Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Glenfalloch Station

4106 Double Hill Runs Road, Methven 7791 New Zealand
Morning cycle down Double Hill Run Road from Glenfalloch to Methven
Traveller (31)
Our one bedroom cottage full of creature comforts including wonderful Chesterfield leather sofas.  A blazing fire had been lit by our hosts prior to our arrival so the cottage was cosy warm after a long ride on the mountainbikes
Room & Suite (7)
Very special dining spot for weddings and big groups
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 2 guest houses in Methven
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the rugged Southern Alps in the headwaters of the Rakaia River, Glenfalloch Station can be called a one-stop conference and incentive destination, an ideal family and friends gathering place or just a place for relaxation from urban life. A combination of its elegant style and serene setting and a cuisine with a unique twist makes Glenfalloch an exciting, relaxing and memorable all-seasons get-away destination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Skiing
Tennis court
Fishing
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German

Location

4106 Double Hill Runs Road, Methven 7791 New Zealand
Getting there
Hokitika Airport
68.4 km
See all flights
Christchurch Intl Airport
108.2 km
See all flights
9Reviews1Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wendy R wrote a review May 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand43 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Glenfalloch Station as part of a five day mountainbike tour of the Canterbury High Country. It was the highlight of our trip due to the views of the Arrowsmiths, and the upper Rakaia River which are nothing short of sensational. The farm tracks we rode in and out on are easy to follow and in great condition. The cottage accommodation was incredibly comfortable and fully catered, homemade bread and soup, slowcooked lambshanks to follow and a cheeseboard to finish off. The hospitality offered by Dietlind and Chas was far superior to my expectations. My only complaint is we did not allow ourselves enough time, our overnight stay was too short. We would have happily stayed an extra day or two. The mountainbiking in this area was amazing. Mountainbike access between Glenfalloch and Lake Heron traverses private station land so permission is needed from both Glenfalloch and from the neighbouring Lake Heron Station (via email) to make the through trip.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosemary S wrote a review Apr 2013
Whangarei, New Zealand16 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You can drive up to Glenfalloch Station on the head waters of the Rakaia River but it is even more spectacular arriving by bike (or horse). We, as part of Pure Trails cycle tour pedalled up the river to find a great welcome. delicious dinner and accommodation for our group of 14.
There is the Brick House, the original station home with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, or the Cook Shop, beautifully renovated with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and two attractive living areas or for two there is the new Tin House with 1 ensuite bedroom.
With stunning views of the Southern Alps, the river glistening in the late afternoon sunlight, sheep and horses grazing contentedly we sat out on the attractively landscaped terrace enjoying a glass of wine before being served an excellent 3 course dinner.
The rooms are all beautifully appointed, the bathrooms have fluffy towels, exquisite toiletries, and plenty of hot water. There is a superb and interesting collection of NZ art throughout all the buildings. A swimming pool,spa and open fires complete the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie A wrote a review Nov 2018
Barrytown, New Zealand40 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome place, Hosts went out of their way for our big unruly group of horse and wagon trekers. Stunning scenery, homely accommodation in a variety of different sized separate cottages. Great value for money. Hope to come back some time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
591nigelf wrote a review Sept 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Brick House which was superb, arrived late after driving from Chch Airport. Dinner was brought in with some very fine wines we had a pleasant evening in front of the log fire. Next morning the views were amazing and the Heliboarding was impeccable. Best place in NZ for this and enjoyed the hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen C wrote a review Jun 2018
Katikati, New Zealand139 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Glenfalloch Station is situated in the Mid-Canterbury High Country. Our Group had lunch here after a tour of the property & a talk about life in the high country. Great hospitality.
Lunch was served inside & the could sit outside with our coffe & chocolate fish & admire the view
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teearn F wrote a review Aug 2017
Auckland24 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from 3 nights at Glenfalloch Station for my husbands 40th with a group of friends and WOW we couldn't have asked for a better experience, it was what dreams are made of!

The setting is mindblowingly beautiful. The houses are decked out country style and super comfy. A true high country lodge feel. With heaters in all rooms and lovely bedding we were always cosy.

Deitlan and her family provided exceptional service and they were so kind and thoughful. The meals were delicious, plentiful and varied e.g. salmon entree, beef fillet main with homemade chocolate cases filled with berry sorbet for dessert! It was a real treat to be in a home environment and just relax and be taken care of.

We were at Glenfalloch Station for the heli boarding with Methven Heli Ski, and it was the perfect location. Why would you drive all the way from Methven, when you can wake to a yummy breakfast, enjoy a hot tub then step out your front door to hop into the heli!

The heli boarding was incredible!

When we returned from a days heli, Dietlan had hot food and beers waiting for us. The perfect end to the perfect day!

We would highly recommend staying here. It's the perfect location for Methven Heli Ski or for a couple or group of friends looking for a quiet paradise. It's a real hidden gem and once you discover it, one visit will never be enough. We can only imagine how gorgeous it is here in summer too, with the swimming pool and river. Bliss.

If your expectations are realistic of what to expect in a high county station in the middle of nowhere...then you'll be blown away and like us, will become repeat visitors year after year!

Thank you Deitlan, Chaz, Freddie and Hendrix! We can't wait to come back and share your piece of paradise again next year!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard S wrote a review Aug 2017
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were here with a group of 16 for a work retreat, what an absolutely beautiful location. We were fully catered for, always more food than we could eat. Very attentive hosts. Comfy beds with heaps of towels. Will definitely come back here with my family to share this fantastic part of New Zealand
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from glenfalloch2005, Manager at Glenfalloch Station
Responded 13 Aug 2017
Thank you very much review. I am looking forward welcoming you back and your family here at Glenfalloch.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GranLiz wrote a review Aug 2015
Hamilton, New Zealand16 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was hesitant to review this beautiful place as it was a lovely weekend but I can 't honestly see how it is ratedas a five star venue. The venue is stunning and, if in good shape, the facilities could be top class. Every effort has been made to make it comfortable. The beds are top notch.warm, comfy and the rooms are well appointed. The furniture and decor are attractive and welcoming. What lets it down is the obvious need for some maintenance. Bathrooms without basin plugs, basins that do not drain, heaters that have faulty switches, extension cords running along floors, handles that are loose, windows repaired with plastic, unclean spa pools, dirty swimming pool. Such a shame when the owners are obviously trying so hard. This said i would stay here again. I just wouldn't expect five star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from glenfalloch2005, Manager at Glenfalloch Station
Responded 27 Sept 2016
Thank you very much for your response,your review and analysis of all three houses. I believe you stayed in the Tinhouse and there was hopefully no major fault. it is always helpful to get feedback. We have fixed all your points in the meantime but I have been not aware that you had planned to use the swimming pool in the middle of winter !!! I am sorry for this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OVERSZ wrote a review Aug 2015
South Island, New Zealand1,100 contribution132 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We didnt stay. We were part of a group doing a 4WD trip through to Lake Heron Station. A huge loop.
We stopped here for an arranged morning tea. A huge morning tea as it turned out and very reasonably priced.
Served out on the front lawn beside the tennis court with huge views over the upper Rakaia River and looking over to Manuka Point on the other side of the river.
Our hosts gave us a look at the accommodation. For the price it looked very good. Just wish there were more weekends in a year. So many places to go, so little time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Methven area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMethven
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLENFALLOCH STATION - Guesthouse Reviews (Methven) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Glenfalloch Station
What are some of the property amenities at Glenfalloch Station?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Glenfalloch Station?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Glenfalloch Station?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Glenfalloch Station?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Glenfalloch Station have airport transportation?
Yes, Glenfalloch Station offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Glenfalloch Station?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Glenfalloch Station?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
All Methven HotelsMethven Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MethvenHotels near Glenfalloch Station
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire