disappoint - there were many turtles!!), luckily we did get a discount on this room from Brian, however very thankful we did not pay full price as I would have been even more upset than I am. I want to keep this easy to read so here are my concerns... 1. The Complimentary Breakfast. 3 measly options - Option 1 - a small bowl of cereal, Option 2 - toast and 1 small muffin (this is the continental which seems to be the most popular, but isn't served as it should be due to lack of training for new hires), or Option 3 - 2 tiny croissants - all accompanied by coffee OR tea, and OJ... you have to pay if you want other juice. Nothing accommodating for guests with dietary requirements. I am dairy free - pretty easy to accommodate - and even with the staff being told at check in, and by me every day, they still organised nothing but an extra banana 1 day. I ended up just ordering food off of the menu - which they still messed up with cheese in my. omelette and butter on my toast. Lack of communication and lack of training, mixed with new staff = a very confusing breakfast hour with no structure, routine or flow. The coffee included is NOT iced coffee unless your order coffee with a glass of ice on the side. Or you pay extra for Iced coffee. Confused? We were. Still are. But we got $30WST back - so a win!! What is meant to happen is far from what is happening, and the GM is now aware of this and will hopefully add more options for other diets. Just be prepared. The other thing I struggled with (which was rectified at the end when I voiced my many concerns) was the poor selection of said "complimentary' breakfasts. Especially having just come from a resort where we paid half the price, got five times the selection and quality (iced coffee, a la carte breakfast, fruit, and a Samoan porridge - see my AGA REEF review). 2. Overwater Fale. First off, this was 1 of the only highlights about this stay, the other being the staff - which I will get to, however even as the highlight of the trip it needs a lot of improvement. One of the biggest disappointments (which we read about but thought had been changed) is there is no ladder or steps down in to the water - so ZERO access from the fale - you have to go to the beach to swim. Fale Lina is the most private of the OW Fale's, however with the full sun in the afternoons the AC needs to run on low for the entire time so I don't follow the recommendation of turning it off while you're not in the room - and to housekeeping... please turn it on a couple hours before people are due to check in. Also, no phone to call for anything you may need - housekeeping, food, clean cups, info. The walk to reception isn't too far but it's far enough so a phone would be helpful. Another thing I noticed first off was there was no mini bar options, including the basics of milk and water in the fridge. Paying $900-$1300/night NZD I expect a cold fresh bottle of water, juice, pop, wine, beer, nuts, and some fruit stocked daily. But, no, you must walk to breakfast to hopefully get your 4-5 cut bits of fruit and OJ. The tap water is safe (yes, it says in the book), but good luck getting a cold glass out of the tap. My suggestion is to bring at a minimum 2 water bottles, boil the water, and pop them in the fridge - alternate. An example of exemplary in room service (and something to think about incorporating here) was when when we stayed at the Yasawa Island Resort & Spa (Fiji), we were asked on arrival to fill out a preference card stating which drinks and snacks we would like stocked daily - this was complimentary for the villa we were staying in (see my Yasawa review), and would be a nice touch for the OW Fale guests. 3. Extra Charges. We celebrated my birthday while we were at Coconuts, and we were told it would be $300WST to have room service - which included someone setting our table. We didn't want to pay for a fuss, or for someone to lay a tablecloth down with a flower and candle, we just wanted to eat in our room enjoying our balcony over the water at sunset. We did explain we were happy to pay a tray fee but weren't happy to pay the $300WST ON TOP OF the dinner, drinks, and dessert. We've paid for special dinners in romantic set up spots before, but this wasn't one of them - this was at our table IN our room. AKA Room Service. For Wifi - if you're with ONENZ (as I am) - roam. It's $8 or $9 per day and it works fine. The resort wifi is very expensive as wifi isn't cheap in Samoa - $20WST for 1G and it is very slow - 8-10 insta posts max. LOL 4. Food. Some items are great, some are terrible. Mika's dishes seem to be the best pick - his special sauce pasta (without anchovies for me) was delicious and my husband loved the coconut I'a fish. Definitely try the Palusami - YUM! My husband and I are foodies, we love eating local flare when we travel - probably another reason we were so disappointed with our breakfasts here. Stay away from the stuffed eggplant, and the Coconut Cobb salad - both very average. As well, the "lobster" is spiny rock lobster aka crayfish. 5. Pool Bar & Activities. The pool swim up bar wasn't open the entire time we were there (4 days), and was filthy... empty cups/coconuts, and overflowing rubbish. The water activities hut is hit and miss - and again, because there's no phones you can't call to check if someone can help you. It's frequently left unattended even though it's meant to be manned 830-12, and 1-430. The staff that we did find rectified the situation (again) but it would be nice if someone was there more. Also, specifically the snorkel gear needs to be cleaned properly - this is actually a Health & Safety matter. My suggestion is to bring your own snorkel gear as the "best ones" have parts missing and mine was full of gross makeup (ladies, wash your face - you're going in the ocean... fish aren't judging you). 6. Staff. Most of the staff are really nice and seem to love what they do, but some seem to not be enjoying themselves at work, at all. I feel like this is the heavy influence of the owners son, the Resort Manager Brian. The restaurant staff are a mix of people who are genuinely warm, there to have a good chat, and make you feel welcome, where as others (especially if you have had to complain about something or send something back due to dietary needs) make you feel like you're a bit of an inconvenience to deal with. The culture show is well worth going to - this was another highlight of our stay. It was a more personal intimate experience and less showy than other resort nights we've attended. Fire knife dancing was a hit. The front desk staff will help you if you need anything easy, but will also tell you to "get use to it - its Samoa" if you have any actual concerns. At first this didn't sit well with me, as my "concerns" were quite genuine, and I felt unheard - like they were just there to collect the last dollar in your pocket, but after a lengthy discussion explaining what had been happening since our arrival - one said person in particular, corrected his phrase to say he didn't mean it how it came across, and wanted to try to make things better. Sio has a great sense of humour and is warm and welcoming from the moment you meet him - thanks for the lift! Brian, to you, thank you for the discount on the Fale - it was appreciated. I know in the US resorts like this work, however having travelled extensively through the pacific islands - this is not the ideal way to have this resort. The staff would be much happier not trying to squeeze every dollar out of every guest. Less change, more routine, flow and freedom to keep guests happy would go a long way. An example being able to offer apple or pineapple juice if someone doesn't like orange, offering 2 complimentary cocktails for the beach huts, and maybe 2 cocktails with an in room dining night for the overwater fales, having a smaller a la carte menu for breakfast catering to everyones needs, and making espresso the standard when serving coffee - not charging extra for it. I felt a very heavy American influence during my stay, and again, as I said above, felt the resort policies do not come off well from the samoan people. The Samoans we met along the way - prior, and during, seemed to be caring, giving, humble people - not greedy, charge charge, charge, Americans. I know you know what I mean. Your Dad Barry is very highly spoken of by the staff as a good man, and I think you should have a chat with him about the direction this resort could go, as well as getting the staffs input. I don't mean any of this to come across harsh, but the reality is in the review. Speaking to other guests, I am not alone with these feelings - I'm just happy to voice them. If you've made it to the end of this review, thanks, I'm only trying to help make your experience better than ours was. For us it was just one thing after the other that made our first couple days hard to enjoy. If you do go to this resort thinking "she's just complaining" as we did after reading a few concerning reviews Lastly, to ALL of the staff who did make our stay more warm and welcome, we thank you! You know who you are!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You pay for shuttles and wifi. You’re pretty much guaranteed to “sea” turtles.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Talofa, thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to write your quite thorough review. We value your thoughts and feedback as they are very helpful to both us and to other travelers. We are very sorry that there were many areas where your experience fell short of expectations, and in some cases where we didn't meet our own goals. Every guest is unique, and as they take in what is happening around them, they create individual concepts which help shape and support the overall story. Please know that your disappointment is shared by us, but we hope to make some improvements based on your remarks and suggestions. Fa'afetai and tofa soifua.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
traceywhitecliffebur wrote a review Oct 2023
New Zealand3 contributions
+1
We have just arrived from the most relaxing holiday at Coconuts Beach Club Resort. My husband and I stayed here 20 years ago. Its still as great as we remember. The beach and pool are fabulous! Brian and the staff are friendly and helpful. We LOVED the Beach front Fale we were upgraded to, and totally recommend staying in one! There is plenty of activities you can do, from snorkling, paddleboarding to trips out to see the turtles and giant clams. We were so relaxed we didnt leave the resort, which is VERY unusual for us! A top trip! We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are wanting a busy, crowded resort then this isn't the place for you. This will suit...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Talofa Tracey, thank you for being our guests again! We always love to see our Returning Nuts, no matter how many years have gone by. We are so happy to know you had a great and relaxing holiday in Samoa. We do appreciate your kind words and wonderful review. All of our staff send alofa tele (much love) to both of you, and we would be honored to see you again. Wishing you Manuia le Kerisimasi. Fa'afetai lava, tofa soifua!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa F NZ wrote a review Sept 2023
Coromandel, New Zealand9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here in 2018 and couldn't wait to return. This trip we stayed for 2 weeks, 12 nights in a 1 bedroom beach fale, and 2 nights in an overwater fale. The rooms are lovely, very spacious with comfortable beds, and separate sitting areas with coffee-making/bar area with a fridge. We spent a lot of our time relaxing on the comfortable furniture on our large deck admiring the view of the beautiful beach and ocean. The fales have air-conditioning and fans which were perfect on the hotter nights. And the insect screens on the windows allow you to have them open day & night, so the breeze keeps the room cool - most nights we didn't use the AC. The fales are built with so much character using timber & stone tiles. The bathrooms are just beautiful! The rock waterfall shower in the 1 bedroom fale was a highlight! The beach is simply stunning with white sand, azure water and coconut palms swaying in the breeze. We snorkelled with turtles every day! The water is lovely and clear with a current that lets you drift from one end of the resort to the other - perfect for swimming and snorkelling. We hired a car and travelled around the island for a few days, and quickly realized that Coconuts is located on one of the nicest beaches on the island. The staff at the resort are incredible, from our pick-up at the airport by Sio, to check-in with OK, the beautiful band (sorry, I did not get your names) and all the amazing waiters and waitresses who served us at the stunning restaurant. They are so friendly & welcoming, and can't do enough to make sure your stay is perfect. A visit to the incredible spa is a must! The menu is extensive and every meal delicious. We were worried that we might tire of the menu when staying for so long, but this wasn't the case. There are so many dishes to choose from, an extensive drinks and cocktail menu, and dinner specials most nights to keep it interesting. Highly recommend the French Toast for breakfast, and Tuna with Traditional Samoan Vegetables at dinner - superb! If you are looking for a resort where you can truly unwind, slow down, switch off your devices, be immersed in Samoan culture, in an idyllic setting, then Coconuts is the place for you. It is charming, rustic, romantic, peaceful, and so so relaxing. Thank you Brian and your team for an amazing holiday. We highly recommend Coconuts Beach Club & Resort. We cannot wait to return and will definitely be back! Fa'afetai.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 8 Sept 2023
Talofa lava! It was our pleasure and honor to have both of you stay with us again. We are so happy to know you had a great time, and that you enjoyed all the many things that Coconuts has to offer. We thank you for taking the time to write such an eloquent and comprehensive review. We consider you part of our Coconuts aiga (family) and your home in Samoa. All of our staff send you alofa tele (much love) and we hope to see you again soon. Until then, fa'afetai lava, and tofa soifua!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NZJaneNZ wrote a review Sept 2023
Whangarei, New Zealand43 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We have just returned from 3 nights in a beachfront fale and 6 nights in an overwater fale at Coconuts which was fantastic. We dined a la carte for all our meals in the beautiful beachfront restaurant where all the staff were lovely and the new staff eager to learn. A must is Coconuts Fia Fia night put on by Samoans from the local village. We saw turtles every day out front and also under our overwater fale. The beach to the far side of the overwater fales was our favourite place for walking and swimming and we would snorkel from there to outside the restaurant.There isn't a lot of coral out front but you can be taken out towards the reef to see more fish or enquire about the tours which offer snorkelling with clams etc The spa is in a beautiful setting and I enjoyed a couple of relaxing treatments there with the lovely ladies The lighting at night can be dim so do use your phone light or take a small torch, also good to use at the restaurant for the menu when outside. Also ask for an umbrella to keep in the room in case of unexpected heavy showers to get to the restaurant area A big thank you to Brian and all his amazing staff and we will be back again to enjoy your beautiful place
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Talofa Jane, thank you for being our guests. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your holiday in Samoa. We are so glad that you had a great time and made the most of all that Coconuts has to offer. We appreciate your thoughtful review and the tips you gave do offer some good advice to other travelers. All of our staff send you alofa tele (much love), and we would be honored to have your visit your Coconuts aiga (family) again in the future. Fa'afetai lava, tofa soifua!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fiammetta S wrote a review Aug 2023
72 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
A hallucinating place. Dirty rooms full of worms and animals of all kinds. But worst of all, for days the "corpses" of worms stayed there which means the cleanliness sucked. The staff speaks sloppy English and there is nothing, but really nothing to do but hang out in the pool (in a place that is supposed to be great) drinking alcohol. Everything is "stretched" with water -- shampoo, conditioner, soap, even cocktails. And you pay for everything, because nothing is included in your stay. One star only for the sea, beautiful, wonderful white beach, but no fish because there is no more reef. Other resorts much better but less advertised. I would never go back there in my life
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check for other resorts. There are fantastic on the main island not publicized like this one
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 24 Aug 2023
Talofa dear guests, we are very disheartened to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We are sorry that your room was not kept clean by our housekeeping staff. We will use your report as an example to instill a higher level of service. It is true that Coconuts has always been a place to get some rest and relaxation. And while we may not offer the most excitement or activities in Samoa, we do have some things to do (if one is so inclined). Such as; a village walking tour, day trips to various scenic places or activities on the island, and our once a week fiafia show. We don't understand your comment about stretching items with water. With regards to the toiletries, we don't modify them at all. Our guests receive the products in the rooms just as they came from the manufacturers. Obviously cocktails can be watered down, but that's not a practice that we promote. In fact we often hear that the drinks we serve are stronger than expected. Our large lagoon is protected from the sea by a very large reef. We think that you probably meant to say that there is a small amount of of live coral in the lagoon. This unfortunately has been the trend over many years. In spite of this, there are some fish that inhabit the lagoon, as well as many sea turtles. If someone is looking for better snorkeling sights, there are other places around the island. We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts, as we are always interested in ways that we can improve the experience for all our guests. Tofa soifua!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Finz2010 wrote a review Aug 2023
New Zealand132 contributions53 helpful votes
Coconuts was a place where you could go and have a decent lunch, enjoy the scenery and drink wonderful cocktails. Unfortunately that's not the case anymore. Lunch was ok, the three different cocktails that I had were just crap! All 3, were tasteless, one was curdled. They were awful. Coconuts if this is how things are heading, I am not going to waste my money going back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 17 Aug 2023
Talofa dear guest, thank you for your feedback and review. We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the cocktails you were served. We have been known for making great drinks, so this is something out of the norm. Did you mention the problems with the drinks to your server or the manager at the time? This would have given us the opportunity to identify the issues (which helps us make improvements) as well as offer you proper replacement drinks. Tofa soifua
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alysha V wrote a review Aug 2023
Nelson, New Zealand265 contributions28 helpful votes
We came here for a snorkelling tour and from what we could see of this resort it’s absolutely divine! We didn’t use any of the facilities here except for the bathroom which were really cool and funky with tropical rustic vibes. The setting overlooking the ocean was spectacular and we would love to stay here sometime.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 17 Aug 2023
Talofa, and thank you for stopping by Coconuts. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful beach, ocean, and surroundings around here. We hope to see you again sometime. We appreciate your thoughts and the review. Tofa soifua!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen O wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution6 helpful votes
Aside from the beautiful beach outside, SOME nice staff and outdoor facilities, if you want a gentrified, overpriced, rooms/ beds infested with bugs experience then Coconuts is for you. This inclusive ‘Samoan’ experience, includes clueless American owners and American PowerPoints in the room so bring your adaptor! By the way, check in also closes at 4:30pm, so if you arrive after that don’t expect any special treatment, and bring a torch because it’s so dark you can’t see anything. If you’re a Kiwi or any race that has history with Samoa, you’ll also get a ‘lesson’ on history and made to feel so uncomfortable you want to leave. What was done to rectify this you ask? A free cocktail at the also fly infested bar. Get yourself a culturally insensitive cocktail- including ‘Maori Madness’ that’ll ‘make your tongue stick out!’ No thanks! But if you don’t buy yourself a drink, one of the staff members will corner you in the dark and try coerce you to buy them drinks and make you feel so unsafe whilst scolding you calling you names. P.S. no need for your politically correct reply below Brian (thanks for brushing off all our concerns that we raised with you!) that’s if you can reply considering apparently no included WIFI for guests who paid over $1000 a night? Saved for a trip of a life time for this experience and we are guttered. We most definitely will never be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 18 Aug 2023
Talofa dear guests, we thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review, which is very well written and in an entertaining style. We are indeed sorry and very disappointed that you had such a poor overall experience. You bring up many valid points, but some clarification on various items may benefit other travelers. All our rooms have both NZ and US types of power outlets. In cases where the desired power point access is not convenient, we have extension cords and plug adapters available for our guests on request. Your mention of reception closing at 4:30 pm is helpful. Many guests have no choice on what time they arrive, so we have our night watchmen available, who can assist them get to their rooms after our reception staff have left for the day. They remain available to help guests until our regular staff return to work at 8:30 am. The guest can then check in on the following morning. If any guests have the option to arrive before 4:30 pm, that would be advisable. Keeping a torch on hand can be handy, as it does get dark in Samoa at night. Our overall lighting scheme at Coconuts has been designed to avoid harsh bright lights, so it may be darker than what most are used to. Since many people normally travel with a mobile phone, using the led light on the phone can help light the way. We have never had anyone point out that the name or description of a cocktail was culturally insensitive. But even as a clueless American, I can now see how someone might be offended by that. We will now consider making some revisions to our drinks menu. On a more serious note, we are truly sorry that a couple of our staff members acted inappropriately, and that their words or behavior caused you to feel uncomfortable, unsafe, or unwelcome. It is also unfortunate that; after I listened to your reports about these situations, asked some questions to get a full understanding, expressed that I was sorry to hear what happened and that it was not acceptable, that we would do something about it, immediately thereafter communicated the issues with our general manager, and actions were taken the next day, you consider this was brushing off all your concerns. This is not a politically correct reply, just a statement of facts. Tofa soifua
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jennifer S wrote a review Aug 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand18 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Brian and staff. We are Jenny and Alan Sparks, and were staying in Fale F. The resort/location was beautiful, and we thoroughly enjoyed mingling with you and your great staff ... nothing was too much trouble. I have to say, there were a few things that could be easily improved. The lighting to and from the restaurant, and the light in the restaurant was poor Just improving the candles would help. The reception area doesn't do the resort justice, needs improving. Just little niggles. On the whole, the resort was run extremely well, and would highly recommend it to our friends. Our fale was lovely and just steps to the sea for a swim. Many thanks for a wonderful holiday ... Brian, your interaction was very helpful. We shall be back. Please tell the bar staff that Mr Valima says hello and thank you. Right now we are getting through our post holiday blues. All the best, Jenny & Alan.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club
Responded 9 Aug 2023
Talofa Jenny and Alan, Thank you so much for being our guests, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Coconuts. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday and had a positive experience. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions, we are making some changes right away. Fa'afetai for taking the time to share your thoughts by writing this review. Your new Coconuts family (which includes all our staff) miss you already. We send both of you alofa tele (much love), and hope to see you again soon. Until then, tofa soifua!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maninoa area.
PRICE RANGE
$463 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coconuts beach club hotel apia, coconuts beach hotel, coconuts beach resort
LOCATION
SamoaUpoluManinoa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COCONUTS BEACH CLUB - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Maninoa, Samoa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Coconuts Beach Club
Which popular attractions are close to Coconuts Beach Club?
Nearby attractions include Papapapaitai Falls (7.5 km) and Coastal Lava Cliff Walk (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coconuts Beach Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Coconuts Beach Club?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Coconuts Beach Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coconuts Beach Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Club Maninoa, Lupe's Cocktail Bar & Restaurant, and Ava I Toga.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coconuts Beach Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Coconuts Beach Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Coconuts Beach Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Coconuts Beach Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.