We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chestnut Lane Cottage

428 reviews
Save
Traveller (212)
Room & Suite (80)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent99%
  • Very good1%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“scones”(64 reviews)
“the main house”(41 reviews)
“b b”(103 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
Offers from Chestnut Lane Cottage
Offers & Announcements: February Special
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (428)Write a Review
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
415
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
415
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesthe main houseb bnew zealandwonderful hostsmade us feelcooked breakfastone nightnorth islandjam and creamvisiting hobbitonguest housestay longerhome away from homeeach morningliving roomon arrival
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

John and Kathleen have a beautiful house and we were lucky enough to spend two nights there. What is exceptional is the welcome and the care that they provide to ensure your stay is good. Best B & B we’ve stayed in.

Thank osinac
Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed 13 January 2018

The Chestnut Lane Cottage was one of the best places we stayed in on our four weeek holiday in New Zealand. Kathleen and John are very kind and welcoming hosts; we even got freshly baked scones on arrival! The cottage itself is very clean and...More

Thank revrazna
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there to you in Germany. How lovely to see your review, thank you so much for taking time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. It was great meeting you both, thank you very much for coming to stay at our home. Best...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we could only spend one night in this very comfortable accommodation. We stayed in the cottage which includes a kitchen and as we were coming to the end of a 3 week holiday staying in B & B's we enjoyed the luxury of cooking...More

Thank TravelKings49
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 4 days ago

Hi there TravelKings. Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so sorry about you not having fruit at breakfast. I only wish you had mentioned it to me and I would have prepared it for you immediately. We always ask our guests...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic place. Great Hosts and what a breafast :-) thanks so much to Kathleen and her husband. Hope we will be able to return to your lovely house. You cottage is such a great place to stay and e.g. visit Hobbiton :-) Cheers Ray &...More

Thank ray_lili
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Ray and Lili. Thank you so much for your great review and thank you for coming to stay with us. It was wonderful meeting you, We enjoyed our conversations with you. Happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, it is always a good start...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky enough to have a one night stay with Kathleen and John. The cottage is just lovely - clean, cozy with everything you need and a wonderful view. Breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was second to none. Highly recommended. Email Kathleen direct...More

Thank primpops
Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 2 weeks ago

HI there Primpops. It was lovely to see your review, thank you very much for your kind words. It was so nice meeting your both, thank your for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the "tip" to email us direct for bookings,...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345684
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice
2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Details
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (212)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (25)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nowhereman00
25 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Kathleen_and_John | Property representative |
Hi Ethan, sorry that happened, I don't know what the problem would have been, we are all really good thank you. Try emailing me now. Warmest regards Kathleen
0
Votes
angrias
1 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kathleen_and_John | Property representative |
Hello yes we can certainly accommodate 4 adults, thank you for your enquiry. Kind regards Kathleen
0
Votes
hn N
25 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GrahamStJ | Reviewed this property |
No, the group would be too large for the accommodation, which, nevertheless, is very good.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"The cottage is self-contained and away from the main house."
Read review
"There is just one cottage"
Read review
"Cottage Perfect for Privacy and space."
Read review
"All rooms are excellent"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing