We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
12863 W Coast Rd, Arthur's Pass National Park 7875 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Expedia.com
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Agoda.com
US$106
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
TravelocityUS$133
Hotels.comUS$133
PricelineUS$108
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect the total stay price payable through our partners, including taxes and fees that are known to our partners and which are due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (17)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bealey Hotel has a rich and long history of Hospitality in the region dating back to 1865. In its current form, rebuilt in the late '80s after a fire, the Hotel has just undergone a complete retro refit. Bordering on the Arthur's Pass National Park, Come and enjoy good quality southern hospitality in one of New Zealand's most scenic alpine locations
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
280Reviews1Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 72
  • 58
  • 39
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
claudia552015 wrote a review Mar 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand3 contributions
We had a fabulous stay for two nights and can't praise them enough. The villa we were in was spotless and very comfortable. The shower was just great, which after a good hike nearby was very welcome. The beds were very comfortable and the supplied continental breakfast was generous and tasty. Matty & Kirsty were great hosts. We will be staying again! Such a beautiful spot to be in.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matt wrote a review Mar 2022
7 contributions
My Wife and I stayed in the Luxury Villa that has a spa pool on the deck. It was soo worth it! The room was great, comfy bed, lots of space, the spa was insane! Modern spa, cool lighting and the view looks down the Waimakariri river into the mountains! Whilst we were in it a morepork owl landed on the deck ! We strolled up the hill and had a fed from the bar/ restaurant. The food was great, I had the braised beef brisket which was good although a small portion and the wife had a chicken burger which was great! The staff were friendly and let us check out and hour later than anticipated. Really good price !!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
clayton wrote a review Mar 2022
Picton, New Zealand3 contributions
We booked on Booking.com and we we arrived it was basically closed. Whilst we understand the issues around Covid this was the worst experience we have had in a lifetime of travel. Confined to our rooms, we not allowed to be inside the hotel, only cold inedible food on offer ( at expensive prices )and I mean really poor food. We required a ride down the road in the morning and we were charged excessively. I don’t usually get vocal about things but this was beyond bad. We have been travelling in the South Island for 6 weeks and everywhere has been amazing despite the Covid requirements. I have asked Booking.Com for a full refund. Do not stay here. Go 10km further to Arthur’s Pass where the Motel and Lodge was terrific. Anything would be better!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Hawkes, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel
Responded 24 Mar 2022
Hi Paradise0599270262, It is amazing how much support we have had from the public regarding the Pandemic, and how supportive people are in general regarding any changes to services or hours because our staff have gotten sick while working through the pandemic or isolating or just short staffed in general. What we have noticed is than most people are very supportive, unless they are the ones being inconvenienced by the reduced hours or operation then the support weans. This review is a case in point. All the reduced hours and operation were in place when you made your booking, you were advised the check in time and the restaurant was closed. I’m sorry you felt that the information we took time to write and send to you before you arrived at the hotel, was not in your best interests to read. Clearly, had you taken a few minutes to read over the information you would have been better informed before you arrived. I am disappointed you did not mention any of this information when I got up early on what was supposed to be my day off, to drive you 1 km up the road and drop you off at the start of the track. But I guess you felt it easier to leave a negative review on trip advisor. I would also like to note that the plates were very empty when we collected them from your room, so I guess the food was “somewhat” edible. All the best for the rest of your trip, and we hope you take it a little easier on the other accommodation providers you stay at. They too are doing it hard and may not be able to offer all the services you require. Your understanding is appreciated. Cheers Matty
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tomatoSwitzerland wrote a review Jan 2022
Arrowtown, New Zealand26 contributions44 helpful votes
We recently stayed at the Bealey hotel for one night and were really impressed. We had booked to stay two weeks earlier but had to change at late notice. When we changed our booking the hotel was friendly and helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant which was really good. The rooms are clean and modern and the views are amazing! Would love to go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andy F wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland, New Zealand10 contributions2 helpful votes
What a gem of a place for dinner. Spectacular view, clean, and excellent fresh and tasty meals. The burgers were fantastic and the bangers and mash beautiful. Deserts were restaurant high quality. The chef is to be applauded. Their service is also outstanding. Attention to detail is there and they clearly care about the experience they provide, not just relying on the spectacular views. We so highly recommend place to be in your ‘to visit’ list.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ed R wrote a review Dec 2021
Blenheim, New Zealand735 contributions219 helpful votes
I stayed in the "Moa Lodge". Comfortable room / beds and really good amenities - kitchen, bathrooms. Fantastic view from my room. Just not sure what the continuous vibrations / noise was that appeared to come from under the floor. Wasn't a big disturbance but slightly annoying. Free wifi worked well. Very nice staff. Restaurant on-site excellent (see separate review).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DamonNZ wrote a review Dec 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand30 contributions4 helpful votes
Ate here for dinner after our 6 hour tramp. Great range of food & beverage choices. Service was excellent and food quality also excellent. Great location right on the main road and amazing view! Didn’t stay in the units but they also clearly have incredible views.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John P wrote a review Dec 2021
Timaru, New Zealand8 contributions3 helpful votes
We were made well aware of traffic light expectations before our travels. Their friendly staff went the extra mile to be helpful and we all enjoyed our meals. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Well done team! Suggestion: you need a clothes dryer in the complex for wet motorcyclists to dry off gloves etc. It could be a coin operated one to make it pay for itself.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
coropark wrote a review Nov 2021
13 contributions5 helpful votes
We arrived late, thinking we had booked a unit. We realised we had booked a unit on Bealey Ave, Chch once we arrived at Bealey Hotel. The owner was very obliging and helped us to cancel the Chch booking while organising a unit for us. The rooms are a really high standard with thoughtful touches and a contemporary decor. The view from the unit is fantastic. Would definety stay again and thoroughly recommend this accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sharon Britton wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We stayed for only one night but the room was clean and had everything we needed from the spa pool to the comfortable beds, warm room. We had dinner in the restaurant. Food was excellent (and the cocktails were yummy too) friendly staff well looked after. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bealey hotel arthurs pass
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionArthur's Pass National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bealey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bealey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Otira Viaduct Lookout (7.8 km), Bealey Spur (1.9 km), and Bealey Valley Track (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bealey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Bealey Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Bealey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bealey Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bealey Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jack's Hut (12.0 km).
Does The Bealey Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.