The Godley Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Godley Hotel

2-4 Rapuwai Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999 New Zealand
Traveller (70)
Electrical installation in your room
Room & Suite (24)
ディナーバイキング
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$188
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#4 of 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Relax and enjoy comfortable, country-style accommodation at the Godley Hotel in the stunning alpine village of Lake Tekapo in the beautiful South Island! The hotel is centrally located in the village with gorgeous views of the lake and mountains. It is an easy 5-minute walk to the incredible lake with its famous turquoise waters, and the iconic Church of the Good Shepherd. There are 58 rooms, all with Smart TV, small fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and heating. There is an unheated outdoor swimming pool for hot summer days. Enjoy the onsite Jack Rabbit cafe with views of Lake Tekapo, graceful footbridge, and cute, cobblestone church. Jack Rabbit cafe is open for the public as well as guests from Thursday to Monday with gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan options plus organic, fairtrade coffee. Relax in the stylish and modern lounge with free, unlimited WIFI and a fireplace. Lake Tekapo is famous for stargazing as the village is located in the heart of the Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve. The night skies are exceptionally clear and pure, perfect for a stargazing tour or astrophotography. Other outdoor activities include walking, cycling, horse riding, scenic flights, and 4WD tours. Tekapo Springs is a 5-minute drive from the Godley Hotel, offering hot pools, day spa, steam and sauna, ice skating and snowtubing in winter, and waterslide in summer. The Godley Hotel is an ideal base for skiing and snowboarding as Roundhill Ski Area is just a 40-minute drive. The Godley Hotel is a 3-hour drive from Christchurch or Queenstown, and a scenic 1-hour drive to Aoraki/Mt Cook. Our friendly staff have great local knowledge and will ensure you have an amazing stay!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View

Location

2-4 Rapuwai Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999 New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Timaru Airport
68.1 km
See all flights
Christchurch Intl Airport
174.9 km
See all flights
73Reviews2Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 18
  • 20
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Meandwotsername wrote a review Feb 2020
Taupo, New Zealand33 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had asked to have a room next to our daughter but when we got there, they put our daughter on the first floor an us down stairs. The room had no windows, just a glass door out the back that had a path directly outside with a metal ramp that clanged every time someone walked across it, so we requested a room upstairs and they put us next to our daughter! Why they didn’t do that first, is still a mystery? The upstairs room has a poor layout with the double bed next to the wall so one person is locked in unless you use the second single bed. The shower was a pathetic dribble that went hot and cold and a fan that only worked off a sensor the fan would go off and the room steamed up unless you came out of the shower to wave your hand every 3 mins! And if you needed to use the loo at night the fan would come on as soon as you opened the door. The wall heater is not fitted to the manufacturers instructions and should not be fitted where it is. The jug had a Test and Tag that showed it was tested in 2016 and needed to be tested again in 2017!!! It is now 2020!
Restaurant staff were good, all of the others were pretty average! Would certainly not return!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGodley, General Manager at The Godley Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback helps us get better. We are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tigersChristchurch wrote a review Feb 2020
Christchurch125 contributions109 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a lakefront room on the upper floor. The room was one that has yet to be refurbished but nevertheless was clean with all the necessary amenities including a fridge and a balcony. Bathroom was very small. The bed was not very comfortable. The room had no aircon and it was difficult to cool down on such a hot day. On the positives, car parking was handy and overall at the cost was reasonable value. The only real downside was the extreme noise from a live band performing until late evening in the adjacent Blue Lake bar....an absolute annoyance to all of the weary travellers staying at the Godley.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid the Blue lake pub end
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGodley, General Manager at The Godley Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Good morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback helps us get better. We are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin C wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia135 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so excited to be staying here. Lake Tepaku is a natural beauty. The photos online give the impression that this place is lakeside, well it is but there is quite an expanse of land that looks like a construction site in between.
I paid for a Superior Room so thought it would be roomy & come with views for the price I paid-wrong!
When I commented on the lack of view I was told "that's what you get if you book on-line". I requested an upgrade to a lake view paid an extra $30/night & ended up with a view off a building, an expanse of gravel, Carpark & a distant view of lake. It was ground level & had a stream of people walking past. The room was new so very clean with a nice big shower. But the room itself was pokey & stuffy. We needed the sliding door open for fresh air but needed curtains drawn for privacy.
The hall was 1 person/bag wide. All in all very poor design.
At night reception closes & is locked but the door to the hall is unlocked, very poor security.
The desk staff weren't particularly helpful or friendly.
We had the buffet breakfast which was fine but basic, I was impressed with the dining staff.
WiFi is included.
Car parking is free but uncovered & insecure.
The Hotel is near a good bar & eatery.
Lake access is a 30 minute walk away at the camp grounds where the cabins & camp sites have superior views. If I ever visited again I'd stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon C wrote a review Mar 2020
Millicent, Australia59 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very comfortable rooms, great view of the Lake. The rooms are well heated so you won't be cold at all. Walking distance to everything in the village. The rib eye steak in the restaurant is the best I have had for a long time, and very reasonably priced, highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGodley, General Manager at The Godley Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear Sharon Thank you for your positive feedback. It is great to know that you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer and that our friendly and helpful staff was able to make your stay better, We look forward to have you stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tripper5012 wrote a review Mar 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand94 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel for 2 nights 7-9 March . 2 days before checkin I received an email advising me not to bring my luggage to reception a my room will have a parking space by my room As pensioners and a wife with a knee replacement and a bad leg this sounds good . When we checked in we were given a room down a long narrow corridor . The room was good except for throng of people walking within 30 cm past our ranch sliding door completely impinging on our privacy . There was no carpark near our room as promised . After watching people walking close past our for a time I decided to confront reception to ask them why the email sent to me wasn’t honoured . They were confused and didn’t know what I meant by that time I got frustrated and spoke to them harshly . It wasn’t until I showed them the email I got from them regarding the carpark outside my room they understood . By that time we were unpacked so we stayed and put up with no carpark , no Lake view . and being on display to all the foot traffic . To me it appears the communication between the hotel staff seems non existent. If the email they sent to me regarding the carpark next to our room and the lake view from our room wasn’t meant for they should not have sent it . I will post a photo with a view from our ranch sliding door with the footpath overlooking Lake Tekapo NOT !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGodley, General Manager at The Godley Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Ralph Thank you again for your feedback and we are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. As per communication by email, we explained that you booked a Standard room with us which doesn't have a view of the Lake. On your checking date, we gave you a FREE upgrade to our brand-new Superior Rooms. Yes, we do send a welcoming letter to all of our guests 2 days before arrival with information that is helpful about the hotel and surroundings. In that letter we advised that you can park close to the room but again, distance is relative... Furthermore, we would have been happy to help you with your luggage or allocating you to a different room, especially if we would have known that your wife had a knee replacement. We are sorry that the letter was confusing for you, this is definitely the first time we have this situation as other guests appreciate the information sent to them. In regards to the privacy, as already mentioned we are working on a solution. Thank you again for your feedback Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BL26 wrote a review Jan 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst place to stay. Over charged for a child. Was not informed on check in about the extra charge. Please don’t give your credit card details to the hotel else expect hidden charges with no explanation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mad Hotelier wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
What are you paying for? The location, and the view. No standout reception area, or clarity on where to enter to check-in. Once found,however, the receptionist was friendly and warm, although not very clear details on where to park.

For the price, I was disappointed at the state of the room. There were paint chips coming away, paint bubbles, plastered over holes with no paint to cover these up.

It was a cozy room unit though, with plenty of amenities for a hot chocolate and tea. The internet was slow so the provided netflix or neon would buffer, we opted to watch a mobie on our tablet instead.

The beds, much too hard..definitely need a topper or new mattresses.

This unit was quite noisy, everything said next door was heard through our wall, with those guests waking up early meaning we had to wake up early also.

Very close to shops, restaurants and the Good Shepherd Church etc which was ideal!

Overall, the cost of the room I feel needs to be further reduced and unfortunately I would not consider returning, or reccomending.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claudia Vasquez Torres, Guest Services / Front Office at The Godley Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you liked the location and our friendly staff! However i am sorry to read that the room condition did not meet your expectations. Please note that we will have further upgrades soon to provide a more pleasant stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
foodlover27264 wrote a review Jul 2021
Auckland, New Zealand313 contributions73 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic lakeside location. Although the buildings in front obstruct the whole beautiful panoramic view to a point, we could still see the top of the lake and gorgeous backdrop of mountains which was spectacular.

The room was very warm and tidy but very compact. Good for a short stay but could be a bit annoying over a long period of time. Sadly there are no lifts so you have to lug your bags up the stairs yourself - not ideal.

Some of the staff were more friendly and helpful than others. When enquiring if the towels were replaced daily, we were told we need to let them know on the day if we wanted them replaced?!?! On asking another (more friendly) receptionist the same question, she said to just simply leave towels on the bathroom floor and they would be changed. So slightly mixed messages. The towel-changing issue was pretty important as we were experiencing cold winter temperatures and there was sadly no heated towel rail in the bathroom, so dry towels were definitely a necessity.

Loads of parking in the front of the building which was good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mikaela Bertolli, General Manager at The Godley Hotel
Responded 20 Jul 2021
Dear Foodlover27264 Thank you for taking the time to review The Godley Hotel and letting us know about this. Your feedback helps us get better! We apologize for the misunderstanding, we are currently training new staff. We will make sure this doesn't happen again. It's great to see that you enjoyed our location and the fabulous views from our stunning lake. Thank you very much for choosing us while staying in Lake Tekapo. Have a wonderful week. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K K wrote a review Jan 2023
Hamburg, Germany302 contributions89 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception was very friendly and restaurant was nice. Location perfect for exploring the area.

The reason I'm giving a bad review is because we were checked into our room and the comforters on both beds had disgusting stains on them. The absolute minimum I expect from a hotel is a clean bed. If you're not going to wash the comforter then I'd suggest using duvet covers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robyn J wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely disgusting hotel. I was told the superior room was ideal for myself, husband and a 14month old baby to stay in. Yet there was no access to anything to heat up food ect to feed our young daughter, and the restaurant refused to help. At a cost of $600 for a 2 night stay....plus half of that again that I have had to fork out for medical costs (due to picking up some little friends along the way) this was a nightmare and massively overpriced. I bought my issues to their attention, and was offered a $30 refund!!! They say the rooms we were in were recently refurbished, and checked daily for "issues".....yet when we went to leave my husband checked under the bed and there were old chunks of carrot under there, obviously from a previous stay. Nasty place, nasty staff.

Steer clear, I wish I had read reviews before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGodley, General Manager at The Godley Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear Robyn As per communication by email and phone between us, I'm sorry again to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. We do not advertise cooking facilities in our rooms and as per our Food Control Plan we are not allowed to reheat food or beverage for our guests. You stayed in our brand new rooms (opened in January) and you came back to us regarding the "little friends" two weeks after checking out when we could have checked the next morning as you stayed for 2 nights with us. Yes, hotels can have bed bugs but this was never the case as since you have checked out we have been inspecting the room daily and yet nothing has been found - the attached picture is not a bed bug. I had a meeting with our housekeeping team in regards to the issue with the carrot under the bed, that should never happen and I do apologise for the inconvenience. Thank you again for sharing your comments and we hope you have a nice week. kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
diam0nd11 asked a question Feb 2015
Queensland, Australia3 contributions
Are there any Lake views available 10 & 11 March. 1 room 2 people.
Answer from David T
Christchurch, New Zealand2,212 contributions505 helpful votes
Easy to call them on 03-680 6848.
キムタクママ asked a question Apr 2017
ドライヤーはありますか?
Answer from sasayaka
神戸177 contributions138 helpful votes
ドライヤーはありませんでした。
Sean Y wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re traveling as a party of 4, dont book here. They’ll make you purchase two rooms even though you can easily fit in one room. "
Read full review
Richard H wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dublin, Ireland255 contributions116 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't occupy the rooms for mobility challenged."
Read full review
Fran J wrote a tip Dec 2023
Airlie Beach, Australia25 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay extra for the view"
Read full review
Scarcev wrote a tip Nov 2023
162 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you do not like steps check first."
Read full review
jingwangsun wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would say to avoid winter visit"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Tekapo area.
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
godley hotel lake tekapo
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictLake Tekapo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GODLEY HOTEL - Now $152 (Was $̶2̶1̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Lake Tekapo, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Godley Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Godley Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lake Tekapo (0.3 km), The Church of the Good Shepherd (0.5 km), and Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Godley Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Godley Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Godley Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Godley Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Godley Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include TLV Restaurant & Bar, The Greedy Cow Ltd, and Blue Lake Eatery & Bar.
Is The Godley Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Lake Tekapo.
Does The Godley Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Godley Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lake Tekapo HotelsLake Tekapo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake TekapoHotels near The Godley Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire