Long Bay Motor Camp
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Long Bay Motor Camp

Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (3)
View from Room (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 8 campsites in Coromandel
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Beach
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Golf course
Hiking
Fishing
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Allergy-free room
Private beach
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
58Reviews1Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 21
  • 7
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
FolkestoneJack wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom565 contributions174 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed two nights in a two bedroom studio unit on the water front which was just lovely. The setting of the camp is absolutely gorgeous with a terrific stretch of beach and wonderful walks that can be accessed off the camp grounds. We loved the visits from the friendly camp cat too!

We had everything we needed in the unit in the well stocked kitchen and two bedrooms. The camp shop next door was handy for extra supplies, especially for its good range of ice creams.

The unit proved the perfect base to explore the sights in the local area, including Driving Creek railway, and the shops/restaurants of Coromandel Town. If you choose to walk, it takes about 30 minutes between Coromandel Town and the Camp one way.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hippyguide wrote a review Apr 2020
14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stumbled across this park after talking to a local. The owners were fantastic and made us fill so welcome. The park is right on the beach, the amenities were clean and the park itself although not new was very accommodating for our family.
Would highly recommend this park for a quite get away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Athenry22 wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland, New Zealand179 contributions181 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on our recent coromandel trip, we found this little gem on our travels, lovely friendly staff, we can choose our site, the sunset was amazing, dogs are allowed which is good. The owners dog chief is a real character, likes to get in on the action. It is a lovely quiet spot, the kauri walk was a bonus and walking over to the next bay. Worth a visit if you are up that way.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AussieInNZ wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked in to Long Bay Motor Camp a few weeks before after doing a call around, as we wanted to enjoy 3 nights away in our campervan before getting back to work. Upon arrival they were unable to find our booking, even though they had supplied details and we had fully prepaid on those details.

Their solution was to put us on 1 site for 1 night, then another site for 2 nights. Which normally we wouldn't have been too happy about but would have run with as we understand issues occur and you have to make the best of the situation, however it was the approach of the staff that was dispicable. There were no apologies, no acknowledgements that a mistake had been made, and zero customer service at all. Instead they just said "you will be on this site tonight, then that site tomorrow night". When I questioned it, I was met with a very passive agressive response of "its the busy season". I expressed some concern about having to setup our annex twice to which I was met with "if you don't like it, you can have your money back". At this stage I decided to chat with my wife in the car, and we decided to look for alternatives before checking in there. When I went to tell them that, Les pretty much through our money at me.

We will never be going back there again, and highly recommend that you are very careful to confirm all details of your bookings should you be looking to go there again. Including asking if you are on one site for the entire time.

Note: I held back writing this review for 2 nights as I wanted to be reflect and see if I had contributed in any way to their actions, but I continue to feel that it was very poor customer service that led to the frustration we had over the situation. Les in particular was very passive aggressive.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte S wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived, went to reception to pay, and then went to see our camping spots. I wish we looked before we paid as we decided not to stay as the place was so awful. I asked for a refund but they wouldn't agree to this - left very unhappy!

The camping slots were on a slope and so squished in. Couldn't see the sea as so many people in front of you, even though on booking we were told it was sea front. It was so busy, like horribly. Expensive at $25 per person per night. There was also a 10 minute walk to a shower, or you had to drive to the shower blocks, and only a shavings toilet near the camp. The camping sites were so close to each other you couldn't walk through between tents - it was like a festival, 100% not safe for Covid precautions. The camp sites we were given were also on a big slope! They said it was the last they had, but it shouldn't have been sold as a camping site as you would roll out your tent!!

Honestly loosing the $100 was worth it not to have to stay at that place. Everything but relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TaiwaTamaki wrote a review Jan 2022
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Made a phone booking with the lady who sounded lovely. On arrival spoken to extremely rudely by the guy at reception, calling me a liar about my face mask exemption which I showed to him. We ended up leaving & not staying as he continued to speak to me & partner completely disrespectfully. Amazing location, would not support this business
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Renaesmart wrote a review Dec 2016
Hamilton, New Zealand57 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great family night, went down to the beach at Long Bay, found ourselves a spot in the sun with a glorious view and ordered takeaways from the onsite caravan. We had amazing burgers, the kids enjoyed their hot dog, fish and chips! Good value for money and a super friendly team, I envision there will be many many more visits for our family! I highly recommend as a must stop for fish n chip night on the beach!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim B wrote a review Jul 2017
Sydney, Australia1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived in motorhome after some very wet days so concerned about getting bogged. Super friendly hosts, so helpful and all done with a smile. Not only did they shift a caravan for us but then shovelled sand onto the site so we could get a good grip. We then went for a walk and returned to find they had laid a timber platform outside the door.....how good is that. The location is stunning with beautiful bushwalks through stands of kauri. They also run another campground in the next bay which is also beautiful and very private. Highly recommend this camground.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marijedubois wrote a review Dec 2016
Groningen, The Netherlands6 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a beautifull stay and first night in our camper at the bay. Very relaxed, friendly and helpfull (our camper curtains did not fit) people. The kitchen, toilets and showers are good and clean! Had a great time and a good sleep with the sound of the bay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
India2012 wrote a review Feb 2018
Christchurch, New Zealand669 contributions135 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a hut, 20qm , in real it was maximum 8qm. If the weather is nice, it's fine, you can sit outside, but with rain you are trapped in a cage. Positive was, the 2 public walk ways, very nice walks! Owners was nice. WiFi doesn't work, we paid money for nothing :-) They give us a new code, but didn't work at all. In the night the huts get very hot,....we let the door open, but than you get the mosquitos. People walk there dogs there, not on lashes,...even there are big signs. One of the guests, an old guy, let his dog poo everywhere....didn't clean up after. Next to our hut , a little party tent, not my style of music, if you look for quietness, didn't work for us :-) Showers was also not good, to not or to cold ,all in all, not worth the money, we would not come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne M, Owner at Long Bay Motor Camp
Responded 18 Mar 2018
Thank you for your review, we don't have problems with the WiFi generally and I did replace the the WiFi access for you if you were still having problems you should have notified us. We are currently putting fan in there for the hotter periods, it has been a very hot summer and all accommodation has been hot. And there is not AC units going in because thats what camping is not about. Unfortunate that dogs weren't on leash but this time of the year, they don't have to (Council does not require this) and the beach is a public beach so its up to the public to clean up after themselves and their dogs. If you had told us this dog was doing this we would have contacted the dog owner. If you wanted to be somewhere where you were the only people in the general area you should have paid for the more expensive accommodation and probably somewhere else as this is a popular camp ground and there are always going to be people and families having a good time and having music and BBQ's. My suggestion is look at the price if its only $78 for a little hut all of your own its going to be basic and not have all the bells and whistles because thats what camping is not about - its about being basic. One good thing is you must have sweet skin for the mosquitos to have liked you. Sorry if this is unprofessional but pay more get more Leanne the Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sallyrlfrench wrote a tip Sept 2017
Rotorua, New Zealand15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great beach for families"
Read full review
susiejean2016 wrote a tip May 2017
Rangiora, New Zealand52 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We took our van but there were some cabins there which looked nice and clean and well placed."
Read full review
Jenanne6 wrote a tip Feb 2017
Whitianga45 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best option come with a caravan or camper an or tent."
Read full review
DebsG09 wrote a tip Jul 2015
Wellington16 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in a campervan. Since we were here in winter we had the choice of any site, but they all had superb views over the inlet."
Read full review
Sian L wrote a tip Dec 2014
Arundel, United Kingdom19 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cabin next to the toilet and shower block (don't worry - not too close for it to be noisy) has the best view of the bay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Coromandel area.
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaCoromandel
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LONG BAY MOTOR CAMP - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Coromandel) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Long Bay Motor Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Long Bay Motor Camp?
Nearby attractions include The Coromandel Smoking Co. (2.4 km), Mercury Bay (2.6 km), and Kauri Block Track (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Long Bay Motor Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a golf course, and internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Long Bay Motor Camp?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Long Bay Motor Camp?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Long Bay Motor Camp?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar, Umu, and Star and Garter Hotel.
Are pets allowed at Long Bay Motor Camp?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Coromandel HotelsCoromandel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CoromandelHotels near Long Bay Motor Camp
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire