Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

One of many sun sets at Shelley's beach top 10 camp ground
Traveller (146)
Pool & Beach (31)
Shelly Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 8 campsites in Coromandel
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Coromandel Shelly Beach TOP 10 Park is a beautiful Coromandel accommodation option recognised for its fantastic location located just five minutes from the Coromandel Township on the road to Port Jackson. Escape the hustle and bustle while enjoying close access to the Coromandel township with award winning restaurants, fun parks, fishing charters and access to refreshing walks that take you to amazing scenic spots. Heated swimming pool with splash zone, beach access straight from the park provides safe swimming and coastal exploration for the whole family. In-park activities include a jumping pillow, playground, volleyball and room for creative games on our extensive lawns. Enjoy our BBQ rotunda and free barbeques where you can cook up your catch of the day!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
24-hour security
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Complimentary tea
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Electric kettle
Electric blanket
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:BOOK DIRECT BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles543 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park is lauded for creating a tranquil and secluded atmosphere with rooms that not only offer fantastic views but are also meticulously maintained. The staff's friendliness and attention to detail do not go unnoticed as guests consistently commend the excellent service and cleanliness. Situated close to the beach with family-friendly amenities, it offers a slice of paradise at an affordable price, though attention to safety on wet surfaces has been advised.
Location
Secluded
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
543Reviews0Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 394
  • 116
  • 18
  • 11
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
C4nt3rbury wrote a review Aug 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This camping ground is fantastic. Super clean, modern communal facilities. Very very friendly and informative staff on arrival.
Location couldn't be any closer to the beach.
A heated pool all year round is a real bonus. Didn't use it, but a lot of families looked as if they were having a great time.
Great rates.
Would definitely return if back up this way. This camping ground really topped off our raps trip of the Coromandel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shelly Beach, General Manager at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review C4nt3rbury. We are excited to hear you loved our holiday park. We are looking forward to seeing you back here!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roam718382 wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The charismatic, open, true-blue kiwi customer service, user-friendly ammenities, great location, beautiful bay for swimming, and campsite energy made this the perfect stay on our roady up the Coromandel. It's proximity to the nearby town is beneficial, and their openness to dogs staying is perfect (not that we had dogs, I just got to enjoy everyone else's!). I would highly recommend going to a late sunset swim in the bay at high tide, it was a spiritual experience almost!

Note that you do have to bring your own cookware, they provide cleaning stuffs like dishracks and pot scrubbers, but no cutlery, cooking spoons or pots, as per usual to these places. So bring your own along, plus some stickers and a sharpie to label your fridge bag.

We camped on the waterfront space, and it was really a lovely location. 10/10 would recommend, revisit and re-enjoy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron McFarlane, Owner at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 6 Mar 2021
Thanks for the great review! Glad you & your furry friends had a great stay with us. See you another time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
nzcowlady wrote a review Jun 2020
Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of those places you want to tell everyone and noone about. Tell everyone because it's so great but noone so you can always get a booking.

We had read about the "pods" this campsite has. These are small, standalone rooms that are cute as a button, super warm (in the middle of a stormy winter weekend), with just enough room for a couple to snuggle or friends to drink wine and play cards (recommend a pod each for sleeping). We wanted to take our pods home with us!

Bring a "wee bucket" for nighttime so you don't need to make the short dash across the grass to the commual facilities. The commual facilities request you leave these cleaner than you found them but the would be hard as they were spotless to start. These are basic but totally functional. And super clean. The staff was welcoming on arrival and so helpful with our enquiries. We want to come back, and soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron_ShellyBeach, Owner at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 27 Jun 2020
Thanks nzcowlady for taking the time to review. We are glad you had a great stay with us in our Parkview pods. See you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flyingkiwi66 wrote a review Mar 2020
New Plymouth, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for an adventure race my son was doing. My husband and I had a deluxe pod. Lovely. Comfortable bed with linen provided and had fridge, tv and table (glamour) - camping side needed to use communal bathroom and kitchen, which were very clean and tidy. We loved the view of the beach and all the birdlife. Very quiet. Was very hot. A fan was provided but no windows we could "safely" leave open, however we would stay again if ever up that way.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If just a couple go for the deluxe pod if you don't want a motel room or campsite.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron_ShellyBeach, Owner at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Thank you flyingkiwi66 for the review. We are aware of the window issue, and working on a way to reduce the heat in the units. See you again next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Shelly Beach Top 10 as part of our weekend girls trip to explore the top of the Coromandel. Arriving from Taupo and Auckland on a late friday night, our goal was to sleep somewhere comfy at little cost before heading up to Port Jackson the next morning. Shelly Beach is just made for that! Clean, tidy, spacious rooms, comfy beds, a cosy atmosphere and very friendly staff supported our trip well. But it's not only suitable for short stops. Bring your family and/or mates, let the kids play on the modern playground with a super fun bouncy pillow, and have a beer while enjoying the wonderful sea view. Plenty of walks and fishing to do in the area as well. Looking forward to come back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron McFarlane, Owner at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 7 Jul 2020
Thanks Sarah - we are glad you had a great stay that met all your expectations! Great review :) We look forward to having you, your friends and families back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris H wrote a review Mar 2022
Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travel in a motorhome and have spent 3 nights (not consecutive) in the Shelly Beach Top 10., as we explored the various beaches and bays of Northern Coromandel. The camp is large with different types of accommodation and we always used a powered site (all of them flat!). Right from the get go it is well managed and motor homes or tents are spaced from maximum privacy. The beach is a good one and the sunset seen from it is well worth coming here regardless. Top marks for cleanliness etc. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shelly Beach, General Manager at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 4 Mar 2022
Thank you for your review Chris H. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our little piece of paradise here. See you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PMaryS wrote a review Mar 2021
Feilding, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Shelly Beach Holiday Park was the most expensive accommodation of our road trip around Northland and the Coromandel and a disappointment compared to the other lovely places we stayed. Our cabin was very dated, located by the road and the entrance driveway to the office and camp which did make it noisey. During our second night we were woken in the early hours of the morning with the noise of a helicopter landing and taking off very near our cabin. The only positives were the comfy bed and new toilet! The children’s playground was right next door also.
There was an unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom basin and the dining chairs were so stained I didn’t want to sit on them. The location itself is lovely but some new bench seats to be able to sit and look out at the view wouldn’t come amiss. When we booked I did ask for a unit with a view of the bay and was told our unit did have a view but we did not get this. Our view from our deck was of the entrance driveway.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron McFarlane, Owner at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 21 Mar 2021
Hi Pauline & Len, We are disappointed to read this review of our 2-bedroom motel unit which didn't meet your expectations. The Jayco you were in isn't the newest unit we have in the park but has been refreshed with new carpets & bathroom last year. I believe you had got the photos confused with another unit as you appeared to be looking at via a 3rd party website online to book. We get great reviews on our beds so glad this was something you enjoyed. The helicopter was the Westpac Air Ambulance in the middle of the night, rushing to taking a very unwell guest to hospital so believe this is unfair to mark us down to 0-stars due to this emergency outside of our control. We will take your comments onboard with chairs and bench. Sorry again we didn't meet your expectations. Take care. Many thanks Aaron & the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bladesman09 wrote a review Dec 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed on an unpowered site for 2 nights. Short drive to the town of Coromandel where you will find a FourSquare (supermarket). Kitchen on site had plenty of hobs, toaster, kettle, microwave, fridges and freezers. Bathrooms were clean with a good shower. Also had a TV room where you could charge devices whilst watching some TV. The beach area has a superb sunset which you can walk all the way out on the beach as it will be low tide. Enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron McFarlane, Owner at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 9 May 2021
Thanks for the great review. Glad you had a great stay. See you again another time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gadahiren wrote a review Apr 2024
Beach Haven, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The holiday park is good but all the facilities are slippery when wet. The holiday park should consider putting anti slippery adhesive tapes in kitchen, bathrooms I saw some near misses. The wooden deck in the swimming pool is very slippery, my 4 year old daughter slipped badly and hurt her back badly. I saw many kids slipping when the wooden deck was wet. Kids don't listen when excited to use the slide and end slipping but overall ok experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shelly Beach, General Manager at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 25 Apr 2024
Thank you for your review Gadahiren. We are currently improving our flooring to non-slip and waiting until the busy season is over to treat the wood in the pool to make it anti-slip. The floors in the females have already been changed to non-slip flooring.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kimberleysarah1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in the Fantail glamping pod and it was a really great experience. The lady at the front desk was super friendly and helpful, giving us lots of great recommendations for places to eat and visit on our road trip. The pod was really clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We bought takeaway pizzas in town and brought them back to have with wine whilst sitting on the deck and watching the sunset, it was awesome! You do have to share toilets and showers with the rest of the park guests but they were very clean and it didn’t bother us in the slightest as I knew about it before booking. We absolutely loved our stay and would definitely book again and recommend to others!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron_ShellyBeach, Owner at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Thanks kimberleysarah1! We are glad you enjoyed our deluxe beachfront pods. Sounds like you made the most of your visit. See you and your friends again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Melmo wrote a tip Jan 2024
Hamilton, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Visit Driving Creek just up the road! Cool pottery workshops and train rides. Make sure you book for the pottery classes if you want to do them! "
Read full review
Pinkynurse wrote a tip May 2022
Okere Falls, New Zealand13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be put off camping in May, we were in a tent and was still toasty warm overnight"
Read full review
Downeynz wrote a tip Jan 2022
Cambridge, New Zealand142 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place if you want to use camp grounds wifi. Not much network service either unless you stand on the beach."
Read full review
Terry L wrote a tip Jan 2021
Tuakau, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call in to pick a site that is closer to the sea and away from the road."
Read full review
flyingkiwi66 wrote a tip Mar 2020
New Plymouth, New Zealand76 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If just a couple go for the deluxe pod if you don't want a motel room or campsite."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Coromandel area.
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaCoromandel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COROMANDEL SHELLY BEACH TOP 10 HOLIDAY PARK - Now $79 (Was $̶9̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include The Coromandel Smoking Co. (3.2 km), Mercury Bay (2.9 km), and Kauri Block Track (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar, Umu, and Star and Garter Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Coromandel HotelsCoromandel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CoromandelHotels near Coromandel Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire