BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BK's Counties Motor Lodge

78 East Street, Pukekohe, Auckland 2120 New Zealand
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

$189
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Pukekohe
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to BK's Counties Motor Lodge. Pukekohe's largest Motel - 26 premium & standard grade studio & 1 bedroom units. Pukekohe's only motel with a solar heated swimming pool. BBQ & eating area within the pool enclosure. WINNER OF THE 2013 PUKEKOHE BUSINESS ASSOCIATION HOSPITALITY AWARD. Child rate applies until they have left secondary school. 10 Minute walk to Pukekohe Town Centre. 5 Minute drive to Bombay Interchange at SH1 & the Motorway. 35-40 Minutes to Auckland Airport or City centre. Very handy to Pukekohe Park Raceway or motorracing and horse racing. Close to Hampton Downs motor racing and Karaka Sales Complex.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
50Reviews2Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 19
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
A C wrote a review Jul 2023
9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It was okay but we arrived and there was no one at reception despite having let them know we’d be arriving at 8.30pm after a flight from abroad. No light outside reception so we couldn’t see the note that said to call them. Another guest helped us with that. We got into the room gagging for a cup of tea but there was no milk. A staff member came after being phoned, but seemed grumpy. Having said that, I think they’d had an emergency - fair enough. Then the upstairs guests arrived home and we had two hours of the kids upstairs running around on our ceiling - yay! Really over priced at $240 tbh. Dated but clean. I wouldn’t come back tbh but was grateful that they answered the phone and we actually got into the room after a very long flight
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan P wrote a review Dec 2022
Adelaide, Australia85 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a retired couple from Australia visiting NZ for the first time. We had booked this accommodation before leaving home, so hoped we had done our research well enough. We were not disappointed! Our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable.

It is about 1½ km from the centre of town, but we chose to walk in as we’d just spent a day travelling in our car. Enjoyed our visit to Pukekohe where we had dinner. In spite of being a Monday, we had a little difficulty in finding somewhere to eat, so suggest booking in advance.

Back at the motel, we enjoyed a quiet evening with Sky TV and good Wi-Fi. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra W wrote a review Mar 2017
1 contribution3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very large family group staying, apon arrivel our rooms were very clean and the place looks lovely. But thats were the good times stop. Our rubbish was never emptyed. (I asked on day 3 for it to be done) and bathrooms an toilets werent done either. Management seem to have different rules for when it suits her. In the afternoon mothers an children were jumping into pool, early evening young men jumping into pool and she kicks them out and shuts the pool.(no warnings) And by the way the gate to the pool doesnt always close properly. We were standing around outside talking and management comes along an says "you will all be going to bed at 9pm wont you" ...She needs to learn a better approch to adults that enjoy good times. We were not on a school camp..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol M, Manager at BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review. This is the same large group who had a room evicted after the first night. The adults were removed from the pool at 9.30pm for loud noise and doing bombs into the pool. Maybe this is a good chance to reimind groups know that this is not the place to come for any other reason than what a motel should used for. As per the other reply, I need say no more and will leave the option to stay with you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MickJHW wrote a review Apr 2014
London, United Kingdom2 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On booking in we were told that there would be a quiet group of golfers staying who would be no bother. The motel policy is for no parties or noisy groups.

The party started outside the room under our window and it went on until late. The chatter went on until early hours. The owner manager was on site, said she heard it but chose not to do anything about it. As we had booked in after a long drive and we had been told it would be quiet we were a bit miffed at all this. Just about managed a strangled apology fro manager.

Mind the dry dog poop on the lawn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: be aware they unusually insist you pay before you get the key, and then it is too late if...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Responded 16 Apr 2014
This is not a very fair review. Yes we had a group in and they were singing outside their rooms. I went to bed at 9.30pm and woke at sometime and heard some noise and didn't get up as was half asleep and no one had phoned me to advise they were annoying. I have a 26 room motel and 20 rooms were full. Like anyone sometimes it is necessary to go to bed early and if guests don't let us know that there is a problem, we don't know about it so can't do anything about it. My compendium advises that guests are to ring if they are unhappy about something and for any emergency at any time. I apologised the next morning and don't like it if any of my guests have an unhappy experience. When these guests come in looking for a room I showed him around the different types of rooms we had and advised that we had a group (10 rooms) of golfers and that they were staying all around the room that they chosen. With regards for paying on check in, it is not compulsory to pay but if you choose not to we take your credit card number and keep it on your file. This is what was offered to these guests and it would be the same in any other motel in New Zealand. I am a member of the Motel Association of New Zealand and advised them the email address to them so they could make their complaint to the correct authority. Oh dear, dog pooh on the lawn. I have a miniature poodle and between my handyman and myself we do the pooh pick up on a daily basis but I guess one must have slipped through. Seriously though in ending, I am sorry that my guests didn't have the experience they wanted and I apologise for that.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue G wrote a review Jun 2013
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand6 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite the mention of "pets allowed", I got a response to my "travelling with 1 x rottie, 1 x mastiff X" from Carol saying ...These are not suitable dogs to be in a motel without further discussion. That was over 3 days ago when I said she could refuse the booking & refund. Since then, she does NOT respond to email (I've sent 3) nor has she refunded my $140 for the booking. SHOCKING & unprofessional.
Just refund my booking for 31 July & I will stay at a real pet-friendly motel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Responded 2 Jul 2013
As a new owner I wanted to make sure I had all my information correct before responding to a quite aggressive email when I enquired as to what kind of dogs they had. I didn't feel it was normal to book online with pets and supply no other information. There was no payment taken, only a credit card number advised as a guarantee. We had further correspondence by email and I think we both come to a comfortable conclusion. I offered to suggest some other places she could try as I didn't feel the type of dogs she had were suitable for a bigger motel in town. She has posted this review before we tidied the issue up and while I was seeking information to do the right thing. She didn't realise that we had not taken any money.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JudiRainbow wrote a review Feb 2018
Hamilton, New Zealand66 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here over Anniversary weekend, and were very pleased with our choice. The room was spotless, spacious, comfy couch, air con and a fan for those hot nights. Our room was serviced with no issues. We found the owners polite and pleasant. Yes, the pool closes at 9 p.m. but I am guessing that is not to disturb guests in rooms only metres from the pool, which was clean and perfect for a swim on a hot day.
We would definitely stay here again.

The one downside was phone reception was almost non existent in the unit, for both Spark and Vodafone. Wifi/data was fine, but if you need your phone you'll need to go outside to try and get reception. This was why I gave it a 4 and not a 5.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Our room was 21 from memory and lovely. Close to pool, but inside with door shut, didn't hear...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
textile wrote a review May 2016
New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival light bulbs on bedside light and in bathroom not working and kettle not working. Owner willingly replaced all 3
Read small print carefully as I originally booked for 3 nights and then I tried to cancel 3rd night ( about 4 weeks before arrival ) Was unable to and owner claimed discretion re this was a busy weekend.
Given free wifi password but it would not work in room and no cell phone coverage in room either. Was only able to use both outside the room and in car park
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Responded 6 Jun 2016
Guest was unhappy before she arrived and this shows in her review. I feel the review is unfair and no less than what I would expect from this group. I am not going to make any comments as 'he said she said' does not accomplish anything and you can read our other reviews and make up your own mind.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
qaatalia wrote a review Apr 2015
Sydney, Australia310 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 1 night here and were very comfortable, with 2 lovely armchairs, excellent bed and pretty gardens. Unfortunately the motel is in a 'dead' spot for wifi though some apartments may connect more easily than others. To check in for our flight to Sydney I had to take my Ipad down to the office as I couldn't connect in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Responded 17 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are continually working on our coverage. Unfortunately Pukekohe doesn't have the best coverage but we continually are working to improve it. Most rooms get it and only a few sometimes have problems. We should be getting ultra-broadband installed this month and that will also give us the opportunity in the future to offer this facility.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
falc0n42 wrote a review Dec 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand6 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
An older motel but very clean and tidy. Very poor cell phone reception and for some reason the Wi-Fi didn't want to connect. Staff were very friendly with buildings & grounds in a well cared for condition.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Responded 23 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am thinking you stayed in one of our standard one bedroom units as most of the other units have been done up. I have been here 2.5 years and are slowly working through them. In fact this month we have done three vanities in these rooms and the last one goes in the first week in January so they will then all be done. Our premium rooms behind the pool are of at least a 4 star rating. We don't have the best cell phone coverage for Vodafone but I have installed a booster and I can tell you where to go to get reception. Usually Spark is okay. Also with regard to the internet, Spark were having a few issues early December and we had a huge storm that put power as well out for over six hours one day. You just need to tell me if you can't connect and I can go online and check it out and also do a reset. There is not usually a problem.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joe w wrote a review Jan 2014
tauranga148 contributions61 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
just a one night stay
all we needed, and nice and handy to town
being on the main rd from bombay makes it very easy to find.
plenty of parking with a dairy a hop skip and jump away , should the need arise.
has a range of room options to suit all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Responded 16 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We get a lot of airport and Auckland people that want to be just that bit further out. We are only 40 minutes to either and quite a relaxing atmosphere
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Carol M
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions
In June it is getting into our colder months. Although our pool is solar heated it would not be warm at this time of the year. Our warmest months are from Nov-April. There is still plenty of sightseeing places you could visit to fill in your time spent here.
Answer from Carol M
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions
Hi Tracey Thanks for the opportunity to quote. Unfortunately we are full on 21 February but yes you could have stay with your Chihuahau pup in the room. There would be a $25.00 cleaning fee as there is a cleaning criteria that we follow whenever pets stay in a room. We could waitlist you if you like. cheers Carol
michmegan wrote a tip Nov 2019
Tauranga, New Zealand15 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need accessible rooms with parking outside your unit, make sure you specify that clearly when booking"
Read full review
Joe R wrote a tip Jan 2019
Palmerston North, New Zealand52 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from Premium Rooms they were disappointing"
Read full review
keeneteam wrote a tip Oct 2018
Nelson, New Zealand109 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a back row room"
Read full review
JudiRainbow wrote a tip Feb 2018
Hamilton, New Zealand66 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was 21 from memory and lovely. Close to pool, but inside with door shut, didn't hear much noise from outside."
Read full review
lavinenaidoo2015 wrote a tip Jul 2016
Pukekohe, New Zealand5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All units suitable"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pukekohe area.
PRICE RANGE
$183 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandPukekohe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BK'S COUNTIES MOTOR LODGE - Inn Reviews & Price Comparison (Pukekohe) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Pukekohe's Pioneer Cottage (0.9 km) and Cinema 3 (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Townmouse, Paasha Turkish Cafe & Takeaway, and C3 Factory.
Are there opportunities to exercise at BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to BK's Counties Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pukekohe's Pioneer Cottage (0.9 km).
Is BK's Counties Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pukekohe HotelsPukekohe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PukekoheHotels near BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire