We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925 New Zealand
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (36)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Fairlie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our comfortable, friendly, family owned and operated motel, situated a short walk from the centre of town, is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Fairlie, Tekapo, and the many attractions that the Mackenzie district has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with fast free unlimited Wifi, cooking facilities, bathrooms and outdoor seating areas. Your hosts, Chris & Leanne are on hand to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable, and we can provide information and bookings for most local attractions. Continental breakfast is available for a small extra charge. Children will love the playground! DVD players, DVD's and board games are available on loan from reception. Enjoy outdoor dining with our complimentary gas BBQ. A guest laundry with washer, dryer and a drying room for ski gear are available for a small charge. Cot and high-chair are provided on request (no charge). Pinewood Motels is also the ideal location for business and corporate clients being centrally located between Timaru, Geraldine and Tekapo. Contact us for the best corporate rates.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Skiing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
154Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 73
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
skylarkGlos wrote a review Feb 2020
Gloucester, United Kingdom117 contributions74 helpful votes
This Motel was good for us as a couple. It was tidy and clean. The bathroom was a wet room and for two seniors this was ideal. There was everything you needed if you wished to self cater. Duchy gave us information about restaurants in which to eat and did not set us wrong. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Paul R wrote a review Feb 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand55 contributions11 helpful votes
This is a spacious roomy motel in the lovely township of Fairlie in the Mackenzie country is about 20 mins from Lake Tekapo. The units have full cooking facilities and we stayed in a two bed unit which could have slept 5. The manager is welcoming and there is free wifi. Pick up the local newspaper - ‘The Fairlie Accessible,’ which gives you an interesting read of the area; ‘Advice from an old Farmer’ on page 12 of the January edition is enlightening. Whether you are travelling through this lovely part of the South Island or using this place as a base it comes highly recommended. Paul and Mary Reet DUNEDIN
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
laurielaine wrote a review Apr 2019
Santa Barbara, California27 contributions26 helpful votes
Pinewood Motels is not terribly exciting, but it is more than adequate. The bed was good, and the kitchenette and bathroom were decent size. Free WiFi. Fairlie is a "blink and you've missed it" kind of town and we stayed there one night to break up the drive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jo R wrote a review Mar 2019
57 contributions29 helpful votes
Just a little overnighter and decided to mix it up a bit as I've never stayed here before. Have been incredibly impressed with the price, the modern decor and the cleanliness here. Even the kids were urging me to give a 5 star review as it's been wonderful - FYI - where can we get those little sachets of organic hot chocolate???!!! Those 5 stars are well earned and I highly recommend considering Pinewood for a stay in picturesque Fairlie.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ClanCat wrote a review Dec 2018
Suffolk125 contributions69 helpful votes
The bed was OK, comfy enough, good sheets. Had all the kitchen bits needed. But everything else was well worn. Tatty towels, outside windows and curtains need a good clean, and don't even look at the toilet brush - that was grim! Did the job for an overnight but not especially welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Leah wrote a review Nov 2018
New York City, New York772 contributions164 helpful votes
+1
Pinewood Motel in Fairlie is a short walk from the grocery store and cafe in town, and it’s quite close to a BP gas station. About 30 minutes over Burke’s Pass from Tekapo. Rooms are built around the car park, and check in was quick. The rooms include a small kitchen with plug-in single burner cooktop, mini-fridge, microwave, kettle, and dishes. There was a frying pan and bowl for mixing as well as some other items for cooking. There’s a very small table built into the wall with two chairs in the kitchen, and my room had a Queen bed and a twin. There’s also a patio outside the sliding glass doors with cafe table and two chairs. The bathroom was clean, but because there was no separation between it and the rest of the room the entire floor got wet when I showered. The towels were threadbare, and the toilet tank was stained - overall space was a bit drab. Bed linens were super clean but the bed wasn’t super comfortable- sort of saggy. The walls are incredibly thin so I was kept up quite late by talking in the room next door. WiFi was slow- had some trouble backing up photos from the day. Overall a fine place but felt run down and outdated.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mgupta14 wrote a review Nov 2018
6 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
In relation to your reply to Garima, attached are Hotels.com booking confirmation printouts of all 4 pages which does not say anything about check in times. We did not carry last 2 pages with us as those were just advertisements. Also attached is your terms and conditions from your own website which says check in 2pm onwards. If your rules have been in place for years, then why it’s not on your website. For $50 late check in penalty, we asked to see your terms and conditions for which you showed us the door and called my wife insane. We never used foul language and never raised our voice and how could we, in that situation. We were the one who were in a new country, new town, 2 little kids, unknown roads and freezing night. We were the one who had everything to lose and you had some petty gains to make. You are the one who boasted that everybody in the town knows you including the police and they would not listen to us and we could be in deep trouble. As you know yourself it was such a freezing night with snowy, slippery and dangerous roads. We were extremely tired after a big day. We even mentioned that we will be risking our lives including 2 little kids by going on the road at that time of the night. When we said who will be responsible if something happens to us, you replied that it will be you as you are an adult. That shows how inconsiderate, insensitive and inhumane you guys are. If it was our own country Australia, something as inhumane like this would have never happen. You said that it was your family time and we were wasting it for which we replied that if your 10 minutes away from family can save 4 lives then every second of that 10 minutes is worth it. You are the rudest people we have ever come across in our life. We had to wait for police to arrive as we needed help in a foreign country. The next town was 1 hour away, and you did not allow us to use your phone and internet to do alternate arrangements. As far as Hotels.com are concerned they have provided us an apology and gave us a full refund immediately. They also mentioned that you have refused to refund them the money. The episode of that night showed your character as you tried to take advantage of innocent tourists fully knowing our precarious situation at that time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Better stay at lake Tekapo or Timaru. Fairlie is a very small town with not many options.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Garima G wrote a review Nov 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We booked this motel a month ago through hotels.com.No where in our booking said that we wouldn't be able to check in after 8.30pm.Even in their own website it says check in time 2pm onwards. We reached at this motel at 9pm to check in with my family including 6 and 8 year old kids on a rainy, snowy, foggy night, completely unaware of their this new policy. The reception was closed but unable to locate room keys we rang the doorbell at reception. Manager was extremely rude and refused the check in. When we said that we have already paid for the night, he replied you paid to Expedia and it's nothing to do with me. My 2 little kids and myself were crying but that didn't budge this man at all. We even requested to access Internet or phone to make another hotel booking, he refused for that too. They even rang the police. We wanted to talk to police as well over the phone they refused for that. We waited for police to come. Thank god Police took us to another hotel. Manager called me insane multiple times when I was trying to explain that we are unaware of this policy and where will I take my kids in this freezing night. Very ruthless, horrible, inhumane, rude people.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Dear Garima, Hotels.com who you booked with confirmed (you were present when staff called and spoke with them) that you were sent the correct information regarding checkin times. There is no penalty for late checkin arranged in advance. Checkin times are between 2pm and 8.30pm unless arranged with staff in advance. This policy has been in place for several years and is clearly printed on all booking confirmation paperwork. You had with you only two pages of four pages of the booking confirmation provided to you by Hotels.com. In addition you received two automated emails in the three days before arrival reminding you of checkin arrangements and the need to arrange a late check in in advance to avoid after hours call out charges. Both I and hotels.com are satisfied that all the correct information was provided to you. On arrival your husband was advised that we could arrange check in, but that there is an after hours staff call out fee ($50) for late checkin if not arranged with us in advance. Your husband refused to pay this, and then became abusive and threatening to the staff member on duty. As a result you were asked to leave. You refused to do so and eventually the police were called to forcibly remove you. As explained at the time, the reason you were not permitted to stay was not because of your late arrival, but because of the abuse and threatening behaviour directed towards our staff. We take our duty of care to our employees very seriously and will always take the appropriate steps to ensure their safety and security. Your booking was made via hotels.com (who are a subsidiary company of Expedia) and it was explained that you had made payment to them when you booked. This payment isn't passed to the motel until after your stay and so you were advised to contact them regarding a refund, which I understand you did the following day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natasha L wrote a review Oct 2018
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Very clean and tidy unit with everything we needed. Easy to find and friendly staff. Our kids enjoyed the play area and the friendly cat. Good water pressure in the shower too. Made for a good pit stop on our journey south thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels
Responded 25 Oct 2018
Hi Natasha, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Glad your kids enjoyed the playground. Missy the cat thinks everyone comes to visit her - and she especially loves kids! Enjoy the rest of your trip. Regards, Chris.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine G wrote a review Oct 2018
Greater Sydney, Australia132 contributions66 helpful votes
We booked in for three nights to do some touring around the area. As it was the quiet season, we were upgraded to a newly renovated 2 bedroom suite. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Although we were close to the main road, the room was extremely quiet. It's only a short walk to the shops which has a great bakery. It's also close to skiing, walking trails and not all that far from Mt Cook. We would definitely recommend and stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 2 was great.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels
Responded 21 Oct 2018
Hi Christine, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Glad you enjoyed your few days here and were able to explore all the wonderful things our district has to offer. Hoping you enjoy the rest of your trip. Regards, Chris.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictFairlie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pinewood Motels
Which popular attractions are close to Pinewood Motels?
Nearby attractions include Gem Alpaca Stud (0.6 km), Fairlie Heritage Museum (0.3 km), and Honey and the bee (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pinewood Motels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Pinewood Motels?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pinewood Motels?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Pinewood Motels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pinewood Motels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fairlie Bakehouse, Carnegies Restaurant & Bar, and Farm Barn Cafe.
Is Pinewood Motels located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Fairlie.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pinewood Motels?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is Pinewood Motels accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.