We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

30 Cloudesley Rd Bealey Spur, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 lodges in Arthur's Pass National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A peaceful retreat in the midst of spectacular mountains. Base for outdoor activities. Evening meals and lunches provided by arrangement. Sustainable eco-living at its best. Nestled amongst native bush. Home stay/bed and breakfast. Rain water, solar power and composting (waterless) toilet
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
First aid kit
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Walk-in shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms

Location

30 Cloudesley Rd Bealey Spur, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654 New Zealand
Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
43Reviews0Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sandra H wrote a review Nov 2022
Australia14 contributions2 helpful votes
I was fortunate to stay here on the night of a full moon eclipse and confess I stayed up most of the night soaking up the view. From the very comfy bed. After a very lovely dinner and good wine and excellent company. Helen offers her visitors warmth and a generous hospitality which is perfectly pitched for the company. Also she makes the best coffee from freshly ground beans. A privilege to stay here and wish I might do so again. Thank you Helen.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
blueduck49 wrote a review May 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand68 contributions74 helpful votes
Others who have stayed here have covered the ground on the superlatives of the views, and I'm reduced to echoing them. We arrived right on dusk and were treated to the fading light with the mountain ridges backlit by the dyning sun. After dark we sat on the balcony gazing up through the crystal clear air at the brilliant array of stars, until the warmth of the log fire drew us inside. A hearty meal and a glass of wine, was followed by a conversation on a diversity of topics with our host, Helen. The bed was super comfy and we slept until woken by a cup of tea in bed, truly one of life's greatest luxuries. Homemade bread and muesli for breakfast. What a way to break our Covid -19 isolation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
harv3999 wrote a review May 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
A warm welcome and a beautifully maintained warm homely lodge was the perfect setting after a day in the hills. The views are stunning from every room and the unparalleled local knowledge of tracks by host Helen has added many adventures to my list. A great nights sleep after a home cooked meal and I was ready to tackle another peak the next day. Can not fault my eco lodge experience and definitely recommend you to take a look.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SLM903 wrote a review Feb 2020
Farnham, United Kingdom51 contributions21 helpful votes
I was shocked to see dishes on the side, bread and crumbs on the table, food in a pan on the stove, a fridge full of stuff, even a honey comb on the kitchen work surface, and kitchen bin full. $500 for 3 ppl for two nights . Very very disappointed. We didn't stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lk1983186338 wrote a review Jun 2017
London, United Kingdom24 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed with Helen on our honeymoon and had a really lovely stay. The location of this lodge and views are its huge selling point, as well as Helen's welcoming nature. A huge highlight was lying in bed looking out of the window at the amazing stars- makes you just want to stay awake! Helen works for the DOC so is a great font of advice and the lodge is really well located for all the local tramps. We recommend reading about the place before staying as the eco elements may no suit some travellers eg toilet, but we went there knowing all of this and it really is part of the charm. My only suggestion would be for Helen to send out directions via email ahead of the stay- we had to stop off at a nearby Inn to find out exactly where the lodge is! Many thanks Helen- we hope you enjoyed Peru!, Liza and Daryl
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Helen gave us a choice of the two rooms, and only ever hosts guests from the same party at any...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 21 Jun 2017
Thanks for choosing to stay with me! I will definitely take on board the directions to find my home suggestion. However, because of the very small number of residents, everyone knows everyone! Peru was SO different from my imagination and the 11 day trek was about "eating an elephant one bite at a time". Hopefully you're keeping safe in a country being constantly subjected to attacks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KendisS wrote a review Dec 2016
22 contributions7 helpful votes
This was a very special experience for us. Helen is a great host! Warm , positive , energetic , intelligent and funny! we just love chatting with her! She has extensive knowledge on the local history, nature and hiking. Follow her advice and you will have the most amazing experience! Her ecolodge is a beautifully designed house with big windows facing the best view you can ever ask for. Surprisingly We didn't miss the wifi at all while we stay there. The fact that there is no wifi makes it even easier to truly enjoy the beauty of this place and the nature around it. We feel privileged that Helen shared her home with us for two nights and had some quality time spent there in this hidden gem in Bealey. The location is right at the start of the bealey spur summit track. Helen made us dinner for both nights and it was really delicious and healthy meals! Home baked bread and cake are also very yummy we loved our stay there with Helen ! We wish we could stay longer!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 8 Dec 2016
Thanks, team. I thoroughly enjoyed your company and am pleased that you were able to climb Avalanche Peak - ALL those photos - which ones will you delete???
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jane C wrote a review Sept 2016
1 contribution1 helpful vote
It is totally unique and typically NZ. Pristine. A lovely breakfast with home made bread and yogurt. As it is an Eco lodge we didn't expect extra amenities Helen was a great host. .The position of the lodge is amazing with outstanding views of the valley and mountains. It is more a home stay but we had a wonderful dinner with wine and Helen was great company It was warm, cosy and the beds were very comfortable and the stars at night were something to behold.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: only 2 rooms both with equal views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lucinda201096 wrote a review Apr 2016
Sydney, Australia3 contributions
We enjoyed our eco-experience at Helen's house. Helen was a wonderful hostess who cooked a beautiful dinner and was warm and engaging. Nothing was too much trouble for Helen and she provided great insights into the local area. The bed was very warm and comfortable. The 'no flush' toilet took a bit of getting used to for us. This experience is not a 5 star hotel but it is the most welcoming B&B you could choose!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brian D wrote a review Apr 2016
Burswood, Australia12 contributions13 helpful votes
Our bedroom was clean and the place was warm, but we were expecting power so we could charge our phones. The kitchen bench had crumbs and food out on it. Dishes stacked on the drain board. The kitchen wasn't clean. We would not have stayed, but it was late and there are few alternatives in this rather remote area. There is no WiFi or phone coverage here, which the hostess (Fern) did tell us. If we had clicked trough the details on TripAdvisor to her web page we would have known about the power and "no flush" toilet. I think that detail should probably be on the TripAdvisor page. When we left, Fern asked us not to strip the bed, but to make it instead, which made us wonder whether we had slept on clean sheets. At $160 were were expecting better. There were lots of nice comments in the guest book, so evidently many people have enjoyed staying. Maybe this was just not a good time for our hostess. All in all we wouldn't have minded if it was clean, the toilet didn't smell and was half the price.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Manager at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 28 Apr 2016
Thanks Brian for your feedback. I'm Helen, not Fern. You did made the observation that you should have checked my website. I could have charged your phone with the inverter off the solar charged batteries, had you asked. I did note that you did not complete the visitor book, as I has asked, although you had obviously perused it. The accusations of reused sheets is unfounded - most guests pull up the covers, and I service the room after work. I'm obviously not a the luxury end of the market- this is my home, but I hope you valued the experience of living off-grid.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zephry73 wrote a review May 2015
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Helen is a fantastic host. She made a beautiful main meal, accomadating for my food allergies. We where offered a number of choices for breakfast, which was delicious. The bed was super comfortable and warm. In the morning we woke to the most stunning view of Arthur's Pass. Helen is also a New Zealand registered celebrant. She made arrangements for my partner and I to get married at her lodge with the Arthur's Pass as our stunning back drop. Fantastic food, fantastic host, fantastic accomodation and fantastic wedding celebrant. All at a very reasonable cost. Thanks Helen, for the lovely time you gave us and for contributing to our special day.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 6 May 2015
Wasn't it fun? I thoroughly enjoyed "the day" too. The ring-in witnesses and photographer make it even more unique!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arthur's Pass National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionArthur's Pass National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARTHUR'S PASS ECO LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Arthur's Pass National Park) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Bealey Spur (0.1 km), Bealey Valley Track (7.9 km), and Cass-Lagoon Saddle Track (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jack's Hut (13.5 km).