We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Common area is average, 4-dorm room is really cramped, with no towels provided, and no free WiFi. Water heaters weren’t working at night (shower was freezing cold). Oven in common kitchen also malfunctions.More
Response from Andrea C, Guest Relations Manager at LakeFront Backpackers LodgeResponded 26 October 2017
Sorry you had a few issues with you stay and that it didn't quite meet your expectations.
We have dozens of people through each day in our backbackers lodge who have enjoyed their stay and what the facilities provide.
As regards the Wifi unfortunately...More
Lake Tekapo is literally a few steps in front of the lodge. 2min drive to Church of The Good Shepherd. Insanely starry skyline to enjoy. Though small, our 4-bed dorm was cosy.
Check-out instructions on returning bedsheets can be confusing. Took us some time to...More
I would like to start off with some positive to this hostel first being it's location it beautiful right in front of lake tekapo. It's also close to the hot springs and hiking trail up mt john and the staff were very friendly. And the...More
The place is very nice with a great tv area and kitchen but at $33 a night, it is a bit expensive for a dorm room. The beds are comfortable enough and everything is up to the right standard. You can drink in the hostel...More
Response from Andrea C, Guest Relations Manager at LakeFront Backpackers LodgeResponded 19 June 2017
Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay with us.
Glad you found our sleeping facilities cosy and comfortable.
Unfortunately we are unable to provide free wifi as we don't have Optic Fibre internet available in Tekapo. Because of that we just don't...More
Room was very tight for 4 to move around. Bed was comfortable. Lounge area was comfortable and great place to hang out. I was also impressed that despite I was late all the necessary items (key, map with markings) has been prepared for me.More
Thank Edward T
Response from Andrea C, Guest Relations Manager at LakeFront Backpackers LodgeResponded 18 June 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay at our Lakefront Lodge.
We are most fortunate to have such a great spot right there by the lake.
The lodge provides a nice relaxing area to hang out and meet other travellers.
I will pass on your kind...More
US$27 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your LakeFront Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.