We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waipu Cove Resort

891 Cove Road, Waipu 0582 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.



Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Waipu does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Waipu Cove Resort, a nice option for travellers like you.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Waipu Cove Resort offer a kitchenette and a refrigerator.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including beach chairs, sun umbrellas, and outdoor furniture. Guests of Waipu Cove Resort are also welcome to enjoy a pool and barbeque facilities, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

While staying in Waipu, you can get some delicious fish and chips at The Cove - café, restaurant & bar, which is a short distance from Waipu Cove Resort.

Waipu is also home to Piroa Falls Track, a popular waterfall that is not too far from Waipu Cove Resort.

Waipu Cove Resort puts the best of Waipu at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Horseback riding
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
83Reviews0Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 33
  • 12
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
nzrbl wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand13 contributions4 helpful votes
This was the third time we have stayed here. The location is fantastic being so near the beach, a dairy and an excellent restaurant. We had a unit with a good sized patio and a BBQ nearby. All very comfortable and really felt like getting way from the city.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
TuckMe wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland, New Zealand20 contributions6 helpful votes
What a great little complex! Our 3bed appartment had everything that we needed and was very clean, not easy when you consider the amount of sand that must get carted through it! The rooms were a good size, the beds were comfy and the little deck was a nice place to sit and have a drink at the end of a hot beach day! The pool is an added bonus and a nice temperature and was used daily...…. The resort has a great feel and is nice and secure - Dianna keeps her finger on the button and things under control! So Waipu Cove Resort, many thanks for having us ....we loved it and will hopefully be back !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
markilee wrote a review Nov 2020
Auckland, New Zealand913 contributions117 helpful votes
Excellent location, very close to the beach, the local dairy and the local very good restaurant. The apartment was immaculate, well furnished, good lounge and kitchen area, very comfortable bed and bedroom and good bathroom with large shower with a seat there. Very nice private outside deck area. Free on site parking. Helpful information about the walks in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Wens H wrote a review Oct 2020
19 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked accommodation for a three day break with my adult son and daughter and my grandchildren. On the plus side it is close to the beach and a great little restaurant, and the pool was clean and heated. However, when we arrived there was a muck up with the rooms I had booked (for $1550) and so the room configuration was not ideal and not what I paid for. I was given a $50 refund but that did not compensate at all. We also had to move rooms on third night which was annoying. The units were clean, but tired and dated, and quite expensive for what they are. The manager is intrusive and overbearing and not at all welcoming. On one occasion she entered our unit unannounced and made inappropriate comments which was weird and embarrassing. Had we not made light of her behaviour it would have spoilt our break. I dont think I’ll be back anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Dianna van Enckevort, General Manager at Waipu Cove Resort
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review and sorry you felt the way you did. Just to let you know as I tried at the time there was no muck up with the rooms, it would have suited us better without having to shuffle reservations around. Also with an extra clean. When your Son arrived he asked if there was a larger unit for you all which he was shown and he made the decision also stating it would work better and changing units for the last night was not an issue. It also worked in your favour with pricing which was refunded. We entered the room for servicing and knocked numerous times but the door was open so wandered in calling out on entry. It was not nice to overhear criticism re mentioning there was no bombing, jumping and diving into the pool as stated on the rules and regulations and just advised the reasons why the rules are in place. It appeared all had a great time and was our pleasure having you all. Kind Regards.
Read more
Vaneeea wrote a review Sep 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
Over the weekend we stayed here as a family.The room was nice but over priced for what it was. the manager was very rude and grumpy and made our stay uncomfortable. I've never met someone so UNwelcoming at a motel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Dianna van Enckevort, General Manager at Waipu Cove Resort
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Hi Vaneeea, Thank you for your review and apologies if you found me rude and grumpy. May be the pressure was on... From what I can gather it was a one night stay so maybe you never got to see the happy and helpful side. Kind regards.
Read more
US$100 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionWaipu
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waipu Cove Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Waipu Cove Resort?
Nearby attractions include Waipu Museum (7.3 km) and Te Whai Bay Wines (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waipu Cove Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Waipu Cove Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Waipu Cove Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Waipu Cove Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waipu Cove Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include McLeod's Pizza Barn, The Cove - café, restaurant & bar, and Waipu Cafe and Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waipu Cove Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Waipu Cove Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.