We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#3 of 4 small hotels in Te Awamutu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Te Awamutu, Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its budget friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park makes it easy to enjoy the best of Te Awamutu.

Rooms at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park provide a refrigerator and a kitchenette, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out The Good Sushi and Sugoi Sushi, which are some sushi restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Te Awamutu Rose Gardens (0.2 mi) and Te Awamutu Museum (0.5 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park.

Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park is sure to make your visit to Te Awamutu one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
23Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 9
  • 2
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
AmberH_NZ wrote a review Dec 2017
Wellington, New Zealand31 contributions17 helpful votes
Needed to find a place to stop over on the way to Auckland. Even after explaining this situation the Host was extremely rude about this and quite agressive because I had not called ahead. I don't think they realise they work in a customer serive industry. Not worth the $45 spent, if I had the same situation again I would rather sleep in ky car for the night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sue G wrote a review Feb 2017
1 contribution
What a great little charmer this place is. Stopped in after booking via phone with no idea of what we were in for. A truly pleasant surprise awaited us all after a long day driving. Great hosts, quiet location, clean and comfy and really well priced. Don't hesitate to call them if you are in the area of Te Awamutu.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 28 Mar 2017
thank you for your nice comment, glad you enjoy your stay with us
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jinnyb899 wrote a review Feb 2017
Wingham, Australia2 contributions
Wow, what a great place! The rooms are so clean, light and airy. Soft comfy bedding and lots of pillows! Clean bathroom with soft towels, shampoo and creams plus separate toilet. The kitchen is awesome with tea,coffee, sugar, hot chocolate, milk, crockery and cooking utensils. Great TV plus free WiFi, undercover parking, close to town and very quiet. Bill and Faye went out of their way to make us feel at home. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms have easy access
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, General Manager at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 8 Feb 2017
thank you for great review. it was great to meet you and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in nz.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tristen S wrote a review Feb 2017
2 contributions1 helpful vote
i stayed two seperate time first time bill and faye failed to give me receipt and keep yelling at me talking to me like a child and keep $36 of my money as they told me there are no refunds i gave them a secound chance when i return from holiday thinking they might have had bad week they didnt give me receipt again they bassicaily talk down to me and yelled at me like a child i went to tell them i was leaving at end of week before i had a chance bill started at me i ask four times for him to stop yelling at me and waveing his finger in my face he wouldnt stop so i yelled at him he then said you think your tough and tried to punch me over counter then i had to duck so he didnt hit me and was told to leave i told him i would and want my money back this time if they wanted me out then he whent out back come back with what look to be a shovel handel and tried hitting me with that so i told him to come outside he then whent to as i went to door he run back in so will i was trying to pack he come down mouthing off threatening me with shovel handle again telling me to hurry up when police arrive because there where no witnesses they couldnt do anything but the police did treaspass me i manage to get money back for this time staying i would say in thirty six years this the worse place ive ever stayed over price rubish rooms rude abusive behaviour and liers i would rather sleep on the side walk and im one of meany as you can see avoid this place if he wasnt an old man i would have deffened myself
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 10 Feb 2017
after 1 night in tent, I was asked by caregiver if a cabin was available. yes there was so I wrote out a docket to show money was paid 2 nights in cabin $22.00 credit. Caregiver takes unsigned docket to arrange more money for more nights and says she will be back 8.30 am Never Arrived. tristen arrives much later and says money is arranged .I ask for my docket which is visible in his folder and other papers to see what is happening money wise. he would not hand them over.I proceeded to tell him he had 1 more night in cabin + 1 night in tent plus $5.00 change.He then lost the plot yelling and swearing at us wriped everything off our counter resulting in a a broken eftpos machine. He went outside kicked office door twice. I walked away then he came back into reception and threw a full can of drink hitting me in the back. Police were called all this time he was yelling and swearing even when police were there. Yes I had a poll in my hands for protection. There are plenty of witness as the motels had people in them. If some one doesn't agree with something they should tell us . You can say what you want about us ,but to tell lies about the condition of the place. everything is clean. when people get wound up over something they tend to run things down. The police took Tristen away and he is now trespassed from roadrunner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jaggbell wrote a review Jan 2017
Whakatāne, New Zealand10 contributions
We stayed 3 nights in our Motorhome. It was a lovely quiet place and the amenities were spotlessly clean. The camp Cat is a real character, and made himself quite at home on our bed. Look forward to visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jan 2017
thank you for your kind words we enjoyed having you to stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
handsanitiser71 wrote a review Jan 2017
Hastings, New Zealand1 contribution3 helpful votes
This couple yelled and liked to wave their fingers in your face to make a point. The old man walked the grounds as if he ruled a prison camp, he did not make any conversation, not even good morning. When we initially booked we specifically asked if there was parking and we were told that they had a truck park. They did not take into account the number of long vehicles that arrived and consequently struggled to fit everyone in. That wound him up big time, we were all just an inconvenience. The shared kitchen for the campers was dreadful. It had hardly any facilities, one element on the 1 oven did not work. 3 toilets in the camp block for the women and 2 for the males. They were only cleaned once a day, they need to be serviced at-least 3 times during the day. Our cabin was dirty, the bed linen was old and stained. The floor looked as though it had never seen a mop. I left the cabin cleaner than we found it. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. They should not be running a facility where people go for a holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jan 2017
sorry you did not like your stay. you were all given parks for your stock cars but you wouldn't take them off their tow trucks. you wanted to park your car in your cabin as for cleanliness we get completments all the time. Cabin and linen were clean no stains. as for the old man [rude] was just making sure all was well in park. 2 steel hips and back operation cant help way he walks. kitchen and ablution block is plenty for size of camp.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lexieboyle wrote a review Jan 2017
Napier, New Zealand2 contributions3 helpful votes
I have nothing bad to say about the amenities as we just had a powered site, but this couple Faye & Bill clearly do not enjoy this line of work and its time to move on for them. They are so hostile towards people whether by phone or face to face and they seem to feed off each other and enjoy intimidating people. If you dont mind being watched from above then take the risk and stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jan 2017
your review about being watched we just stand in our back yard and look around. we know who you are and sorry you don't like being told things
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
40YearsTraveling wrote a review Nov 2016
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution3 helpful votes
Have never in 40 years of extensive international travel had to deal with such overwhelmingly rude, hostile, unhelpful, and unfriendly owners. Provided no internet access numer on check in. So phoned the front desk & with pen/paper in hand requested login password. Co-owner Faye refused to provide it by phone insisting that I must walk across campgrounds to front desk to receive paper slip with log in number-then abruptly hung up on my call. Called again. Same result. Called again, co-owner Bill repeated the scenario, emphatically stating that he and wife were not there to serve customers. Later both came to my room with paper slip---no rational explanation for refusing to simply provide by phone the log in number on the paper slip---wifey Faye called me rude in the wake of having called me a "bloody Yank"; hubby Bill insisted that I "not talk over" him as I questioned irrationality of their refusal to simply provide log in number by phone as during the calls I was half undressed, had pen/paper at the ready, and was disinclined to walk myself across campground to front desk; hubby Bill reiterated that he and wifey Faye ran a no frills show and were not willing to serve customers; hubby Bill invited me to leave on the spot (this at 8 p.m.); so, I will gladly leave first thing a.m. tomorrow. Been visiting this area for 12 years and never, ever, in those 12 years have I met such rude, hostile, unfriendly, and dumbas Kiwis as this asinine duo. Third World hotel service tops this dump by a mile. Have never before written a review but this disgraceful hotel experience compels a "STAY AWAY" warning to others---including but not limited to "boldly Yanks" as co-owner Faye characterizes we from the United States.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: To choose a good room go to a hotel/compground elsewhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jan 2017
thank you for your review. If only you had told the truth we would reply to it. you were in our camp and we did not have to run to your beck and call.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aussiegirl33 wrote a review Feb 2016
Sydney, Australia71 contributions11 helpful votes
We had spent a bit on accommodation for the first week and a half in New Zealand, and really just wanted somewhere simple to sleep. The Road Runner is a little old fashioned, but it is freshly painted and nicely decorate, very comfortable, and had everything we needed for a couple of nights- we used up the food we had been carting around New Zealand by making a meal. We found Bill and Faye very pleasant, don't be scared off by the negative reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye J, Owner at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Responded 10 Feb 2017
thank you for your kind words hope to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Graeme R wrote a review Dec 2015
Adelaide, Australia100 contributions38 helpful votes
Cabin 3, 30 Nov 2015. Hosts Bill and Faye were great, depicting their vintage with no nonsense good advice. We skipped the nice looking $120 rooms with ensuites and opted for the bunk style cabins in the campground. The beds were good, solid and comfy. Kettle, cups and basic kitchen items supplied, BYO tea coffee sugar etc. Well equiped amenities building close by, looks new and is very clean. Our $55 cabin would be one of the best places for the money we saw in over two weeks of traveling in NZ. A 6 minute walk to the main street gives you quite a few dinner options, the Indian restaurant was great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Te Awamutu area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTe Awamutu
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROADRUNNER MOTEL AND HOLIDAY PARK - Hotel Reviews (Te Awamutu) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Regent Theatre (0.7 km), Te Awamutu Rose Gardens (0.3 km), and Get Out! Escape Rooms (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fahrenheit Restaurant & Bar, Red Kitchen, and The Redoubt Bar and Eatery.
Is Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Te Awamutu.
Are pets allowed at Roadrunner Motel and Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.