We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bealey Hotel

PricelineUS$53*
View Deal
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$95*
US$53*
Great Deal
US$95*
US$95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bealey Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Bealey Hotel
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very average rooms for the price, my bed felt broken and bathroom was ordinary. Very limited choices for dinner, but meals were good. While they offer Wi-Fi, it didn't work in the room I had. Wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The problem with the Bealey Hotel is that nobody cares. They don't care about their guests, they don't care for their property, and they don't care if you stay or not. It's a take it or leave it deal here. There is no service. No conversation. No hospitality. No interest in whether their guests are satisfied or not. No housekeeping....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparky536
BealeyHotel, Front Office Manager at Bealey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do care a lot about our guests and in Wintertime we offer guest breakfast whenever they would like it and you can either have it in the restaurant or in your cabin. Nobody needs to beg here just talking to us works fine. Our winter opening times are from 11am so everything before that time will be...

Mordialloc
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were disappointed by the quality of the accommodation on offer here but felt that its saving grace is the views and stunning clear night sky - basically the natural beauty of the area. The view across the river plane and being able to pass time with our 3 and 5-yr old playing along the river and in the rocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gee4409
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is basic but the location is exceptional.Good for people wanting to take a break closer to Arthur's pass or else you can drive on further.Room was clean and bed was soft and good.Few hikes can be done around this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anushahegd
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we couldn't travel due to a sudden family sickness, we phoned and explained this to management but were basically told tough luck and were charged for the room regardless under the circumstances I feel this approach of theirs was very disappointing and we'll be sure to never ever dine or stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucky C
BealeyHotel, Manager at Bealey Hotel, responded to this review

You were not told 'tough luck' when you called to cancel on the day of your booking. We have a simple policy for late cancellations - if we can fill the room at late notice, there is no charge. However, as with every other accommodation provider, we are entitled to charge a guest for their reservation (preventing others from booking)...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This is a tired hotel that's no longer trying to offer much. It seems to capture a lot of the tourist traffic but is a bit of an embarrassment to NZ really. The building is not sympathetic to the stuffing environment at all. No views. When I was there there was no umbrellas on the outside tables. The only seating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PIntboy568
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Stopped off for lunch at the Hotel by chance. Small but interesting selection of meals. Chose the Steak Sammy which with translation was a Steak Sandwich made with Panini Bread. Couldn't be faulted. That is saying something because I judge cafes and roadhouses by the quality of their steak sandwiches. The steak was cooked to perfection (just rare side of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george45
Reviewed 12 March 2017

These unit are in a great location with a amazing view, and the rooms were clean however the rooms are overpriced and very very basic. The mattress was terrible (as were the other two beds in the room) The bathroom was very basic and the shower peaked back in the late 60's. All this we could put up with, except...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zane G
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Our Tranz Alpine train had been cancelled due to a bridge fire but rather than cancel our overnight we grabbed a hire car in Greymouth and drove up the pass to spend the night at The Bealey. The views from the property are simply STUNNING, but the cabin we had was little better than a tramping cabin. It was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Absolute peace! Was very lovely to sit on the deck of our cabin and enjoy the mountains. Hosts were extremely friendly, kept the restaurant open late for us, and the bar! Food was delicious. Can't wait to go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollie H

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
1.3 km away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
243 reviews
2.1 km away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
141 reviews
14.1 km away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 km away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 10 in Methven
43 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Address: SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: $73 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bealey Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bealey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another hotel”
sparky536, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 on the end has the best views up to Arthurs pass and downs the river.”
Gee4409, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in another hotel would be best”
891zaneg, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All cabins have beautiful views!”
, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for cabins overlooking the river and further down towards the riverbed”
AmerH893, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$53*
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$95
Hotwire.comUS$95
Orbitz.comUS$95
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates