We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (901)
Room & Suite (250)
Dining (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Travellers' Choice
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Car hire
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
2,030Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,652
  • 322
  • 42
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ianbnet wrote a review Jan 2013
Seattle, Washington106 contributions63 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights, and I can highly recommend the motel. The place is brand new, and honestly I am not sure how well it will stand the test of time and the elements -- the walls seem thin and the construction cheap -- but for now it is a very comfortable place to stay. It has all the amenities, including high speed internet access -- we were told it was limited, but never had any problems using it while we were there. The views are outstanding. The only downside occurred the morning of checkout. First, we were woken up at 8am when someone (cleaning lady?) busted in to our room, apologizing once she realized we were in there. Then as we were packing up at 10:30 the front desk called to ask us if we were leaving. They really wanted us out. Not cool. We hadn't realized
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
Response from Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Responded 8 Jan 2013
Thank you ianbnet for your positive review. Yes we are completely brand new but I had some concerns in respect of your comments re: construction so I passed on these comments to the owners (whom actually built the complex) and here is their reply. "Thanks Paul for forwarding this review. It is disappointing to hear one of our guests had concerns with the quality of construction as we spared little when we built Aoraki Court Motel. Each building has concrete foundations and a six inch, 150mm solid concrete floor. All external walls are six inch thick or 150mm (NZ standard is 4 inches or 100mm) with Linea board used as cladding on the outside and 10mm thick Gib Board on the inside. ianbnet being from the USA would be familiar with "drywall" which is in effect what Gib Board is. The standard width is 10mm and to say the walls are thin indicates ianbnet does not come from the construction industry!! Furthermore the walls seperating individual units are in fact six inch concrete block (filled with concrete and steel) which have then been clad with Gib Board on each side. These are solid walls which will prevent any noise issues between units. Where we spent a lot of money, and nobody would probably ever notice, is on the thermal break installed into the concrete floor around the perimiter of the building. This prevents cold air entering the floor and into the units. Furthermore whilst the windows are standard double glazed we purposely installed a thermal break within the aluminium joinery so that cold once again could not enter the rooms via this source. One of the major benefits of the six inch external walls is the extra insulation we could install into the walls. We have six inches or 150mm of wall insulation within the external walls helping prevent heat loss and minimising external noise. In respect of the comments re: "standing the test of time" and "elements" compromising our motel complex, ianbnet must understand that before a building consent can be issued in New Zealand extensive engineering designs are required by the local Territorial Authorities that require proof of building strength so as to mitigate wind and earthquake risks prevalent in New Zealand. These engineering designs for Aoraki Court Motel have been completed to an exteremely high level and form part of the products and methods used in its construction. We are extremely confident that the complex will be standing in the same condition as now in 100 years time. Paul, please pass on these comments to ianbnet. Andrew" In respect of your concerns re: the checkout time of 10am being too early yes I agree it can be a little early if you are used to the international standard of 12pm. However as we have a check in time of 2pm we need these 4 hours to get ALL of the units cleaned and serviced before the next guest arrives. In New Zealand 10am is the normal check out time for motels and hotels unless prior arrangements have been made. I can only apologise for you being disturbed at 8am but I am confident that it was not one of our cleaning girls as they only start from 9am. We hope you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand and would love to see you again in the future. Many thanks.
Read more
JoKupu wrote a review Jan 2013
Dunedin, New Zealand77 contributions26 helpful votes
we stayed for a night at the motel .. it was an emotional time for me coming back to where I had spent 16 years of my life and had not visited for about 12 years.. this was not our first choice of places to stay , only for personal reasons as I know ppl who own other accommodation there but what a total treat. I was sooo pleased we chose to stay here .. right from the beginning with great hosts , comfortable rooms with extras , excellent view .. sat outside , popped a bottle of champagne and toasted one of the most beautiful places in the world. I would reccommend this Motel to anyone and will certainly do that ... possibly see you again in February if we have time ... malo au pito for a great night ...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
Response from Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Responded 7 Jan 2013
Thank you Jokupu for your comments, we do agree with you that Mount Cook is an amazing place to come and visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. cheers
Read more
Mac-n-Chez wrote a review Jan 2013
Denver, Colorado61 contributions28 helpful votes
My wife and visited Mt. Cook area in mid December 2012 and we drove straight there from Christchurch. We arrived around 9pm and we found out there was not a local grocery store and the local restaurants close at 9pm. The owner made my wife and I fried rice for dinner and brought us a fresh container of milk. The rooms were spacious, newly developed, clean and quiet. I would highly reccomend the hotel just stop and get some groceries before your arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
Response from Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Responded 7 Jan 2013
Thank you Mac-n-Chez for your review. We do get a lot of comments about our rooms being spacious and accommodating. We are pleased that you enjoyed the meal and your stay. regards Paul and Heather
Read more
Mouses wrote a review Jan 2013
Brisbane, Australia36 contributions20 helpful votes
Fantastic location, wonderful, welcoming hosts, BEAUTIFUL spacious accomodation with lovely touches such as the honey-based toiletries and the teas and coffee selection. Very very good value. The spa bath made a day's trekking a distant memory!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
Response from Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Responded 7 Jan 2013
Hello Mouses, many thanks for your review, it is those extra touches in the room which all our guests enjoy. We hope to see you again.
Read more
Grant B wrote a review Jan 2013
Rangiora, New Zealand32 contributions6 helpful votes
excellent rooms, awesome views, spa bath. Friendly operators. Recommend to all and i will visit again, hiopefully not during the worst thunder and lightening and torrential rain that we experienced on this trip!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
Response from Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Responded 7 Jan 2013
Hello HaumoanaSheep, it was nice meeting you, sorry about the weather while you were here, but that's Mount Cook, we take the good with the bad. Thanks for you review and hope you will call on us again.
Read more
US$101 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictAoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)Mt. Cook Village
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing