We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$591
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Official Hotel
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2216)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (411)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 11/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES
Updated 11/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Summer Island Maldives is a truly beautiful, new 'barefoot' resort owned and managed by people from the Maldives. Truly the perfect Maldivian Barefoot Holiday where Summer Never Ends. A holiday at Summer is really a journey of discovery more than a holiday. Take a seaplane to a fairytale lagoon and walk barefoot on fine sand the colour of icing sugar and feel it tickle your soles. Learn to navigate a coral reef and fulfil your Maldivian adventure with dolphins and turtles. Live in ocean villas suspended over jewelled waters or stay in land villas with sublime ocean views - the choice is yours. Feast on international cuisines touched with a hint of Maldivian flavour and unwind at our over-water spa with our classic offerings to knead your tension away. Discover your destination playground at Summer Island Maldives where Summer Never Ends.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German
655Reviews332Q+A81Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 466
  • 127
  • 39
  • 10
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bfree2travel wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
Let me begin by saying my room was very nice. The air conditioner really cooled the room and the wifi was dependable and strong enough for me to have zoom meetings. The staff was outstanding and I mean literally every staff member was lovely! By day 3 every staff member knows your room number and your drink preference. A couple of things need to be addressed. The sand fleas are horrible, especially up near the reception desk. There was no bug spray that seemed to work against them. Also, the food was plentiful but was rarely ever served hot rather it is served at room temperature. The buffet changes but on a schedule, so be prepared for it to repete exactly if you are there for more than one week. The beach chairs are very tired and clearly need to be replaced. All in all it was a nice first post pandemic vacation but I did decide to leave a week early. It just felt so repetitive I could do another week. Interestingly not one person asked me why I was leaving early. I would have thought they would have been concerned but clearly they did not care, I was not asking for a refund but it would have been nice to have someone ask if there was a problem.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Adventure36774226351, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and suggestions for improvements. We have well noted your concerns and we will try our best to improve on them. I regret no one asked why you were leaving early, we should have done that. We do have rotating menus on the buffet, I will discuss with chef to see how the food is getting cold and will make sure it gets fixed. We usually dont have sand fleas however, I will definitely check on this and make sure this is resolved as soon as possible. Beach chairs are in the process of being replaced soon. Thank you again for your comments, it is much appreciated. Kind regards, Mari
Read more
Lisa wrote a review May 2021
56 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
Overall it’s a great hotel for the price you pay. However it’s the small things missing on the island. Pro: - spacious beaches and sometimes you are alone on the beach - changing dinner buffet every night - wonderful beaches and nature - the staff at buffet are really kind - the rooms are also okay - water bottle on your room - beach towels Improvement areas: - tell people at the buffet to wear their masks correctly!! There are still many who think they don’t have wear their masks correctly. - I haven’t seen anyone disinfecting the touching points at the buffet - the sun beds are so old and uncomfortable, they really need an upgrade - no fan in the bathroom, once you get out of the shower you start to sweat again - no vegan options at breakfast and very boring standard breakfast, the oats and cereal are full of sugars. Please start labeling the dishes for food allergies. - the lady at the reception is so unfriendly, no smile, no hello. Rework on your customer service! Otherwise if you get a good deal for Maldives can really recommend in coming to Summer Island Maldives
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear lisapA1511WB, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Appreciate your comments and we will make sure we work on improving our services. We believe suggestions from our guests as important, and make sure we work on them to offer a better service for all our guests. Thank you once again and we hope that you visit us again. Kind regards, Mari
Read more
Pamela M wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom42 contributions15 helpful votes
I spent 3 month on this island during Covid, and this island resort deserves the very highest recommendation. It is run by an excellent, proactive executive team. The villa in which I stayed was spacious, newly renovated, with outside space to sit leading onto sandy garden, and beach at the bottom. Tamil who looked after my room was delightful and kept it spotless. The food in the Resort was delicious, how they cater for so many in the middle of an ocean is remarkable, but there was a wide daily buffet selection and also a la carte if applicable . Thanks to Zamir and Joy for looking after me so kindly, for so long. My favourites were the beach bar and Avi bar watching the sun setting each evening, thank you especially to Ragesh, Prateeth, Shantook, Anu, Bradley, Ravi, Raju, Sunna, and Maniga for making my evenings fun, always with the best service. The island itself has wonderful lagoons and reef in which to snorkel, swim, learn to scuba dive, sail, water ski, and similar activities. A free snorkel trip is offered morning and afternoon, and a dive boat also is available for scuba diving morning and afternoon. Day or night fishing is also offered. I thoroughly enjoyed a lobster dinner on the beach one night looked after by Ondeen. I would highly recommend this resort to individuals, couples or families, it is also wonderful for children with infinity swimming pool, badminton and table tennis to further amuse. To complete the picture, there is a resident doctor and clinic who is excellent and knowledgeable, a Resort shop and excellent Health Spa.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Pamela M, Thank you for writing a wonderful review on your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your 3 months stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime, and look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards, Mari
Read more
leezo wrote a review Apr 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates58 contributions65 helpful votes
We wanted somewhere that felt luxurious without the insane price tag of many other Maldives destinations and we were so glad we found this gem! Our water villa was absolutely breathtaking! It was so quiet around the resort with such a relaxed vibe. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food and drink was great and most of all the setting is stunning. We enjoyed varying our meals between the 2 bars and 2 restaurants. They made special touches for our honeymoon and birthday while we were there are we loved it! Thank you Summer Island. COVD test was all super organised too. With the speedboat transfer, everything was super smooth.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear leezoclough, Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable honeymoon with us. We hope that you visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mari
Read more
Arina La wrote a review Apr 2021
Ko Samui, Thailand12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We enjoyed our superior beach access (314) on the sunset side. Amazing views in the evening. Also this side is good for snorkeling, don’t forget to take your snorkeling equipment. You can relax at the infinity pool and try pina colada and many others cocktails and snacks at the Nevi bar. If you like sunrises and chilling just relax at the sunset side of the island, the water is calm and there is no reefs. The everyday cleaning was perfect like every service at Summer Island Maldives. We tried many delicious dishes at breakfasts and dinners. All your extra expenses at the Hotel (cocktails, souvenirs, Covid-test etc.) you will pay at the checkout (cash or card), so there is no need to have cash/card always with you. You will get your credit sum one day before leaving. There is no ATM, so take some cash for tips( you can change it to 1-2-5 dollars at the reception) The speed-boat transfer is very safe and comfortable, it takes 45 mins. I want to come back here again! Just in love with this island!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariya Shareef, General Manager at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear ArinaLap, Thank you so much for the lovely review. Glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you would like to coming back again. We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you back to the island. Kind regards, Mari
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$332 - US$871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
summer island village hotel north male atoll, summer island village maldives, summer island village resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Summer Island Village
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollNorth Male AtollZiyaaraifushi Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES
What are some of the property amenities at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kaage at VARU by Atmosphere, Latitude, and One & Only Reethi Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES have an airport shuttle?
Yes, SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Does SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is SUMMER ISLAND MALDIVES accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.