We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Adrift in Golden Bay

    52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
    011 64 6-880 0633
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/201730/10/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$414
    View Deal
    Traveller (102)
    Room & Suite (45)
    Pool & Beach (9)
    Overview
    • Excellent95%
    • Very good4%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “the cottages” (29 reviews)
    “mussel inn” (23 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Beachfront
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Wheelchair Access
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Pool
    Restaurant
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Adrift in Golden Bay
    Special Rate: 20% to 40% off til 23 Dec
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$414
      View Deal
    View all 1 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (175)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 170 reviews

    Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

    Had an awesome stay here, the cottages are excellent and well equipped & comfortable. The Spa bath was totally relaxing. Excellent BBQ. The breakfast basket was yummy, and we had a great time cooking & eating together with the other couples we were staying with...More

    1  Thank John G
    Hotel's Favourite
    Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

    My husband and I stayed here for several days during our honeymoon and we loved this place! We were greeted by one of the owners when we arrived and she showed us around the grounds and our cottage. When I booked the place, I got...More

    3  Thank Rue C
    Response from gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 8 November 2016

    Thank you so much for your detailed review, it is always encouraging to us and our staff. We're so pleased we could be part of your honeymoon - glad you enjoyed your time with us! All the best for your new life together.

    Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

    Had a wonderful night at adrift with my partner. It's serene and relaxing. The grounds are well looked after. And the beach is just a few steps away. (We stayed in the honeymoon suite) I have to agree with a couple of recent reviews that...More

    1  Thank travidy
    Response from Gordon H, Adrift Family at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 10 April 2017

    Thanks for your positive comments and we're glad you found your night here at Adrift to be serene and relaxing, which is what we are striving for. We're genuinely sorry that what we provide is not what you were expecting as far as luxury. You...More

    Reviewed 30 March 2017

    Three of us stayed here in March 2017for two nights.This is a well- located property on the Golden Bay beach, with beautiful landscaping of the grounds. It is presented and priced as a luxury resort, with beach views.Unfortunately our cottage did not have one.To be...More

    1  Thank Shyam B
    Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 10 April 2017

    Thank you Shyam for your feedback and for your positive comments on the things that you appreciated about our property and accommodation. We’re very sorry we did not meet your expectations; I'm guessing that you were expecting a more formal resort, which we are not....More

    Reviewed 22 March 2017

    I recently spent a night at Adrift with me partner to have a special night away. I was expecting something really amazing and was left quite underwhelmed. The place is really beautiful with well looked after grounds and the cottages are high quality although slightly...More

    Thank Allison J
    Response from Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden BayResponded 28 March 2017

    Thanks for the feedback – I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had anticipated. We advertise the cottages as self-catering with breakfast provisions supplied, so I am not too sure where the expectation came from that the English Breakfast Hamper...More

    Kimi Ora Eco Resort
    401 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Kaiteriteri
     
    Ratanui Lodge
    263 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Pohara
     
    Awaroa Lodge
    351 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
     
    Twin Waters Lodge
    27 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Collingwood
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Microwave
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$192 - US$426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Nelson-Tasman Region >
    • Golden Bay >
    • Takaka
    • Also Known As
    • Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka ,
    • Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (102)
    Room & Suite (45)
    Pool & Beach (9)
    Dining (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (62)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Awaroa Lodge
    351 reviews
    31.95 km away
     
    Twin Waters Lodge
    27 reviews
    12.85 km away
     
    Kimi Ora Eco Resort
    401 reviews
    42.43 km away
     
    Ratanui Lodge
    263 reviews
    18.85 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Mussel Inn
    418 reviews
    2.50 km away
    The Courthouse Cafe
    188 reviews
    6.77 km away
    Dangerous Kitchen
    338 reviews
    16.21 km away
    Plan B Cafe & Bar
    140 reviews
    18.76 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Farewell Spit Eco Tours
    199 reviews
    6.83 km away
    Golden Bay Air
    186 reviews
    10.98 km away
    Aroha Health Spa and Sanctuary
    13 reviews
    18.70 km away
    Rosy Glow Chocolate
    37 reviews
    6.50 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    4acadia
    1 April 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Gordon H | Property representative |
    Hi, Our child policy allows children over 12 years only, so your 13 year old is fine. All of our cottages have one bedroom, but with the addition of a sofa-bed in the lounge, can accommodate up to 3 people. Thanks for... More
    0
    Votes
    Rezruf
    31 January 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Emily L | Property representative |
    Hi Rezruf, thanks for your question. You can fly into Nelson airport, then drive from there (1 hour 45 min drive), or you can drive directly from Christchurch. The most direct route is north to Amberly and through the... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Studio is attached to owners house cottages are separate, some on the beach"
    Read review
    "The studio was the best!!"
    Read review
    "Go for a beach access room"
    Read review
    "All rooms provide privacy and I don't believe noise could ever be a problem. Intimate"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing