Taipa Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Taipa Beach Resort

22 Taipa Point Road, Taipa 0420 New Zealand
The fully extended/open blind attempting to cover the window in the 2nd bedroom
Traveller (136)
View of the unmown lawn at this so called Resort
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Taipa
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
This beachfront resort, in the heart of Doubtless Bay, is your central base to explore Northland New Zealand. It's only a short drive to discover Cape Reinga at the top of New Zealand, Paihia & Bay of Islands home of the "Hole in the Rock" & "Dolphin Watching". Then return home to Taipa Bay and enjoy it's stunning beachfront resort location. If you're looking for the most central Northland accommodation then Taipa is it. This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Offering a stunning, absolute beachfront location, Ramada Reia Taipa Beach Resort features free WiFi and a swimming pool with a hot tub. Guests can enjoy the tennis court and BBQ areas. Apartments offer either ocean views, or views of the tropical swimming pool. You can enjoy all day outdoor dining with local food and wine at the award winning on-site restaurant and bar, an idyllic place to relax with spectacular food and drinks. Relax by the Beach. Leave the rest to us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

22 Taipa Point Road, Taipa 0420 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Kerikeri Airport
50.4 km
See all flights
Auckland Intl Airport
254.5 km
See all flights
480Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 300
  • 101
  • 36
  • 27
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ferdinands wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Ramada Taipa is a fabulous hotel that suits all age groups. We were 3 generations that travelled. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. The little details like a tap at the outdoor area of the rooms meant beach feet can be cleaned. They have a pool & tennis court too.
All in all excellent location with a touch of luxury and good service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ramadataipagm, General Manager at Taipa Beach Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to having you with us again, soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanith A wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time as a large family group, the resort was very reasonable and had everything we needed.
The staff were amazing and extremely helpful. They allowed us to have an early check so I could attend a zoom meeting and even organised for some personal items to be couriered back to us as we left them behind.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natasha D wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a few hours being on the road from Auckland, as exhausted as we were, this soon turned into pure joy and excitement when we were greeted with a big smile and welcoming aura from the lovely Sethu at Ramada Resort at Wyndham. Sethu went out of her way to ensure our rooms were close to one another, the inital booking left us in different rooms that were a bit further away from the group. We were well looked after. She was always so prompt and demonstrated very effective communication skills throughout our stay. Sethu also recommended a few restaurants nearby, all which we loved.
Her and the team made our first stay up North a memorable and worthwhile experience. Loved the beachside rooms, fully furnished and very clean. The hotel cafe served us some amazing dishes too, even better doing takeaway and enjoying the food in the comfort of your own room.
Thank you Ramada Taipa for your amazing hospitality. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ernestwatsonkerikeri wrote a review Jan 2020
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It all began with our understanding that the Ramada Resort facilities had recently been
upgraded in keeping with the stunning beachfront location so we were encouraged to
book for Christmas Dinner for family and friends.
Wow! we thought at $110.00 per head this was going to be a very special occasion with fine food and a glass or two of bubbly - how wrong we were!
On arrival in good time we were shown to a table on the terrace with incomplete cutlery,no napkins, no Christmas decoration and graced only by a plain salt cellar.
A solitary festive bauble dangled forlornly from the ceiling.
As for refreshment there was no welcome glass of bubbly and not even water on the table so we found our own way to the bar where inexperience reigned.
A simple request for a glass of sparkling water and in the absence of any Angostura Bitters with a slice of lemon was met by delivery of two brimming glasses wit h the
quaint explanation that the bottle contained two glasses !
As for the three course buffet dinner it was mediocre "pub grub" at best starting with tasteless shrimps and forgettable oysters relieved only by acceptable mussels.
A choice of beef, pork and shredded lamb was accompanied by boiled rather than the traditional roast potatoes and under cooked asparagus and beans.
We searched in vain for Christmas turkey.
We looked forward to Christmas pudding but did not enjoy it's novel presentation
like not very moist slices of bread.
The few waiters were more notable for their absence leaving us to clear our own table between courses.
The musical background was uninspiring and did nothing to contribute to a much needed Christmas atmosphere.
In summary the whole experience was amateurish and a great disappointment for a special occasion involving family and friend.
Estimated value much less than an exorbitant $110.00.
Not recommended especially for tourists that might be lured by the attractive location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ramadataipagm, General Manager at Taipa Beach Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed feedback. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me, on behalf of the team to offer our apologies. The Christmas day dinner is a long standing tradition at Taipa and your feedback has been communicated to our core team, we assure you that we will thoroughly examine it and strive for continuous improvement. We hope that you give us an opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Looking forward to having you back with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaq F wrote a review Jun 2020
York, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Would consider that the hotel is likely a 4* in Nz....we had a garden room which was really spacious and well equipped: only issue being no outside light on the patio which would be useful. The bathroom was very small and shower only: would really expect a bathtub. That said we did get a really cheap deal and based on that price this is a lovely room. Staff were friendly on reception. Unfortunately restaurant closed during the earlier part of the week but room service is available (until 7.30pm).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ramadataipagm, Manager at Taipa Beach Resort
Responded 14 Jun 2020
Thank you so much for the rating and the review. We will look into your concerns and will take corrective measures. We hope to have back with us in the not too distant future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Starling wrote a review Apr 2021
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rarely go out for breakfast these days and was excited to try this restaurant under new owners but was hugely disappointed in our food. The Vegetarian Breakfast at $22 was a few bits and pieces on a large plate including cold, dry toast and over cooked poached eggs the size of golf balls. The Eggs Benedict with bacon was unpleasant to eat! Again tiny over cooked eggs on cold, hard but soggy at the bottom muffins, a tiny drizzle of hollandaise sauce that meant eating the plain spinach on cold muffins wasnt even an option. Sent it back as so disappointed at the lack of care, flavour and edibility and it came back with slightly better eggs, still very little hollandaise sauce and cold, hard muffins. I never send food back but this was a meal so not worth the $55 we paid and we regretted choosing here to eat a lot.
Have always LOVED this restaurant in the past, have eaten here many times and loved the view, service, venue and food. But the only thing remaining is the view. They didnt even improve second time around and waitress looked embarassed and flummoxed instead of apologetic and reassuring.
Waste of money and choice. Sadly wont go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eseta Timmermans, General Manager at Taipa Beach Resort
Responded 13 May 2021
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback however we would like to let you know that it was conveyed to our chef and we did replace it with another one without extra charge where the comment given for the second one was good. We regret that your experience with us was not the best, however we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth C wrote a review Feb 2021
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The limited staff we encountered were lovely, however clearly thrown in the deep end.
In the Restaurant our entres arrived after an hour, so you can imagine the wait for the mains.
On a positive, compliments to the chef, the food was delicious.
The rooms feel like they need a good clean, we had blood on the light switch and shower curtain you would have thought cleanliness would have been a priority at the moment, can't blame the staff..... but clearly they are either under pressure or have serious management issues.
Lovely beach opposite and general location stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eseta Timmermans, General Manager at Taipa Beach Resort
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Hi Ruth We are so sorry for the inconvenience and experiences you had and thank you so much for your feedback. All the points have been noted and the steps to improve are in progress. We will definitely make sure your next stay will be pleasant and enjoyable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tradienz wrote a review Feb 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here recently, while the view is great and the room was tidy and in good order. The pool was filthy with grass and leaves, the spa was missing pieces, the restaurant meals were average at best and there was a long wait for meals, the prices are high for what is provided. On the positive note the staff are very friendly and helpful and the beach is beautiful
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at Taipa Beach Resort
Responded 26 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, our absolute apologies for your experience with the pool, I assure this is not the case on a regular basis, I do note that the lawns in the pool area were just mowed and it was a windy day, our maintenance team do come back through and clean up after they have completed the mowing. We will be sure to let the staff know your positive comments about them :) Hope that we will have the opportunity to have you come and stay with us again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J w wrote a review Jun 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed here before a few times we decided to book the Pacific suite as we enjoy the private spa. This time however I found the room to not be very clean the microwave had food splattered throughout which made me question the cleanliness of the other facilities. Especially given the current Covid situation I expected housekeeping to be up to scratch. When hopping in the spa there was a build up of scum, foam substance in the jets which then floated around when the spa started up. Yuck, was not enjoyable so we got out . Also the lights in the room were flickering all the time. Just disapointed as this is meant to be the “pacific suite” and one of the most expensive rooms. I must say the food was delicious that we ordered as room service so not all is lost. I initially emailed the resort directly with this feedback as I think the management deserve a chance to respond before public feedback however I got no response which again is disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ramadataipagm, Manager at Taipa Beach Resort
Responded 14 Jun 2020
Thank you for your review and rating. We are extremely sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. We will take necessary corrective measures. We hope to favorably impress you during your next stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah P wrote a review Dec 2020
Auckland, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the family two bedroom unit and was very disappointed with the state of the room. We found smears of blood like a fly had been squashed or someone had a cut on their hand and there was plenty of grime on the walls, the carpet was dirty and stained, curtains were falling off and wouldn't close, the spa pool had gunge floating on the top and the fridge was leaky. At $420 per night we felt like our special treat post covid stress wasnt as we had expected based on photos and reviews. The resort needs a serious upgrade and some maintenance and we feel like we overpaid for something that wasn't worth it. Staff however were really friendly and kind. Management need to sort this out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stove-expert asked a question Jun 2018
Benenden, United Kingdom10 contributions61 helpful votes
Is your pool heated?
Answer from Taipa Beach Resort
Taipa, New Zealand
Sorry for the late response - unfortunately no it is not but the spa pool is located a few metres from the pool and is lovely and hot.
Trish F wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make a point of finding places to have Christmas that you are aware of the price. We were told $70.00 but it was 89.00 no drinks included"
Read full review
Trek40432565873 wrote a tip Mar 2023
Whangarei, New Zealand1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't recommend going there"
Read full review
JohnMarion H wrote a tip Mar 2023
New Plymouth, New Zealand10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor both beach view or pool (and tennis court) view."
Read full review
Lauren wrote a tip Dec 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Head further up to Carrington estate instead"
Read full review
SARQR1 wrote a tip May 2022
Auckland, New Zealand35 contributions77 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not choose to stay in the 2 bedroom Villa"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taipa area.
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
taipa bay hotel north island
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionTaipa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAIPA BEACH RESORT - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Taipa Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Taipa Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Butler Point Whaling Museum (6.3 km), Mathew's Vintage Museum (4.3 km), and Rangikapiti Pa Historic Reserve (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Taipa Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Taipa Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Taipa Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Taipa Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Taipa Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Thai, Waterfront Cafe & Bar, and Fresh & Tasty.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Taipa Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Taipa Beach Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Taipa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Taipa Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Taipa Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Taipa Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rangikapiti Pa Historic Reserve (5.0 km).
All Taipa HotelsTaipa Hotel DealsHotels near Taipa Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire