Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Barefoot Manta Island Resort

Buffet breakfast
Traveller (885)
Sunrise beach with plenty of lounges.
Pool & Beach (165)
Outdoor shower
Room & Suite (164)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Drawaqa Island
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Barefoot Manta Island Resort is located on Drawaqa Island, part of the Yasawa archipelago chain of islands northwest of Nadi on the main island of Viti Levu. The resort is situated on an island point with 3 beaches to choose from, surrounded by inviting clear warm waters. On one beach you can watch the sunrise whereas on another you can watch the sunset, it's a couple of minutes to walk from one beach to the other. Lush coral gardens teaming with marine life are accessible from the beach and are diligently nurtured by the resort's in-house Marine Biologist. Barefoot Manta Island Resort is the only resort in Fiji with a dedicated Marine Conservation Centre with houseguests welcome to join daily conservation presentations. Yes, Manta Rays! April to October in a channel adjacent to Barefoot Manta Island Resort Manta Rays regularly visit to feed in nutrient-rich waters. The research data secured by our Marine Conservation Centre is fed back to Manta Trust, a global conservation organization. The resort offers must-do guided 'Snorkel with Manta Ray Tours' whenever these majestic sea creatures visit. Our bures (rooms) are all beachfront and well shaded by dense coconut palm canopies. Bures showcase stunning locations and incorporate elements of traditional Fiji design and building materials. Our resort description is not complete without praising our Barefoot Manta Island Resort mataqali (family) many from Mua-ira Village, the traditional owners of Drawaqa Island, they create the magic, read our reviews. Barefoot Manta Island Resort, our home, your home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid internet
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Canoeing
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Drawaqa Island Fiji
Getting there
Nadi Intl Airport
70.6 km
See all flights
575Reviews47Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 372
  • 131
  • 41
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
arailnutter wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia23 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was perfect in almost every way. To be honest when it came time to leave for our next resort, we didn't particularly want to.

The glamping tents were well set up, private and had direct access to the beach (beachfront bure).

Snorkelling was great off sunrise beach and the reef in the best condition that we have seen anywhere. We also didn't see anyone step on the coral, either there was good education or the calibre of guests here were different (or we just got lucky). We also found that if the water on sunrise beach was a bit rough (not being great swimmers), the water on sunset beach was calmer and while the reef further out, easier to swim to and just as interesting in a different way. there was also a lovely short walk you could take to a fantastic lookout point that looks out over mantary island. Great for sundowners.

The team were also great. Even with minor slips in service from time to time, they were so lovely that any annoyances were soon forgotten. Some in our party had food allergies, this was well managed. The welcome and farewell song was very touching.

We would love to come again if time and money allows. Thank you for a very enjoyable holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willemijn Leusink, Other at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Bula Vinaka and a big Vinaka Vakalevu for your oh so kind words, this really warms our hearts. We are definitely devoted to our marine conservation and to educating everyone around us on how to protect our marine life, so it is great to see that our efforts have been paying off if indeed no one is stepping on the coral! We absolutely have to agree with you regarding our team, we are very lucky to have them being part and making the Barefoot Family. We do hope you come visit us again in the future, we will be waiting. Sota tale (see you soon) rather than moce (good bye) as I feel it is not good bye just yet. Vinaka Vakalevu! Your Barefoot Manta Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
darhol wrote a review Feb 2020
Singapore, Singapore128 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an amazing time here at Barefoot Manta! Looking back, I remembered once we transferred from the Yasawa Flyer to the smaller tugboat that took us to the island, all the dread I had about the extra resort fees and cost of the ferries we paid quickly disappeared as we zoomed across the beautiful reefs and were greeted by the staff who were singing and smiling at the beach. Fiji isn't cheap and while I was originally surprised by the resort fees required (take note of us so you're not surprised later since the fees are a per night, per person basis), I found that the meals offered here were actually quite good, and of course, it was great having access to the snorkeling gear, kayaks, etc., so you are getting some quality for your money.

The reefs were of course amazing and we spent a couple times a day going out to snorkel. Both days we were there, we went out to the dive shop at 5pm to join the beach volleyball session with the staff which was a great time (gotta warn you that they don't mess around! but they're super friendly), which brings me to the last point which is how friendly the staff were. They were always very warm and welcoming and helpful. I actually forgot my backpack on the last day when we were headed out to another island (I stupidly didn't tag my daypack compared to my main backpack) and they ran out to bring it to our boat, as well.

We didn't get to join the village tour but we did the snorkel safari which was fun, and also did the sunset hike on our own which was an easy 7 minute walk to a beautiful lookout point. Probably one of the best sunsets I've seen in awhile. The talks given on the manta rays and the conservation efforts were also educational and interesting.

Only con I'd say is the mosquitoes, so use that mosquito net when you sleep. I saw some comments about the drinking water, but I found the tap water served at the main dining hut to be fine. Depending on your needs, the showers/WCs are pretty basic but suited us just fine. You might not feel sparkly clean compared to staying in a hotel, but it's no problem when you're coming here to enjoy the reefs, unwind on the hammock, and get back to being around nature. Take some time to look at the stars, as well!

Random note: We came in January which is not the best season to come in since there aren't (m)any manta rays (there was 1 spotted while we were there). The weeks before we arrived, Fiji got hit by 2 cyclones, and the day we left, it was pouring, so we got REALLY lucky with the weather (sunny skies every day with no rain)

Vinaka!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna C wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay here! Our burre was 5 ft from a beach facing the gorgeous sunset and 100 meters from a beach facing the sunrise. There were places to swim in the warm ocean 24/7. The snorkeling both off the beach and by guided boat was amazing.

The local village helps to preserve the reef and the marine biologist and team does reef conservation. The reef was in excellent shape and we saw tons of colorful and diverse fish, a sting ray, a shark, and many other types of amazing ocean life. They have a marine biologist, Rob, who offers interesting talks and guided snorkels. Also, everyday during manta season they check for manta rays and take you out to see them (5 minutes out). We got there the first day they saw a manta all season which was April 9th. We saw Manta Rays two days. They were amazing and majestic.

The food was very good. The only food you can get is from the resort. They have a buffet for breakfast that has amazing fruit (some of which was grown on the island), freshly made bread, cereal, oatmeal, and eggs made to order. For lunch and dinner they provide 3 options for what to eat all of which are delicious. They also have live music most nights.

A village owns and operates the resort and the people who work there are mostly from a local village. They are very friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome. The goodbye song was a little awkward but that was the only time. They also have cultural events like a language lesson, medicine walk and basket weaving. We also went on a sunrise hike and had a good time talking with our guide who was in the band that plays at dinner. Be prepared for bugs, especially around dusk. We found sitting in the ocean around this time limited bug bites and was a great way to watch the sunset. They do spray the island periodically to try to keep this problem down.

Overall our stay here was incredibly relaxing. You can walk barefoot from your room to the eating area to the gear hut to the beaches in under 2 minutes. We took the Awesome Adventures ferry that was easy and convenient from Port Denarau but it took 3 hours. This is the perfect place for you if you want relaxed natural beauty and amazing snorkeling with comfortable accommodations. If you are looking for high end luxury accommodations this might not be right for you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barefoot Collection, General Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 27 Dec 2022
Bula Anna and thank you for your detailed and positive review. Vinaka from your Barefoot Manta Island Resort mataqali (family).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
daniel wrote a review Feb 2020
Huddersfield, United Kingdom11 contributions23 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our overall stay at barefoot manta was ok, the food was average but there was limited choice and when being served you felt like the food was rushed down your throat, as soon as you finished one course your next was already there.

On arrival we were asked to pay an additional fee for our meals and all inclusive activities, we had already paid this and the voucher stated this. The receptionist demanded we paid it until finally understanding we had pre-paid this. We were aware this may happen from previous reviews so be aware. This developed later on with staff seeming very unhappy, it doesn’t take much for a service with a smile but despite this we seemed an inconvenience at times. The receptionist was incredibly helpful and friendly though despite the original issues.

We never felt like we were comfortably on holiday, the strict rules of meal-times what you can do and where you can go from the general manager put a negative spin on our trip as soon as we got off the boat. In addition to this you felt like you were constantly being watched by the general manager who seemed to be everywhere you went.

The mosquito nets are a single mosquito net for a double bed, luckily it wasn’t a high season for mosquitos otherwise we would have been incredibly upset at the fact only half of the bed was protected. Despite this, the rooms were well kept, tidied and the foot wash was replaced which was an added bonus.

Despite this, the reef is fantastic and well worth seeing, unfortunately, because we were out of season, we didn’t see any manta-rays although I imagine this would be an incredible experience which we chanced seeing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Baref00tC0llection, Guest Relations Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Bula Daniel, Vinaka for taking the time to write us a review. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, thus, welcome your feedback very much. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have such an enjoyable time with us in December. The agent that you booked through, should not have charged you for our resort package as it is in our agreement with them that our guests pay it on site at the reception. Therefore, our reception team has asked you to pay it with her at the time. We apologies for the inconvenience and we are constantly working together with the agent to improve both our sides. I'm happy to see that she was able to help and give you a great experience with her anyways - we are very proud of our friendly and helpful reception team. As you wrote in your feedback form at check out if there were any final comments/suggestions "increase menu selection and allow slightly more flexible meal times", you will be pleased to hear that since you left our resort in December, we have made some changes to increase the food offerings and have trained our restaurant team increasing our level of serving during dinner too. Our food and beverage team is working hard to increase their skills set :) In addition, I've taken a note of your comment on our mosquito nets and we will review all of them. They are there for the purpose of protecting you for possible mosquito's and if it fails to do so, we will have to replace them indeed. Thank you for that. When you were visiting our island, you indeed must have seen our general manager walking around a lot as we were preparing our island and resort for Tropical Cyclone Sarai. However, the only areas that we do not allow our guests to wonder off to, is our back of house and staff quarters. Other than those areas, we absolutely encourage all our guests to wonder off to our 3 beaches, or take a hike up the hill - enjoy our beautiful Drawaqa island! We do wish that as you saw our manager so often, you would have expressed your concerns to him or to another staff member as we would have liked to have the change to improve your experience. Nonetheless, we are happy to read that you've enjoyed our coral reef and we do agree, with the mantas swimming in our channel, it is an unforgettable experience - we do hope to see you back for it! We do hope you will give us another chance and provide you with a 5-star experience! Vinaka Vakalevu and regards, Barefoot Manta Island
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalia A wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family, including a 15 month old, spent three nights at Barefoot Manta. The bure we stayed in was perfect. Had a hammock, deck, and outdoor shower. We were most humbled by the excellent staff at the island. They were so accommodating and helpful, especially with a 15 month old in tow. The sandy beaches and water were pristine.

I'd read some other reviews prior to arriving about there being no hot water. While the water was not like a hot shower you'd expect in a city, it was warm enough to rinse off after a day in the sun. And if my 15 month old was happy with the water temperature, I'm sure other adults will be fine.

Also, while reviews have commented about slow wifi, being able to connect was not the highlight our trip! Many other things to value on the island.

Thanks again to everyone at Barefoot Manta for an amazing family getaway! Hope to see you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Baref00tC0llection, General Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Bula Natalia, Vinaka for your kind words, and we couldn't agree with you more! It was great having you and your amazing family on the island - hope your travels back were good as well! We cannot wait to have all of you back home here, see you soon? Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale! Your Barefoot Manta Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tessavb89 wrote a review Aug 2022
Sunnyvale, California19 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just returned from one of our absolute favorite vacations ever, thanks to Barefoot Manta. We spent 6 nights in a beachfront bure double, which was incredibly comfortable and had the most amazing view of Sunset beach. We particularly enjoyed the open air shower, where we even got visits from Cookie, the island parrot, sometimes!

The resort itself is incredibly beautiful, set in lush green gardens with 3 beaches always only a 2 minute walk away. The staff were all incredibly kind and helpful, any questions or requests were responded to immediately.

The snorkeling was absolutely incredible. We went at least daily from sunrise beach. The reef is extremely accessible and healthy, definitely some of the best snorkeling we've ever done. Just the coral itself was a beautiful sight, but we also saw giant clams, an octopus, squid, anemones, and SO many fish. We did a guided night snorkel as well which was wonderful and saw lobster, blue spotted rays, and a reef shark. Then there were the manta snorkels- not to be missed! There were options to go everyday while we were there, we went twice and saw 3 and 5 mantas with lots of chances for up close and extended views of them.

The food was absolutely delicious, from the Fijian buffet our first night to some of the best roast lamb I've ever had, we were always very well-fed. Evening entertainment included Fijian music and dancing, a chorus, and a band which were all wonderful. Drinks aren't included, but are not very pricey and were delicious as well.

For resort activities, I think we missed out a little because Mike, the main activity leader, went on his break our second day, so less was offered than when he is around, but we still got to do a hike, basket weaving, language lessons, and a village visit, all of which were fun and informative, and which I highly recommend. We also really enjoyed the manta ray talk and a few other marine talks by Rob and Bella where we got to learn about coral and sharks.

Overall, we loved the slow pace, relaxed vibes, and natural beauty of this place. We felt like we had all the time in the world to relax, take in the view, read a book while also getting to have so many adventures.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barefoot Collection, General Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 25 Dec 2022
Bula 'One of your favourite vacations ever', wow! We're so happy you enjoyed your say with us. Vinaka from your Barefoot Manta Island Resort mataqali (family).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roy C wrote a review Jul 2022
South Carolina22 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My colleague and I recently led a group of 16 university students and our families to Fiji for 2.5 weeks, and the absolute highlight of our time in the Yasawas was Barefoot Manta. I have stayed at many locations in the Yasawas in the past, but none compare to Barefoot Manta in terms of location, activities, accommodations, and hospitality/staff. Right in the heart of the Yasawas, Barefoot Manta has three separate beaches, great coral, and is ideally located on the main feeding channel for Manta Rays. We spent two nights, but could have easily done more, as they offer numerous and varied activities throughout the day. Nightly dinners/happy hour on the water at the Sunset Bar were the perfect ending to the day. The Bures are comfortable, well appointed, and situated in private, leafy surrounds on the beach (when you arrive on the Flyer, it looks like there is no resort there). The best of Barefoot are the people. Salla, who is the main Fijian manager host, made us feel especially welcome. Myrko, the dive shop manager, was an amazing host and facilitator, and helped encourage the group to embrace the adventure in all respects. Rob, who is the local Marine Biologist, gave our group a great classroom lesson on Manta Rays, and then worked hard to make sure we saw them. Illy, one of the bartenders, was especially kind to our group. Finally, Mike, the activities director, was absolutely loved by our group, as he kept us laughing, active, and entertained. Many tears were shed as we departed, as the entire staff made us feel like family. On future such trips, I will exclusively use Barefoot Manta and its sister property, Barefoot Kuata (where I've stayed with groups before), as they truly provide the best and most authentic Fijian experience in the Yasawas! Thank you Salla, Myrko, Rob, Illy, Mike and all of the other wonderful staff members for making us feel so at home at Barefoot Manta!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barefoot Collection, General Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 25 Dec 2022
Bula Roy thank you so much for your kind words and positive review. We look forward to your return. Vinaka from you Barefoot Manta Island Resort mataqali (family).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma G wrote a review Aug 2022
29 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Barefoot Manta for 3 nights after a trip round Fiji based on recommendations from multiple travellers and it did not disappoint. When you arrive they say you are not a guest, you are family, and every single member of the team makes that true.

The team also went above and beyond when there was a technical glitch with my booking. They did absolutely everything they could to ensure my stay was the best possible and feel welcomed. Every staff member will stop to say Bula or have a chat. Shout out to Una who made me laugh every day, Ane for the best cocktails, Mike for welcoming us, Joji for the daily coconuts, Billy for his diving stories, Mirko for his hospitality, Rob for his dedication to sustainable Manta protection and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay.

I stayed firstly in the 8 bed dorm, which is in a canvas room next to Manta beach. It was perfect, there were plug sockets available and a ceiling fan, although we never needed it. It was so peaceful, right by the stunning beach and the shared bathroom block was just behind and always immaculate. The final night I stayed in a 4 bed dorm on Sunrise beach, so you could watch the sunrise through the shutters!

The food was delicious, you get three amazing meals a day with a buffet breakfast then choices for lunch and a three course dinner. The cocktails by Ane were also sublime!

Each day there are activities to take part in, such as a Kokonda cooking lesson, Fijian culture, village tour, manta and reef talks, volleyball, bonfire nights, choir nights, Fijian Lovo and Kava nights, and daily sunrise and sunset hikes up to the view top. I recommend doing them all! The reefs are beautiful for snorkelling, I saw hundreds of different fish species, a stingray, open clam, starfish and loads more just in the shallow reef. The staff check for feeding manta rays every day at high tide and bang the drums when they are spotted, so that they can take a small number of guests out to snorkel and observe them from above. They also do additional tasks like coral planting to protect the reef.

The Manta Researcg team are doing an amazing job, they do Reef and Manta talks most days and offer training to the locals to educate everyone about how to sustainably manage the reef and ensure people can observe the manta rays without causing them any stress or disturbance. Unfortunately there are some other resorts and charter boats that don’t always adhere to the advice and can often scare the mantas away. Barefoot Manta has conservation and sustainability at their heart so I would recommend wholly.

Vinaka Barefoot Manta!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barefoot Collection, General Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 25 Dec 2022
Bula Emma we're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your positive review. Vinaka from your Barefoot Manta Island Resort mataqali (family).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura T wrote a review Dec 2022
Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing time at Barefoot Manta. It was our first time in Fiji and the resort definitely lived up to the reviews we had read about the place.

*Rooms*
We stayed in the Beachfront Adi (Queen) Bure. It's similar to a glamping tent, but also has it's own attached outdoor bathroom and front porch. There's no A/C, but we did have a ceiling fan which was much needed during the humid nights.

We stayed during the wet season and it rained 3 of the 4 nights. The room can get pretty loud when it rains, along with the sound of the waves. It can also feel a bit damp and muggy.

*Activities*
Snorkelling was easily the highlight of the trip. With 3 beaches, calm waters and a huge expanse of coral reefs to explore, you could spend hours being mesmerised by the biodiversity of marine life out there. There are no mantas in December, but we did see stingrays and a reef shark.

The resort also has a 'Bulatin' board that is updated daily with group activities. There was a good mix of physical (e.g. hikes, volleyball etc.) and cultural/educational (e.g Fijian cooking, basket weaving) activities to partake in.

*Food*
We were extremely well fed during our stay. Each day was different. On some days you could choose what dish you wanted from a set menu, and on others, they'd do a buffet. We loved getting to try Fijian food.

*Staff*
The staff were super friendly and made an effort to interact and get to know every guest. They always shout out a friendly "Bula!" to you as you walked around the resort.

*Fees*
The overall cost was definitely worth it. But as others have mentioned, you should bear in mind the resort package fee, which you pay in addition to your room booking. The resort fee covers main meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and most activities they have on offer. It is calculated based on the number of days you stay (Resort package fee x number of days x number of people).

*Summary*
If you're not afraid to leave the luxury and creature comforts of the big resorts, you'll definitely love it here. This place is a hidden gem. We'll definitely be back here during manta ray season!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent - you'll definitely need it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Barefoot Collection, General Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 28 Dec 2022
Bula Laura and thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review. We're so pleased you enjoyed the Fiji experience we offer and look forward to your return. Vinaka from your Barefoot Manta Island Resort mataqali (family).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarahmull29 wrote a review Jan 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I honestly cannot recommend this place highly enough. From the minute we were welcomed by the smiling, friendly faces of the staff to when we left, we felt a part of the Barefoot family. Joost and Willemijn, who run the resort, were very accommodating and extremely helpful. Ann and Sammy, two of the local staff, stood out for their infectiously happy personalities and good humour.

The accommodation is very comfortable and clean. We stayed in cute little huts along the shore where we went to sleep listening to the waves crashing on the beach. The food is absolutely delicious as well. The fish in particular was so tasty and a favourite of ours.

Along with being the ideal place to relax with a book in a hammock, there’s also a lot of activities available. The village visit was a great way to experience the Fijian culture and daily living. They’re some of the happiest people I’ve ever met. There are kayaks and snorkels available to everyone to go explore the beautiful reef that is only metres away from the shore. It was hands down the best snorkelling that we did in Fiji.

We have to say a special shout out to to the guys in the dive shop, Mat and Nico, who shared their amazing knowledge about the reef with us and the best places to see the coral and tropical fish. There are reef talks on in the afternoons and night snorkels available for those who are brave enough to explore the sea in the dark.

Without a doubt, if you visit Barefoot Manta you need to do the bull shark dive, it’s a must do!! It’s the only place in the world you can do a beginner dive with sharks and it’s absolutely incredible. Again, I cannot thank Mat highly enough for being the most patient and calm instructor who went out of his way to make sure we’d a memorable experience.

Thanks again to the Barefoot family for the best Christmas. We will be back again soon for the Manta-ray season. Loads of love from your Irish friends , Sarah and Sue.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Baref00tC0llection, General Manager at Barefoot Manta Island Resort
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Bula Vinaka Sarah and Sue, Wow, did the both of you leave a mark on our Fijian hearts and we can say that you definitely became part of the Barefoot Family, at the least! As much as you enjoyed being on our island, we enjoyed having you there - we'll send you the photos of your village visit that captured one of your many moments of happiness. We wish both of you all the best with your travels back to your home country, Sue, and your continuous adventures in new countries, Sarah. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your forever Fiji home. Your Barefoot Manta Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from FijiBaby99
Gold Coast, Australia129 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi there. We stayed at Barefoot Manta in June in one of the newer beachfront bures, bure no 10, on the sunrise side. It was perfect for us, really quiet, right at the end of the resort so it was like we had our own sandy beach. We stayed 4 days, 3 nights, which we felt was a perfect length of stay, and we were then ready to move to our next destination. We did a few scuba dives, manta ray swims and of course snorkelled. We were lucky enough to have private table for two for dinners overlooking the beach. Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant has a lot of larger shared tables, so generally we were sitting with others, unless we had seats at the bar-type table facing outside (which was fine for us). There were a lot of backpacker's there in the tents, which kept things lively. There were hammocks on the sunrise side of the island but we felt it was lacking sun loungers that you could sit at on the beach, we ended up laying on towels. Maybe we just missed the loungers, but we couldn't find them when looking. For the dinners, you need to select your meal choices by around lunchtime (one of the staff will find you, show you the nights menu and you pre select entrees, main, dessert). The transfer from Denarau to Barefoot is currently FJ$398 return I believe. We booked all of ours direct online, ie Barefoot Manta and South Sea Cruises. We found Barefoot Manta to be a fun, but very simple place to stay, and loved our few days there. The dive team were amazing and all staff were friendly and welcoming. Enjoy!
Answer from Beachesmum14
Sydney, Australia2 contributions14 helpful votes
There was no requirement to be vaccinated
Answer from Beachesmum14
Sydney, Australia2 contributions14 helpful votes
I went to both - snorkeling is definitely better at Manta. But on Kuata you can do the dive with bull sharks and visit the out reef to snorkle with reef sharks.
greytravellerSydney wrote a tip 27 May
Sydney, Australia29,468 contributions245 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early so you don't miss out on this paradise in the Yasawa Islands"
Read full review
Annette B wrote a tip 24 May
Oakland, California54 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pace yourself (it gets hot) and find the cool side of the island. Smile and hug people every chance you get :)"
Read full review
Anna G wrote a tip Feb 2024
23 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t be put off by the 6am Manta wake-up call, get up and go!!"
Read full review
Molly wrote a tip Jan 2024
Leeds, United Kingdom31 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You pay additionally for the meal plan - just something to be aware of so you don’t get a shock!"
Read full review
Discover52829763995 wrote a tip Dec 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Awesome adventures should delist this "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Drawaqa Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$258 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barefoot lodge - sailing safari hotel naviti island
LOCATION
FijiYasawa IslandsDrawaqa Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAREFOOT MANTA ISLAND RESORT - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Drawaqa Island, Fiji) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Barefoot Manta Island Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Barefoot Manta Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Barefoot Manta Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Does Barefoot Manta Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.