We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
89 Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Stay midweek & save 10%
Booking.com
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
Priceline
US$189
View deal
Hotels.comUS$190
TravelocityUS$190
FindHotelUS$190
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1749)
Room & Suite (602)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Street parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Skiing
Darts
Evening entertainment
Patio
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book 30 days out and save 20%
2796Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 948
  • 987
  • 558
  • 196
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jack S wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia59 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We never ended up staying at the Hermitage because our little boy got really sick with fevers and unfortunately we had to cancel everything including the glacier explorer experience which is a shame as it was all for our sons birthday! We were coming from Queenstown and were here from Sydney and hence were too worried to make the drive with a sick boy (min 3 hour drive). Josh was amazing to deal with from when we were booking the trip from Sydney - he was helpful and nothing was too hard. Then today I reached out to the hotel to explain our unfortunate situation - Oliver spoke to me and said he would take everything into consideration and make a decision. Within two hours Jessica replied and had processed the refund. I don’t think you can get service like this everyday! So as much as we are disappointed that we didn’t end up staying in Hermitage and get to see Mt Cook - we are blown away by the exemplary customer service experience and for that alone we would recommend the hotel and try and come back again in future!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jack. Firstly, we really hope your son is feeling much better & we're sorry to hear he was so unwell on your recent holiday to Queenstown. Thank you for leaving such kind feedback regarding our team & your recent experiences with us. We're happy to hear we made your time in NZ a little less stressful and would be thrilled to welcome you and your family back at a later date. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to sharing it with the wider team.
Read more
Barry P wrote a review Jun 2022
New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed at The Hermitage for it's iconic location and great views of Aoraki and the neighboring mountains. It's one of my favorite places to be. We stayed in standard rooms which were conveniently close to everything in the hotel and had a nice view. The facilities are very basic. The staff were friendly and helpful but it is clear they are run off their feet and the hotel is understaffed. Not their fault, more people just don't exist and visitor numbers are significantly down especially mid week. The buffet is the only dinner option, but the cafe is good until 4pm and reasonably priced. Breakfast buffet is good *if* you get there early in the service window.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Barry. Many thanks for staying with us on your recent visit to Aoraki/Mount Cook and for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your understanding with staffing levels, it's a bit of a challenge with recruitment and staff away on sick leave during this current environment, however we're still confident we deliver on excellent service! Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back to Aoraki/Mount Cook in the near future.
Read more
Sophie G wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
We had a buffett after our walk at Mount Cook. Was some of the most incredible food I had had in a long time - ranging from cheeses and different types of salmon to roasties, soup and various other meats with unreal desserts. Only downside was since we weren't staying at the hotel we had to wait until 8:30pm to be seated.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Sophie. Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for visiting us during your recent trip to Aoraki/Mount Cook. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the buffet experience and will forward on your kind feedback to the kitchen team. Sorry you were unable to get a table until later in the evening, we're doing our best to manage staffing shortages in this current environment and have to find a balance between serving in-resort guests and those who aren't staying. We hope this didn't negatively impact your experience and really do appreciate the support. Thanks again for visiting!
Read more
KK wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The place was fantastic but first I want to mention the FOOD!! The buffet was amazing but what I really wanted to note is the lovely effort of the staff to accomodate for vegans! The large desert wall contained vegan options- we got to try the panna cotta, truffle, snickers slice and berry muffin all of which were fantastic! One of the chefs even went to some extra effort of making me additional vegan food to what was at the buffet (which he offered- I didn’t have to ask for)!! I was sooo appreciative of the staffs friendliness and genuine care. It was Next level and made our stay! The room itself was great- views were excellent and the location was great! Would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi Kara, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and equally thrilled to hear your comments regarding our buffet offering. We'll ensure your feedback and kind comments are passed on to our food and beverage team & we hope to warmly welcome you back to Aoraki/Mount Cook in the near future!
Read more
Beth P wrote a review May 2022
Kerikeri, New Zealand29 contributions8 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel in the middle of outstanding natural beauty with lovely staff However the little things let it down The bathroom that was not as clean as mine- and my standard is not that high. Coffee in Sir Ed’s bar not great and they seemed to be running on left overs. My hubby did not like his pizza with the egg on top! The salmon platter at the Snowline Bar had cold cauliflower and carrots included. And was not generous. Come on. There is a salmon farm down the road The Martini was undrinkable Oh well. The location and the magnificent mountains in pictures windows is what it is all about Had the best time at Mt Cook. Put it on your bucket list
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 18 May 2022
Hi Beth. Many thanks for staying with us during your recent trip to Aoraki/Mount Cook. We do sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your experience in the Sir Edmund Hillary Café and Snowline Bar. We’ve taken your feedback on board regarding the 'Brunch Pizza' we have on our cafe menu, and will review as part of our upcoming menu change, and will work with our bar staff on their martinis to ensure they meet our expectation of world class cocktails! In regards to the cleanliness of the room, we've found this to be very surprising as we do have incredibly high cleaning standards throughout the hotel, however we will follow up with our Housekeeping department accordingly. As ever, if you're able to provide feedback whilst in resort we'll always do our utmost to ensure we provide a positive outcome, sorry we couldn't assist on this occasion. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Beth, and if you'd like to connect further please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly.
Read more
Kikki wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand320 contributions68 helpful votes
We had a premium room with spectacular views of Aoraki Mt Cook and a telescope in-room to bring everything closer. Rooms were clean, warm and cosy; beds were comfortable. The staff were all excellent. Highly recommend the dinner and breakfast buffets although the food was not as good on the stat holiday as the normal weekday day (different chefs?). The hotel isn't as grand as some others but it is comfortable. Sadly, you can't see the amazing view at night so don't worry about booking a window seat after dark. Highly recommend you splash out and stay here...awesome experience. Sad to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go for the Premium rooms...don't skimp on rooms or you see nothing
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Dear Kikki0 Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook and for the valuable time you have taken to share your review. Great choice in selecting a Premium Plus room for the best views in the National Park (we think). It is always an honour to see the team mentioned and we were all glad you enjoyed the experience. We appreciate your kind recommendations on the buffets, your comments are noted on the change across the nights you stayed. The team was consistent across this period so I have passed this to the Food and Beverage leadership team to review. We understand how difficult it is to leave and hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
kiwidaisyWaikato wrote a review Apr 2022
Matamata, New Zealand104 contributions38 helpful votes
Visiting Mt Cook and staying at the Hermitage is definitely a bucket list item not to be missed. Luckily for us it was reasonably quiet when we just turned up with no prior booking and we got a room on the 8th floor with a view straight out to Mt Cook. Room itself was tired, but spotlessly clean - and the rooms are huge!! We didn't dine in the restaurant itself but sat in the lounge area with great platters and wine which was perfect for what we wanted. The next day after walking to the Hooker glacier lake early, we checked out & had brunch in the cafe upstairs which was really really good too. Not overly expensive either and great coffee. All the front line staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We were very impressed, keep up the good work team!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2022
DearkiwidaisyWaikato Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook and for sharing your kind feedback. We are so glad you decided to stay and that you enjoyed the views from your Premium Room on the 8th Floor. It is such a privilege to be able to share the majestic Aoraki/Mount Cook with all who visit us. Thank you for sharing your experience in the rooms, the housekeeping team were happy to read that you noticed the work they had done to keep the rooms so clean. Our platters have been created to compliment the variety of beverages available, including very good New Zealand wine, it was great that you enjoyed this option. Lunch in the cafe sounds very well deserved after you completed the Hooker Valley, we believe one of the best walks in the country. All of the team here greatly appreciate your kind recognition of our friendliness and helpfulness. Your comments go a long way to help us in our commitment to continuously improving and taking care of all who visit the National Park. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again next time you visit. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Grant T wrote a review Apr 2022
25 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here at the start of our Alps2Ocean ride as part of our package. Unfortunately the weather during our stay - gale force winds and rain didn't allow us to enjoy the views until the morning when we started riding. The accomodation level was what is expected of a high end hotel, everything immaculate, good staff and restaurant with great views when weather allows, undercover storage for bikes at the rear of the hotel and ideal accomodation for the start of our 337km ride. Price of meal were up there but in keeping with the accomodation. Would we stay there again. Only if we could afford to.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear GrantT372 Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook as part of the Alps to Ocean experience. The team and I greatly appreciated the time you have taken to provide a review on TripAdvisor. It was pleasing to see you enjoyed the hotel and dining while you were here. Your special mention of the team was especially encouraging, we are very passionate about our service and take great pride in this being recognised. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Ol' travellers wrote a review Mar 2022
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand36 contributions29 helpful votes
Had a great stay. Room on 2nd floor with balcony looking at Mt Cook. Service staff were lovely and efficient. Awesome view. Staff in bar and restaurant were excellent. We had the two course menu option and the food was not only outstanding, but filling. Did the Tasman lake boat trip and highly recommend it. We had a perfect fine day so we were spoilt I think. Did the Galaxy planetarium experience. Kate was outstanding, explaining and answering questions. Definitely be back to The Hermitage.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Judy H Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook and for sharing your kind review. It is always inspiring to read comments about our team and it helps to continue to motivate all of us in providing memorable service to all who visit. The Snowline Bar and Alpine Restaurant teams were particularly happy to see that they were mentioned specifically. Experiencing the Glacier and the Stars (both indoor and outdoor) are some of the very unique experiences only available in limited destinations globally and we are very lucky to be able to share these with those who stay. Kate is one of our resident experts on everything in the sky and we greatly appreciate you recognising her by name. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Andrew_G_Akl wrote a review Mar 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand17 contributions
A glorious conclusion to a wonderful day roaming around Mt Cook area We had read the reviews which had attracted us to the Hermitage Alpine restaurant. The five of us experienced an amazing variety of entrees, mains and desserts from the fixed price set menu. The pictures show a lot, but doesn’t allow you insight to the fantastic taste
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We could only get a table at 5:30 for dinner. If you can get this time slot, take it so as to...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Andrew_G_Akl Thank you for choosing to dine at the Alpine Restaurant in the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook on your recent visit to the National Park. The kitchen team were very proud reading that you enjoyed your experience and took your valuable time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$160 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hermitage hotel mt cook village, hermitage new zealand
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictAoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)Mt. Cook Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hermitage Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hooker Valley Track (1.5 km), Blue Lakes and Tasman Glacier walks (6.8 km), and Kea Point Track (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hermitage Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, The Panorama Restaurant, and The Alpine Restaurant.
Is The Hermitage Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Mt. Cook Village.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Hermitage Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hermitage Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Chinese, and Japanese.
Does The Hermitage Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.