We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adrift in Golden Bay

186 reviews
Save
Traveller (105)
Room & Suite (51)
Pool & Beach (9)
Overview
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“the cottages”(29 reviews)
“mussel inn”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (186)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Adrift in Golden Bay
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
171
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
171
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshoneymoon cottagemussel innspa bathbreakfast basketnew zealandgolden baysouth islandprivate deckwharariki beachfarewell spitbeach viewstudio apartmentlittle touchesthe kitchentakaka hillleisurely breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Had an awesome stay here, the cottages are excellent and well equipped & comfortable. The Spa bath was totally relaxing. Excellent BBQ. The breakfast basket was yummy, and we had a great time cooking & eating together with the other couples we were staying with...More

1  Thank John G
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 3 weeks ago

You're most welcome! We're glad that you enjoyed all our facilities and that you had a great stay here with your friends!

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful night at adrift with my partner. It's serene and relaxing. The grounds are well looked after. And the beach is just a few steps away. (We stayed in the honeymoon suite) I have to agree with a couple of recent reviews that...More

2  Thank travidy
Response from Gordon H, Adrift Family at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 10 April 2017

Thanks for your positive comments and we're glad you found your night here at Adrift to be serene and relaxing, which is what we are striving for. We're genuinely sorry that what we provide is not what you were expecting as far as luxury. You...More

Reviewed 30 March 2017

Three of us stayed here in March 2017for two nights.This is a well- located property on the Golden Bay beach, with beautiful landscaping of the grounds. It is presented and priced as a luxury resort, with beach views.Unfortunately our cottage did not have one.To be...More

1  Thank Shyam B
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you Shyam for your feedback and for your positive comments on the things that you appreciated about our property and accommodation. We’re very sorry we did not meet your expectations; I'm guessing that you were expecting a more formal resort, which we are not....More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

I recently spent a night at Adrift with me partner to have a special night away. I was expecting something really amazing and was left quite underwhelmed. The place is really beautiful with well looked after grounds and the cottages are high quality although slightly...More

Thank Allison J
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 28 March 2017

Thanks for the feedback – I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had anticipated. We advertise the cottages as self-catering with breakfast provisions supplied, so I am not too sure where the expectation came from that the English Breakfast Hamper...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed in the studio which is attached to the owners house. Beautiful view over the garden to the beach less than a minute away. It is private but you share the garden with the owners & you can hear the owners next door so...More

1  Thank Rome_at_Easter
Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 26 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on the things you appreciated most about Adrift and Golden Bay, I am sure they will be helpful for other travellers. Hope you can visit again, maybe the fashions in Takaka will...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345636
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$206 - US$747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$206 - US$747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (105)
Room & Suite (51)
Pool & Beach (9)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
4acadia
1 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gordon H | Property representative |
Hi, Our child policy allows children over 12 years only, so your 13 year old is fine. All of our cottages have one bedroom, but with the addition of a sofa-bed in the lounge, can accommodate up to 3 people. Thanks for... More
0
Votes
Rezruf
31 January 2015|
Answer
Response from Emily L | Property representative |
Hi Rezruf, thanks for your question. You can fly into Nelson airport, then drive from there (1 hour 45 min drive), or you can drive directly from Christchurch. The most direct route is north to Amberly and through the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Worth paying more for the beachfront cottages I think. A real treat"
Read review
"Beachfront Cottages get the best sea views"
Read review
"Studio is attached to owners house cottages are separate, some on the beach"
Read review
"The studio was the best!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing