We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Glentanner Park Centre

State Highway 80, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (233)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 campsite in Mt. Cook Village
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Glentanner Park Centre, Aoraki Mount Cook's Holiday Park, Flightseeing and Activity Centre is sited on the shores of Lake Pukaki. Boasting the best weather in the region, Glentanner is conveniently located just 18km from Aoraki Mount Cook National Park. Set amongst a working high country sheep station, Glentanner is kiwi at its best! We offer a range of budget accommodation options including fully equipped self contained units with own kitchenette and bathroom, standard and basic units with shared facilities, dormitory beds, power sites for caravans & camper vans & tent sites. Facilities include a large kitchen, dining and TV lounge, BBQ pavilion, laundry, ablution block, computers and Wi-Fi. In the purpose built centre you will also find a retail shop and café. Outdoor adventure activities include helicopter flights with snow landings, scenic flights, heli-hiking, glacier boat trips, fishing, hunting and world famous walks and hikes. We look forward to welcoming you here!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Hiking
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

State Highway 80, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946 New Zealand
Glentanner Park Centre
871Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 288
  • 342
  • 164
  • 54
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alison B wrote a review Feb 2024
28 contributions2 helpful votes
We stopped for coffee and cake, ordered at the counter and were given a number. The warmed cake arrived, no coffee. We waited and waited and ten minutes later enquired where it was. The waitress said "I'm doing it now. It's a long line". No it wasn't. Unfortunately there is only this place and a cafe at Mt Cook village. Choose the village.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Suzan P wrote a review Jan 2024
Auckland, New Zealand63 contributions6 helpful votes
Disappointed with this room and facilities. Room had 10 bunks (2 of us) and NO other furniture except a basic old red plastic chair! Plus toilet and basin for $200/night!! That sure is a premium on a distant view of Aoraki Mt Cook. Camp kitchen was cramped and outdated. One old microwave available … and shower block had lively insect life ! Pillows and duvets were good. Checkin staff friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kaidia2017 wrote a review Jan 2024
Brisbane, Australia177 contributions239 helpful votes
Booked a cabin for 8 people. Reasonably priced. Two night stay with family. 6 Adults & 2 Children. Containing bunk beds, a toilet and basin. Everything else is communal. Showers, kitchen, dining, TV area and a BBQ area. Wonderful location if planning Mount Cook. We chose Glentanner as we planned to walk the Hooker Valley Track which is maybe a 20min drive. Be prepared for bugs especially at night. Bug repellent is a must.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Oilyrag64 wrote a review Dec 2023
14 contributions
We stayed 2 nights at a powered RV pitch here. The views towards Mount Cook are breathtaking. The facilities were clean, showers wonderfully hot, cooking facilities great. It’s worth a stop if Mount Cook is on your list
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jessica wrote a review Dec 2023
Knokke-Heist, Belgium126 contributions52 helpful votes
We stayed here with a campervan for one night. Pretty expensive spot if you consider the fact that the toilets are musquito ridden, with, besides the live ones, they lie also dead on the floor in the showers by the thousands. Meaning that they are rearly cleaned. Disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Caroline W wrote a review Jul 2023
4 contributions
We pitched our tents and had the best view, it was stunning! The amenities were excellent, the fire in the communal area was always stoked, hot showers and nice bathroom. The kitchen had plates, tea towels, fridge etc. We will definitely be back! The service was also very good 😊
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jellysnake wrote a review May 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
We were campervaning but we’re glad we chose here as a base. The camp at Mt Cook was quite crowded and the sun drops off it in the afternoon so gets quite cold But 20 mins down the road is an idyllic spot in amongst trees that get the late sun and is the side of the Lake Facilities are great and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful Nothing beats a nice warm shower after a day walking in this magnificent area
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mariana R wrote a review Apr 2023
Perth, Australia1 contribution
The kitchen was totally dysfunctional, only every second cooktop worked. Didn't want to stay the second night and was denied a refund even though the park was half empty and our leaving wouldn't have impacted them at all. Very disappointing. 1/10.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only book one night and see for yourself before extending your stay here. Horrible service.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Ivey, General Manager at Glentanner Park Centre
Responded 29 Apr 2023
Good Morning , we are all very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Glentanner. After you advised us of the cooktops not working correctly we checked and replaced them. Thankyou for alerting us to this problem. You were denied a refund as per our cancellation policy which we must adhere to regardless of our current occupancy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
h88na wrote a review Apr 2023
Bushey, United Kingdom70 contributions128 helpful votes
Wonderful location if you are visiting Mount Cook. Do fill up fuel in Twizel Town beforehand as there are no petrol stations for miles. Also do your food shopping, again there is nowhere to buy food. You are literally in the middle of nowhere. This accommodation is 20-30mins away from The Heli Hike airport/ Mount Cook Hotel/Hooker Valley Trek. The staff at reception were very friendly and check in was prompt. Its a short 5 min drive towards the lake to the cabin. We booked a 4 person cabin with a kitchenette. It was snug and cosy. The beds were really comfy. The Cabin was very clean. Just a few dead spiders and cobwebs on the kitchen window but that was ok! It added to the experience! The kitchen itself and bathroom were immaculate. Its very idyliic - away from it all. A lovely sheltered log bench outside the cabin to drink your morning coffee, sit and read you book. A short walk from the cabin to Lake Pukaki. The stunning lake with water so blue. I will never forget it. We also got a rainbow as it was raining. There are laundry facilities on the site but we didn't use it. The communal room was nothing exciting to report back. A few travellers sat there on their laptops. It wasn't very inviting so we left. Overall I will be returning to Glentanner one day as my booked Heli Hike was cancelled due the strong winds. Totally gutted!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get your food shop and your fuel before heading to Mount Cook area. There is absolutely nothing...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kait wrote a review Jan 2023
42 contributions1 helpful vote
Great place to stop on your way or after visiting Mt Cook. We arrived late in the day in wild weather. The views are amazing. Staff helpful. The facilities were modern and clean. The surrounds are great to walk around and the kids enjoyed spotting wildlife.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mt. Cook Village area.
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
glentanner park centre (mount cook) hotel mt. cook village
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictAoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)Mt. Cook Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLENTANNER PARK CENTRE - Now $154 (Was $̶2̶8̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Glentanner Park Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Glentanner Park Centre?
Nearby attractions include Aoraki/Mt. Cook (3.9 km) and Glentanner High Country Heli Hike (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glentanner Park Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Glentanner Park Centre?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Glentanner Park Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Glentanner Park Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Does Glentanner Park Centre have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.