We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chestnut Lane Cottage

Save
Traveller (221)
Room & Suite (82)
Storyboard
Ratings and reviews
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
  • Excellent99%
  • Very good1%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“scones”(68 reviews)
“the main house”(44 reviews)
“new zealand”(73 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Free Breakfast
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe...
Offers from Chestnut Lane Cottage
Offers & Announcements: 2 nights Special July/Aug
View all hotel information
Location and contact
4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Hotel website
37.7 km to Hamilton Airport
34 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Chestnut Lane Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
424
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
424
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesthe main housenew zealandwonderful hostsmade us feelguest housecooked breakfastone nightjam and creamvisiting hobbitonliving roomon arrivalhome away from homeeach morningstayed longerwonderful staynext morning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

John and Kathleen have a beautiful house and we were lucky enough to spend two nights there. What is exceptional is the welcome and the care that they provide to ensure your stay is good. Best B & B we’ve stayed in.More

Thank osinac
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 20 February 2018

Hello Osinac. Thank you so much for the lovely review and thank you for coming to stay with us. It was lovely meeting you both and your friend, we enjoyed having you stay in our home. We are happy you enjoyed the 2 nights in...More

Reviewed 13 February 2018

Unfortunately we could only spend one night in this very comfortable accommodation. We stayed in the cottage which includes a kitchen and as we were coming to the end of a 3 week holiday staying in B & B's we enjoyed the luxury of cooking...More

Thank TravelKings49
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 16 February 2018

Hi there TravelKings. Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so sorry about you not having fruit at breakfast. I only wish you had mentioned it to me and I would have prepared it for you immediately. We always ask our guests...More

Reviewed 30 January 2018

Fantastic place. Great Hosts and what a breafast :-) thanks so much to Kathleen and her husband. Hope we will be able to return to your lovely house. You cottage is such a great place to stay and e.g. visit Hobbiton :-) Cheers Ray &...More

Thank ray_lili
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 1 February 2018

Hello Ray and Lili. Thank you so much for your great review and thank you for coming to stay with us. It was wonderful meeting you, We enjoyed our conversations with you. Happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, it is always a good start...More

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have a one night stay with Kathleen and John. The cottage is just lovely - clean, cozy with everything you need and a wonderful view. Breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was second to none. Highly recommended. Email Kathleen direct...More

Thank primpops
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 1 February 2018

HI there Primpops. It was lovely to see your review, thank you very much for your kind words. It was so nice meeting your both, thank your for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the "tip" to email us direct for bookings,...More

Reviewed 24 January 2018

Absolutely wonderful stay here - we only stayed for one night but wished we'd had longer. It was such a relaxing place, beautiful views over the gardens, after our trip to Hobbiton we sat on the deck drinking wine as the sun went down. Kathleen...More

Thank GlobeMeanderer
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 31 January 2018

Hi there GlobeMeanderer in beautiful Oxford. Thank you so much for coming to stay and thank you for your vey nice review. It was lovely meeting you girls and having you in our home. It was nice to chat at breakfast time. We are happy...More

View more reviews
About
Description
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a ...More deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. Less
Contact Information
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Contact Information
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (221)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (25)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nowhereman00
25 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Kathleen_and_John | Property representative |
Hi Ethan, sorry that happened, I don't know what the problem would have been, we are all really good thank you. Try emailing me now. Warmest regards Kathleen
0
Votes
angrias
1 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kathleen_and_John | Property representative |
Hello yes we can certainly accommodate 4 adults, thank you for your enquiry. Kind regards Kathleen
0
Votes
hn N
25 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GrahamStJ | Reviewed this property |
No, the group would be too large for the accommodation, which, nevertheless, is very good.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Nice view of farmland, quiet and private - there is only the one room"
Read review
"The cottage is self-contained and away from the main house."
Read review
"There is just one cottage"
Read review
"Cottage Perfect for Privacy and space."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing