Canareef Resort Maldives
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Canareef Resort Maldives

Traveller (1998)
Beautiful beach
Pool & Beach (393)
Sunrise villa amazing bathroom (outside)
Room & Suite (145)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Herathera Island
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in the southern-most atoll of the Maldives, Addu – a recently declared UNESCO biosphere reserve, Canareef Resort Maldives can be reached by domestic flight across the equator from Male’ International Airport to Gan Airport or a direct flight to Gan International Airport via selected airlines, and a 10-minute speedboat ride. Surrounded by turquoise waters, freshwater lakes, mangroves and unspoiled nature, the island flaunts its own private picnic island and one of the longest beaches in the Maldives and is the only resort in the country with direct access to a local island on foot via a connecting bridge. Home to 271 spacious beach villas sprawled across a 4.5 km stretch of coastline, each accommodation offers open-air bathrooms and an inviting patio, guaranteeing views of either the lagoon or the expansive Indian Ocean.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Dining area
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino, Hindi and 1 more

Location

Addu City, 19060
Getting there
Gan-Seenu Airport
Fuvahmulah Airport
41.4 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles649 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Canareef Resort Maldives is frequently lauded for its comprehensive amenities, including buggies, bikes, and pools, although opinions on value diverge, with some guests finding it affordable and others questioning the price-quality ratio. The rooms, known for their spaciousness and features like private jacuzzis, may seem a bit outdated to some. The enchanting location near idyllic beaches is a highlight, as is the resort's cleanliness. While the atmosphere is lively with entertainment, a few guests desire more tranquility. The staff's exceptional service is often celebrated by visitors.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
649Reviews184Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 388
  • 156
  • 54
  • 29
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Karen Woolton wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We cannot take credit for finding this idyllic destination, Ava from Blue Bay Travel should be sought for all those looking for paradise at price to suit the majority of budgets .The canareef resort is located on an island which is 4.7km long. Expect white powdered beaches , aqua marine ocean , and the peace and tranquility that one can hope for when you leave a fast paced working life back home . The accommodation is rustic , we were fortunate enough to be staying in a sunset villa on the beach front . The rooms are tendered twice a day, fresh towels and linen daily . There is one main restaurant which may sound unusual for a 5* but the food is varied and the dishes on offer suit the majority of tastebuds , however there is a a la carte restaurant too. All you need to bring with you is casual clothing, a pair of flip flops and some good reading material and you will find yourself looking n paradise . I have been fortunate enough to travel to 43 destinations throughout the world and I can honestly say this has now got to be my number one destination......from the moment we arrive we were led to a comfortable area by Sheena , we were handed fresh wet towels and a cup of iced tea to relax us immediately, what a pleasant change not to be checked in at a reception desk, everything was so relaxed and informal. Athif has to get a mention , he was our waiter and takes pride in everything he does his main aim is to ensure you are happy. All the staff are so attentive and meet every need.
It was also noted that the owner from Singapore was staying here and he made sure he spoke to as many holiday makers as possible to talk about the island and to ensure that we were all happy with the service provided and clearly in the future there will be huge development plans , don’t feel that you have to be a loved up couple to visit here, it’s here for everyone .. It’s a big Thankyou from Marco and Karen room 115
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Dear Onelife 1803, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Canareef Resort Maldives. It would be important to note that we are a 4* Resort and not 5* as stated above. Yes, we do try to have a variety of food to cater for different requirements and we try to ensure that people with special needs are catered for. We are extremely happy that you have classified us as your number one destination, found our services to your satisfaction and met all your expectations. We will definitely inform Ms. Shenna GRE and your waiter Mr. Athif of your very positive comments. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments, It was our pleasure to be of service and we hope that you will again consider us for your next vacation in the Maldives.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley M wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been to the Maldives on previous occasions and this time chose a much bigger island accessed from Gan Airport, rather than Male.
This meant our experience was very different with a large island offering bike rental (included in All Inclusive) or a number of electric buggies with drivers to take you around or walking, of course.
All of the staff, from reception to waiting to bar staff and cleaners were all very friendly and wanted to make our stay a good experience. The island is run by a company from Singapore and they know what they are doing.
We happened to meet the General Manager on our return flight and he came across as very enthusiastic about what had been achieved since his company had taken over and there are more improvements in the pipeline.
But even given these further improvements planned, we could not fault this resort.
The food selection for the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets was exceptional, bearing in mind all food has to travel quite a distance.
There have been previous reviews about wine choice, but quite frankly, people should remember where they are. Of course the wine would be more expensive than other countries that have better transport facilities. In this resort, if you are not on All Inclusive, most of the wine was around $45 however there is a reasonable Spanish red and wine for $24 including service and tax.
We would order one of these for lunch, have a couple of glasses and then take the bottle back to the villa and fridge. Getting ready later in the evening overlooking such wonderful sunsets with a glass of chilled wine in hand is something we enjoy.
We were extremely happy and surprised at the number and variety of fish when snorkeling in the south of the island, all within waist or chest deep water. It was ideal for people who are not confident swimmers or young children.
We found the ideal time was before breakfast when the fish are feeding and, when we were there, the sea was very still. Later in the day when there was a little bit more sea movement the visibility was not as good.
For those looking for reef edge snorkeling there are boats trips available and, speaking to guests who did this, the size and variety improves with manta rays, reef sharks and larger fish however given how good it was just off the beach we didn't really feel we missed out by not going on a boat, just a different experience.
This resort is clearly aiming for a 5 star experience and we think they are achieving this, at Maldivian standards. Those expecting 5 star Dubai will need to revalue.
One word of warning...this is a larger island so there are more guests and they are from all the world, However there is plenty of space on this island and lots of areas where you can find quiet places to relax.
Regarding locations of villas, this island is long and narrow stretching north to south, so all villas facing east will see the sunrise and obviously vice versa. Villas facing east have to benefit of cooling on shore breeze however this means constant noise of waves on the beach.
Villas facing west are looking out over the Atol so sea very calm but hotter temperature and more effect from humidity.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
tattoosteve2015 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fantastic resort on the southern most Atol of the Maldives. Staff are wonderful and very friendly. We stayed for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed it. The villa was quiet and tranquil and offered everything you need including a Jacuzzi. The beach was a few metres through some lovely bushes from the back patio. The snorkelling from the local beach is not great as only about a metre deep for about 2/3 kilometre. However I saw a small black-tip shark and a turtle as well as lots of fish and coral. We stayed in the 600 range of villas, which are a long walk from reception and even longer walk from the restaurant. However free buggies pick you up or you can cycle, Ensure you get the bicycles as the island is long and thin. The staff we all so friendly and helpful with a special shout out to Soli our restaurant waiter who went above and beyond to make our stay great.

The only exception to this was the guide on the snorkelling trip. The trip itself took us to a lovely reef with lots of fish, coral and a turtle. However the guide did not give any guidance on which reef we were going to, what we would see, how deep, how strong the currents were or rules on the coral and fish, ie no touching. There was only 1 guide for 8 people and he did not look after the 2 people who were weak swimmers, I had to keep an eye on them. The guide then went on to stand on the coral, touch the turtle and only look after the group of 4 that had 2 beautiful daughters. I confronted him on touching the turtle and he said ' I was cleaning its shell'. He and the group of 4 hassled and chased the turtle so the rest of us only got a glimpse. I fed this back to the reception staff and got feedback from other guests that they put 2 guides on future trips and did a basic briefing.

The dolphin trip was well worth it, seeing many small dolphins even though the weather wasn't great. Though we got the same snorkelling guide, who completely blanked us.

I did 5 days (15 dives) of diving across a multitude of dive sites. Saw many wonderful Manta Rays, White-tip/Black-tip/Grey Sharks, Turtles, Reefs, Fish and the HMS Royalty wreck. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

My partner had 2 spa sessions and said they were wonderful.

Overall a great relaxing trip, worth the long travel time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sunset villas overlook the inner sea of the Atol and don't get the strong winds of the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandwich 1962 wrote a review Mar 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The 16hr travelling was forgotten the minute you arrive at the jetty via speedboat the view is paradise. Check in was very quick and we were in our villa within 15 minutes. We have a jacuzzi villa on the sunset side of the island which is the better side, the sunrise villas have the rough sea.
The villa was huge with a large 4 poster bed, outdoor bathroom with a jacuzzi and 2 sun beds and the back of the villa a big veranda with table and chairs and another 2 sun beds on the sand. We had number 508 which was roughly in the middle of the island which I was glad about
The beach by the villas is beautiful and the sea so calm and warm. We went to the far south of the island which had a beach bar and ample of sun beds and did a bit of snorkelling.
The food was very good always something that I liked and I am a very fussy eater. Our waiter Ikeel was lovely and very knowledgeable about the island and I liked the idea of having the same waiter and table throughout our stay.
We went to the Dhoni bar a few evenings but we liked the Meera bar staff amazing. We got to know them all quite well as we always used the pool there as it was only a minute walk to the villa. We had the pool practically to ourselves the first few days then maybe 6 people towards the end of the week The waiters Shahumeen , Sampack and another waiter from Bangladesh were amazing. As soon as we got to our sun beds we had drinks brought over to us and help with parasols etc. On our last night Shahumeen set up a table on the beach with lights in the trees and a sculpture of a dolphin in the sand with a message hope to see you soon I was gobsmacked did not know what to say. He was amazing a credit to the hotel. Also we only got coffee mate in the room so we asked the bar for proper milk so they delivered a big glass to our villa for us
The dolphin trip was amazing best I’ve ever been on and I do a dolphin trip every holiday, there were loads of dolphins jumping out of the water doing turns in the air fabulous. We got that trip free due to being all inclusive maximum of 18 on the boat. This is a must trip to do.
Our housekeeper was Rubel and he also was amazing. He came twice a day and always had a chat with us if we were in.
All in all a fabulous holiday where all the staff said good morning or just hello and cannot wait to go back. I even learnt to ride a bike whilst I was there but hard work in that heat. Beware the sun is very strong we sat in the shade most of the week.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gez Gerry wrote a review Apr 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently returned from a week at the Canareef Resort in the Maldives. To say it was paradise is definitely understating the fact.
The trip started by being picked up at Gan airport and being whisked away on a speedboat to the island paradise which is Canareef. White sand, clear sparkling sea water and coral reefs are the first things that greet you as you arrive, followed by staff service that was warm and ultra efficient. Nothing is too much trouble and we felt instantly relaxed and welcome. The accommodation was tasteful and very comfortable with ample room and a beautiful view. The food was exquisite, prepared by a professional and passionate chief. A great selection of drinks and cocktails from the bar and plenty to do including pool and table tennis amongst other things.
The Olympic size swimming pool was like climbing into a warm bath and with tennis court and gym, you are spoilt for choice. We used the cycles provided to get around the island, but a buggy is on call for the less energetic. We found this very helpful when, after snorkeling from the beach, one of the buggies returned both us and our bikes back to our residence.
There are a selection of pursuits on the water on offer, including snorkeling, paddle boards kayaks and a dolphin spotting trip, which we did and saw a large amount of spinner dolphins up close and personal. There is also a well equipped dive centre on the island with a qualified guide.
We had the time of our lives, feeling like we were the only on our own private island. We will definitely visit again, and suggest you do too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Remember your shades,hat and suncream.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike C wrote a review Jan 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
its the Maldives, exactly what you should expect... .beautiful beaches and sea. the rooms are spotless and the facilities are good for a tropical island. Get a sunset villa and they come with bikes if you do AI. Food is very good in the restaurant. But here is the catch. Dont bother with a hot tub room. you get the hot tub, but they charge you $50 everytime you fill it up! and it carries on from there. there are hidden charges everywhere and i was overcharged when doing some diving. i had to argue this out with the jobsworth cashier who sorts your bill out at the end of the holiday. it seems he doesnt know the meaning of customer courtesy. Most of the staff were similar though, especilally the bar staff, i felt guilty ordering an alcaholic drink. All in all, a stunning place but right from the boat transfer (their boat by the way) $80 each way each for a ten minute transfer, you realise they just want your cash and not your company.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sunset villa but not the hot tub ones!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear MikeC265, Thank you for taking the effort to write about Canareef Resort Maldives on TripAdvisor on your stay and giving your comments. You stayed with us from the 30th of December 2019 to the 4th of January 2020 in room 163. With regards to the Jacuzzi, if you had booked a Jacuzzi Villa it will definitely include the filling of the Jacuzzi. Your booking is for a Sunset Villa and therefore does not include the use of a Jacuzzi. As we do have some Jacuzzi's in Sunset Villas we charge USD 50 per fill should the guest wish to have that as an extra feature. The Jacuzzi takes about 968 liters of water and you can understand that there would definitely be a cost for the water and the running of the Jacuzzi. We are sorry that you were not explained of this on arrival. On the issue of the Dive Center I have gone through the invoice and the problem that you had faced. This was clearly an error from the Dive Center where they charged you on the 31st of December 2019 for a Dive and again added that amount to the Dive on the 3rd of January 2020. You had brought this up when receiving your bill upon checkout. The Dive Center management was contacted immediately and rectification was done to your bill before your departure. We have already contacted the Dive Center Owner to inform him that we cannot afford such errors as it greatly affects our guests. They have assured us that more measures will be introduced in order that this does not happen again. The speedboat trip between Gan and Canareef is 15 minutes on a good calm day and can stretch to 20 to 25 minutes depending on the sea condition. We charge between USD 35 and USD 40 per person per trip depending on the contracted rate. We do apologize for the issues above and again thank you for taking your time to write concerning your stay. We can assure you that we are not in the business of hiding charges. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freedom04537544938 wrote a review Aug 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are AMAZING…this cannot be understated…..we had the most wonderful experience of customer service at every single moment and with every single member of staff at this delightful resort that feels like a bit of paradise
A big shout out to Ashraf our fantastic waiter, shashi the best dj ever and Hashma ( sorry name might be wrong) the lifeguard who took us snorkelling on our first day. Also to our housekeeping team who surprised us with creative and wonderful flower and leaf creations on our bed most days.
The reception staff especially at arrival and departure were outstanding. Mention in particular Shadhih who was so kind staying with us until we had checked in at Gan airport
The staff at the bars mixed the very best cocktails and mock tails and brought them to us wherever we were around the huge beautiful swimming pool . Always with a smile and such kindness .We loved the snacks they served at high tea at 4.30 everyday around the pool.
Congratulations to the chef and their team….the food was delicious with great themed evenings…we particularly loved the Asian night and the seafood night ,the little canapés and spectacular desserts. Such care taken throughout this resort
We enjoyed cycling with our very own bikes left at the villa and the buggy was fantastic and arrived within minutes wherever we were at any time
Fish feeding at 5.45 everyday on the jetty was also great..baby sharks , turtles and beautiful fish
Thank you for making Fleur and my stay at Canareef so memorable and so special. We were sad to say goodbye to you and will be back when we can
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ahmed Ameed Naseer, Marketing at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Dear Michele & Fleur, We are delighted to hear about your unforgettable experience at Canareef Resort Maldives. Our dedicated team takes immense pride in delivering exceptional service to create moments that last a lifetime. It's wonderful to know that Ashraf, Shashi and our lifeguard Himal, and the entire staff left a positive impact on your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our culinary offerings, themed evenings, and the convenience of our facilities like the bicycles provided to you and the fast buggy service. It's heartening to hear that you enjoyed the daily fish feeding on the jetty. Your compliments and your intention to return mean the world to us. We can't wait to welcome you and Fleur back to Canareef! Best wishes and lots of love from the team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oliver F wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have recently enjoyed a 2 week stay in Canareef, we had a beautiful jacuzzi villa which was a 30 second walk to the beach (stones and coral on beach so bring rubber soled beach shoes)

The resort is amazing, it’s unconventionally beautiful, it was clearly a casualty of covid being so far from Male, and Is still over grown in parts, this seemed to make the destination better as you are “at one” with nature still. Palm trees & green everywhere and lit up beautifully at night.

Food was great, lots of variety each day and I’ve probably gained a stone. The server Ashraf was also lovely, great sense of humour and it helps that we had the same waiter for each of our meals. Snacks during the day outside of meal times were not readily available so bring some from home, or wait a few hours for the next meal.

We did the dolphin trip and sunset fishing trip, but were well worth the money. We did the Dolphin trip and we saw hundreds of spinner dolphins. On the sunset fishing trip we caught a few fish which we ate for lunch the next day, I went with my daughter which was a memory we will never forget.

Cons:
Zero effort made around the kids club that was “Definitely” open” when we booked, it was closed and very little to do for kids - no entertainment really. Not sure if this was a blessing as we spent time as a family unit, or a pain because having a few hours with the wife would have made the holiday better (maybe!).

Cleaning was inconsistent although the boy doing the cleaning worked hard, he was also very friendly and trying his best (we tipped him) but maybe reduce cleaning to 1 more thorough cleaner a day rather than 2, or hire more cleaners.

Suggestions:

Think sustainability - get rid of plastic straws!

offer something (anything for kids), it’s not acceptable to advertise a kids club, not deliver and the offer a limited (chargeable) babysitting service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring beach shoes!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen C wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved the resort and the people, so helpful and friendly. The snorkelling was great both on the trips and right off the beach. The food was abundant and generally of good quality although I wasn't overly keen on the pork substitutes. Fish and lamb were great.
The down side would have to be the extra curricular water sports. I felt these were stratospherically expensive. We took part in only one, mainly due to the cost and this was disappointing. Deep sea fishing, something I'd always wanted to do but still don't feel as though I've done. We felt we were simple passengers in the boat. At no time did we actually take part in any 'fishing' activity. We didn't bait or deploy the rods, nor did we reel them in, all this was done by the boat operators. For what was essentially a speedboat trip it was hugely expensive.
There seemed to be a large amount of other water sport equipment on hand but very little seemed to be used. It was simply too expensive. The best advert for additional activities is to see them taking place. $30 for 30 mins kayaking, REALLY???
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Stephen C, Thank you for taking the time and the effort to write your comments concerning your stay at Canareef Resort Maldives on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you loved the resort, found all our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed the food offered. We had decided not to serve Pork in the main restaurant as we also cater for Muslim guests. Pork however is available in the Meera Restaurant. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Deep Sea Fishing, usually we do receive good comments for this especially when guests manage to catch fish. For the deep sea fishing we are using Rapalas and usually the method should be demonstrated by the guide as with the reels you cannot just release the Rapalas without controlling the speed of the release. He should also set the drag and then you will wait until there is a strike. If there is a strike, the guest will be given the rod to reel the fish in. He should also explain how to use the reel when there is a strike. I would agree that if there is no strike it would end up to be a boat ride. As for the Water sports, we will be speaking to them on their pricing to see if they are able to offer better rates or at least have promotions from time to time in order to get more guests to use their services. Again, thank you for your comments and for being our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to Canareef.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate548 wrote a review Mar 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived tired from a long journey, 26 hours in total. As soon as we where on the island we were welcomed by Samatha, who talked us through the layout etc.
Initially we were a not sure it was what we expected. However, with a good nights sleep and some food we realised how special this island was. It’s probably the opposite of what you may expect from Maldives, stilted bungalows etc, but this is why we loved it, the (Sunset bungalows)look out to the lagoon, just a few steps and you are paddling in the sea. As reviewers have mentioned there is sea grass, which is just like normal grass, nothing to worry about. The lagoon is tidal so sometimes there is more water to swim in than others.
This is the best all inclusive food I have ever eaten. I don’t normally like hotel food, but was really impressed with the choice, quality and freshness. The restaurant staff are all so accommodating and look after you really well. The rooms are cleaned and swept 2 times a day. Our room was a little tired in places, ie it needed a bit of paint in some areas. However, we had nice white sheets, clean towels every day. Great air con and WiFi and a excellent powerful outdoors shower. My husband had a few scuba dives and was lucky enough to see Manta Ray. Overall we had a great trip and thought it great value for money. I would recommend the sunset villas.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from hairybear007
Tipton, United Kingdom4,568 contributions121 helpful votes
Search on google, but nothing is predictable, or search October in the reviews on tripadvisor, we had a great time, staff are lovely but it’s a tiring journey, read as many reviews as possible. Forgot to mention lots of weather apps , eg accuweather.
LoriMik asked a question Apr 2024
Hurst Green, United Kingdom18 contributions10 helpful votes
Are toiletries provided? Shampoo conditioner shower gel etc
Answer from billy-the-cheater
Portsmouth, United Kingdom67 contributions79 helpful votes
Absolutely! A plentiful supply.
Answer from vignoletto
Turin, Italy220 contributions155 helpful votes
Non so dare una risposta per il latte di avena, probabilmente risponderà il resort a questa domanda.. Per quanto riguarda la visita dell'isola è sicuramente possibile. C'è la possibilità di un bus vicino all'uscita del resort .. oppure si può prendere un taxi facendolo prenotare dalla reception. Ci sono a disposizione anche le biciclette gratuite ma sarebbe sicuramente un problema con un bambino piccolo.. Se la differenza tra mezza pensione ed all inclusive non è alta, conviene sicuramente optare per la formula all inclusive.. A fine gennaio 2024 torneremo al Canareef per il nostro 50° anniversario di matrimonio.. Se hai bisogno di altre informazioni non esitare a chiedere..
Answer from vignoletto
Turin, Italy220 contributions155 helpful votes
i teli mare sono forniti, li trovi in camera..
Answer from Wendy A
8 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi, when we went, the dolphin trip was $50 each - I seem to remember and the snorkelling trips were $45 each. This was Sept/Oct 2023.
Lukas S wrote a tip 14 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don’t have some tips because all was perfect."
Read full review
John W wrote a tip 13 Jul
Darlington, United Kingdom39 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take plenty of sunscreen, we took our own snorkelling equipment which was cheap from Amazon, and it definitely saved us some money. Tip the staff a few dollars "
Read full review
Stephen R wrote a tip 3 Jul
13 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go here in the rainy season for a quiet relaxing time. It doesn’t rain that much and if you get wet you will dry in a few minutes. "
Read full review
Darren W wrote a tip May 2024
Ormesby St. Margaret, United Kingdom40 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plane from Male to Gan is 85/95 minutes but wait is around 2-3 hours. Take small denominations USD for tips."
Read full review
P Heaton wrote a tip May 2024
Leeds, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book this place you’ll be more than disappointed! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Herathera Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
j resort handhufushi hotel addu atoll, j hotel handhufushi, j hotel addu atoll
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
J Resort Handhufushi
LOCATION
MaldivesAddu CityHerathera Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
271
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CANAREEF RESORT MALDIVES - All-inclusive Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Herathera Island) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Canareef Resort Maldives
Which popular attractions are close to Canareef Resort Maldives?
Nearby attractions include Mathikilhi Eco Garden (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Canareef Resort Maldives?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Canareef Resort Maldives?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Canareef Resort Maldives?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Canareef Resort Maldives?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fashala, Delifresh, and Cafe' Charming.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Canareef Resort Maldives?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Canareef Resort Maldives have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Canareef Resort Maldives offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Canareef Resort Maldives have airport transportation?
Yes, Canareef Resort Maldives offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Canareef Resort Maldives located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Herathera Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Canareef Resort Maldives?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Canareef Resort Maldives?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Hindi, Indonesian, and Filipino.
All Herathera Island HotelsHerathera Island Hotel Deals
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire