Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort

Stuart Highways Lasseter Highways, Erldunda, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
Traveller (292)
Känguru im Garten
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Erldunda
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
When visiting Uluru and the Olgas, make Erldunda your base and save. We are situated at the intersection of the Stuart and Lasseter Highways offering old fashioned country hospitality with home-style cooking and clean comfortable facilities. Not to mention that we are uniquely located in ‘The Centre of The Centre’ – also referred to as the Centre of Australia. Also onsite we have an Emu Enclosure that enables you to get up close and feed these fascinating animals. Our accommodation ranges from motel units to drive-through caravan parking area and camping sites. We have a full range of guest facilities including free WiFi, a swimming pool, tennis court, laundry, restaurant and bar. Our Reception is open : 8am – 6pm, 7 days. Check-in: 2pm - 6pm Check-out: 10am Our shop is open: 6.30am - 9pm, 7 days.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
ATM on site
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Stuart Highways Lasseter Highways, Erldunda, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
Getting there
Alice Springs Airport
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles499 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort earns rave reviews for its cleanliness, with guests frequently commending the spotless rooms and well-kept facilities. Nestled in a prime location for regional exploration, the resort is popular for its friendly service and professional staff. While some travelers have called out the rooms for being basic and in need of updates, others appreciate their spaciousness. Opinions on value are mixed; guests often consider the prices steep, particularly for fuel. Nonetheless, the resort's amiable atmosphere and amenities like playgrounds and animal encounters are well-regarded.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Basic
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
499Reviews9Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 161
  • 187
  • 95
  • 33
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bensc01 wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms basic and clean. Roomy enough to fit dog crate in room. Staff friendly and helpful. Had dinner in Tavern was very good.
Prices are not cheap in remote locations this should not be a surprise to travellers.
I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse M, Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Thanks for the review, we would love to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KarenM1_10 wrote a review Apr 2020
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our tour bus stopped here for fuel, food and drinks as we travelled from Alice Springs to Uluru. There is nothing much in this area so it’s a good stopping point for a quick break and to stretch your legs. They do have a shop where you can purchase souvenirs as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse M, Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 23 Apr 2020
Thanks for the review Karen. We're so glad you enjoyed the stop with us :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
WoodWombat wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When I decided to head up to Uluru across the Easter holidays I originally tried to book in at Yulara, this was completely booked out, so I tried Kings Canyon, which was also booked out. Eventually I decided to give Erldunda a go and definitely did not regret it. It is well placed to get to all the major tourist attractions in the area and provides clean and comfortable rooms, and a decent pub/restaurant as well. The extra fun stuff like Cluck Norris, the Emus and Camel are just a bonus.

I was travelling in an EV, so the free EV charging made every day start with a full charge. Also, being closer to the SA border made the trip back a lot easier since high speed charging is non-existent in the Outback right now.

P.S. I never did ask if they were serious about selling Emus.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse Manager, General Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for your review! We're thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us, and hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katco wrote a review Feb 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Driving out to Uluru we stopped half way to break the journey and have something to eat.

The roadhouse has prime position on the corner of two major roads.

The tavern was not open as it was not midday yet but we got freshly prepared chicken wrap and chips in the deli store. The wraps were packed with chicken and vegetables, it was tasty.

Very friendly staff and service was good.

Toilets basic.

Emus sanctuary attached with nosey birds coming to look at us by the fence.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse M, Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Thanks for the thorough review! We're so glad you enjoyed the stop with us :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle D wrote a review May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A mixed bag for this place. The toilet facilites are ok i say this because almost all of the shower heads need replacing as they are clogged with lime and you only get a small spray of water. I mentioned this to the cleaners/owners and they said they have a lot of shower heads to replace hence why it wasnt done. ( Strange answer I thought) Also we booked in and there were alot of powered sites available yet the reception area were telling people no powered sites available and giving then unpowered sites another strange thing. Apart from that the stay was good. You can heard the traffic noise from the road but it is muted and helps you sleep, The animal farms that are here are a good attraction for the familles. Agood one night stop over place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: we stayed at a caravan site so closer to the toilets is always good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse Manager, General Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 17 May 2022
We appreciate your feedback and we have taken this on board, our replacing our amenities here at Erldunda Roadhouse. We are always looking for ways to improve our site, so we appreciate your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kylie H wrote a review Apr 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped over at the roadhouse for three nights on our way from Adelaide to Uluṟu, and loved what became our temporary home away from home. The resort really is an oasis in the desert. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were some of the friendliest we’ve come across and the camp amenities were top-notch. We stayed in the rooms and used the campground bbq facilities for cooking. (Hot tip: the flying fox and swings in the playground accomodate adults). We also ate dinner at the restaurant for two nights, and the meals were delicious, where we could also play darts and pool.
The pool and pool area are well maintained and a very relaxing place to rest around in the heat of the day, or on the hot evenings.
Due to some logistical issues, we used the roadhouse as a base for visiting Uluṟu and Kata Tjuṯa, it’s a long drive back but worthwhile as the scenery is stunning.
Hats off to managers Barb and Kaj, your roadhouse was meant to be a short stopover “on the way” to our holiday and became a feature!
We’ll definitely be re-visiting on future NT holidays.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 5 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a detailed 5 star review Kylie! The team are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Red Centre!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mulgas Adventures wrote a review May 2020
Alice Springs, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mulgas Adventures have been bringing passengers through Erldunda Road House daily over the years and we are always welcomed with a friendly smile by those behind the counter, in particular Yasmin.

Erldunda Road House provides great coffee and hot beverages for our passengers as well as some wonderful food options too.

Being the centre of the centre Erldunda provides plenty of information and souvenirs about Central Australia for our passengers to take away with them. Here they can also view Emus for the first time and feed them as well should they wish.

Erldunda Road House provides a great stopping area to pull out your picnic or even stay over night in their accommodation facilities during your long journey to Uluru or Alice Springs. We recommend you stop in on your journey.

Thank you from the Mulgas Team
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse M, Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 6 May 2020
Thanks Team Mulgas's. We appreciate your kind words, and look forward to welcoming you guys back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Babu J wrote a review Sept 2023
Melbourne, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very spacious bedrooms, but no plates, or bowls or microwave wave, the only power points are located in between TV unit and and a fixed table/bench, makes it difficult for charging your devices, free wifi is said to have 120 minutes, but as soon as connected it says your session ended and one will have to pay for the wifi. Mosquitoes in your room will sing to your ears for a better sleep. One would find this shop as the most expensive along the Stuart Highway, better refuelling either at Stuart well or Kulgera 40cents difference on a litre. Not again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Fuel at Erldunda is the most expensive on the Stuart Highway, better fill elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janelle wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Website says $26 for a powered site. Arrived and was charged $38. When I enquired as to why they were vague and said the website shouldn’t say 26.... Upon asking others at the park what they paid some said 30 others said 15. The border is just about to open and I get they have lost income but it feels like a bit of a price gouge particularly given the facilities are old and Most of the powered sites didn’t work. We had to move a number of times. Disappointed to come out in the morning and say a number of vans Parked in the car park for free
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse Manager, General Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Thank you for your review Janelle. While we never like to disagree with our customers, your comments regarding our pricing are significantly at odds to what is shown on our website; the total cost for 2 people on a powered caravan site is $38. Please accept our humble apologies for being moved, what you have described is not in line with the fantastic experience we aim to give our customers. As a result of your feedback, we will review all relevant procedures.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vicki J wrote a review Feb 2021
Woodend, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place looks likes a much better place to stay than Kulgera where we stayed the night before. Wanted something to take away for breakfast very little on offer. Wow being a vegetarian in the outback is limiting. The food we got was okay but I think had been made up for a while. How hard is it make a fresh toasted egg sandwich?? Really I think the outback roadhouses this trip have been disappointing even considering the COVID situation. With the distances being travelled by travelers you expect more from a roadhouse stop.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roadhouse Manager, General Manager at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
Responded 3 Mar 2021
Thank you for your review Vicki-Anne. We sincerely apologise for your take-away experience and are disappointed to hear this feedback as we are usually complimented on the quality and selection of our food. Our aim is to provide our guests with nothing less than a fantastic experience and it seems that on this occasion we have fallen short. With this in mind, we have shared your comments with our team and will use your feedback as an opportunity to improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Davaraj B
4 contributions
You can park your car in front of your motel unit. There is not enough space to park a caravan.
Leah J asked a question Sept 2022
Darwin, Australia
Do you allow pets?
Answer from Marketing.
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Yes, we allow dogs in our camping area. We have a limited number of pet friendly motel rooms, and you need to contact Erldunda Roadhouse directly to check availability / make a booking for a pet friendly room. Thank you.
fleeto asked a question Feb 2016
Sydney88 contributions22 helpful votes
Can you do tours from here to Uluru/Ayers Rock
Answer from Mykimike25
Melbourne, Australia91 contributions41 helpful votes
Yes. Details on their website.
Answer from DoingOz
Albany, Australia85 contributions57 helpful votes
Hi There, yes dogs are welcome, so are humans lol Enjoy Les
Answer from Jill L
Brisbane, Australia13 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in the motel section but they had a camping area. Would ring as staff are very helpful.
Alana H wrote a tip Jun 2024
11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The earlier you get in, the more choice you have."
Read full review
Adrian J wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent to use as a base for a visit to Ayers Rock"
Read full review
Peter M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Perth, Western Australia, Australia22 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take head fly nets for when the "locals" are about."
Read full review
Adventures of Eggy wrote a tip Mar 2024
Perth, Australia11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They give you complimentary bottled water, and insect spray for the room, but take a fly net to wear when out and about. "
Read full review
KristinaTM wrote a tip Feb 2024
Darwin, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Travelling to SA…leave early from your previous accomodation and go to Marla…travelling to Yulara? Leave early and go straight out there!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Erldunda area.
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
erldunda desert oaks hotel erldunda
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Erldunda Roadhouse
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreErldunda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ERLDUNDA DESERT OAKS RESORT - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Erldunda.
Are any cleaning services offered at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.