Big Game Camp
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Big Game Camp

Bodagama Hambegamuwa Kaltota Road, Udawalawe National Park 20000 Sri Lanka
Traveller (232)
Room & Suite (46)
Bonfire -1
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 7 campsites in Udawalawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Situated at the eastern boarder of Udawalawe National park this camp allows guests to truly experience safari adventure in style and comfort. Udawalawe National Park is the only national park in the country where elephant sightseeing is guaranteed on every single drive. There are 600 to 700 Sri Lankan elephants here, along with many other spectacular animals such as the Sambar deer, jackal, and toque macaque. Big Game Camp – Udawalawe is serviced by experienced and professional staff who cater to all the guests’ needs. The camp has comfortable fully furnished tents with attached partitioned toilets and equipped with raised beds, bed linen, towels, a flashlight, a shoe rack, foldable chairs, a coffee table, and an umbrella to ensure the guests’ comfort.Big Game Camp can provide more than just accommodation and guest can book safaris for an additional price.Big Game Camp all inclusive package will provide a Half day Safari that will include all entrance and permit fees, jeep ,picnic basket, chilled beverages to provide the best safari experience. All 3 meals, Tea coffee & beer, snacks are also included for the all inclusive package. Pick up and transfers from and to any destination, including airport could be arranged at an extra charge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Breakfast available
Hiking
Walking tours
Taxi service
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
24-hour check-in
Parking
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala

Location

Bodagama Hambegamuwa Kaltota Road, Udawalawe National Park 20000 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Mattala Rajapaksa International Airport
23.8 km
See all flights
Weerawila Airport
34.7 km
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
319Reviews6Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 79
  • 25
  • 19
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LondonNefertiti wrote a review Sept 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very swish for a tent, hot water and filtered water in glass bottles and a very comfy bed. Wi Fi is available in the large community area where you can sit on bean bags and relax with a beer. All the meals are served under the stars which is very romantic. Your table is set up for you it is all very private. Our only gripe is that it is a long way from the Uda Walawa National Park so you spend an extra 30 mins each way in the car each time you visit the park.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha Bandara, Owner at Big Game Camp
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your most kind review. It is our pleasure to know that you had a great experience at both the campsite and the safaris. Thank you very much for sharing your genuine thoughts about your experience with the viewers. We aim to provide a truly unique experience, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write. Hope you have a good evening!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy T wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. Old army tents are fine. Staff are excellent. Food is very good and we loved eating round the fire pit. Glass bottles of filtered water rather than plastic. WiFi in the communal area. This resort deserves to thrive
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Dear Q1750EXandyt, Thank you for taking the time to share those lovely comments with us. It's always fascinating to see a guest consciously enjoying our product and your appreciation towards our staff will definitely reach them. Thank you again and hope to see you in your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoff C wrote a review Feb 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Big Game Camp is not glamping - the tents are very nice but they're still tents with a small en suite tacked on the back. Our experience was slightly compromised to begin with by arriving after dark. There is no real signage on the road to alert you to the tiny track that leads you through to where the camp is. And of course by that stage, the path to our tent was undertaken in darkness. The eco-philosophy of the place is aimed at reducing all manner of pollution, even light pollution.

But dinner was one of the most surreal experiences of our entire holiday in Sri Lanka. A beautifully served meal on a table in a forest clearing with a vast carpet of stars above. Staff would appear out of the dark and serve wine, lovely pumpkin soup and much more. Really quite a special occasion. Somehow the drawbacks of the tent slipped away and we slept well and contentedly. Don't be too precious about the facilities and you'll have a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha Bandara, Owner at Big Game Camp
Responded 6 Feb 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We were pleased to read you liked the ambience & the meals along with the concept of eco-friendliness. But are sorry to hear that the facilities fell short of your expectations. Please be rest assured that we have addressed this with the team to ensure we improve on it. Please do visit us next time to experience the difference. With kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darci wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This stay was apart of our NAT GEO trip via g adventures. I was disappointed in the accommodations that the tour suggested “upgraded”. While the staff and food were great, they really need to make repairs to the tents, clean the bathrooms and do better to ensure running water. Too many holes in the tent and sheets, and stray dogs (although they were harmless, it’s still unnerving having to to step over them to get out of your tent). 1 night would be plenty here. At least they have a fan and power and decent internet (when it worked).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear 480darcif, Thank you for sharing your views on your stay with us. First of all, we are extremely sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations However, we believe that the facilities provided in the tent need to be perceived as having the understanding that it's a mobile tent opposed to a permanent structure of a Tented Lodge or Hotel. We have already taken up your feedback with the Camp Management and wanted them to be more attentive on this aspect. Apologies for the inconvenience caused by a village dog appearing at the entrance to the tent. This is not a common situation but sometimes they like to come and visit us and the guests to say "Hello". We are currently taking actions to minimize the issue without hurting the villages or animals.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne G wrote a review Mar 2020
Timaru, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night and enjoyed the food at dinner and breakfast. My only gripe was they do not encourage everyone to mix ,you eat with your group, a bit of exclusivity I suppose. You can buy beer and wine plus take your own spirits. The accommodation is very good with an ensuite plus a fan and the beds are comfy
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: no real advantage that I could see
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp
Responded 25 Apr 2020
Dear WayneG1611, Thank you so much for your nice words. We are very happy that you enjoyed our food and accommodation. The dinner setting is actually made to provide a bit of exclusivity indeed, however, you can always welcome to mingle with the other guests at the common areas. Thank you again for your review and do visit us again in your future travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Singapore00 wrote a review Apr 2022
Germany
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night at the camp. The tents are clean though very basic and small. Lighting is quite limited inside the tent and on the premises - so bring a torchlight or headlamp. Water in the shower was running very sparsely - can be difficult if you need to wash your hair after a dusty day in the National Parks. Dinner was disappointing - in particular since Sri Lanka has so many delicious currys. Staff was friendly and attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha Bandara, Owner at Big Game Camp
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience online. We were pleased to read the cleanliness was to your satisfaction. We were sorry to read certain details but you will be happy to know the tent with an en-suite bathroom is 17sqm and the lighting is dim due to the reason not to attract any critters but I hope the torch we provide per tent will be helpful to move. Sometimes the water flow may be reduced at the beginning but we advise keeping it open till the normal flow resumes. Please rest assured we have addressed this with the team to ensure we improve on this. We hope you have a great week ahead. With kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francesca J wrote a review Feb 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an incredible experience at Big Game Camp. The campsite is a beautiful relaxing place to stay with a stunning backdrop overlooking the national park. The staff are all very friendly and provided excellent service.

Prince Solomons the resident naturalist was a highlight of our stay, he is extremely knowledgeable about the local wildlife. We had a wonderful safari guided by him, he worked with the driver to show and teach us about as much wildlife as possible; we were able to spend time with the animals and away from the other park visitors which was very special. In the morning we also enjoyed an interesting walk around the campsite bird spotting with Mr Solomons before breakfast.

Overall we would highly recommend this experience to anyone visiting Sri Lanka, whilst it may appear more expensive than some of the other tours available it is excellent value for money and well worth every dollar.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha Bandara, Owner at Big Game Camp
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words, Francesca, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us — and we agree that Soloman is truly a jewel to have on our team! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! The Udawalawe Team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xavier S wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a Belgian family (father and 2 adult children) travelling through Sri Lanka in summer 2023. We stayed at Big Game Udawalawe camp site to organize a safari to Udawalawe National Park. At the tent camp we were given an upgrade to a bigger tent which was much appreciated. The camp site is next to the park but separated by an electric fence and is located next to a rock from where sunset can be observed (including many Malabar pied hornbills). The staff, food and tents are excellent. We had several walks around the camp site together with Mr Solomon, the site senior naturalist who is very experienced in Sri Lankan birds. Mr. Solomon also guided our morning safari to Udawalawe Park which was excellent, and which convinced us to do a safari to Yala park as well. Except of the (fantastic) observation of a leopard, this Yala park did not add too much to Udawalawe. We were very happy with all services offered by Big Game Udawalawe camp.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha Bandara, Owner at Big Game Camp
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear 413xaviers, Thank you for your excellent review! We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience at Big Game Udawalawe camp and that it is recommended for nature lovers like yourselves. We always strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. It's great to hear that you appreciated the upgrade and that the camp's proximity to Udawalawe National Park allowed you to observe the beautiful sunset with the Malabar pied hornbills adding to the charm of the location, that the camp's staff including Solomon, food, and tents met your expectations and contributed to a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We take pride in offering excellent services to our guests, and your kind words are a testament to our efforts. We are also glad to hear that your experience in Udawalawe Park convinced you to embark on a safari to Yala Park as well. Although the leopard observation was fantastic, we understand that Yala Park may not have offered a significant contrast to Udawalawe. Nonetheless, we hope you enjoyed the unique features that Yala had to offer. Once again, we would like to express our gratitude for choosing Big Game Udawalawe camp. If you ever plan to revisit Sri Lanka, we would happily welcome you back to our camp. Safe travels and best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Voyage26544263580 wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This camp is a stones throw from the Udawalawe national park border and really makes you feel like you are in the wild when you are there.

The team working there were really helpful. Solomon the senior naturalist and camp manager made our trip extra special by looking after us the 2 days that we were in the camp. He was a fantastic tour guide on both of our safaris due to his endless knowledge of the animals and birds within the park.

Our tent included a separate living room in front of the bedroom and the whole tent was very clean.

Overall the camp made my Fiancées birthday very special and my experience was also very special.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha Bandara, Owner at Big Game Camp
Responded 25 Dec 2022
Dear Voyage26544263580, It is our pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay with at Big Game Camp Udawalawe. I can’t tell you how much it means for us to hear this, especially since this is your first visit with us. We take pride in knowing our customers are happy with their experience. Our Udawalawe team including Solomon were delighted to read your feedback. Thanks for your support, we really appreciate it! Looking forward to seeing you again soon for yet another unforgettable experience. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leahjwright wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing this review before we even go on safari as we are just so happy with our experience so far! We were greeted late morning by Solomon and his team with huge smiles and lots of friendly chat to get to know them all. The weather was pretty rubbish so we changed our planned afternoon safari to tomorrow morning to get the best experience. We relaxed for a while in the amazing, well-equipped, clean and huge tent before having an incredible lunch, which provided for both my own vegan requirements and my partner’s meat eating habits! It was delicious! We had asked about a pack of cards to play while it was raining and they went and got a new pack for us specially! Above and beyond doesn’t cover it! We then went for a lovely walk and played some games before a beautiful, delicious, candlelit, outdoor three course meal with an open fire. I honestly cannot recommend this place highly enough, it is sad that we are the only people here due to the recent troubles Sri Lanka has experienced as we have had an unforgettably incredible experience of the island and we are only 5 days in! Cannot wait for our safari tomorrow. Thank you Solomon and your amazing team for being such fantastic hosts - we will never forget everything you have done for us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anuruddha Bandara, Owner at Big Game Camp
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for the awesome review, Leahjwright. We are very glad you took the time to share your experience with us. We do agree, Soloman our camp manager & the team are quite happy to read your feedback. We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re very happy to hear we hit the mark for you. We do hope you will revisit us on your next trip to Sri Lanka. We hope you have a great vacation. Cheers!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stevefullerhk asked a question Apr 2018
Hong Kong, China14 contributions8 helpful votes
Hello can we book safari for tonight ? Thanks Steve
Answer from Mewan B
Colombo, Sri Lanka16 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello, We are extremely sorry that we have missed out on your query. Please do communicate to us on our website if you require any other details.
Answer from Mewan B
Colombo, Sri Lanka16 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there, Sorry for the delayed response, but we do provide transfers for an additional cost. You can contact your sales person for the rate.
Answer from Mewan B
Colombo, Sri Lanka16 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there, Sorry for the delayed response, however if you want to book us overnight you can reach us on our hotline ((+94) 70 222 8 222) or email (info@mahoora.lk)
Answer from Mewan B
Colombo, Sri Lanka16 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there, Sorry for the delayed response, however all you have to do is send us an inquiry through the website and we will get back to you.
Answer from Nattz2014
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear adnan, thank you for your inquiry, kindly note that we do not provide driver accommodation at our campsite. But there are plenty of locations near by the campsite to get accommodation for your driver. Thanks Natasha.
Jan P wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Windbreaker for morning transfer to park entrance (its chilly on top of the car)"
Read full review
Renato wrote a tip Oct 2023
Lisbon, Portugal1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is quite hard to find so try and call in advance to arrange how to spot the place!"
Read full review
Kavindya P wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location was not easy to find Other excursions outside to be advised to travellers to they could spend more time at the property. "
Read full review
Zofia W wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose this place if you want to try something completely new."
Read full review
Vijay K wrote a tip Jun 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The sign board to the property is not present. So, make sure you arrive during the day and be in touch with the property manager."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Udawalawe National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
$26 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaUdawalawe National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG GAME CAMP - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Udawalawe National Park, Sri Lanka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Big Game Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Big Game Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, breakfast, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Big Game Camp?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Big Game Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Big Game Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.
All Udawalawe National Park HotelsUdawalawe National Park Hotel DealsHotels near Big Game Camp
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire