We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Bealey Hotel

12863 W Coast Rd, Arthur's Pass National Park 7875 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (209)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bealey Hotel has a rich and long history of Hospitality in the region dating back to 1865. In its current form, rebuilt in the late '80s after a fire, the Hotel has just undergone a complete retro refit. Bordering on the Arthur's Pass National Park, Come and enjoy good quality southern hospitality in one of New Zealand's most scenic alpine locations
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Washing machine
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
292Reviews1Q+A64Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 100
  • 76
  • 60
  • 39
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
PaintingitRed wrote a review Feb 2024
Chelmsford, United Kingdom61 contributions31 helpful votes
Well located hotel on Arthur’s Pass. Room was clean and practical albeit a little tired and in need of modernising. Ideal for a one night stay but no longer. Nice view from the room. Staff were really friendly and the food we had in the restaurant was decent.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kinokeen wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore116 contributions59 helpful votes
First time arrived the experience and service were excellent by the two girls which were friendly and cheerful. Next morning because my daughter couldn’t sleep well and had a hard time waking her and we reached the breakfast restaurant before 10am the manager locked the restaurant door. Started moving our luggage and almost done by 10.30am the manager calling chased us to check out lol! Come on late by 30min you want to charge us $25 ??? Is not like you have guest waiting in the lobby to checking and your hotel rooms are full. The staff service saved the rating if not I will give 1 star rating. The manager service was bad and the impression he gave I thought he owned the hotel that’s why have this kind of attitude. Even if you are business owner shouldn’t you give better service to improve and grow your business.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go breakfast early if not the manager will lock the restaurant. And check out by 10am if not you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Livingston, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2023
Hello Breakfast is open from 8am - 10am, the doors that day were locked at 10am as they are every day, you arrived after 10am for breakfast. We are sorry to hear your daughter did not sleep well, however if you had called us and advised you were running late and needed a bit of extra time to vacate your room, that would have been fine, when it gets to 10.30am with no communication this is now considered a late check. Our policy is 10am checkout, in future I suggest ringing the front desk to advise them you are running late. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rod C wrote a review Jun 2023
Greater Sydney, Australia8 contributions
We open the door to our villa, walked through the warm lounge to a balcony where we enjoyed views of the river and scenic valley. There was plenty of room to relax and spread out, and everything was clean and to be expected. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. We had breakfast delivered to the room to help with our early morning start. The evening meal at the Crafty Moa was sensational - at the time of booking the room we were also advised to reserve a table for dinner - suggest you check with the staff in case this is still the case.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: A really nice addition was a coffee plunger and ground coffee sachets which I think was a New...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Remmy5 wrote a review Mar 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom133 contributions79 helpful votes
The hotel is in the middle of Arthur's pass. Room was modern and clean and well equipped. Free continental breakfast was provided but was very disappointing. Yoghurt was starting to ferment and some slices of bread were mouldy. Due to its rural location they had to provide and option for breakfast, but it felt like they were trying to do it as cheaply as possible and it spoilt the overall experience at what was otherwise a lovely hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Hawkes, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Hi Remmy5, Really sorry to hear of your experience at breakfast. Being remote with limited access to suppliers can cause some issues, but the team usually manages those successfully. We try to install in all our staff that breakfast is our last opportunity to show the guests we care about their experience so I feel really let down to hear about your feed back. I will have a chat to the team about your experience and look how we can make sure it doesn't happen again. Many thanks, Matty
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janna wrote a review Mar 2023
4 contributions7 helpful votes
There was an extra special mountain and braided river view from our comfortable clean room with nice decor. We had a good pub meal with excellent frendly service and then enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning. I Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jane P wrote a review Feb 2023
Ipswich, United Kingdom464 contributions240 helpful votes
A great location if you are looking for somewhere to stay along the beautiful journey between Christchurch and Greymouth. We stayed for one night, in room 1 which also has a spa pool. The room was very spacious and comfortable and well furnished - nice shower and bathroom too. Fabulous views. Breakfast is continental style - I wouldn’t describe it as the hotels best feature but it’s perfectly acceptable to set you up for the day ahead. Evening meal was included in our booking - that was delicious- we just loved the fruit crumble dessert! There are a number of signs around the hotel advising about staff shortage and being kind and respectful to the staff on duty. Such a shame this is necessary - we felt very well looked after by the team at The Bealey and send our thanks and best wishes to all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
edmjl wrote a review Jan 2023
amsterdam219 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here 2 nights on our trip to Arthur’s Pass. Spacious parking possibility. We have booked the superior Villa suite. It is Simple furnished (with 2 sitting corners, a small dining for 4, tv, comfy bed) but very clean and tidy. Additional terrace attached to the narrow terrace with a jacuzzi overlooking an amazing view. Bathroom is located at the hallway. Good shower. What we love the most is the view of the mountains around us while relaxing in the prewarmed jacuzzi bath outside after spending the whole day exploring the area (don’t know exactly if the previous guests had left the tub on or if the lodge staffs have kept maintaining the ready warm bath for the guests to plunge in anytime). Luckily we stayed there on the days when the restaurant was opened, no need to venture out for another option. We had breakfast on both days of our stays and a dinner. Breakfast is quite simple. Dinner is good. One of the waiter is very friendly, an Indian guy. Probably because we only met the rest of the staffs during breakfast time, and most of the time they are standing behind the bar, busy with all kind of tasks, we felt a tad lack of guest hospitality. A good choice to stay on your trip to Arthur’s pass village, which is a few minutes away (approx, 5 -10 minutes) .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel staff provides a complete information about the hotel, have a good read of it ( to avoid...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DayTrip57346807628 wrote a review Jan 2023
Hotel location and accommodation is wonderful, service and personal attention was great in spite of severe staff shortage. We felt welcome guests in all aspects. Views from the room and from dining room are magnificent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
The Aviator UK wrote a review Dec 2022
Saint-Cergue, Switzerland9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The journey across the Southern Alps is already indescribable in its beauty, majesty and isolation. Imagine then coming across this oasis right in the middle of the journey - miles from anywhere, a welcoming, friendly beacon right on the flood plain of the Waimakiriri River with views that simply take your breath away. Travelling between Kaikoura and Franz Josef, we decided to spend New Year’s Eve here and we’re so glad we did. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, despite the fact that the hotel, like most, is still recovering from the post-Covid staffing crisis and are stretched thin. We stayed in Villa 2 and had stupendous views over the valley, with a small balcony from which to enjoy them. The villa was spotless and very well equipped with a super-comfortable double bed, 2 singles and a sofa bed. There’s also a small kitchenette for those who wish to self-cater. We ate our NYE dinner in the restaurant. Service was spectacular and the food - well! My partner had the local loin of lamb and it melted in the mouth. I went simple and had the hoki and chips, but this was no ordinary fish - whoever made the batter and fried it, stand up and take a bow, because you, my friend, are an artist worthy of a Michelin star. It was the lightest, crispiest batter I’ve ever had and the fish was just perfect - sweet, juicy and utterly delicious. Great food doesn’t need to be pretentious and this was a masterclass on how to get it right. On the menu there’s an option to spend $20 to buy the staff a drink - I encourage you to make use of it because these guys are doing a really great job in trying circumstances and they deserve it. Summary: if you’re travelling that way in NZ, make a detour if necessary and stay at the Bealey - it’ll be an experience that stays with you for a ling time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SomersetHoops wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions
Spacious suite with fabulous view of the river, valley and mountains. Spotlessly clean and excellent WiFi. We ate a good meal in the restaurant and continental breakfast was included. Food was all fresh and plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware of the sandflies! Citronella candle in the room and/or heat pump as they don't like wind!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arthur's Pass National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bealey hotel arthurs pass
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionArthur's Pass National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BEALEY HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Arthur's Pass National Park) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bealey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bealey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Otira Viaduct Lookout (7.8 km), Bealey Spur (1.9 km), and Bealey Valley Track (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bealey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Bealey Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Bealey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bealey Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bealey Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jack's Hut (12.0 km).
Does The Bealey Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.