We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adrift in Golden Bay

Save
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (51)
Pool & Beach (9)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“the cottages”(30 reviews)
“breakfast basket”(11 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Adrift in Golden Bay
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
179
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
179
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshoneymoon cottagebreakfast basketmussel innspa bathnew zealandgolden bayprivate decksouth islandgranolawharariki beachfarewell spitbeach viewbeachfront villahomemade cookiessun loungerslittle touches
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Three of us stayed here in March 2017for two nights.This is a well- located property on the Golden Bay beach, with beautiful landscaping of the grounds. It is presented and priced as a luxury resort, with beach views.Unfortunately our cottage did not have one.To be...More

1  Thank Shyam B
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you Shyam for your feedback and for your positive comments on the things that you appreciated about our property and accommodation. We’re very sorry we did not meet your expectations; I'm guessing that you were expecting a more formal resort, which we are not....More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

I recently spent a night at Adrift with me partner to have a special night away. I was expecting something really amazing and was left quite underwhelmed. The place is really beautiful with well looked after grounds and the cottages are high quality although slightly...More

Thank Allison J
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 28 March 2017

Thanks for the feedback – I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had anticipated. We advertise the cottages as self-catering with breakfast provisions supplied, so I am not too sure where the expectation came from that the English Breakfast Hamper...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed in the studio which is attached to the owners house. Beautiful view over the garden to the beach less than a minute away. It is private but you share the garden with the owners & you can hear the owners next door so...More

1  Thank Rome_at_Easter
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 26 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on the things you appreciated most about Adrift and Golden Bay, I am sure they will be helpful for other travellers. Hope you can visit again, maybe the fashions in Takaka will...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017

The Adrift is the place to got to in golden Bay. The location is fantastic, private location and a perfect room. The owners gave us a very warm welcome, felt home instantaneously, everything was just perfect. Not the "standard hotel atmospehre" but rather a very...More

Thank Tom S
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay and so pleased you appreciated our relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

My wife recently stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the inn as well as the area. Our unit was very nice - clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast is dropped off a day in advance. We cooked the British fry up one day and opted...More

Thank Jeff K
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you so much for posting your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, the wind was unusual. Our prevailing wind is from the west so the west coast of both islands (and Wellington) normally experience lots of wind. Adrift faces east onto...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Takaka
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$180 - US$676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$180 - US$676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (51)
Pool & Beach (9)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
4acadia
1 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gordon H | Property representative |
Hi, Our child policy allows children over 12 years only, so your 13 year old is fine. All of our cottages have one bedroom, but with the addition of a sofa-bed in the lounge, can accommodate up to 3 people. Thanks for... More
0
Votes
Rezruf
31 January 2015|
Answer
Response from Emily L | Property representative |
Hi Rezruf, thanks for your question. You can fly into Nelson airport, then drive from there (1 hour 45 min drive), or you can drive directly from Christchurch. The most direct route is north to Amberly and through the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Any of the cottages were great, we did stay in a Beachfront cottage, only a few steps away from the beach."
Read review
"Worth paying more for the beachfront cottages I think. A real treat"
Read review
"Beachfront Cottages get the best sea views"
Read review
"Studio is attached to owners house cottages are separate, some on the beach"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing