Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Little Paradise Lodge

2600 Glenorchy Rd Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9371 New Zealand
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining room
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 guest house in Mount Creighton
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Almost every day we hear from our visitors that this place really deserves its name "little paradise". The house and its surrounding were created by its Swiss owner with great passion for the beauty of nature and life. He used natural materials from the nearby environment to express his inspiration and ideas. If you want to escape the square world, absorb new dimensions in the fairytale garden of little paradise.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Canoeing
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Washing machine
Skiing
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Room features
Electric blanket
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, German

Location

2600 Glenorchy Rd Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9371 New Zealand
97Reviews2Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ikinp wrote a review Feb 2020
Bethesda, Maryland16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When planning our week of driving around the South Island, I read about the road from Queenstown to Glenorchy being one of the most beautiful in New Zealand. (It is a gem!) So when we found this lodge and they had an opening, we were thrilled. As it turned out, we had to change plans because the road to Milford Sound was washed out, and we were able to stay there 2 nights in the little guest house. Bed comfortable, amazing handmade headboard. Coffee provided, and you can use kitchen in house with your own provisions. We weren't fans of Queenstown, but Glenorchy is a fun little town (we drove there several times for dinner and for a nice hike partway up Mt. Judah.) Thomas' work in the house and gardens is so stunning and creative-such an unbelievable amount of work over many years! Flowers, ponds, peacocks, sculptures, stone and wood furniture! Truly a WildDream Garden.

The only downside: sandflies. We were bitten on hands and arms when we stayed outside talking to the owner at dusk. He offered repellent, but we did not realize that the bites can itch for 2 weeks. Other than that, a totally lovely experience. Thank you Thomas and Christine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lara A wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only found Little Paradise Lodge as it had been highlighted by a family member. It is so worth visiting if you’re down in Queenstown. The way the garden and the sculptures are exhibited is truly unique and with a view over the lake too it’s just the most stunning afternoon activity. The sculptures are stunning and quirky and the garden is so beautifully maintained. It feels like you’re walking into a secret fairytale garden. We were lucky enough to meet Christine who also showed us around the rooms that you can book to stay in and that is definitely something that I’d recommend doing as they’re honestly extraordinary and I’ve never seen anything like them. Would highly recommend visiting paradise lodge and if there’s availability then it’s well worth booking a room!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre wrote a review Dec 2018
Singapore3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In a country with so many wild beauties, it is hard to believe that one can still be impressed with a man-made garden house. But boy, were we impressed! Remarkable gem! I can't believe we almost passed by this place without noticing it. In a rather gloomy and rainy day, as soon as we stepped inside the Dream Garden, we thought we've woken up in fairyland: colorful flowers everywhere accompanied by quirky statues, and a fascinating house. I don't want to spoil it for you with too many descriptions, but this place is a must for whoever is able to appreciate the work of an outlier architect/artist/designer/engineer/gardener/ecologist!! The genius behind this garden house spent 26 years to date to create such a surreal world. It is very well maintained, yet there's something wild and real about it, a contrast of colors, plant types and sizes, that is absolutely remarkable. A bit of a wonderland in a sustainable ecosystem. A place who's beauty haunts me still!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
akonopl wrote a review May 2012
Moscow, Russia214 contributions72 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
- turned out to be a 30-minute ride from queenstown
- we were a party of 9 - 4 couples +1,requiring 5 separate rooms. on arrival it turned out that there are indeed 12 sleeping places but only 4 separate rooms as we wanted
- the sheets were dirty and seemed they were not washed after previous guests
- we were slightly late to check out considering the large group and were charged extra 15% for being late. outrageous!
- the house was full of small biting flies
- on a positive note, the house was surrounded by a very nice garden
- we tried picking some berries from the bushes and were charged 5 dollars
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: i would avoid the place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas S, Owner at Little Paradise Lodge
Responded 29 May 2012
We remember very well, when this Russian group arrived at our place. It was raining heavily. Normally when our guests arrive we introduce our self, show them their rooms and facilities and then share a cup of tea while getting to know each other and make them feel welcome. Then we offer them to carry their luggage to the room. With this Russian group, it all turned out different. As when they arrived, Alex came first to the door, looking very unhappy, while the others were still at the car park. He told us, that they have booked 5 rooms with us. Then we have replied to him, that they only booked 4 rooms not 5 , as we only got 4 rooms advertised in our website. Then his voice and the expression on his face was showing that he was not happy at all. It became very uncomfortable for us, because we do not want our guests to feel that way. Our priority was to prove to the whole group, that they only booked 4 rooms with us. Instead of having a warm welcome, and a few laughs, we have been put into a stress situation. We had to open up our computer and look for the e.mail communication we had with one of the group members, so we could get our self out of this embarrassing situation. When we came forward with the proof, Alex did not change his angriness. Instead of saying sorry to his action, he came shortly after, to us, to complain, that they have flying insects in their Unit. Insects are common next to the lake, that's why we have insect netting on the windows, but they are useless when the door is open too long . Anyway, we gave him a Insect spray. We also created a additional sleeping option, so the single person did not had to share a room with any of his friends they were couples. Our beddings are always washed and clean, and we always have fresh scented roses picked from our own garden in our guests rooms. Behind every bedroom door we have written messages to inform our guests such as check-out time and a $5 penalty for every 30 minutes overstay. For the berries they have picked, they offered to pay for it, so we accepted it. We are so glad that we hardly ever have people unsatisfied with our service, in fact, most of our guests are very impressed with this Little paradise of ours, and when they leave, they have carried a lot of good memories and warm feeling from us. Creative people often feel charged up with inspiration. Often Visitors described, what they've seen at this place is a labor of love. The comments of Alex hurts us, especially after 19 years of effort to make this place special.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry Lynch wrote a review Jun 2014
Dublin, Ireland269 contributions281 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Surely one of the finest drives in New Zealand, and there are many, is from Queenstown to Glenorchy, along the cobalt gleam of Lake Wikatipu, and then up the quiet unpaved road to Paradise for a staggering panorama of the Humboldt mountains.

About halfway along the road from Queenstown to Glenorchy is the enchanting Little Paradise Lodge designed, built and run by the gifted Thomas and his charming partner Chrissie. The Lodge, a work of art in itself, is set in a hillside garden which is, I guarantee, significantly different from any you've seen before: an astonishing, eccentric combination of whimsical artwork, installation art, sculpture garden and a touch of the agreeably bonkers. The garden is certainly vastly more fascinating and entertaining than the mundane municipal plantings of, say, the Christchurch Botanic Gardens, and without ever descending into the crass idiocies of somewhere like England's Blackgang Chine.

We stayed one night in a charming room of which the only downside was the lack of an en-suite bathroom, reflected in the price. Other rooms are en-suite.

Highly Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smriti c wrote a review May 2014
Delhi, Delhi, India12 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
my husband & i stayed there while we were visiting queesntown. totally worth the drive from there. the place just transports you to another world and the view is breathtaking. thomas & christy helped us discover even more beautiful places to visit ahead of glenorchy. their passion shows in the entire lodge, and more so in the garden. very helpful, warm people.
definitely worth recommending to everyone. if not for stay, then certainly for a short visit to the garden!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: the rooms in the main lodge have excellent view, but for more privacy check out the double room...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M wrote a review Feb 2020
Penang Island, Malaysia229 contributions141 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A labour of love. A Swiss gentleman has been working for more than 25 years to create a magnificent "wild" garden full of surprises, surrounding a cosy and varied house built in an organic way. Together with Glenorchy, the best of Lake Wakatipu
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guiotto wrote a review Jan 2019
England9 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We called in by chance.We knew nothing about it as although we were staying in Queenstown we had seen no publicity about it. The place is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. The garden is stunning. The house is fabulous. It is an amazing work of art created by one unique couple. Every detail has been crafted the owners using natural materials. Make the effort to do the beautiful drive out from Queenstown and be sure to include a visit to this magical place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daisybirk wrote a review Apr 2018
Saint Paul, Minnesota12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We did not stay overnight, but toured the grounds. We found this place just driving by and so happy we stopped. It is well worth the entry fee. If you like art and gardens this is a little unique gem.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
graeme54-11 wrote a review Mar 2018
Stockport, United Kingdom101 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an extremely interesting, quirky, amusing and creative place with its stunning, individual features demonstrating the hard work and amazing imagination of its artist. The house and gardens are a genuine work of art and the guided walk is structured to enthuse and excite the visitors to this astounding ‘gallery’ which is the owners’ home as well as their studio (and guest house). We only visited as viewers - this is really a one off and you should call in when passing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cinzia C asked a question Nov 2017
3 contributions1 helpful vote
How can I get there?
quovadis1105 asked a question Sept 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico14 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there internet access at this lodge?
Answer from Barry Lynch
Dublin, Ireland269 contributions281 helpful votes
Hi Quo Vadis Not that I recall. Internet access is, at best, sketchy on South Island compounded by hotels, lodges etc. cutting access after a short period. At times it hardly seemed worth the bother. Cheers.
emilywolfe wrote a tip Mar 2016
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask what rooms have lakefront views... it's worth it."
Read full review
Graham P wrote a tip Jan 2016
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom564 contributions228 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cannot comment on rooms or sleeping"
Read full review
rachel p wrote a tip Nov 2015
Wellington, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved our room which was set away from the main house. But some of the rooms in the house & those facing the lake have great views."
Read full review
annarosabaker wrote a tip Oct 2015
Sydney180 contributions93 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room with a lake view."
Read full review
LocalQueenstownGirl wrote a tip Jun 2015
Queenstown, New Zealand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms a great,"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mount Creighton area.
PRICE RANGE
$299 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Little Paradise Guesthouse
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionMount Creighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LITTLE PARADISE LODGE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Mount Creighton) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Little Paradise Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Little Paradise Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Glenorchy-Queenstown Road (1.2 km), Little Paradise Dream Garden (0.1 km), and Twenty Five Mile Creek (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Little Paradise Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Little Paradise Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Little Paradise Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Little Paradise Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Mount Creighton.
Are any cleaning services offered at Little Paradise Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Little Paradise Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Little Paradise Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Filipino.
Does Little Paradise Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.