Diamonds Athuruga
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Diamonds Athuruga

Vue depuis la Water Villa 2.
Traveller (3757)
Panorama at the Diamonds Athuruga
360
Panoramas (14)
Sunset from water villa no. 5
Room & Suite (919)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Athuruga Island
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Boasting elegant beach bungalows , Junior Suite and beautiful over water villas, Diamonds Athuruga is a paradise located at just a 20 minutes scenic flight away from Malé International Airport. The wellness centre offers a variety of treatments and Ayurvedic massages and a well equipped diving centre provides enthusiasts with the very best underwater experiences. Athuruga is the ideal resort to discover the Maldives from a centre of excellence, where attention to detail will make your journey unforgettable. Let yourself be charmed by one of the most unique, enchanting well known coral reefs in the Maldives and discover its secrets thanks to the marine biologists on the island. At Diamonds Athuruga the uniqueness of our all inclusive formula allows our guests to enjoy every second of their holiday in total relaxation
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Diving
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

South Ari Atoll, 00130
Getting there
Villa Intl Airport
46.4 km
See all flights
Male Intl Airport
86.1 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,610 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Diamonds Athuruga stands out for its exceptional value and intimate, romantic atmosphere, with many guests praising the superb dining options, despite some pricing concerns at specific venues. The hotel offers a plethora of activities and amenities such as a vibrant house reef and various water sports, albeit with a more modest spa experience. Service at the hotel is frequently commended for its personalized attention and friendliness. While the rooms are spacious and the cleanliness of the villas and island is consistently lauded, a few travelers miss having a TV and remark on signs of wear.
Atmosphere
Diverse
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Exceptional
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Exceptional
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,610Review191Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,332
  • 195
  • 47
  • 25
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
julia78902017 wrote a review Jan 2020
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a relaxing five days here recently. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a junior suite from our beach bungalow because this was our first trip to the island. Not sure whether this was exactly true but it was appreciated as a lot of the beach bungalows had lost their beaches and just went from their deck straight to the sea. The resort is trying to manage this but in our opinion needs to do more. Currently they are using white plastic sandbags which deteriorate and obviously go into the ocean. They are unsightly and not effective. We lost a foot of beach during our stay. They really need to think about doing something more permanent otherwise they are going to be really limited as to how many rooms they have available. We were fortunate in that friends of ours had a water villa for the duration of our stay so we did spend most of the time on that rather than on our beach bungalow with its limited amount of beach.

The island is lovely and quiet and surrounding seas offer a varietyof snorkelling opportunities. The food in the main restaurant is fine. Everything was on tap although I did have a tuna sandwich at the bar on the last day and it was basically two bits of white bread with a thin bit of tuna in the middle. Staff are all very attentive and friendly. Despite what I’ve said above we would go again. But I would need to have reassurance that any accommodation I have booked had an appropriate amount of beach if I was not able to afford to go to Villa.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Krzysztof_Staszewski, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 15 Feb 2020
Dear julia78902017, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Maldives and I am grateful for your lovely feedback. There is no better satisfaction than reading that you appreciated every single aspect of your experience among us. Also I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services, this is why as well we are changing the plastic bags now to a biodegradable ones. We all look forward to welcome you back real soon! your sincerely, Krzysztof Staszewski Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GandTSurrey wrote a review Mar 2020
Surrey
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were originally booked to Bathala but were moved to Athuruga Island as this was locked down due to Covid 19.
This was our first visit to the Maldives so we weren’t concerned with the move and we’re thrilled when we arrived by our seaplane transfer.
The island is small and is a real tropical paradise.
We were in a Beach Bungalow which was very clean and comfortable and wonderfully looked after by our room boy. Clean towels twice a day (lovely fluffy ones).
The food was excellent and the service provided by the waiting and bar staff first class.
There were a number of excursions offered and good snorkelling in the lagoon and around the reef.
BUT....during the time we were there the outside world was closing down due to the virus so we were starting to become concerned about our flight home (originally with Emirates on Thursday 26th). In this situation we would expect to look to the General Manager in particular to ensure that we were kept up to date with the position in respect to flights. (Our flight was cancelled we were rebooked on Etihad for 24th which was also cancelled and eventually on to BA on the 29th)
At no point during all this confusion did Krys the manager contact any of the guests, in fact at no point during our stay did he speak to any guests and seemed to spend most of his time holidaying rather than managing, and the only way we were kept up to date was via messages from home.
One evening a gourmet dinner by a guest chef was offered at a cost of 100USD per head which we attended. As a guest attending a special occasion like this we object when the a number of staff also attend, it takes the edge off of a special evening.
This all came to a head when the Manager and all the Front Desk staff left the island on 26th March without a word of explanation directly to any of the guests.
At that point there were only 13 guests left on the island until 29th and we must thank the Asst Manager and the remaining staff for making our last three days as good as the rest of our holiday and for the wonderful Bodu Bero show on our last night and the send off we were given by them all lined on the jetty to say goodbye.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Krzysztof_Staszewski, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 3 Apr 2020
Dear GrandTSurrey, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are super happy that you had a wonderful stay at Diamonds Athuruga Resort and that our team had well taken care of you. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our wide variety of dining services and the variety of excursions offered. It was always a pleasure receiving compliments from our guests and I will ensure to pass on your compliment to our team to keep them inspired to continue delivering excellent service to all of our guests especially during such a special moments the whole world is facing now. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if any further assistance is required via email: rm.athuruga@diamonds-resorts.com Thank you once again for the review and hope to see you back again soon! your sincerely, Krzysztof Staszewski Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
RHINOTHOMAS wrote a review Oct 2021
Kenilworth, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled as a family of 4, the adults in a water villa and the teenagers in a beach villa and spent a special week on the island. Although the ocean villa entitles those staying at it to eat at the Ocean restaurant which has an a la carte menu, we found that the variety in the buffet on the island was great for the family. It was made really special by attentive service from Ahmed who looked after us for the week. Chef Motin is a true character, and if he wasn’t a phenomenal juice maker and pizza chef he would have excelled in comedy, each meal was a joy to look forward to knowing that Motin would provide great food and good humor. The ocean villas are stunning, well maintained (in the face of some adverse weather) very comfortable and well serviced. The privilege of jumping off the deck for a swim is just amazing. The teens in the beach villa had a very happy stay with their villa right on the beach. Although there are phones between rooms, we brought along a pair of two way radios which helped arrange our day. The house reef is great for snorkelling and it’s awesome to see so much coral re growth following the bleaching in 2015/16. The resort is well run, always clean and the staff are very well schooled and very friendly. Chris the GM and Sylvia run a tight but happy ship and the guests feel it. We dived with the dive team from IDive - Micheal was a great instructor to the teens, the dive set up and team very professional and some high quality diving. This was a real treat of a holiday. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Krzysztof Staszewski, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 3 Oct 2021
Dear Rhinothomas, Warmest Marhaba from Diamonds Athuruga Beach & Water Villas ! First and foremost I would like to say thank you, for such a great feedback and for your time to share it with us and others here on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear that you have had so memorable holidays and that our Athuruga family made it so special for you ! I will personally pass all your compliments to Silvia, Motin, Mike, Ahmed and all others - this will mean so much to them ! Once again, thank you and we all hope to welcome you back soon. Your sincerely, Krzysztof Staszewski
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy_61 wrote a review Jan 2021
Kölliken
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice little Island somewhere in the middle of the South Ari Atoll. Small all inclusive resort with water and beach bungalows of average standard (comfortable sizes and distances between bungalows, clean rooms air conditioned, mini bar with soft drinks, no connectivity (phone/internet etc).
Two restaurants are on the island, one à la card, one "served buffed" (due to Covid constrains), Very friendly staff offer here various pasta, pizza, fresh BBQ (Fish, chicken, beef..) and on salat & desert bars.
Island infra-structure is limited, internet, if, only at the main bar or at the reception "by chance" almost no connectivity since disruptive and extremely slow, no pool, no gym but several water sports gear, beach volley court, little boutique, a little infirmary for first aid and an excellently managed and care taking dive center.

The resort manager is very visible and personally care taking including kids entertainment but guest relation representative is rather anonymous, never asked for feedback during the whole stay. Italiens who are happy when almost disconnected on a nice little island may find the most appropriate location here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Beach villa recommended (beach front and shady thanks to palms)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karen-tea-20 wrote a review Nov 2022
Wishaw, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon trip. It was lovely but by no means the perfect finale to our honeymoon we had planned or expected.

It is the Maldives so the island itself it beautiful. It is picture perfect and exactly what you see/expect from the Maldives.

We stayed in a water villa, it was lovely and the room itself was clean and comfortable. That said there were a lot of small flies in the bathroom area. The curtains at the patio door a little mouldy and the external shutters dirty. Perhaps it shows more because it is all white.

The food in the water villa restaurant was lovely and staff were attentive enough during service (the only criticism is that drink service can be a little slow). Out with the set meal times I did not see and wasn't aware of any snacks provided only the main bar for drinks.

The biggest issue I have with the resort is the distinct lack of communication and the attitude of front of house staff. We had this 'perfect' end to our honeymoon planned for months. We sent several emails to the hotel none of which got a response (unless my husband called them at 0630 GMT). They did manage to provide the honeymoon package however, we had requested dinner on the beach on our first night and a few other things (all additional cost). On arrival we had to wait 2 hours to be shown to our room, we then discovered that the dinner on the beach had not been booked nor had any of the other things. We got a phone call to say that they could not book us in that night as it requires 24 hours notice (despite being emailed and called weeks in advance) they also said the weather was not great that night (it was fine) and in the end we settled for the following evening.... Romantic dinner on the beach with the first games of the World cup blaring in the background..... not quite what we had planned!!!

We also asked in the emails we sent if we could have a late checkout, this was met with silence by email and phone calls. We asked when we got there and during our stay and in the end were told no which is fine however, we had to wait 2 hours to check into our room after we arrived on the island (we arrived 1500 got to our room at 1700) I can only assume this was due someone else having a late checkout. We were advised we could leave our luggage at reception and use the public shower prior to our departure (not until 1640) which meant we could still enjoy our last day. We went to get changed only to discover our luggage had been put on the boat, with staff looking blankly, my husband ended up going to retrieve our luggage so we could get changed .

In all it was good, definitely not 5 star though with terrible communication which tainted the 'perfect' end to our honeymoon trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 30 Nov 2022
Dear Karen-tea-20 Thank you for sharing the feedback online. Regrettably, you did not enjoy the holiday with us, and our service did not meet your expectations. I am so sorry to read that we could not provide you with the ambiance you were looking for. All the areas you have highlighted have been pointed out and reviewed throughout these days. If you ever consider giving us another chance, the changes and improvements will be seen when you return. Once again, thank you for choosing Diamond Athuruga as your holiday destination in the Maldives. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elle wrote a review Jul 2021
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolute paradise with exceptional service!
We booked a 7 night escape very last minute, having researched many resorts in the Maldives. Why did we choose this one? We eventually decided to look at “all inclusive” resorts after initially considering full board. The reviews we read about Athuruga were all extremely complimentary of the service, and as the price was very reasonable we took the plunge and booked. We were not to be disappointed! Taking the seaplane from Male we flew over many resorts that all looked nice enough but as we approached Athuruga it was stunning!! The white water villas really stood out against the clear turquoise water and straight away it looked a different league to all the others. We were met of the plane by Silvia who is an absolute asset to the company. She is full of life and vitality and nothing is too much trouble. The professionalism she brings to her role is outstanding whilst having an abundance of energy. We stayed in a water villa and as a result were able to dine in the a la carte restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and the presentation incredible. Again the service was 100% excellent with constant attention to our need of water and topping up our drinks. Our meals were all served by Ameen who like Silvia was extremely professional and attentive. Most days we chose to take breakfast on the deck of our villa. The food always arrived at the requested time and was always beautifully laid out for us. Again superb professionalism from the staff. Our housekeeper Abdullah was wonderful, the villa was always cleaned to a very high standard.
The water villas are amazing! We did have an issue with the air conditioning unit in our first villa being extremely noisy so the very next day we were moved without fuss to the villa next door which was silent. The fridge is refreshed daily with wine, beer and soft drinks and several bottles of drinking water are left at every housekeeping visit.
The beach bar was amazing and again the staff always went above and beyond to ensure every guest was made to feel like family.
We took the opportunity to refresh our diving skills with a short course and dive under the instruction of Mike at iDive. It was a fabulous and fun experience.
Athuruga Resort totally ticked every box for what we hoped for. It was an amazing experience and we fully recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing, stress free vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring $US to tip the staff, they fully deserve it! The reef wasn’t colourful but an amazing...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PANNA wrote a review Jun 2021
Qatar
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Going on vacation in this period is a great privilege and a luxury, and going to Atharuga a dream.

We chose Atharuga because of the reviews about its reef and we were not disappointed, on the contrary. We enjoyed snorkeling for long hours and observe sharks, turtles and everything in between both during the day and at night. We learned a lot about the reef and its coral conservation project, which is an inspiration.

The trips to other atolls were superb. It was not our first time in Maldives but the dance of dozens of mantas we found ourselves in their midst was an experience of a lifetime !

We like to stay with the feet on the sand and chose the beach bungalow. It was kept clean and tide at all times. The beach is pristine and the lagoon deep and large enough for good and long swims, which is not always the case in Maldives.

The experience was made possible thanks to the staff: helpful, friendly and fun. From the cooks and waiters, to Kristof the manager, from the boat captain to the diving instructors, all have been great. A special thanks to Silvia who took very good care of us. Grazie!

The food was good. If you are an Italian lover, pizza and pasta fresca are assured every day. The full inclusive formula includes all cocktails you can ask: a bit too much for us but a plus for many. The second à la carte restaurant has a good variety of goodies which will make your dinner special.

A special thanks to all the team that works behind the scenes to make sure we guests, are safe and are pampered.

I miss staring at the Milky Way and counting the falling stars....dreaming of going back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Krzysztof Staszewski, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 2 Jun 2021
Dear Panna, Warmest greetings from our little paradise corner. Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your time to share with us and others about your great experience in Diamonds Athuruga Beach & Water Villas Resort. I am delighted to read, that you have had such an amazing stay here with us and all team effort have left a remarkable footprint in your Maldives memories. I will share your comments with all Athuruga family and especially with Guest Relation Manager Silvia, with Housekeeping Manager Fazam and Head Chef Fernando ! We can't wait to welcome you back ! your sincerely, Krzysztof Staszewski
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
naasman786 wrote a review Jul 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a week at the end of June for 1 week to celebrate my birthday.

I will include the positives and maybe some good suggestions that the resort can use to improve upon.

The resort is beautiful and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. The water villas were beautiful, modern and tastefully decorated. The snorkelling and marine life on the house reef is amazing with beautiful creatures such as black tip reef sharks, manta rays and turtles. The food on all the meals were of a good standard with nice drinks as well. The breakfast delivered to the room came with a good variety of options every morning. The housekeeping service was on point twice a day with nice touches. Staff very friendly and courteous.

For the suggestions on what can be improved:

Firstly I feel that some of the lighting in the evenings can be improved especially at the water villa restaurant that allows one to see the water. At the moment you cannot see the water at all which is quite a shame as the view in the day is very beautiful.
Secondly the meal variety can be improved as the water villa restaurant offers the same meals every day for lunch whilst the main big restaurant also offers the exact same fish, pizzas and pastas for lunch and supper. There is also only 1 dessert type offered with fruit. Looking at other 5 star resorts in the Maldives and for the price one pays here the meal selection is very limited and monotonous.
Thirdly I would suggest more of a snack offering on the minibar as this only has drinks at the moment. Maybe some nuts, sweets, candy, crisps etc should also be in the room if one needs to snack during the day or night in the room, only drinks were available. Another suggestion would be for guests that do not drink alcohol, consider having a package option for them as the high price for all inclusive is for alcoholic drinks of which we didn't drink any at all. Maybe offer a discounted rate that excludes all alcohol beverages.
Lastly I saw online that the water villas had an IMAC included but this was not in our room at all.

Overall a beautiful place on a beautiful island but I think the points above will really help in taking the resort to the next level and make it even better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Water Villas and Sea Plane is a must
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Krzysztof Staszewski, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 10 Jul 2021
Dear naasman786, First and foremost thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for this wonderful review. I am so thrilled to read it and to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us so much, I will share all your compliments with our entire team. Moreover, I am thankful for your suggestion as these are very constructive and we will work with our team on upgrades and services improvements. I hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the future. your sincerely, Krzysztof Staszewski
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
177michaelandjulie wrote a review Mar 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a couple of cancelled covid attempts we finally got to athuruga on 1st March 2022. We booked a water villa, and on arrival we were taken by golf cart to number 3 looking out across the lagoon and the island. After an arduous flight it was lovely to have such a big space to relax in. The decking is 14m by 7m with two huge sofas luxurious beds an an outside dining area. Inside there is a huge four poster bed with a seating area to one side. A walk in dressing room with plenty of hanging space. The bathroom has his and hers sinks with a toilet and bidet at one end and two showers at the other end with direct access to the decking. Staying in the water villas gives access to the overwater restaurant, the food and service here was superb. A la carte dining was quite formal but the 3 course menu was always excellent quality even if it took me it of my food comfort zone. It could have been quite formal but the staff were so friendly and relaxed I was immediately put at ease and made for a great atmosphere. The island is quite small which means you do get to recognise other guests and everyone was really friendly. Every photograph we took during our stay was like a postcard because every view is perfect. This was our first trip but even seasoned guests assured me this is the best island they had visited and I could not fault anything. The house reef is safe and has an abundance of marine life we snorkeled every day and never got bored.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try and take part in the many different trips on offer, you will get to experience stunning...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diego Paties, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 17 Mar 2022
Dear Michael and Julie, thank you very much for staying at Diamonds Athuruga, and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor! We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we read your comments with joy. Thank you for describing in details many facilities of our Overwater Villas, surely the best way to experience our stunning Lagoon. We are happy that you appreciated our Overwater Restaurant, and the general atmosphere of the Resort. We are already looking forward to welcome you back in the Sunny Maldives! Greetings from the Team of Diamonds Aturuga.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
agatalas70 wrote a review Jun 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely fantastic holiday spent in this little paradise! Athuruga is a gem for anyone who wants to relax and get away from people, noise and the rush of daily life. We arrived with the idea of having a quiet getaway and thats exactly what we got.

The island is small but very picturesque. We stayed in a water villa which was spacious and clean with a beautiful sun deck. Room had lovely amenities and a mini bar and everything was kept replenished and clean by our lovely housekeeper Jerry.

The food in the restaurants was a la carte cause there was a small number of guests when we were there but there was a vast choice and everything was super tasty. Every night we were taken care of by Ahmed, who was a wonderful host, always attentive and courteous. Kudos to Chef Titu who was working the grill every night with fresh fish. Absolutely delicious! Also would highly reccomend the lobster dinner, the quality and taste is worth every penny. Chapeau bas to Chef Fernando.

Throughout the day and in the evenings we were taken care of by the bar team. There was a great choice of coctails, mocktails, smoothies etc. Service was super quick and attentive. And the piña coladas were awesome! So thank you guys so much!

For entertaiment there is access to watersports as well as evening yoga classes hosted by Klaudia. The yoga is hosted on the deck during sunset which makes a massive impression as well as a great work our thanks to K. We didnt use too much the water sports as it was quite windy during our stay but I managed to go snorkeling a couple of times and had a wonderful time. Hussain the snorkeling instructor went out of the way to make sure we saw as many sea creatures as possible and honestly the waters by Athuruga are full of turtles, manta rays, lobsters, sharks and all kinds of colorful fish. The snorkling is amazing!

Any issues, questions or queries were swiftly resolved by the front desk team. Especially Shahen who always went out of the way to help us out and made us feel very welcome.

Last but not least a huge thank you to the wonderful manager Kris who made our stay ever so special, helping me organize a suprise for my husbands birthday and just taking the time to come by everyday and check in on us. He really made the island feel like a home for a week. Once again thank you to the whole team for a perfect stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Krzysztof Staszewski, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Dear Agatalas70, Warm greetings from our little paradise corner ! Thank you very much for your time to share with us and others about your recent experience in Diamonds Athuruga Beach & Water Villas Resort ! I am so happy, to read that our team did make your holidays so remarkable and so unique. It was our greatest pleasure indeed. I will share each and every compliment with all Athuruga family, especially with highlighted by you stars: Jerry, Ahmed, Titu, Fernando, Klaudia, Hussain & Shahen ! We all hope to welcome you back really soon. Thank you once again and see you next time ! your sincerely, Krzysztof Staszewski
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from racheal s
Nottingham, United Kingdom41 contributions30 helpful votes
Beach bungalows are great and better during any storms in my view. You can visit the water villa restaurant and sit to watch the sunset with cocktails even if you;re in a beach bungalow - as well as dining there
Answer from GERTraveler
Rockledge, Florida168 contributions94 helpful votes
Since you are on the Maldives, you don't really have a dress code. At lunch time many people come in their swimming dress, ladies might have an additional clothe. At evening time even a shorts and shirt or polo shirt is fine. However, you might see as well ladies in dinner dress, which is as well ok. Hope it will help
Answer from Ana Raquel P
Lisbon, Portugal14 contributions1 helpful vote
We’re from Portugal and we’re not used to tipping. I don’t think they expect to be tipped at all, but we gave some euros/dollars to some employees at the end of our stay and a bigger one to our assigned waiter (I think around 10) and 2-5 to others that were particular nice.
Lukaspk wrote a tip Jun 2024
Maastricht, The Netherlands11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bring shoes or even flip flops, you don't need them ;) "
Read full review
AndySmith0509 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Largs, United Kingdom31 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take US dollars for tips"
Read full review
Markus V wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take part on evening entertainment, it will make your trip even better"
Read full review
Joanna wrote a tip Apr 2024
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cocktails on the terrace at the Water Villa restaurant watching the sunset…unforgettable!"
Read full review
Paul P wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the water villas are within your budget, choose this option. Beach errosion to the East side of the Island. Take plug adapters! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Athuruga Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$711 - $2,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diamonds athuruga beach & water villas hotel south ari atoll, diamonds athuruga beach and water villas, athuruga hotel south ari atoll
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollSouthern Ari AtollAthuruga Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DIAMONDS ATHURUGA - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Athuruga Island, Maldives) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Diamonds Athuruga
Which popular attractions are close to Diamonds Athuruga?
Nearby attractions include IDive diving centre Athuruga (0.02 km) and IDive centre Athuruga (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Diamonds Athuruga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Diamonds Athuruga?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Diamonds Athuruga?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Does Diamonds Athuruga have airport transportation?
Yes, Diamonds Athuruga offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Diamonds Athuruga located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Athuruga Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Diamonds Athuruga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diamonds Athuruga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Does Diamonds Athuruga have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Athuruga Island HotelsAthuruga Island Hotel DealsHotels near Diamonds Athuruga
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire