We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tower Road Motel

108 Tower Road, Matamata 3471 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (128)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 5 hotels in Matamata
2020 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best

Finding an ideal family-friendly motel in Matamata does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Tower Road Motel, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the motel.

The property also features barbeque facilities to make your visit even more pleasant.

Travellers looking to enjoy some fish and chips can head to The Redoubt Bar and Eatery or Broadway Burger Bar. Otherwise, you may want to check out a Korean restaurant such as Sen Sushi.

Tower Road Motel puts the best of Matamata at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
355Reviews3Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 276
  • 71
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ilias wrote a review Jun 2019
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia11 contributions4 helpful votes
After a long day of driving it was refreshing to be met by Karen the owner of the motel who is very friendly. We booked the family unit and it was very nice and clean. All facitities were available just like home. The gardens was beautiful and across the road we can see horses in the field. We put up for 1 night only for the Hobbiton tour. After visiting the Matamata town n surrounding areas and the lovely cosy motel we should have stayed for a few more days. Thank you Karen for the lovely motel and will definately recommend to others .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel
Responded 12 Jun 2019
Good Morning from a very foggy morning here in Matamata, thank you for your review, yes we are very spoilt on our location with horses/cows just across the road but still only 1.5k from town a 3 minute drive, I hope the rest of your holiday went well. Kind regards Karen
Read more
Patrick Taylor wrote a review May 2019
Brampton, Canada5 contributions4 helpful votes
Wonderful experience with the owners. They went out of their way to accommodate us as we did not have a car. Excellent location, lovely country setting, fresh air and very quiet. Just a short 20 min. walk into pretty Matamata, Beautiful gardens and grounds to relax and enjoy a beer or a glass of wine. We had a lovely little apt. #7, fresh linens, towels, very clean and fresh. We highly recommend Tower Road Motel, it was the perfect place to stay. Thank you T. and K. for making out stay very memorable. xo
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Response from karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel
Responded 3 May 2019
Hello from NZ to the both of you, what a lovely couple you were all the way from Canada, thank you for choosing Tower Road Motel for your stay we appreciated this, we hope you have gone home with many happy memories. Regards T & K
Read more
Dantim77 wrote a review Apr 2019
Brisbane, Australia46 contributions15 helpful votes
I walked in early for my reservation and was welcomed by the owner, who said it was not a problem and checked me in, she personally took me over to the room... sorry apartment! Under cover parking, very large room as you first walk in... kitchen, dinning room and 2 single beds fit comfortably with heaps of spare room. Through into the master bedroom, large queen bed, blackout curtains, wardrobe and heaps of spare space... large bathroom and toilet. This motel is 52 years old, it is in immaculate condition... it’s one of the cleanest and nicest smelling motels I have ever stayed in. It has been renovated so nothing is still 52 years old apart from the buildings if you were wondering... highly recommended, about 3mins drive and 20mins walk to the town centre. And about 15-20mins
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Response from karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel
Responded 3 May 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review an you are right the motel is 52 years old but we try an maintain the building to a standard that we hope the guests will enjoy, we hope Coromandel was enjoyable for you. Warm regards Karen
Read more
Carole O wrote a review Apr 2019
Traralgon55 contributions33 helpful votes
We virtually stumbled across the delightful treasure that is Tower Road Motel, booked in for a single night but after the sage advice from Karen about some tourist options we quickly booked another night to accommodate a visit to Hobbiton. We could not have been more pleased with our stay, everything was tip top and on point. The beds were incredibly comfortable as were the pillows. Lovely soft towels and very clean accommodation. Thank you for a lovely stay,
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Response from karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel
Responded 3 May 2019
Thank you Carole, you are right there are many tourist attractions here in Matamata the highest waterfall in the North Island is one of them, hope the rest of your holiday went well. Regards Karen
Read more
The_Man2014 wrote a review Feb 2019
Auckland, New Zealand73 contributions19 helpful votes
Staying one lovely quiet night at Tower Road Motel really cheered me up after a bit of a holiday gone wrong... I had had an awful time mostly up until then, several days earlier being rudely kicked out on the dot at 10am from my Motel at Rotorua as I was trying to finish packing, then I'd lost my car alarm remote which left me stranded helpless in Rotorua for a full 48 hours. It wasn't pleasant, I was dependent on taxis, a hostel then finally a hirecar at least, while the AA found a solution and got me mobile again. I continued on my way to Napier and did what I wanted to do there, but didn't really enjoy it as I was exhausted and mainly just slept after Rotorua...not much of a "holiday". So on my way home I really wanted to cheer myself up, so booked into my favourite town of
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Response from karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel
Responded 11 Mar 2019
Hello from Matamata, an thank you for your lovely review, we try very hard so all our guests leave us feeling like you did, sometimes we can give them a late check out, sometimes we can't, but we try!! You did have quite a stressful holiday which is a shame as we have a beautiful country to enjoy. We may see you again. Regards Terry an Karen
Read more
US$77 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Tower Lodge Motel
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionMatamata
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing