Central Gateway Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Central Gateway Motel

67 Inniscort Street, Cromwell 9310 New Zealand
Traveller (10)
Sofa
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

$213
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$213
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$199
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 7 motels in Cromwell
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
We offer a quality stay at an affordable price here at Central Gateway Motel. We offer free WiFi in our 8 comfortable, fully self-contained units. Our upstairs studios have fantastic views of the hills and a glimpse through to Lake Dunstan. Our downstairs studios and one-bedroom units get lovely afternoon sun and look out to our gardens. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, large LCD TV - the family units have 2 TVs, Super king-size beds and heat pump/air conditioners in most units. Continental breakfasts are available. Central Gateway Motel is situated 300m from Lake Dunstan, the Cromwell Heritage Precinct, Lake Dunstan bike track, Restaurant/Cafe's and the Cromwell Town & Country Club. The golf course, bowling club and swimming pool are a 3 minute drive. Five ski fields are within an hour 15 drive. We are members of Hospitality NZ. Visa, Mastercard and EFTPOS accepted. We welcome you on your next visit to Cromwell.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

67 Inniscort Street, Cromwell 9310 New Zealand
84Reviews0Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 60
  • 19
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hei_Travelling wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore21 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So happy I chose to stay at the Central Gateway Motel at close proximity to the Heritage precinct with a couple of cafes and restaurants and a supermarket close by.
I had a very peaceful stay and I had a very spacious room with all the amenities I needed. My room was in the main building on the second floor overlooking the mountains (from my bed!).
I was taking a bus from Cromwell and received a very kind offer from the host to drop me at the bus stop (~3km away) as she was going to run some errands in the town. Really appreciated this - especially as it started raining the moment we stepped into her car.
Would have loved to stay longer - next time then!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CentralGate, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 22 Mar 2020
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us - we appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rigger Reid wrote a review Oct 2023
Timaru, New Zealand447 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great stay here in a quiet location of town, room was very comfortable with everything you need, plenty of hot water, and bed very comfortable.
Motel location close to old part of town five minute walk, takes about 10minute drive to get to centre of town for food shopping and restaurants.
Friendly owners will definitely be back, thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 20 Oct 2023
We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd love to see you back. Thanks again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natasha A wrote a review Mar 2022
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand24 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a lovely place to stay, it’s older style but so clean and well maintained that it doesn’t matter at all. We stayed two nights - the bed was comfy, the owners were super lovely and our upstairs unit was impeccably clean. My sister always finds something wherever we stay and she was amazed by the high standard of Central Gateway. Would absolutely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: It’s close to town and very close to the lake. Ideal spot!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 16 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review us - we appreciate it. We love hearing you enjoyed your stay and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable - it's great knowing we are doing all the right things - thank you!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter F wrote a review Mar 2023
Pittsburgh, United States6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I traveled through New Zealand at the beginning of March 2023, and we stayed at a number of motels, so we gained a pretty good appreciation for the better ones versus the bad ones. Central Gateway Motel is most definitely one of the better ones.

Super clean and very well maintained. Comfortable beds, and the best pillows I have ever slept on (May I know the brand, please?😊).

I was greeted warmly and with a smile, which is sadly becoming a rarity.

If you are traveling near Cromwell and are in need of accommodations, I can highly recommend Central Gateway Motel. You will not regret staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 11 Mar 2023
Wow! Thank you for your lovely comments - it's great to know we are doing things right and we really appreciate you taking the time to let us (and everyone else) know! Our linen supplier is Vendella - who are a great company to deal with - and I'd be happy to let you know further details if you send us an email - info@centralgateway.co.nz Thanks again :o)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna C wrote a review Oct 2023
Ballina, Australia51 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at the Central Gateway Motel in Cromwell. We were warmly welcomed by Hayley, who gave us great advice on winery tours and places to eat and drink.

Our room was spacious and every comfortable with a separate kitchen. The bathroom was roomy as well. Everything was spotlessly clean. We had parking directly in front of our room. We were within easy walking distance to the Heritage Precinct where there were options for dining and a very cosy bar. We stayed for two nights and would definitely return. We couldn't fault it.

Thank you Hayley for your hospitality and wonderful accommodation.

Donna and Antonio
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you're in a large vehicle might be best to check out the one way access first as it may be a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, and for the lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and our location close to the Heritage Precinct. We'd love to see you back sometime in the future. Thanks again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glenda M wrote a review Nov 2022
Kaikoura, New Zealand37 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable and quiet with good facilities. However at 10.20am the cleaner knocked at the door and told us we didn’t have time for a shower or anything as checkout was 10am. Unfortunately I’d been on the phone to the UK dealing with a family issue but we had to get out. I agree usual checkout time is 10am but not always and no information given or in the room about this. Left very upset.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 26 Nov 2022
We are sorry to hear that these guests left upset, however when we knocked on the door well after 10am it was because there was no sign at all that the guests were packing up or had any intention of vacating on time. Our check-out time was noted on their booking details from Booking.com, so that information was provided to them. An hour or so prior to check-out, one of the guests had been on the balcony outside their unit looking like they were taking photos - so it's a shame they didn't communicate their situation to us at that time, so we could have discussed the possibility of a late check-out and tried to arrange the cleaning of all units around that. In the future we suggest if these guests require a late check-out, that they request such well before the actual check-out time. They will also need to be aware that some accommodation premises will charge a fee for a late check-out, which of course we did not in these circumstances.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrisandton wrote a review May 2021
Otaki, New Zealand23 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Biking was our mission. We started in Cromwell and worked our way to the Gold trail, highly recommended, and day trips to Arrowtown and Wanaka.
The accommodation was perfect for us😍 allowed us to cook for ourselves, sort our laundry and was close to all the activities we were interested in!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 9 May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we offered all the facilities you needed. The Lake Dunstan Trail between Cromwell and Clyde is now open - we hope to see you again one day!! Thanks again for your comments and your booking.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dunedin wrote a review Jan 2023
12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely , relaxing stay at Central Gateway Motel . Exceptionally clean . We could not fault it . Had everything we needed . Being away from the hassle and bustle of central Cromwell makes it a nice quiet place to stay with an easy walk to the Old historic part of Cromwell . Lovey helpful hosts . Would happily stay here again .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 11 Mar 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and our apologies for the delay in acknowledging your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our accommodation - thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Shadowman wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Central Gateway Motel is a superb place to stay. Whether it's one night or a week you will not be disappointed. The hosts are so friendly and helpful. The motel is clean, warm, comfortable and feels like home from home. It's in a superb location, close to the historic area and not too far from local shops and restaurants.

Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a better view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CentralGate, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment - we appreciate it. It's great to hear you enjoyed our motel and the surrounding area. We love your feedback and knowing we're doing things right! Thanks again, Hayley & Carey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vickie wrote a review Jan 2021
Timaru, New Zealand53 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Would highly reccomend Central Gateway Motel. Stayed for 2 nights. Check in was easy and hassle free. Room was spotless. Hosts very friendly. Ordered a continental breakfast for Saturday morning and it was just what we needed. A very short walk to the Town and Countyclub. Had a downstairs unit and it was very comfortable and quiet. We would definitely choose to stay here again when we head down south.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Foster, Owner at Central Gateway Motel
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review - we appreciate you taking the time to comment. We love hearing that you enjoyed our motel and the surrounding area. We are so lucky to be in such a good part of town - near the Heritage Precinct with its lovely little shops and great cafes, and just a stone's throw from Lake Dunstan and the new bike trail. Thanks again :o)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Diane wrote a tip Feb 2024
Tauranga, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking at the door!"
Read full review
Donna C wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ballina, Australia51 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're in a large vehicle might be best to check out the one way access first as it may be a bit tight."
Read full review
Natasha A wrote a tip Mar 2022
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand24 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s close to town and very close to the lake. Ideal spot!"
Read full review
Justine L wrote a tip Feb 2022
Nelson4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The upstairs rooms offer great views."
Read full review
Lesley W wrote a tip Mar 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand74 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unit 7 - be mindful of movement of people upstairs."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cromwell area.
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionCentral OtagoCromwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CENTRAL GATEWAY MOTEL - Now $205 (Was $̶2̶1̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cromwell, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Central Gateway Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Central Gateway Motel?
Nearby attractions include Highlands - Experience the Exceptional (3.0 km), Cromwell Heritage Precinct (0.2 km), and Goldfields Mining Centre (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Central Gateway Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Central Gateway Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Central Gateway Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Central Gateway Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Central Gateway Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bannockburn Hotel - Wine Country Restaurant, The Winery Restaurant at Mt Difficulty, and Carrick Winery & Restaurant.
Is Central Gateway Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cromwell HotelsCromwell Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CromwellHotels near Central Gateway Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire