We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punakaiki Beach Camp

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (50)
Pool & Beach (14)
Room & Suite (12)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“powered site”(8 reviews)
“the kitchen”(22 reviews)
“lovely site”(3 reviews)
Free Parking
Beachfront
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Paid Wifi
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
56
43
22
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
56
43
22
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowered sitethe kitchenlovely sitebathrooms were cleanlonely planetpower sitesdrying roomshort walk up the hillgreat spotbasic facilitiespancake rollspororari riverlate at nightenjoyed our staydouble bedthree nightslounge area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This campsite could not be in a more beautiful location. It’s right on the beach, with forested hills behind it. The showers and toilets were clean and the showers were nice and hot. We visited the tavern nearby which we highly recommend as the food...More

Thank traveller123252
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location right by the stone beach. Short walk up the hill to the Punakaiki Rocks and there's a lovely bush walk across the road. And the sunsets are stunning. Beautiful West Coast sunsets - quite magical. Showers were clean and tidy as was the...More

Thank ecotravelz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely site with good staff. All facilities available. Next door is the Puniakiki Tavern which has really good food. Great place to break a journey from the west coast to the AbelTasman. We also visited Hokitika for the Wild Food festival but avoided the food!!

Thank Barry T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic place.chose beachfront site.Magnificant coastline , Bush and Sunset views Whole place clean,spacious,great amenities and peaceful atmosphere. Friendly helpful owners. Will definitely return.

Thank maryjaneberry
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a standard cabin and were very disappointed. We have stayed at a lot of similar places all over NZ and this was by far the worst. The cabin itself was in bad shape, smelly and very very cold. The shared kitchen was...More

Thank Sabine R
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (50)
Pool & Beach (14)
Room & Suite (12)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fairliehotel
3 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Ogy_Kovachev | Reviewed this property |
We were not with our pet and we did not check. I would rather advice you to contact the property directly.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Camp site so you pick your own space"
Read review
"Closer to Westport. Ask for specific directions to the property! Nearest gas station/restaurant is 20 minutes..."
Read review
"We stayed in the basic cabins. They are basic but fine for a stayover."
Read review
"Probably best as a one night stay unless the weather gods are kind."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing