The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort

No. 912 Thanamalwila Road (1 km from Thibolketiya (Barrier) Junction), Udawalawe National Park 70190 Sri Lanka
Traveller (828)
Bed with Elephants
Room & Suite (163)
swiming pool
Pool & Beach (90)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 6 hotels in Udawalawe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is the only 04 Star Hotel in the region and the Hotel has 79 Luxury Rooms. It has been spread over 09 Acres of Land, is located 168 kilometers away from Colombo City and Just 05 minutes away from The one and only Elephant Transit home in Sri Lanka and Just 10 minutes away from the Udawalawe National Park. Total of 79 Rooms include 24 Deluxe Rooms, 29 Super Deluxe Rooms, 04 Luxury Suites, 18 Luxury Grand Suites and 04 Luxury Super Grand Suits. This Eco friendly adventure Resort is the biggest property in Udawalawe Region. It offers a wider range of facilities and has a contemporary design and modern comforts, the best for relaxation in its nature and is ideally placed for visiting the nearby Udawalaewe National Park and The Elephant Transit Home. The hotel is equipped with a Banquet Hall of seating capacity of 400 pax and a Restaurant of seating capacity of 300 pax, fully equipped Conference Hall and a state-of-the-art Business Center, a complete Gymnasium, and an Underground Film Theater. One of the most significant feature of the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is its’ picturesque swimming pool, a natural waterway bordering three sides of the property, it preserves the natural ambiance and the awe-inspiring quality of the jungle atmosphere with the shade of the stately Kumbuk Trees, which were preserved in order to allow the guests of the hotel the coolness and to maintain the healthy quality of the air and water. It is very conveniently located with easy access to places such as the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Mattala Mahinda Rajapaksa International Airport, and The Ruhunu Magampura Mahinda Rajapaksa Port. Apart from the above, there are unique tourist attractions can be visited if you stay at Grand Udawalwe Safari Resort. Some of them are Ridiyagama Safari Park, Madunagala Hot Springs, Maduwanwala Walawwa, Panamure Eth Gaala, Katuwana Dutch Fort, Sankapala Temple, Waulpane Limestone Cave etc. Those pleases are just 30 to 40 minutes drive from the Hotel and easy access. Even you can cover ,Yala National Park, Lunugamvehera National Park, world famous Kataragama Dewalaya, Kiriwehwra Temple, Thissamaharama Temple and its ruins, Sithulpawwa Rock Temple, Kirinda Temple etc. and to these places you can reach from the Hotel within two to Three hours drive.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children's playground
Kids pool
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern

Location

No. 912 Thanamalwila Road (1 km from Thibolketiya (Barrier) Junction), Udawalawe National Park 70190 Sri Lanka
1,350Review10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 432
  • 494
  • 292
  • 83
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
emma wrote a review Feb 2020
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom213 contributions87 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good hotel, with big rooms with high ceiling, air con and all the bits you would expect.
Shower was in the bath and all toiletries were refills saving on plastic which we prefer.
Good size restaurant with big flavours (more typical Sri Lankan rather than more muted tourist flavours which we found at other hotels) and both dinner and breakfast were good.
Good service from staff.
We only stayed one night (would happily stay longer) as it was a great location for safari - we did morning safari (for sunrise) and back in time for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE SAFARI RESORT, Other at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul D wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom94 contributions103 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This very green resort hotel with lots of mature tropical planting everywhere has just the right atmosphere for your elephant based activities in the area.

Room is spacious with lots of wood but the a/c and bathroom are both rather old and a bit tired and in the case of 5ha a/c quite noisy. Our advice would be to cool the room ahead ahead of going to sleep then just rely on the fan which is quiet and powerful.

The buffet food, served in a non a/c dining room, had sufficient variety both western and local to eat well even if you have had enough curry during your trip.

We particularly liked the air conditioned bar where some reasonably priced wine was available and served well chilled in an ice bucket.

The large pool with luxuriant trees and bushes around it, right in the heart of the hotel was a real joy to use, a must after a hot safari.

Service throughout our two night stay was friendly and attentive.

Despite being a bit long in the tooth we would still recommend this hotel as long as you are comfortable with the short comings mentioned.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Thank You!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tdewolf wrote a review Jan 2020
Chiang Mai, Thailand50 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three days at the GUSR and it was heavenly. From the first moments after arrival - greeted with a cool towel and fresh juice by attentive staff - we loved it. The room was large and super clean. The pool was warm and inviting (a large pool too!). We used the gym and made good use of the machines. The restaurant serves a great morning and evening buffet (see separate review). Room rate was quite reasonable for what you get. The hotel also arranged the safari in the nearby park and the cost was simply added to the room (makes for one visa payment). All in all, a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Thank You!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MazMaz777 wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada15 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms, while probably at one time very nice, were run down and dirty. Couch was covered in stains and the room and bathroom could use a major scrub. Seems as if this hotel is a stop for 2 star bus tourist travel at best. The buffet dinner was poor and I am fairly certain that the food was left over from lunch as the items were identical despite being told tit would be different when we had an a la carte lunch which was average at best. I would recommend a stay if you are looking for a 4 or 5 star venue. Service was poor at the restaurant as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fuseman wrote a review Jan 2020
Yorkshire, United Kingdom74 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Adequate but uninspiring hotel, handy for safaris. Very poor wifi and even then only in public areas. Restaurant also uninspiring and not cheap.

Their safaris cost Rs7200 but you can easily arrange one yourself for around Rs3500 by taking to the numerous guys along the nearby road.

Also worst currency exchange rates I saw in Sri Lanka.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Consider eating elsewhere if it’s feasible
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gooner11 wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom12 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned back from our stay in Sri Lanka. The fourth part of our trip was to Udawalawe where we spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel were very professional from the start with our requests prior to arrival.

We arrived in the morning and were greeted with fresh juice and pleasant staff. We were happy with our rooms and everything seemed to be nicely cleaned. We had no major gripes with anything with regards to the rooms or cleanliness. The beds were also really comfy. The only downside was that there is no wifi in the rooms which was a bit frustrating as you had to keep going to reception to get any signal.

The hotel is in good proximity to many tourist destinations such as the Safari Park and Transit Home. We were also really pleased that the hotel offered driver accommodation, which was so useful and important to us.

The layout of the hotel is nice - be aware there is no lift but the porters help with taking the luggage up. We did not use the swimming pool or seating area but it looked nice from afar.

The walk to the restaurant area was pleasant as you go over the bridge. There are monkeys playing in the trees on the grounds but they seem behaved enough not to enter the open restaurant. The breakfast itself was not bad, with reasonable choice for vegetarians and a deli section, which we had not seen in other hotels. We also had some dinner there however it was a poor choice for vegetarians.

The staff were very much quiet and in the background, unlike other hotels, where they are much more talkative. Nevertheless they are all polite.

We did have one issue which was that each of our rooms (three in total) all had visits from a cockroach at night. The reception staff were helpful in removing our one from our room!

Overall we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay close to the tourist attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE SAFARI RESORT, Other at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable stay at Grand Udawalawe and for sharing your feedback on this platform. We are so much pleased to read your compliments on hotel services and facilities. We will be hoping to see you again and your recommendations to your close ones. Best Regards, Grand Udawalawe Management Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucky wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Not like the other hotels, they did a very smooth and fast group check in. It took less than two minutes I guess. They were very well organized. I guess it is one of the best hotel you find in that area.

However since they have a open restaurant, during the meal time you will have disturbance from flyers. They have standing fans available and if you tell the restaurant staff they will bring a fan next to you.

They have gymnasium, however you won't find water bottles or water dispenser inside. For the water have to call reception and you will be charged 245 rupees for 500 ml water bottle.

Overall it's not a bad place, compare to the other hotels in the area. You find very friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE SAFARI RESORT, Other at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 14 Mar 2020
Thank You!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
r0bert870 wrote a review Mar 2020
Wigan, United Kingdom734 contributions354 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel with extensive grounds, rooms in main building or around grounds. Spacious walk in shower, hairdryer, tv, wifi only in public areas, occasionally worked in our ground floor room! Lunch a la carte with huge portions but good food. Dinner and breakfast buffet style with plenty of choice both Sri Lankan & international. Problem with flies in restaurant. Shop was only open between 0800 & 1600, not helpful when you are out all day, though reception did offer to open it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE SAFARI RESORT, Other at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N and R Cambridge UK wrote a review Mar 2023
5 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On first impression, the foyer is a bit stark and the hotel a bit gloomy, but on talking to the staff, this was the architects intention. Aside from that the hotel was lovely.

The rooms were clean and large with tea and coffee making facilities and the lovely little towel elephants on the bed made us smile. The bathrooms had boutique little containers containing the toiletries which was a nice touch. The bathroom could have done with a little bit of an update (room 226).

The dining room was perfect with monkeys running around outside in the forest. The buffet dinner was very very good ( others have said at $20 a head it was a little pricey however we thought this was good value for money). The set menu was cheaper and was equally as good but did not have the variety of dishes the buffet offered. (Desserts were disappointing though.)

The staff, as ever, had the warm friendly Sri Lankan attitude that makes the country so enjoyable to visit. We would definitely stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE SAFARI RESORT, Other at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 5 Mar 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable stay at Grand Udawalawe and for sharing your feedback on this platform. We are so much pleased to read your compliments on hotel services and facilities. We will be hoping to see you again and your recommendations to your close ones. Best Regards, Grand Udawalawe Management Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josh wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very good, always polite and helpful. This hotel served our purpose for one night and if you are going on Safari it is fine, however I don't think you would want to stay much longer, especially if you had nothing else planned. Unfortunately the place was slightly run down, pool area not great and no wifi. Food was expensive for the quality and it is a shame they attempted so many western dishes when in my opnion they would be better off serving home cooked Sri Lankan style food.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GRAND UDAWALAWE S, IT Officer at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Thank You!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Udawalawe National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaUdawalawe National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRAND UDAWALAWE SAFARI RESORT - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Udawalawe National Park, Sri Lanka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Transit Home (ETH) (1.4 km), Udawalawa Elephant Orphanage (1.4 km), and Udawalawe Dam (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hungry Monkey, Machan Udawalawa, and Restaurant Athgira.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Maika Safari Lodge (0.9 km).
Does The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Udawalawe National Park HotelsUdawalawe National Park Hotel DealsHotels near The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire