Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge

Traveller (1014)
Room & Suite (244)
The best BBQ view I’ve ever seen!
Dining (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Lake Tekapo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Lakes Edge Holiday Park is set along the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget. Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, glamping tents, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Skiing
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
1,654Review13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 618
  • 461
  • 304
  • 164
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ChrisChristchurch199 wrote a review Aug 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a kiwi Bach for 3 adults for two nights, on line at the Tekapo Holiday Camp. This was booked on line and I totally knew the look of the unit from the photos supplied. On arrival, our unit was as expected and all good but the location in the park was totally unbelievable! We were at the entrance to the park which was a thorough fare for all traffic including huge trucks that were working on a new development ? inside the park. This traffic was about 2 metres from the unit!!! Dust and noise were disgusting and certainly not a peaceful holiday by the lake!! I didn’t come to Tekapo to spend time on a dusty highway! I went to the office and expressed my concerns. All credit to the staff as they didn’t question me, and immediately found a replacement cabin. The replacement cabin was really wonderful, relaxing and reflected what Tekapo is about. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. My only advice for the camp managers to just take those units that abut they highway’ out of the picture until all the roadworks are completed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Cox, General Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Hi Chris Thank you for your review and expressing your concerns. We are glad you enjoyed the new cabin that we moved you to :-) We apologize this wasn't done before check in! We have now stated on the website that we do have some construction work going on in and around the campsite so people know before they arrive. Those units that you were originally in are also blocked during the week so we don't have this problem again. Hopefully we will see you back here again one day :) Cheers Lydia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meander&Co wrote a review Jan 2020
80 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice, clean facilities and friendly staff. Beautiful location even if not on one of the lakeview sites.

We had a powered site for our 6m long campervan - sites were well spaced and easy to park in. The keycode/pincode entry system was simple enough to use. The wifi is expensive so we didn't bother and unfortunately there's no signal there at all. Top tip - the thermal pools have a wifi you can tap into with a password on their reception desk.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Hi there! Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here. WiFi and phone signal is notoriously bad in Tekapo but at least you have the beautiful Lake to distract you. We hope you had a great rest of your holiday! Cheers Lydia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
McGregor wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for our winter camping holiday to stunning views and super clean facilities for a powered site. The location is perfect, 400m from the hot springs and 1km from town right on the lakefront.
They provided all the kitchen necessities (rags, soap, scrubbers, microwave, toaster and hobs). No pots or pans but otherwise really good. The bathroom and shower areas were also clean and new.
We loved our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Cox, General Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 20 Jul 2020
Hi there Thank you for staying with us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved the facilities! If you come again we do actually hire out all pots and pans to guests FOC just come down to reception to grab them :-) Thanks again Cheers Lydia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carla_M86 wrote a review Jun 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand438 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a powered site overlooking the lake. So so beautiful to wake up in the morning with that view. All the facilities are modern, very clean, I loved that they provide rags to clean up after yourself.
The park offers a dump station for caravans, free Wifi of 1G per day per person, $2 washing/dry machines, a playground for kids, each caravan area has a picnic table too, plenty of recycling bins.
The location is a short walking distance to the Tekapo Springs, a 30 minute walk to the Good Shepherd church, and 20 minutes walk to the main town area.

Overall I was very happy with my stay and I'm looking forward to come back in summer again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: book online for a lakeview caravan site
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 28 Jun 2020
Hi there Thank you for staying with us and these comments. We are thrilled to hear you had a lovely stay and managed to get a Lake view spot! We have only just recently renovated so all amenities are brand new! After COVID we wanted to ensure that guests were comfortable and had all cleaning facilities that they needed, hence the rags and hand sanitizer around the park. Most sites do have a picnic table but some of our grass sites do not, but all sites give you plenty of space and there are other picnic/bbq areas scattered around the campground :-) Excited to hear you will be returning, can't wait to have you back here! Cheers Lydia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam wrote a review Sept 2020
New Plymouth, New Zealand23 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Was the most expensive powered site we had on our whole holiday and yes it had some beautiful views of the lake but hated the 6 minute limit in the shower. Also didn’t like that they have a rule of no feeding the ducks. We enjoy feeding ducks around the place so to have such a ban on our choice to feed them was irritating. Staff were very neutral no enthusiasm or friendliness just doing their job no personal touch. Super close to Tekapo Springs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Cox, General Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Hi there Thank you for staying with us - we appreciate you giving some feedback. Glad you loved the views - you can't beat the location (just in front of the lake!!) The 6 minute shower is to save water but also reduce queuing time as we do get very busy. We don't mind people feeding the ducks, this is more for the units as they tend to walk inside and leave poo! Cheers Lydia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toddy R wrote a review Sept 2020
7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our last stop on our trip & the most expensive campsite we stayed at. Given that it is the only holiday park in Tekapo you don’t really have an option to stay anywhere else.
The location is perfect & stunning views of the lake, it is also right next door to the springs. We walked into the town & back for dinner which was only about 20mins which was handy.
The amenities were clean but we were far away from most amenities (we were at the very end of the site) & the showers & toilets were quite busy, with a steep walk upto the showers so if you had any health issues/disabilities perhaps request easily accessible amenities. The site is built on a hill which is great for lake views but the layout wasn’t ideal (personal preference though) so we didn’t even make it across to the kitchen area.
1gb of free WiFi per day of your stay which is handy.
There’s quite a lot of construction work going on at the minute, but apart from a few rumbles it didn’t really affect us.
Would like to return to try out the different accommodation they have available & bring the dog next time as it does have some dog friends sections.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Cox, General Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Hi there Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review - we appreciate your feedback! Apologies that you were not placed near the amenities, it may have been all we had available at the time. Also, when booking online our 'shingle' sites are closer to the kitchen/showers than our 'grass' sites. Apologies for the construction work happening next door during your stay - although we hope once it's finished its going to look great :-) We would love to have you back one day to try one of our dog friendly campsites or perhaps even some accommodation! Cheers Lydia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kayjayell wrote a review Jan 2020
Wicklow, Ireland391 contributions113 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and access to the lake with its boats, kayaks and jet skis.

We booked a ‘Cabin with shared facilities’ which didn’t suit us at all and should have looked at the en suite cabins but that was. my fault. There were none available when I asked as they were all booked. Shared facilities such as kitchen and toilets/showers were well kept and clean and there are fridges and freezers for your own food. We found the Campsite to be generally noisy and people seemed happy to flout the ‘quiet’ period.

The place was packed with Asians when we were there as it was Chinese New Year and the tight driving around the site with them in their camper and was a hazard as we found a few who still wanted to drive on the right.

There’s a small shopping area about 1km away but if it’s busy get something booked for dinner as there are few restaurants and they fill up quick.

We saw some fabulous stars on a clear night which made the trip worthwhile for us.

WiFi was pretty bad so I wouldn’t be trying to do anything important on your device while you’re here and the mobile phone network is practically non existent around the campsite. A good chance to disconnect maybe?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Hi Karl Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write us a review. Glad you loved the location, it is nice have the lake so close! Although you would have preferred the en-suite I am glad that you found the communal kitchen/showers clean. We have just newly renovated. This is peak season for us so it can get busy up at the camp but we do generally tell people to keep quiet after 10pm - so I apologise if it was noisy during your stay. We have a large number of Asian tourists year round not just over Chinese New Year who love to come to Tekapo especially because of the stars. I assure you it's not always them that are the bad drivers ;-)! Glad you enjoyed the stars yourselves and got to have fun on the lake with the JetSki's and Kayaks! Hopefully see you in the future! Kind regards Lydia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sonja wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We got a great deal, only $35 per person per night in a 2 bed dorm which was basically a private room. It was clean, warm and well equipped. We loved the for a backpacker luxurious lounge with huge windows to the lake and the logburner and couches, very cosy.
On the downside, it was crowded with a group so we couldn't make use of the lounge or dining space and had to wait till we could use the kitchen at meal times. The floors are constructed in a way that makes every step sound like loud stomping. That was the most annoying thing for us. Our room was closest to the common spaces and there was constantly stomping to be heard and felt. Concrete floors would be better here.
I would suggest the smoking area to be moved further away as people were smoking just metres from our door. It would also be much nicer if the car park was around the back instead of between lodge and lake, who wants to stare at their car all the time when there is a beautiful lake right behind?
Overall, good value and we would be happy to stay there again when it is less busy and we get a room further away from the noisy common spaces.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The only 2 bed dorm was the room closest to the noisy common area so further away would be better...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lydia Hughes, General Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Hi Sonja, thank you so much for taking time on writting us a review! We apologized for the inconvenience caused, the Lodge was indeed busy during school holiday and ski seaon and that effected your stay unfortunately, we also appreciated your valuable feedback and suggestions. Look forward to seeing you nex time when it is not a busy time. :-) Best wishes, An Chi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aravind prakash wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have booked a lake view cabin. Real neat and clean. Even though it was a crowded season they have managed to keep the public rest rooms in a impeccable condition. Can explore lake Tekapo and surroundings. Will visit again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lydia Hughes, General Manager at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Hi Suthfry, thank you so much for your review! We are pleased you found our facilities nice and tidy especially during holiday season. Hope you had a great time in Tekapo. Best wishes, An Chi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YY wrote a review Dec 2022
Singapore, Singapore3 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights. On the first night we booked a shingles power site because the sealed power site was full. It was further from the main facilities area and only had 3 individual unisex toilets and showers to support a relatively large area which was insufficient when fully booked. There was a queue in the morning to use the facilities.
On day 2 when we shifted to the sealed power site (only a few dollars more expensive but totally worth it), it assigned lot was a lot closer to the main facility building which housed males and female toilets and shower cubicles (more stalls and came with 2 hairdryers), a kitchen and laundry room and outdoor BBQ area). It was alot more pleasant.
Both sites had a splendid view of Lake Tekapo. The ducks were tame and hovered near the The campervans for food and the wild rabbits would come out to play. On a beautiful day, it was very therapeutic to just sit outside or can and enjoy the view. Best of all, there was unlimited wifi.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: During peak season, the facilities in the park may not be sufficient to support the no. of visitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yanti A asked a question Sept 2018
Sydney, Australia23 contributions
Hi, why we cant acces your website? I want booking for 21 dec. thank you
Yanti A asked a question Sept 2018
Sydney, Australia23 contributions
Hi, why we cant acces your website? I want booking for 21 dec. thank you
Answer from Lydia H
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand1 contribution
Hi there Thank you for your question but I am unsure how I can help you. Please give me a little more information but in the meantime I hope you had a great stay with us cheers Andrea
Jasmine S asked a question Apr 2018
Jodhpur, India3 contributions
Wondering how much a non-powered site here is in June?
Answer from enaid035
London, United Kingdom140 contributions98 helpful votes
Sorry have no idea check website or ring reception we booked over the phone and found the ladies very helpful
Answer from frankiethe
Lyttelton, New Zealand268 contributions82 helpful votes
We didn’t use the bungalows so I don’t know. Probably best to contact the operator directly.
Answer from Explore587460
1 contribution
Don’t stay left this morning facilities terrible 🙁
Linda R wrote a tip 13 Apr
Auckland, New Zealand111 contributions45 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid top sites tho you have no option if you have a pooch."
Read full review
Keith H wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't try and use the facilities at anything like peak times cos youl be s out of luck"
Read full review
Lomac-_-2020 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Kaikoura, New Zealand34 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid going here, head to a local free camp ground instead."
Read full review
Emma G wrote a tip Jan 2024
Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay at this venue"
Read full review
TravelDooey wrote a tip Dec 2023
Melbourne, Australia308 contributions148 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have a campervan & you wish to free camp, do it at Lake Pukaki. No free camping at Tekapo."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Tekapo area.
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake tekapo motels & holiday park hotel lake tekapo, lake tekapo motels and holiday park
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictLake Tekapo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKES EDGE HOLIDAY PARK AND LAKES EDGE LODGE - Now $121 (Was $̶3̶9̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Lake Tekapo, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lake Tekapo (1.3 km), Mount John University Observatory (3.1 km), and The Church of the Good Shepherd (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include TLV Restaurant & Bar, The Greedy Cow Ltd, and Blue Lake Eatery & Bar.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Does Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lake Tekapo HotelsLake Tekapo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake TekapoHotels near Lakes Edge Holiday Park and Lakes Edge Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire