We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620 New Zealand
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Destinia.com
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (24)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 5 in Whangamata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
247Reviews1Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 170
  • 62
  • 8
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GeoffandJan wrote a review Mar 2022
Gold Coast Australia13 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely people, great pool, excellent wifi, big comfy bed, handy to everything in town. Supermarket only a couple of streets away. Happy to stay again and will do. Better value than going to the Gold Coast.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Some have spa pools if you request one.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ripped Off wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Don't ever book here : Breakers Motel, 318 Hetherington Road, 3620 Whangamata - they say 'fully refundable' deposit but even if you have genuine reasons for cancellation, they keep your full deposit and won't refund !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Hi 'Savvy Traveller'.... if you were to put a name to your review we could give you a response, however to make a remark such as you have and no name is a little cowardice.
Read more
107shelli wrote a review Oct 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand4 contributions
Great location, walked around the marina and along the beach then back through town with a great coffee. Sat in the sun on the balcony and enjoyed the outlook. Beautifully clean rooms with comfy beds and friendly, helpful owners.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review Sheryl, great that you enjoyed your stay with us and Whangamata's cafes. Hope you return again to stay.
Read more
Chris S wrote a review Sep 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Easy to find on the road into town. Friendly helpful owners and great room with private spa pool on the balcony. The bed was sooo comfortable and loved the heatlamps in the bathroom. Will be back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel
Responded 7 Nov 2021
Hi Chris, Thank you for your lovely review. We hope you will return again to stay with us. Kind regards Lynne
Read more
Kaye D wrote a review Jun 2021
Auckland, New Zealand47 contributions42 helpful votes
Loved everything about our stay from the hospitality to the room we were shown to, couldn't ask for a better place to stay, very roomy, we had the 2 bedroomed unit and it is certainly spacious, extremely happy with my stay
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: For a larger group or family the 2 bedroomed unit is extremely spacious
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lynne Davis, Owner at Breakers Motel
Responded 7 Nov 2021
Thank you Kaye for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you return again to stay with us sometime. Kind regards Lynne
Read more
kiwipete0620 wrote a review Apr 2021
kiwipete062014 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed here for a night on a business trip. The proprietor was friendly and the bed was confortable but cleanliness seemed average (cupboard handles were sticky and the bathroom seemed to have only been superficially cleaned.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ann wrote a review Nov 2020
4 contributions
Excellent room,excellent staff and very clean near to town all you need for a very pleasant stay- would visit again because of all the comments I have made you will see that I ythought it very suitable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: all good wherever you are in this motel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
heather h wrote a review Aug 2020
Northallerton, United Kingdom113 contributions62 helpful votes
We received a helpful reception with the owner showing us the room before we decided to stay The self catering room had everything we needed with the bonus of a hot tub on the balcony. It was clean and well run The owner was happy to recommend places of interest for us to visit and loaned us a spade and beach towels to enable us to visit the hot sands. The motel is within an easy walk of shops, bars and restaurants and if you like walking, the beach. Would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from George Bakker, Owner at Breakers Motel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Thank you for your kind review. Regards Ross and Megan
Read more
Chris .S wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I Love this place ,my 5th stay there , amazing service , would definitely recommend , the best value for money in the coromandel , walking distance to cafes/restaurants , definitely the number 1 pick in whangamata
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sinead K wrote a review Mar 2020
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam5 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a first-class motel. We received a very welcoming warm reception. The spacious room was very comfortable, well equipped with micro-wave, hob, fridge etc. and was spotlessly clean throughout. Our ground floor unit opened onto a relaxing patio area and a landscaped area with kidney-shaped swimming pool. And, after I accidentally left my cellphone behind, Ross was incredibly generous and considerate in posting it to me, despite having only 48 hours to the nationwide level 4 lockdown. I give this motel my highest recommendation and will return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 692meganl, Owner at Breakers Motel
Responded 3 Apr 2020
Thanks Sinead. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in our beautiful country and managed to get home OK. Regards Ross and Megan.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
breakers hotel whangamata
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaWhangamata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Breakers Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Breakers Motel?
Nearby attractions include The Little Gallery Whangamata (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Breakers Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Breakers Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Breakers Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Breakers Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Breakers Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Port Road Project, Soul Burger, and SixFortySix.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Breakers Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Breakers Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Whangamata.
Are pets allowed at Breakers Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Breakers Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.