We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass

Traveller (210)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Enjoy stylish accommodation, fine food, and an exciting and diverse programme of guided nature and sheep farming adventures in the heart of the Southern Alps. The lodge sits on a 4000 acre working sheep farm and nature reserve, surrounded by the peaks of Arthur's Pass National Park. Guests can unwind in comfort or choose more active relaxation. Explore private trails or join an expert guide to hike alpine valleys, search for wildlife, and kayak upon mountain lakes. A highlight for guests are the sheep farm discovery trips every second afternoon. Join a farmer guide to watch sheepdogs working, hand feed lambs and learn about sheep shearing and merino wool.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
291Reviews
226Photos
4Q+A
57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 38
  • 10
  • 7
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed 3 nights year following on from the other Wilderness Lodge at Lake Moeraki. The location is a good contrast from the other lodge -we enjoyed the local suggested walks around the property and can particularly recommend the Bealey Spur walks as you get a good view of
Read more
This place really is in the middle of nowhere and offers an opportunity to learn about the diversity of New Zealand wildlife and fauna as well as the challenges and intricacies of sheep farming. Mike is a great and welcoming host and the staff are attentive and well trained. The
Read more
This is a beautiful property with great walks available on the property and extending into the surrounding area. The rooms are very nice and the lounge is very comfortable. The meals are quite good. The tour of the sheep farm on the property was very interesting and fun. If
Read more
Response from Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Steven, Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and would love to see you back one day. Kind wishes, Michael McSweeney Manager
Read more
My family and I stayed at the Wilderness Lodge in Arthur's Pass for 2 nights. We had 2 connecting mountain view rooms on the 2nd floor. Arrival: The staff did a great job of welcoming us and orienting us to the property. The lobby area is beautiful and showcases the
Read more
Response from Tawaki, Manager at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 972jeanh, Thanks for the comprehensive review of your Wilderness Lodge stay. We're so please to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us. We work really hard to offer a unique wilderness experience in a remote corner of New Zealand so it's heartening to know when that our guests appreciate it as much as your family obviously did. Kind wishes and we would be delighted to host you again one day, Michael McSweeney Manager
Read more
Enjoyable stay in the wilderness lodge with interesting guided walks but definitely overrated and overpriced. The gourmet dinner and breakfast is disappointing (no cappuccino to be had; food overcooked and tasteless); the wifi connection is very poor; the rooms are rather basic.
Read more
Response from Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Michele, First and foremost, apologies for not living up to expectations. We work hard to give all our guests a memorable experience and we didn't get it quite right this time. We did make a last minute special exception to our minimum two night stay requirement so you could fit at stay with us into your tight itinerary. An overnight stop really doesn't allow guests the time to make the most of everything the Wilderness Lodge has to offer. This is why all our guests generally spend at least two days with us and perhaps part of the reason you were less than satisfied with your stay. I hope the rest of your travels were a success. Kind wishes, Michael McSweeney Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementWilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Spectacular Alpine Vista from a Mountain View Room
Common Room view
Guided Walk along Broad Stream Gorge, Late Afternoon View
Trail View on Half-Day Guided Excursion to Hike in Arthur's Pass
Another Pic of Our Pretty & Comfy Room with a View
PreviousNext
12345610
Greetings, I believe you have now spoken with one of our team. For others considering a Wilderness Lodge stay, the best contact point is through our website's booking and enquiry forms. You will also find info on pricing and what we offer. Kind wishes and happy travels, Anne Saunders & Dr Gerry McSweeney Owner-Directors
0 votes
Apologies for the delay in answering... From Christchurch you can either rent a car and drive to Wilderness Lodge Arthur's Pass (2 hours) or take once-daily train to Arthur's Pass Village. Transfers from the train station to the lodge (16km) are available. If traveling by train, we can transfer you back to the station and you can take the train to Greymouth whereyou can continue your journey by rental car. Both train and rental car have advantages. Both are very scenic. Having your own vehicle does allow you more flexibility to explore the area and to arrive and depart at a time that suits you. Good luck with your travel planning and please contact us if you have further questions.
0 votes
Show all answers
Greetings, Twinkemelody is correct. Our guided sheep farm discovery trips which happen every second day are available only to guests staying with us. We would love to host your family if you can fit a Wilderness Lodge stay into your itinerary. Best wishes for your New Zealand travels, The Wilderness Lodge Team
0 votes
Show all answers
"I think most rooms enjoy stunning views over the mountains"
"cant comment on all the rooms but I certainly would recommend number 22"
"No elevator but rooms on ground floor."
"Rooms on the second floor have a better view."
"Ist floor rooms have better views"
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$375 - US$451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wilderness lodge arthurs pass hotel arthurs pass
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionArthur's Pass National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing