We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Adrift in Golden Bay

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Adrift in Golden Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Start your review of Adrift in Golden Bay
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had an awesome stay here, the cottages are excellent and well equipped & comfortable. The Spa bath was totally relaxing. Excellent BBQ. The breakfast basket was yummy, and we had a great time cooking & eating together with the other couples we were staying with Hosts were very welcoming View & setting is beautiful Many thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Elko, Nevada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for several days during our honeymoon and we loved this place! We were greeted by one of the owners when we arrived and she showed us around the grounds and our cottage. When I booked the place, I got to pick out what I wanted for breakfast and upon check-in, she had already brought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rue C
About Hotel's Favourite Review
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review, it is always encouraging to us and our staff. We're so pleased we could be part of your honeymoon - glad you enjoyed your time with us! All the best for your new life together.

Montevideo Department, Uruguay
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful night at adrift with my partner. It's serene and relaxing. The grounds are well looked after. And the beach is just a few steps away. (We stayed in the honeymoon suite) I have to agree with a couple of recent reviews that it was overpriced for what we were expecting. ($495/night). Compared to similarly priced places in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travidy
Gordon H, Adrift Family at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments and we're glad you found your night here at Adrift to be serene and relaxing, which is what we are striving for. We're genuinely sorry that what we provide is not what you were expecting as far as luxury. You are the second guest recently that seems to have been surprised that the breakfast that...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three of us stayed here in March 2017for two nights.This is a well- located property on the Golden Bay beach, with beautiful landscaping of the grounds. It is presented and priced as a luxury resort, with beach views.Unfortunately our cottage did not have one.To be fair, once you get to the beach close by, the views are amazing, especially the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shyam B
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Shyam for your feedback and for your positive comments on the things that you appreciated about our property and accommodation. We’re very sorry we did not meet your expectations; I'm guessing that you were expecting a more formal resort, which we are not. I see that you booked via a 3rd party website and unfortunately, like most 3rd...

Reviewed 22 March 2017

I recently spent a night at Adrift with me partner to have a special night away. I was expecting something really amazing and was left quite underwhelmed. The place is really beautiful with well looked after grounds and the cottages are high quality although slightly dated. The beach is nice but there are far nicer beaches around New Zealand. Adrift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback – I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had anticipated. We advertise the cottages as self-catering with breakfast provisions supplied, so I am not too sure where the expectation came from that the English Breakfast Hamper would be cooked for you. The feedback that we usually receive from our guests is...

Wiltshire UK
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed in the studio which is attached to the owners house. Beautiful view over the garden to the beach less than a minute away. It is private but you share the garden with the owners & you can hear the owners next door so not totally exclusive. Choose a cottage if that is what you need. Continental breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rome_at_Easter
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on the things you appreciated most about Adrift and Golden Bay, I am sure they will be helpful for other travellers. Hope you can visit again, maybe the fashions in Takaka will have evolved!

Germany
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The Adrift is the place to got to in golden Bay. The location is fantastic, private location and a perfect room. The owners gave us a very warm welcome, felt home instantaneously, everything was just perfect. Not the "standard hotel atmospehre" but rather a very personal touch which made it so charming. Lovely breakfast opportunity in the room. Of course,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay and so pleased you appreciated our relaxed atmosphere.

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

My wife recently stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the inn as well as the area. Our unit was very nice - clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast is dropped off a day in advance. We cooked the British fry up one day and opted for the continental breakfast the other two days. Both were very good. We weren't able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, the wind was unusual. Our prevailing wind is from the west so the west coast of both islands (and Wellington) normally experience lots of wind. Adrift faces east onto Golden Bay and we have a few mountains plus we have planted shelter belt trees...

Missoula
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Serendipity led me here and I am so glad it did. Beautiful setting, gardens and grounds and of course out front marvelous golden beach and dazzling blue water. I stayed in the studio unit it was perfect. Super comfortable bed, great shower, quiet and my own private deck with table and chairs. In the yard in front two sun loungers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CrackleNz
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thanks CrackleNz for taking the time to write about your stay and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Such a special time of year with the dramatic sunrises over Abel Tasman.

Yealand
Reviewed 17 February 2017

My wife and I stayed in a Beach side cottage which was superb with complete privacy. Right on golden beach we had the use of kayaks and sup or just to relax in the garden and soak in the scenery. The cottages are well equipped and very comfortable this together with great support from the owners leads to a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeorgeTyson
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your review George. Great you enjoyed the privacy and comfort of the cottage. Always such a pleasure to meet and help guests to enjoy their time with us.

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
18.9 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
259 reviews
31.9 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
348 reviews
17.3 km away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
145 reviews
18.8 km away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
6.6 km away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Price Range: $255 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adrift in Golden Bay staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Adrift in Golden Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Studio is attached to owners house cottages are separate, some on the beach”
  • Sunset glow
Rome_at_Easter, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The studio was the best!!”
lagatita1, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for a beach access room”
ianm965, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms provide privacy and I don't believe noise could ever be a problem. Intimate”
, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay a little extra and go for the beach front”
Toddkelly33, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
US$386*
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates