We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hermitage Hotel

Save
Share
89 Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
eDreams
US$161
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/03/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1653)
Room & Suite (481)
Dining (147)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Street parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German and 1 more
2,702Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 889
  • 970
  • 549
  • 193
  • 101
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Philippa W wrote a review 20 Feb
Auckland, New Zealand35 contributions28 helpful votes
What a location. The Hermitage is within Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with an absolutely stunning outlook to Mt Cook and surrounding mountains. The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming, the beds super comfortable. Everything you need is here. We did the hooker valley day walk, Tasman Glacier jet boat and chopper landing on the glacier. All were outstanding. Cannot recommend more highly
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear PipW797 Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. The team and I enjoyed reading that you had a great stay and your specific mention of our friendliness was highly rewarding. We receive many positive comments regarding the beds which is important after walks in the park. It was fantastic to see that you took the opportunity to enjoy two of the unique experiences available with the jet boat and chopper, seeing the glacier from the two perspectives is truly memorable. We greatly appreciate your kind recommendation and hope to see you back here soon. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Saskia W wrote a review 20 Feb
Wanaka, New Zealand1 contribution
We had a stunning view from our clean room. Unfortunately we were very unhappy about our dining experience in the snowline bar. We ordered the steak for two. Can’t remember the last time we had such a bad meal. Kids food was very average as well. We would have loved to eat in the restaurant right next to it but it was fully booked. When booking the room we didn’t get advised to book a table because of high demand or maybe not enough staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear SaskiaW40 Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/ Mount Cook and for taking your valuable time to provide feedback on your experience. Your comment regarding the room cleanliness has been shared with our housekeeping team. It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the steak dish and kids meals available in the snowline bar. We are currently in the process of redesigning our menu for the bar and this will be released in March. The steak dish however remains on this menu due to popularity so I would appreciate if you could provide me with further details on what let the dish down. My email address is simon.douthett@hermitage.co.nz if you wouldn't mind sending me your detailed feedback. Thank you for your advice on the restaurant being fully booked for the time in which you were looking to dine, and the recommendation for advice when rooms are being booked. I am working with our Sales and Marketing team to review the information we provide on our website, confirmation email and by phone. The team and I do hope that you will return in the future to experience the service we can really deliver. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
rock203 wrote a review 12 Feb
Christchurch, New Zealand53 contributions11 helpful votes
I booked a premium king bed room and we were on level 10. OMG the views are amazing, the hotel complex and restaurants we superb, the staff were exceptional and every one was very friendly. We stayed for 2 nights the first day and night the weather was wet and blowing a gale but it didn’t stop us from walking the Hooker Valley track, didn’t manage to see Mount Cook close up due to low cloud. The views and Mountains were so awesome. I would no hesitate to recommend the Hermitage we will bring back our 2 sons and their girlfriends next time i definitely want to come back real soon. I just loved it!! Thank you Hermitage Hotel 🤗
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rock203 Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for so accurately describing the setting in one word, Magical. All of us here at the hotel feel very privileged to live and work in the National Park, and to be able to share it with everyone who visits. The views of the mountains are very contrasting based on the weather and it was great to hear that the track was worth it after you persevered. I have personally shared your feedback with the team and they were so appreciative that you have given us such a strong recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back with your two sons and their girlfriends very soon. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Leki9 wrote a review 10 Feb
Tauranga, New Zealand49 contributions8 helpful votes
We booked a standard king room with a view of Aoraki/Mt. Cook on te second floor of the main building...... Wow!! what a view. We woke just before sunrise and watch the sunlight arrive on to Mt. Sefton and Mt. Cook Spectacular. From check-in to check-out our whole experience was amazing. The facilities were excellent and the staff were so lovely - helpful in every way. Our dining experiences were wonderful, the food and beverages were excellent. Everyone was so helpful. We did the Hooker Valley walk to Hooker Lake and did not find it difficult - we are in our 60's. We also did the Tasman Glacier lake boat trip - wonderful. We would thoroughly recommend both of these to everyone. Both are quite amazing. A must stay/do place for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We booked a standard king room with a view of Aoraki/Mt. Cook on te second floor of the main...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Leki9 Thank you for taking your time to share your detailed feedback on your recent stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook. The team and I enjoyed reading that you experienced the sunrise, which is so different everyday. We appreciate your recognition of our team and how helpful they were. The chefs and food and beverage team are always proud to see positive comments on the dining experience and your feedback has been shared with them to support the work they are doing to make everyone's experience unique and memorable. Your recommendations on seeing both the Hooker and Tasman Glaciers, and their lakes, through walking and/ or on the boats are highly appreciated. We are very lucky to have such spectacular surroundings and we hope everyone who has the opportunity comes to see them. We hope to see you back in the National Park soon. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Cleone Blomfield wrote a review 9 Feb
Queenstown, New Zealand120 contributions25 helpful votes
We booked this premium room directly from the hotel website (It did not seem to be on any booking site) at a very reasonable price. It was large with a telescope area and on the top floor of the tower block. It had a shower over the bath but otherwise was superb.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor of the tower block for a spacious room and superb view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear NZer75 Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook and for sharing your experience. It was great to read that you enjoyed the rooms and the overall stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hermitage hotel mt cook village, hermitage new zealand
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictAoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)Mt. Cook Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hermitage Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hooker Valley Track (1.5 km), Kea Point Track (0.09 km), and Blue Lakes and Tasman Glacier walks (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hermitage Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Panorama Restaurant, Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, and The Alpine Restaurant.
Is The Hermitage Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Mt. Cook Village.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Hermitage Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hermitage Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Chinese, and Japanese.
Does The Hermitage Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.