We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whistling Frog Resort

Save
Share
9 Rewcastle Road Chaslands Highway, Chaslands 9586 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
203Reviews1Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 59
  • 40
  • 18
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wendy C wrote a review Aug 2021
New Zeland193 contributions53 helpful votes
Set off the main road so very quiet. Place offers laundry, Restaurant and Bar (closed over winter), Campervan and cabins. WE stayed in a Chalet with separate bedroom. Kitchenette, Dining room and lounge area in one. Was well laid out and very comfortable, clean and warm. Outside deck area with couple of chairs. Recycle bins outside of unit. $240 per night for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All the Chalets are separated off so plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Bridson, Owner at The Whistling Frog Resort
Responded 20 Sep 2021
Thank you Wendy, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in the chalet and enjoyed the Catlins without the summer crowds. The restaurant opens in October for "Labour Weekend", so everyone can enjoy the summer program in this amazing part of the world!
Read more
nzcowlady wrote a review Jul 2021
Auckland77 contributions16 helpful votes
This is a camping ground, not a resort. All the bad points of my review are seasonal; I think this would be quite different in summer. This area of the Catlins closes down during winter. It’s a 45 minute drive to the nearest (open) shop so you need to arrive with all the food you need for your stay. So not suitable if you are travelling from another city and out for a day between accommodation spots (so have no way of keeping food cold). You can get a nice frozen “chef prepared” meal from the staff but this is overpriced for what it is. The same meal, served hot in a cafe, where the dishes are done for you, would be acceptable. Something you need to self heat in a temperamental toaster oven then wash your own dishes should cost less. The chalets are equipped with blankets but inadequate heaters for the space. I literally put all heaters and blankets into the bedroom for my first night and closed the door and was warm enough (and the rest of the chalet was literally freezing the next morning as a result). And the tiny shower in the large bathroom is not easy to warm up in, or raise your arms to wash your hair. After 24 hours with all the heaters on full the chalet had reached a tolerable temperature. On the plus side, the chalets are huge! Easily the size of a decent one bedroom apartment. The cooking facilities would be enough if you had bought food with you (once you mastered the toaster oven). The staff are incredibly friendly, including bringing over my frozen dinner. And location is excellent as a Catlins base. So in summer I think the experience would be quite different.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid in winter. Take your own food. Leave heaters on full 24/7.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Bridson, Owner at The Whistling Frog Resort
Responded 20 Sep 2021
The chalet has wall heaters that cannot be moved, so not sure how you moved them all into your bedroom. The heat is turned on by our staff well before your arrival. There are electric blankets on the beds with winter duvets and extra blankets. They are super well insulated with double glazing and sunny aspect. There is also a moveable oil heater. Can't really understand the problem? Winter is chilly in the Catlins. We try and do the best we can to make your stay pleasant at this time of year.
Read more
mariannah378 wrote a review Apr 2021
Katikati, New Zealand172 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here one night in our motorhome. We had lunch in their cafe. Very good food. But the prices are over the top. For a gourmet hamburger and chips and 2 lattes we paid $74- for 2 people. Then for staying in their camp and 1 powerpoint, for 2 people in own motorhome, we paid $59- for one night.( just for one powerpoint) And it's not that flash. Showers very basic. I told friends of mine about this and they drove straight past this place because of the prices. If you compare this to the top 10 holiday park in Hanmer Springs with brand new super flash showers&toilets, they only charged us $42- per night for 2, without any discounts. OK so now you know.I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We stayed in our Motorhome
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Bridson, Owner at The Whistling Frog Resort
Responded 20 Sep 2021
Sad that others won't be able to enjoy the property, if you say such things, because it is certainly a lovely part of the Catlins right next to the Cathedral Caves.
Read more
Artcoop wrote a review Mar 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand50 contributions5 helpful votes
The Whistling Frog is centrally located in the Catlins on the southern scenic highway. We opted for a cabin at $123 per night, which was a bit on the expensive side for the quality of the room. It had a shared kitchen and the shared bathrooms which were basic, just like you might find at a campground. It you didn’t want to cook there is a restaurant and bar on site. Staff were friendly in the kitchen/bar area and front fest staff we’re helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Bridson, Owner at The Whistling Frog Resort
Responded 20 Sep 2021
Yes, thanks for that, there are ensuite units, a lodge, self contained chalets as well, plus an on site restaurant and tap room as you say.
Read more
1dulcevida1 wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand21 contributions13 helpful votes
On arrival to the whistling Frog Campground and having no cellphone reception, I had a gut feeling this wasn’t going to be the great stay I had hoped for. At $49.00 for two, plus $5.00 for a dog I felt it was on the steep side, however, it did include free wifi and there is a restaurant and bar on site so we decided to stay the night. After watching the americas cup in our motorhome we changed got tidied up and headed over intending to buy dinner and have a couple of drinks. There were several groups eating, but we were told the restaurant was now closed ( 6.55pm ) after being told in a rather blunt tone, “well you should have made a booking” by the owners we felt this wasn’t really very fair considering the time and that there were plenty of people still in the restaurant, but again the owners didn’t care a hoot. The chef heard the conversation (I assume) and came out and said he would do a burger but that’s it. We declined. The grounds are very unkept, and any grass area was completely overgrown. The gardens not tended. The parking area is a slushy lime and gravel surface, ok, it was raining but it made for a very messy time. The bathrooms were nothing special, felt cold and unwelcoming. The kitchen appeared well equipped but not very clean. I would not recommend this place. Carry on the the Papatowai DOC Campsite. It’s lovely. And is dog friendly. $8.00 per person. Good toilet facilities. Do not bother wasting your money at The Whistling Frog......not Resort. The owners really need a reality check on how to treat their customers, it’s kiwis that are keeping them afloat during these Post COVID times.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Bridson, Owner at The Whistling Frog Resort
Responded 20 Sep 2021
The DOC campground is not 'dog friendly' and has no showers or power points, but it is basic camping as you were looking for. Sorry you missed dinner, but the staff were trying to help out since you had been informed to make a booking and decided against it. Our labour rates are through the roof and we need to consolidate our bookings. We are in the middle of a very large conservation park and cell coverage has not been installed in that part of the world, again sorry about that... we have no control over such matters. Our facilities are well maintained and clean.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionChaslands
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Whistling Frog Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Whistling Frog Resort?
Nearby attractions include McLean Falls (0.2 km), Florence Hill Lookout (8.0 km), and Cathedral Caves Walk (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Whistling Frog Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Whistling Frog Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Whistling Frog Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Whistling Frog Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Whistling Frog Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Whistling Frog Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Whistling Frog Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is The Whistling Frog Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.