We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Chestnut Lane Cottage

    4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
    011 64 7-808 5045
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MatamataSee available hotels in Matamata
    Traveller (206)
    Room & Suite (72)
    Storyboard
    Overview
    • Excellent99%
    • Very good1%
    • Average0%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “scones” (60 reviews)
    “the main house” (37 reviews)
    “b b” (99 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Kitchenette
    Wheelchair Access
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    Offers from Chestnut Lane Cottage
    Offers & Announcements: October Special
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    We're sorry, there are no rooms available on TripAdvisor. Please change your dates, or view all Matamata hotels with availability
    Write a Review
    Reviews (409)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 401 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Wonderful host Host Kathleen & John ensure we had a great stay at their beautiful House. Every of our needs were taken of. Good Breakfast MUST eat their prepared breakfast. Not only tasty, but also fresh. Quiet & Good ambienceMore

    Thank Mr D
    Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 5 days ago

    Hello Mr D. Thank you for your very nice review and thank you for coming to stay with your family. We are pleased you enjoyed the peace and quiet in our rural setting. It is lovely to be in a quiet country setting yet very...More

    Innkeeper's Favourite Review
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    6 of us stayed for 3 nights, and what a joy it was. John and Kathleen are the perfect hosts - considerate, generous and hospitable but without ever being intrusive. Our friend and her 2 kids stayed in the cottage, which was just lovely, and...More

    Thank Malaytraveller48
    Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hello Malaytraveller in Melbourne. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and for bringing your friends with you. It was lovely having you here for the 3 nights, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We always love having children in...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    No complaints at all during our short one-night stay. Kathleen and John were excellent hosts and their guest house was impeccable. Clean, modern, warm, cozy and an incredible view. We were welcomed with scones and cookies, and departed with a generous and delicious warm breakfast....More

    Thank Mr_Biggy
    Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 5 days ago

    Hi there Mr_Biggy. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us, it was lovely having you and your wife stay for your special Anniversary. Thank you also for the review you posted for us, we are happy you enjoyed your stay here. Best...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    A stunning place to get away from it all. We only stayed 1 night but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The grounds were immaculate and so beautiful to look at. A perfect location to explore the area around...More

    Thank Difa1969
    Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you very much for your fabulous review. We are thrilled to hear you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed our garden. It was great meeting you and lovely chatting to you over breakfast. We hope you will be back again...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    This was a perfect place to stay the accommodation is impeccable, pristine surrounds and the hospitality from Kathleen and John superb. Home cooked breakfast, homemade choc chip cookies and scones. Great location to explore Matamata and surrounds and only 15 minutes from the Hobbiton movie...More

    Thank smccroary
    Response from Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane CottageResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you so much to the McCroary family, firstly for coming to stay with us and then for the lovely review, John and I really appreciate you taking time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay here, we...More

    850 Cameron Motel
    225 reviews
    #1 of 57 hotels in Tauranga
     
    Summit Motor Lodge
    319 reviews
    #2 of 57 hotels in Tauranga
     
    Tower Road Motel
    297 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Matamata
     
    Hotel on Devonport
    535 reviews
    #3 of 57 hotels in Tauranga
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Breakfast Available
    Details
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Waikato Region >
    • Matamata
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (206)
    Room & Suite (72)
    Dining (25)
    Hotel & Grounds (125)
    Bathroom (4)
    Family and Play Areas (4)
    Nearby
    Summit Motor Lodge
    319 reviews
    36.31 km away
     
    Hotel on Devonport
    535 reviews
    39.11 km away
     
    850 Cameron Motel
    225 reviews
    36.56 km away
     
    Tower Road Motel
    297 reviews
    3.22 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Osteria Matamata
    311 reviews
    1.79 km away
    The Redoubt Bar and Eatery
    397 reviews
    1.81 km away
    Workmans Cafe Bar
    239 reviews
    1.80 km away
    O-Del-Emz
    77 reviews
    1.66 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Matamata i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
    240 reviews
    1.76 km away
    Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
    6,460 reviews
    8.04 km away
    Firth Tower Estate and Museum
    49 reviews
    4.61 km away
    Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park Pools
    43 reviews
    7.85 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    nowhereman00
    25 February 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Kathleen_and_John | Property representative |
    Hi Ethan, sorry that happened, I don't know what the problem would have been, we are all really good thank you. Try emailing me now. Warmest regards Kathleen
    0
    Votes
    angrias
    1 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Kathleen_and_John | Property representative |
    Hello yes we can certainly accommodate 4 adults, thank you for your enquiry. Kind regards Kathleen
    0
    Votes
    hn N
    25 June 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from GrahamStJ | Reviewed this property |
    No, the group would be too large for the accommodation, which, nevertheless, is very good.
    0
    Votes

    Recently Reviewed Hotels around Matamata

    Room Tips
    "Book the guest house for complete kitchen and your own sunset deck."
    Read review
    "Cottage offers privacy and the house has 2 bedrooms"
    Read review
    "We stayed in the unit adjacent to the main house which was beautiful Breakfast was served in the main house"
    Read review
    "The cottage is very nice, with its own kitchen and living room."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing