We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Brinkley Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 4 apartments in Methven
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Brinkley Resort Mt Hutt is a 4 star Qualmark rated High Country self-contained accommodation resort and conference centre situated in the Alpine heartland village of Methven at the foothills of majestic Mt Hutt. Just a short two minute walk to the centre of town and conveniently positioned for transport to Mt Hutt. Brinkley features a total of 80 self contained apartments comprised of 40 studios and 40 self contained two bedroom apartments. Laundry facilities are complimentary and shared between each apartment and studio room and the two bedroom apartments all contain spa baths, ideal for relaxing after a day on the mountain. Enjoy a relaxing evenings dining in Shackelton's Restaurant, award winning NZ Beef & Lamb recipient, open during the winter ski season ( please note our restaurant is open during ski season but closed for the summer with the exception of conferences, groups & weddings). Free 300mb high speed wifi provided during your stay - additional internet small charges apply.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Children's playground
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Skiing
Tennis court
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Italian
246Reviews0Q+A67Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 51
  • 24
  • 15
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ali B wrote a review Nov 2023
Ashburton Lakes, New Zealand1 contribution
Clean, warm and quiet apartments situated in such an idyllic location. The service from the staff was outstanding, especially Linda. Highly recommend this place. We will be back to stay next Winter and hope to try the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kathryn P wrote a review Oct 2023
Adelaide, Australia24 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Great resort as everything is so handy to get to and the ski bus picks you up! No stress at all! The place is always clean and the hot spas are the best to get in to after a full day of skiing! And a short walk to the opuke hot pools which is a must!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you book the ski bus with Methven travel as they are the best!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stephanie W wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Outstanding accomodation, great location and top customer service. The staff (Paul and Laura) were fantastic and organised some amazing activities during our 3 day stay - jet boat trip (fantastic local guy called Blair from Discovery Jet boat took us), skiing at Mt Hutt and a soak at the Opuke thermal pools. The restaurant is also good - local produce - we had the duck (sublime) and the pea and ham soup (mind blowing). We loved it so much we’ve booked to come back next year. Can’t wait!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FarAway65205636385 wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions
Excellent accommodations. Spacious room, quiet, quick drive to Mt. Hutt, personal laundry facilities, exceptional food and wine at their on-site restaurant, and very helpful and friendly hosts. I can't wait to return next season!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
927bobj wrote a review Aug 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand5 contributions7 helpful votes
We loved our stay. The whole complex was built with good products and design. The managers, Gayle and Paul, along with the lovely Laura in the restaurant, were most pleasant and helpful with smiles, knowledge of the area, hot pools, and food was great too. We enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Opuke Thermal Pools, especially the Tranquility Pools for adults and the poolside bar, are a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Catherine W wrote a review Jun 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand5 contributions4 helpful votes
Beautiful location, comfortable bed, nice and warm room. Lovely hosts. Yummy onsite food for evening meal. Close to the beautiful Opuneke pools but also has its own spas on site. Easy to park and find the venue.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayle Creswick, Owner at Brinkley Resort
Responded 4 Jul 2023
Hi Catherine ...thanks for the kind words and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next time .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jackiemackie wrote a review Jun 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand4 contributions
We were so impressed with this beautiful two bedroom apartment with stunning mountain views, straight to Mount Hutt. Just breath taking. The apartment was clean, quiet and more than we expected. Totally recommend, beautiful location. Methven is such a cute town, the food we had everywhere was beautiful. We did find the apartment slightly cold as the sun went down, so a suggestion would be a fan heater for that extra blast, but we cuddled up under a blanket on the couch and everything was bliss. Thank you hosts, we loved it!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Recommend Molecule, Ski-time, Topp twins cafe and Primo Secundo for food. Take some time and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayle Creswick, Owner at Brinkley Resort
Responded 4 Jul 2023
Thanks Jackie...I will pass your kind comments on to our staff . We have been adding heat pumps to the apartments so let us know next time you stay and we will use best endeavors to allocate you one of these apartments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maria Lee wrote a review Mar 2023
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Brinkley Resort wasn't really a resort, more motel. Clean but in need of refurbishment. Our room so small, hardly anyway to put bags. Advertises a spa pool and restaurant but neither were open, in fact no spa pool at all. No room service which is written in the conditions but perhaps at least clean towels and loo paper in the rooms would be good. On the whole we were disappointed with the place and wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayle Creswick, Owner at Brinkley Resort
Responded 1 Apr 2023
Hi Maria. Our 2 spa pools are right next to the restaurant so maybe you missed them. Our restaurant's a la carte trading period is on our website and also we sent a confirmation explaining this which you should have received via your booking channel. We do have 2 and 3 bedroom apartments available which are much larger than the studio you chose if you would like to stay again in a bigger room. Also Qualmark allocate our rating and category when they do our annual inspection so we naturally run with that. Apologies you missed all the above and hopefully we see you again now that we have cleared these matters up for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carolyn E wrote a review Nov 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand97 contributions7 helpful votes
Group of friends away for a weekend. Accommodation in neighbouring rooms meant we could meet together easily. Lovely units well set out and great views. Restaurant not open but the Green Parrot was great. Superb views from units out over the mountains. Very quiet area even with no staff around.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for room with view of mountains
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayle Creswick, Owner at Brinkley Resort
Responded 1 Apr 2023
Hi....glad you all enjoyed yourselves. see you next time !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tania H wrote a review Nov 2022
We held our wedding at Brinkley Resort and we had the most fantastic experience. The management team are laid back due to their confidence in having brought events like our wedding together many many times before which helped us be relaxed in the lead up to the day. They worked with us to make the day very special and the chef was amazing catering to dietary requirements and making beautiful food which many of the guests commented on. The scenery of the Southern Alps in the background made for some stunning images and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Would absolutely recommend staying at the resort when in methven.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayle Creswick, Owner at Brinkley Resort
Responded 1 Apr 2023
Absolute pleasure....great to see so many happy faces !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Methven area.
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMethven
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRINKLEY RESORT - Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Methven) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Brinkley Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Brinkley Resort?
Nearby attractions include New Zealand Alpine and Agriculture Centre (0.3 km), Jace's Ski Hutt (0.4 km), and Methven Motors (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Brinkley Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Brinkley Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Brinkley Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Brinkley Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brinkley Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dubliner, The Green Parrot, and Molecule Cafe.
Is Brinkley Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Methven.
Are any cleaning services offered at Brinkley Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Brinkley Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Brinkley Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Brinkley Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.